# BILL

> Bill pay, invoicing and free company cards for small businesses

BILL is a financial operations platform for small and midsize businesses. Its accounts payable side collects supplier bills, routes them for approval and pays them by ACH, check, card or international transfer, and its receivables side sends invoices and takes payment. BILL Spend & Expense, run by Divvy Pay, adds corporate cards, budgets and receipt capture with no subscription fee.

- **Category:** Spend & Bill Pay
- **Made by:** BILL Operations, LLC (since 2006)
- **Website:** https://www.bill.com
- **Runs on:** Web, iOS, Android
- **Facts last checked:** Oct 18, 2026

## Pricing

BILL has a free plan. Paid plans start at $49 per user / month for AP & AR, billing term not stated.

- **Pricing model:** Free plan
- **Free plan:** BILL Spend & Expense: corporate cards, budgets, expense tracking and reimbursements with no subscription or per-user fee. Card and payment fees still apply.
- **Free trial:** Free trial of the AP & AR plans "in most cases"; length not stated.

| Plan | Price | What you get |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Spend & Expense | $0 | BILL Divvy Card, budgets, receipt capture, reimbursements and credit lines from $1,000 to $5M, subject to approval. |
| Essentials | $49 per user / month, billing term not stated | Bill entry and approvals, payments by ACH, card or check, invoicing, W-9 collection. Syncs with accounting software by CSV only. |
| Team | $65 per user / month, billing term not stated | Adds automatic two-way sync with QuickBooks and Xero, AI bill coding, custom user roles and cash flow forecasting. |
| Corporate | $89 per user / month, billing term not stated | Adds custom approval policies, purchase orders and requests, cheaper approver-only users, single sign-on and multi-entity books. |
| Enterprise | Custom | Adds sync with NetSuite, Sage Intacct, Dynamics and QuickBooks Enterprise, 2- and 3-way matching, dual control and premium phone support. |

Read from https://www.bill.com/product/pricing on Oct 18, 2026. Prices change, so confirm with BILL before buying.

## Key features

- **Accounts payable:** Bills arrive in one inbox, are routed through approval rules and are paid by ACH, check, virtual card or card, with W-9s collected by an agent.
- **Invoices and receivables:** Send one-off or recurring invoices, chase them with automatic reminders, and get paid by ACH or card with auto-charge and auto-pay.
- **Spend & Expense with the Divvy Card:** Corporate cards with budgets and spending rules. Receipts are captured by photo or text message and matched to transactions.
- **International payments:** Pay suppliers in more than 130 countries, in their local currency with no BILL fee beyond the exchange rate, or by USD wire.
- **AI bill coding:** From the Team plan, the Invoice Coding Agent fills in line-by-line accounting codes on incoming bills.
- **Procurement:** Purchase requests, purchase orders, tolerance rules and 2-way matching, included on Corporate and an add-on below it.

## Good for

- Small businesses that pay many supplier bills by ACH or check
- Accounting firms running bill pay for several clients
- Teams that want free company cards next to their bill pay

## Worth knowing

- Payments carry fees on every plan: $0.59 per ACH payment, $1.99 per mailed check, $19.99 per USD wire abroad, and 2.9% to pay a bill by card.
- The Essentials plan exchanges data with QuickBooks and Xero only by CSV file; automatic two-way sync starts on Team, and NetSuite or Sage Intacct needs Enterprise.
- Spend & Expense is provided by Divvy Pay LLC, the Divvy Card is issued by its bank partners, and credit lines depend on approval.
- Every Essentials and Team user pays the full seat price; cheaper approver-only seats come with Corporate and Enterprise.

## ToolGPA grades

**GPA: 2.6 out of 4**, graded Oct 18, 2026. BILL runs both sides of a small company's bills: supplier bills land in one inbox, get approved and go out by ACH, check or card, and invoices go the other way. Its Spend & Expense cards cost nothing. But bill pay itself is $49 a user a month plus $0.59 for every ACH payment, when several rivals send ACH for free.

