# Atoms

> Official Atomic Habits app for building identity-based habits

Atoms is the official habit app for James Clear's book Atomic Habits, published by Atomic Development Inc. Each habit is written as a statement anchored in an identity and committed to a time and place, then logged by pressing and holding its atom. The app adds reminders, daily goals, habit stacks and a Focus Mode, and Pro adds daily lessons and other Mindset content from James Clear. It runs on iPhone, Apple Watch and Android.

- **Category:** Habit Trackers
- **Made by:** Atomic Development Inc.
- **Website:** https://atoms.jamesclear.com
- **Runs on:** iOS, Android
- **Facts last checked:** Oct 5, 2026

## Pricing

Atoms has a free plan. Paid plans start at $4.99 per month, or $39.99 per year (US App Store in-app purchases).

- **Pricing model:** Free plan
- **Free plan:** 1 habit, with atomic suggestions and an accountability partner, per the Free versus Pro table in the web checkout. Mindset content and daily lessons are not included.
- **Free trial:** Trial with no subscription commitment; when it ends the account moves to the free tier. Its length is not stated.

| Plan | Price | What you get |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Free | $0 | 1 habit, with atomic suggestions and an accountability partner. No Mindset content or daily lessons. |
| Atoms Pro | $4.99 per month, or $39.99 per year | 6 habits, plus Mindset content and daily lessons from James Clear. Listed in the App Store as Atoms Pro Monthly and Atoms Pro Annual. |

Read from https://apps.apple.com/us/app/atoms-from-atomic-habits/id6474421906 on Oct 5, 2026. Prices change, so confirm with Atoms before buying.

## Ways to pay less

- **Annual plan costs about 33% less than monthly** (Annual discount): The US App Store lists Atoms Pro Monthly at $4.99 and Atoms Pro Annual at $39.99, about 33% less than 12 monthly payments ($59.88). Source: https://apps.apple.com/us/app/atoms-from-atomic-habits/id6474421906
- **20% off Pro through the web checkout** (Other savings): A banner on the Atoms homepage advertises 20% off a Pro subscription and links to the web checkout. It gives no end date, and the checkout shows prices only after sign-in. Source: https://atoms.jamesclear.com

## Key features

- **Guided habit creation:** Each habit is a statement anchored in an identity and committed to a time and place. Suggestions are offered for every segment and can be replaced with your own wording.
- **Press-and-hold logging:** A habit is logged by pressing and holding its atom until it fills, or with a + button in Compact View. Earlier days can be logged or undone from the habit's history.
- **Daily goals:** A habit can carry a daily target counted in times or another unit such as steps, and it is logged automatically once the target is met.
- **Habit stacking and Focus Mode:** Release notes describe habit stacks built from existing habits, and a Focus Mode that plays audio from a Spotify account or from the app's own music library.
- **Daily lessons and Mindset content:** The Mindset tab holds articles and a daily lesson from James Clear; a new lesson appears only after the previous one is read. The web checkout lists both under Pro.
- **Reminders, widgets and Apple Watch:** Reminders can fire at a habit's exact time or several times a day. The iOS app has interactive widgets, and an Apple Watch app logs habits away from the phone.

## Good for

- Readers of Atomic Habits who want the book's four laws built into an app
- People who prefer to start with a few small habits rather than a long list
- iPhone users who want to log habits from an Apple Watch

## Worth knowing

- The web checkout's comparison table gives Free 1 habit and Pro 6 habits; no tier with unlimited habits is listed.
- Mindset content and the daily lessons from James Clear are marked Pro-only in that table.
- Apps are listed for iPhone, Apple Watch and Android only; the web site sells and manages subscriptions but is not a web app.
- The length of the trial is not stated on the homepage, the support page or the store listings.

## What people say

- **App Store rating of the iPhone and iPad app:** 4.8 out of 5 from 10,715 ratings in the United States, read Oct 5, 2026. This is the store's rating of the app, not a score from ToolGPA. Source: https://apps.apple.com/us/app/id6474421906

## Works with

Spotify

**Tags:** Habit tracking, Goals

## Alternatives

- [Streaks](https://toolgpa.com/tools/streaks): Habit tracker for Apple devices built around daily streaks. [Compare](https://toolgpa.com/compare/atoms-vs-streaks)
- [Fabulous](https://toolgpa.com/tools/fabulous): Habit and routine coaching app built on guided Journeys. [Compare](https://toolgpa.com/compare/atoms-vs-fabulous)
- [Productive - Habit Tracker](https://toolgpa.com/tools/productive-habit-tracker): Habit tracker with smart reminders, programs and challenges. [Compare](https://toolgpa.com/compare/atoms-vs-productive-habit-tracker)
- [Habitify](https://toolgpa.com/tools/habitify): Cross-platform habit tracker with health-data sync and an API. [Compare](https://toolgpa.com/compare/atoms-vs-habitify)
- [HabitKit](https://toolgpa.com/tools/habitkit): Habit tracker that shows each habit as a grid of daily tiles. [Compare](https://toolgpa.com/compare/atoms-vs-habitkit)

## Sources

The prices, plans, platforms and features above were read from these pages on Oct 5, 2026:

- https://apps.apple.com/us/app/atoms-from-atomic-habits/id6474421906
- https://atoms.jamesclear.com
- https://getatoms.notion.site/Atoms-Support-969074c91f464f9d91fc56bfbdf0f19e
- https://web.getatoms.app/
- https://play.google.com/store/apps/details?id=app.getatoms.android&hl=en_US&gl=US
- https://www.iubenda.com/terms-and-conditions/22673733

Page: https://toolgpa.com/tools/atoms
Listed by ToolGPA (toolgpa.com).
