Skip to content

Notein vs Notewise

Price, platforms and features side by side. The table says where each price was read and when.

Notein

Handwriting notes, PDF markup and linked notes for Android tablets

Free plan · from $5.99

Notewise

Handwriting canvas and AI notes for iPhone, iPad and Android

Free plan · from $2.42/mo

Where they differ

  • Notein starts at $5.99 per in-app item on the US listing (Orion Notes); billing basis not shown. Notewise starts at $2.42 per month, billed yearly ($28.99); Classic Unlimited is $16.99 one-time.
  • Only Notewise lists an iOS app.
  • Notewise can be bought with a one-time purchase.
  • Notein also covers linked notes and templates.
  • Notewise also covers meeting notes and transcription.
In commonFree planAndroidAI featuresNotesWhiteboard

At a glance

NoteinNotewise
PricingFree planFree plan
Starts at$5.99 per in-app item on the US listing (Orion Notes); billing basis not shown$2.42 per month, billed yearly ($28.99); Classic Unlimited is $16.99 one-time
Free planCore features are free with a limit of up to 3 notebooks, including all handwriting tools, editor features, page management and document organization.Classic Free: up to 10 canvases of up to 50 pages each, with document import and the video feature, kept on the device. No AI, sync or cloud storage, and the watermark stays.
Free trialThe help center says all VIP plans include a free trial period; its length is not stated.7-day free trial on Starter; cancel during the trial and you are not charged.
iOS
Android
Made byOrion Studio Pte. Ltd.ZIIKR Pte. Ltd.
Price read fromplay.google.comnotewise.dev
CheckedOct 9, 2026Oct 9, 2026

Who each one suits

Notein

  • Android tablet and stylus users who want handwritten notes
  • Students annotating PDFs and slides while recording lectures
  • Building linked notes into a personal knowledge base

Notewise

  • Students and professionals who mix handwriting, PDFs and recordings
  • People who move between an iPad and an Android phone or tablet
  • Handwriting-only users who prefer a one-time purchase

Worth knowing

Notein

  • The free tier stops at 3 notebooks; unlimited notebooks, AI features and cloud sync need VIP.
  • Android only, and not listed on the US Play Store: US users are sent to a separate app, Orion Notes, and must export and re-import their notes.
  • No price list is published. Billing runs through Google Play, and the US Orion Notes listing shows $5.99 per item without a billing period.
  • The Play listing says the AI features are available in select regions only.

Notewise

  • Apps are offered for iPhone, iPad and Android; browser access is for viewing synced or shared notes and needs a Notewise Cloud subscription.
  • Classic Unlimited has no AI, sync or collaboration, and its license is tied to the Apple ID or Google Play account it was bought with.
  • AI features share a monthly credit allowance and pause when it runs out; Basic gets about a third of Starter's allowance.
  • When a subscription ends, cloud notes are kept for a 30-day grace period and then permanently deleted.

Key features

Notein

Infinite canvas and A4 notes
Two paper sizes: an infinite canvas for freeform sketching and A4 pages, with auto-shape, 3D shapes, color sets and a template library.
PDF and document annotation
Imports PDFs, images, Word and PowerPoint files to highlight, comment and draw on, with merge and split, an in-app split screen, dictionary lookup and translation.
Bidirectional links
Links connect notes and pages in both directions across all Notein documents, for study guides, planners or a personal knowledge base.
Layers
Handwriting, shapes and highlights can sit on separate layers, so part of a page can be revised without erasing the rest.
Audio-synced notes
Records a lecture or meeting while writing. Tapping handwriting jumps to that moment in the recording, with speed control, silence skipping and looping.
Sync and backup
Notebooks sync through Google Drive or OneDrive, with automatic and local backups. Cloud sync is part of the VIP plan.

Notewise

Mixed-source notes
A single note can hold typed text, audio recordings and transcripts, handwriting, PDFs, documents, slide decks, images and website links, and AI works across all of them.
Handwriting canvas
A freeform canvas with pens, brushes, highlighter, lasso, shapes, tables, sticky notes, rulers and connectors for diagrams. The advanced canvas tools need a paid plan.
PDF and document annotation
PDFs, slides and other documents of up to 1 GB import for highlighting, comments and drawing: up to 50 pages per document on Classic Free and 3,000 on paid plans.
Transcription and AI chat
Subscriptions transcribe recordings in 20+ languages and answer questions about one note, all notes or a meeting still being recorded, pointing to the passage an answer came from.
Interactive Tabs
Captured notes can be turned into flashcards, quizzes, action items, decision logs or a custom format. Guided AI podcasts are limited to Starter and Pro.
Sync and collaboration
Subscriptions sync notes between iOS and Android with 1 GB to 100 GB of cloud storage, and add real-time collaboration on canvas and sharing by link with viewing in a browser.

Plans

Notein

  • Free$0

    Up to 3 notebooks with all handwriting tools, editor features, page management and document organization.

  • VIP$5.99

    per in-app item on Google Play (US); billing basis not shown

    Unlimited notebooks, AI features and cloud sync, offered monthly, yearly or as a lifetime purchase. The US listing, named Orion Notes, shows a single in-app price.

Notewise

  • Classic Free$0

    Up to 10 canvases of 50 pages each, with PDF, slide and document import. No advanced canvas tools, AI, sync or cloud storage.

  • Classic Unlimited$16.99

    one-time purchase on the website (Android); $19.99 in the iOS app

    Unlimited offline canvases of up to 3,000 pages, advanced canvas tools and no watermark. No AI, sync or collaboration.

  • Basic$2.42

    per month, billed yearly ($28.99); $4.99 billed monthly

    AI notes, chat, transcription and handwriting recognition with 0.3x AI credits, 1 GB of cloud storage, cross-device sync and real-time collaboration.

  • Starter$3.08

    per month, billed yearly ($36.99); $6.99 billed monthly

    Everything in Basic with 1x AI credits, 10 GB of cloud storage and guided AI podcasts. Includes the 7-day free trial.

  • Pro$10.83

    per month, billed yearly ($129.99); $15.99 billed monthly

    Everything in Starter with 3x AI credits and 100 GB of cloud storage, for heavy AI use and large note libraries.

Ways to pay less

Notein

  • Lifetime license

    VIP as a lifetime purchase

    Notein's help center lists a Lifetime option beside the monthly and yearly VIP plans: a one-time payment with no recurring charges. It does not state the price.

Notewise

  • Annual discount

    Save 32% to 56% with yearly billing

    Basic, Starter and Pro cost $28.99, $36.99 and $129.99 a year against $4.99, $6.99 and $15.99 a month, which works out about 52%, 56% and 32% lower over twelve months.

  • Lifetime license

    Classic Unlimited as a one-time purchase

    Classic Unlimited is bought once and does not renew: $16.99 on the Notewise website for Android, with iOS users buying it inside the app, where the US App Store lists $19.99.

  • Other savings

    Volume licenses for schools and businesses

    Organizations can buy discounted one-time Notewise Unlimited licenses for a verified email domain, starting with a minimum of 20 licenses. Cloud sync is not included.

More comparisons