- **Value for money: D.** Graded against its bill pay alternatives. A ten-person company paying 20 supplier bills by ACH pays $60.80 a month on Essentials: $49 for one user plus $11.80 in fees at $0.59 each. Nickel, Ramp and Brex send ACH free, and two-way QuickBooks or Xero sync needs Team at $65.
- **Free plan and trial: C.** Spend & Expense is free: Divvy cards, budgets, receipts and reimbursements, though card and payment fees still apply. Bill pay and invoicing, the main job, need a paid plan, and the trial is offered in most cases with no length given.
- **Features: B.** The whole job: a bills inbox with approval rules, payments by ACH, check or card, local-currency transfers to 130+ countries, invoices with auto-pay, Divvy cards with budgets, AI bill coding from Team and purchase orders on Corporate.
- **Ease of use: A.** 4.86 from 48,758 App Store ratings, the top band. There are approval rules and an accounting link to set up first, but people clearly get on with it once that's done.
- **Platforms and integrations: B.** Web, iPhone and Android, syncing with QuickBooks Online, Xero, NetSuite, Sage Intacct, Dynamics and Acumatica, with an API. No desktop app is listed, and Essentials swaps data with QuickBooks and Xero by CSV only.

These are ToolGPA's own grades. Graded from this listing, whose facts were read from BILL's own pages on 18 October 2026, and its App Store rating. Not based on using the product, and shorter than our full reviews.

## Where it stands among spend and bill pay tools

- BILL's GPA of 2.6 is higher than 3 of the 13 other spend and bill pay tools we grade, and level with 1.
- It stands best on ease of use (A, above 8 of 13) and worst on value for money (D, above 0).
- Its paid plans start at $49 a month for each person, against a middle price of $12 for the category: 11 of the 11 others that charge start lower.
- On features, ease of use and platforms it scores 3.3 out of 4. Nothing scores higher for less, though at least one tool matches that score at a lower price.

The category's chart of price against score: https://toolgpa.com/charts/expenses

## Keep it, or make your own?

**Keep it.** To replace BILL you would be making money moved between bank accounts, which takes a licensed payments partner. That is not a weekend's work, with an AI app builder or without one. That makes this kind of software worth paying for, not this one in particular: 9 of the 13 other spend and bill pay tools grade higher. It costs $588 a year.

- You could make: Invoicing and expense tracking: an app builder makes these well.
- You could not: Money moved between bank accounts, which takes a licensed payments partner.
- You could not: Cards issued through a bank.
- You could not: A real app for iOS and Android. Something home-made would be a web page.
- You could not: It is priced for each person, which means accounts and billing for a team.
- You could not: It plugs into other products, QuickBooks Online, Xero and Oracle NetSuite among them, and has an API.
- You could not: AI features, unless you pay a model provider for each request yourself.
- You could not: The depth: we grade its features B, which means it covers the whole job.

A judgement by ToolGPA from this listing, by rules that are the same for every tool. Nothing was built to test it.

## What people say

- **App Store rating of the iPhone and iPad app:** 4.9 out of 5 from 48,758 ratings in the United States, read Oct 18, 2026. This is the store's rating of the app, not a score from ToolGPA. Source: https://apps.apple.com/us/app/id980353334

## Works with

QuickBooks Online, Xero, Oracle NetSuite, Sage Intacct, Microsoft Dynamics, QuickBooks Enterprise, Acumatica, Rillet

**Tags:** Bill pay, Invoicing, Company cards, Expense tracking, AI features, Public API

## Alternatives

- [Melio](https://toolgpa.com/tools/melio): Bill pay and invoicing for small US businesses, with a free plan. [Compare](https://toolgpa.com/compare/bill-vs-melio)
- [Plooto](https://toolgpa.com/tools/plooto): Bill pay and receivables for businesses in Canada and the US. [Compare](https://toolgpa.com/compare/bill-vs-plooto)
- [Ramp](https://toolgpa.com/tools/ramp): Corporate cards, expenses, travel and bill pay, with a free plan. [Compare](https://toolgpa.com/compare/bill-vs-ramp)
- [Brex](https://toolgpa.com/tools/brex): Corporate cards, expenses, bill pay and travel for growing companies. [Compare](https://toolgpa.com/compare/bill-vs-brex)
- [Nickel](https://toolgpa.com/tools/nickel): Free ACH invoicing and bill pay for US businesses. [Compare](https://toolgpa.com/compare/bill-vs-nickel)

## Sources

The prices, plans, platforms and features above were read from these pages on Oct 18, 2026:

- https://www.bill.com/product/pricing
- https://www.bill.com/
- https://www.bill.com/product/spend-and-expense
- https://www.bill.com/product/international-payments
- https://www.bill.com/about-us
- https://www.bill.com/signup

Page: https://toolgpa.com/tools/bill
Listed by ToolGPA (toolgpa.com).
