# Scribe

> Step-by-step guides captured automatically as you work

Scribe records a process as someone carries it out and turns it into a step-by-step guide with a screenshot and instruction for each action. Guides can be shared by link, embedded in other tools, exported or replayed as on-screen walkthroughs, and its Autocapture feature drafts documentation from work already done without pressing record. It runs as a Chrome or Edge extension, with Mac and Windows desktop apps on paid plans.

- **Category:** Docs & Wikis
- **Made by:** Colony Labs, Inc. dba Scribe
- **Website:** https://scribe.com
- **Runs on:** Web, macOS, Windows, Browser extension
- **Facts last checked:** Oct 5, 2026

## Pricing

Scribe has a free plan. Paid plans start at $13 per seat / month, billed yearly (Pro Team, 5-seat minimum).

- **Pricing model:** Free plan
- **Free plan:** Basic plan: capture web processes with the Chrome or Edge extension, edit text and steps, and share guides by link, embed or video. Unlimited guide creation, exports and desktop capture need a paid plan.
- **Free trial:** None listed.

| Plan | Price | What you get |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Basic | $0 | Browser capture through the Chrome or Edge extension, text and step editing, on-screen walkthroughs, and sharing by link, embed or video. |
| Pro Personal | $25 per seat / month, billed yearly ($35 billed monthly) | From 1 seat: unlimited guides, desktop capture, custom branding, screenshot editing and redaction, and export to PDF, HTML, Markdown and Word. |
| Pro Team | $13 per seat / month, billed yearly ($17 monthly); min. 5 seats | Everything in Pro Personal for teams of 5 or more seats, plus comments for collaboration. |
| Enterprise | Custom | SAML SSO and SCIM, role-based access, enforced automatic redaction, translation, multiple workspaces, and the Slack, Copilot and search API integrations. |

Read from https://scribe.com/pricing on Oct 5, 2026. Prices change, so confirm with Scribe before buying.

## Ways to pay less

- **Lower per-seat prices with yearly billing** (Annual discount): Pro Personal is $25 per seat a month billed yearly against $35 billed monthly, and Pro Team is $13 against $17. The pricing page labels the yearly option as saving 20%. Source: https://scribe.com/pricing
- **Pro discount for schools and universities** (Education): The pricing FAQ says people with a .edu email address can apply for an Education discount on Pro through a form. It does not state the size of the discount. Source: https://scribe.com/pricing
- **Pro discount for nonprofits** (Nonprofit): 501(c)(3) organizations, and those with an equivalent international designation, can apply for a nonprofit discount on Pro with proof of status. The amount is not stated. Source: https://scribe.com/pricing

## Key features

- **Automatic guide capture:** Recording a process produces a step-by-step guide with a screenshot and written instruction for each action. Web capture is on every plan; desktop capture needs a paid plan.
- **Autocapture:** Autocapture documents work in the background without anyone pressing start or stop, then turns a discovered workflow into a shareable guide in one click.
- **On-screen walkthroughs:** Any guide can be launched as a walkthrough that leads a person through the steps inside the web app itself, and guides can be pinned to an element of a page.
- **Editing and redaction:** Paid plans add custom branding, screenshot annotation, and manual or assisted redaction. Enforced automatic redaction of sensitive data is limited to Enterprise.
- **Sharing and export:** Guides are shared by link, embedded in other tools or sent as video on every plan. Export to PDF, HTML, Markdown and Microsoft Word starts on Pro Personal.
- **Workflow insights:** Scribe analyzes captured workflows to point out bottlenecks, repeated work and steps that could be automated. Advanced insights and AI suggestions are on paid plans.

## Good for

- Writing SOPs and how-to guides without taking screenshots by hand
- Training new hires on web-based software
- Solo consultants documenting processes for clients

## Worth knowing

- The free Basic plan captures web apps only; the Mac and Windows desktop apps are a Pro and Enterprise feature.
- Basic leaves out unlimited guide creation, exports, custom branding and redaction; the pricing page does not state the guide limit.
- Pro Team starts at 5 seats, and every member of a team has to be on the same plan.
- SSO, SCIM, role-based access, translation and the Slack and Copilot integrations are Enterprise only.

## Works with

Confluence, SharePoint, Notion, Slack, Microsoft Teams, Zendesk, ChatGPT, Claude

**Tags:** Screenshots, Documents, AI features

## Alternatives

- [Tango](https://toolgpa.com/tools/tango): Captures workflows as step-by-step guides with screenshots. [Compare](https://toolgpa.com/compare/scribe-vs-tango)
- [Guidde](https://toolgpa.com/tools/guidde): AI video documentation tool that turns screen captures into guides. [Compare](https://toolgpa.com/compare/guidde-vs-scribe)
- [Dubble](https://toolgpa.com/tools/dubble): Chrome extension that records clicks as step-by-step guides. [Compare](https://toolgpa.com/compare/dubble-vs-scribe)
- [Folge](https://toolgpa.com/tools/folge): Offline desktop app that turns clicks into step-by-step guides. [Compare](https://toolgpa.com/compare/folge-vs-scribe)
- [Trainual](https://toolgpa.com/tools/trainual): Training and SOP platform for onboarding and running teams. [Compare](https://toolgpa.com/compare/scribe-vs-trainual)

## Sources

The prices, plans, platforms and features above were read from these pages on Oct 5, 2026:

- https://scribe.com/pricing
- https://scribe.com/
- https://scribe.com/capture
- https://scribe.com/integrations
- https://scribe.com/install/desktop-app

Page: https://toolgpa.com/tools/scribe
Listed by ToolGPA (toolgpa.com).
