# Plooto

> Bill pay and receivables for businesses in Canada and the US

Plooto, based in Toronto, automates paying and collecting business payments for small and midsize companies in Canada and the United States and the accounting firms that work for them. It reads supplier invoices, routes them through approvals and pays by EFT, ACH, check, card or international transfer, collects from customers by pre-authorized debit or card, and syncs both sides with QuickBooks, Xero or NetSuite.

- **Category:** Spend & Bill Pay
- **Made by:** Plooto (since 2015)
- **Website:** https://www.plooto.com
- **Runs on:** Web
- **Facts last checked:** Oct 18, 2026

## Pricing

Plooto is a paid product with a free trial, starting at $9 per month, billing term and currency not stated.

- **Pricing model:** Free trial
- **Free plan:** None.
- **Free trial:** 30-day free trial with 10 free domestic transactions, no credit card required.

| Plan | Price | What you get |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Go | $9 per month, billing term and currency not stated | 1 approver. Domestic payments $1.00 each, cross-border payments a $19 flat fee. |
| Grow | $32 per month, billing term and currency not stated | Unlimited approvers. Domestic payments $0.50 each, cross-border payments a $10 flat fee. |
| Grow Unlimited | $59 per month, billing term and currency not stated | Grow with unlimited free domestic payments. |
| Pro | $499 per month, billing term and currency not stated | Everything in Grow plus single sign-on, priority support and a NetSuite integration add-on. |

Read from https://plooto.com/llms.txt on Oct 18, 2026. Prices change, so confirm with Plooto before buying.

## Ways to pay less

- **Free firm subscription for accountants** (Other savings): Accounting firms with 3 or more active clients on Grow or Pro get their own firm subscription free. Source: https://plooto.com/llms.txt

## Key features

- **Accounts payable:** Plooto Capture reads invoices by OCR, and bills go through multi-level approvals, scheduling and batch payment with a full audit trail.
- **Receivables:** Send invoices and collect by pre-authorized debit or by Visa, Mastercard or Amex with two-business-day settlement, plus recurring payments and reminders.
- **International payments:** Pay suppliers in 40+ countries and 25+ currencies over Global ACH, with a flat cross-border fee and no separate FX transfer fee.
- **Pay by card:** Pay a supplier with a commercial credit card while the supplier receives EFT, ACH or a check, for a 2.9% fee.
- **Plooto Instant:** A pre-funded wallet in US or Canadian dollars that speeds payments up to one or two business days at no extra transaction cost.
- **Dashboard for accounting firms:** Firms run payables for every client from one dashboard, with per-client approval rules and dual controls.

## Good for

- Canadian and US businesses that pay suppliers across the border
- Bookkeeping firms paying bills for many clients
- Canadian businesses remitting payroll and GST/HST to the CRA online

## Worth knowing

- Fees per payment: domestic $1.00 on Go or $0.50 on Grow, checks $1.99, CRA payments $3.00, card acceptance about 2.9% + $0.30. The file also lists cross-border at $9.99.
- Plooto's pricing page answered with a bot check; plan prices come from Plooto's own summary file of April 2026, which does not say whether they are US or Canadian dollars.
- Plooto serves businesses in Canada and the US and says it is a licensed money transmission business in Canada.
- QuickBooks Online, QuickBooks Desktop and Xero sync on every plan; NetSuite is a Pro add-on.

## ToolGPA grades

**GPA: 2.2 out of 4**, graded Oct 18, 2026. Plooto, from Toronto, pays supplier bills by EFT, ACH, check, card or international transfer and collects from customers by pre-authorized debit or card, syncing both sides with QuickBooks, Xero or NetSuite. It suits Canadian and US firms and the bookkeepers who pay bills for them. But there's no free plan, and its own summary file doesn't say whether its prices are US or Canadian dollars.

- **Value for money: C.** Graded against its bill pay alternatives. A ten-person company paying 20 supplier bills a month pays $29 on Go, $9 plus $1.00 a payment, in dollars its summary file doesn't name as US or Canadian. That's well under BILL but above Melio's free plan, and Nickel and Ramp send ACH free.
- **Free plan and trial: C.** No free plan, but a 30-day trial with 10 free domestic payments and no credit card needed. After that the cheapest plan is Go at $9 a month plus $1.00 a payment.
- **Features: C.** Payables and receivables are covered: invoices read by OCR, multi-level approvals, batch payments, pre-authorized debits and CRA remittances. It's a smaller job than the category's, though, with no company cards or expense reports listed.
- **Ease of use: C.** No store rating on record. You connect QuickBooks or Xero and set approval rules before the first payment goes out, which takes a bit of setting up.
- **Platforms and integrations: B.** Web only, with QuickBooks Online, QuickBooks Desktop and Xero syncing on every plan and NetSuite as an add-on to Pro at $499 a month. No phone apps are listed.

These are ToolGPA's own grades. Graded from this listing, whose facts were read from Plooto's own pages on 18 October 2026, with its prices taken from Plooto's own summary file of April 2026, which doesn't say whether they are US or Canadian dollars. Not based on using the product, and shorter than our full reviews.

## Where it stands among spend and bill pay tools

- Plooto's GPA of 2.2 is higher than 1 of the 13 other spend and bill pay tools we grade, and level with 1.
- It stands best on platforms and integrations (B, above 0 of 13) and worst on features (C, above 0).
- Its paid plans start at $9 a month, against a middle price of $12 for the category: 2 of the 11 others that charge start lower.
- On features, ease of use and platforms it scores 2.3 out of 4. 2 tools score higher and cost less.

The category's chart of price against score: https://toolgpa.com/charts/expenses

## Keep it, or make your own?

**Keep it.** To replace Plooto you would be making money moved between bank accounts, which takes a licensed payments partner. That is not a weekend's work, with an AI app builder or without one. That makes this kind of software worth paying for, not this one in particular: 11 of the 13 other spend and bill pay tools grade higher. It costs $108 a year.

- You could make: Invoicing: an app builder makes this well.
- You could not: Money moved between bank accounts, which takes a licensed payments partner.

A judgement by ToolGPA from this listing, by rules that are the same for every tool. Nothing was built to test it.

## Works with

QuickBooks Online, QuickBooks Desktop, Xero, Oracle NetSuite

**Tags:** Bill pay, Invoicing

## Alternatives

- [BILL](https://toolgpa.com/tools/bill): Bill pay, invoicing and free company cards for small businesses. [Compare](https://toolgpa.com/compare/bill-vs-plooto)
- [Melio](https://toolgpa.com/tools/melio): Bill pay and invoicing for small US businesses, with a free plan. [Compare](https://toolgpa.com/compare/melio-vs-plooto)
- [Nickel](https://toolgpa.com/tools/nickel): Free ACH invoicing and bill pay for US businesses. [Compare](https://toolgpa.com/compare/nickel-vs-plooto)
- [Ramp](https://toolgpa.com/tools/ramp): Corporate cards, expenses, travel and bill pay, with a free plan. [Compare](https://toolgpa.com/compare/plooto-vs-ramp)

## Sources

The prices, plans, platforms and features above were read from these pages on Oct 18, 2026:

- https://plooto.com/llms.txt
- https://apps.xero.com/us/app/plooto

Page: https://toolgpa.com/tools/plooto
Listed by ToolGPA (toolgpa.com).
