Notein vs Squid
Price, platforms and features side by side. The table says where each price was read and when.
Notein
Handwriting notes, PDF markup and linked notes for Android tablets
Squid
Handwritten notes and PDF markup for Android and Chromebooks
Where they differ
- Notein starts at $5.99 per in-app item on the US listing (Orion Notes); billing basis not shown. Squid starts at $1.00 - $14.99 per in-app item on Google Play; billing basis not shown.
- Notein also covers linked notes and templates.
At a glance
| Notein | Squid | |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | Free plan | Free plan |
| Starts at | $5.99 per in-app item on the US listing (Orion Notes); billing basis not shown | $1.00 - $14.99 per in-app item on Google Play; billing basis not shown |
| Free plan | Core features are free with a limit of up to 3 notebooks, including all handwriting tools, editor features, page management and document organization. | Base features are free with no account: vector ink, blank, ruled and graph paper, the stroke eraser, image import, folders, and export to PDF, PNG, JPEG or Squid Note format. |
| Free trial | The help center says all VIP plans include a free trial period; its length is not stated. | None listed |
| Android | ||
| Made by | Orion Studio Pte. Ltd. | Steadfast Innovation, LLC |
| Price read from | play.google.com | play.google.com |
| Checked | Oct 9, 2026 | Oct 9, 2026 |
Who each one suits
Notein
- Android tablet and stylus users who want handwritten notes
- Students annotating PDFs and slides while recording lectures
- Building linked notes into a personal knowledge base
Squid
- Students and teachers writing by hand on Android tablets or Chromebooks
- Marking up, grading or signing PDFs with a pen
- People who want notes kept on the device with no account
Worth knowing
Notein
- The free tier stops at 3 notebooks; unlimited notebooks, AI features and cloud sync need VIP.
- Android only, and not listed on the US Play Store: US users are sent to a separate app, Orion Notes, and must export and re-import their notes.
- No price list is published. Billing runs through Google Play, and the US Orion Notes listing shows $5.99 per item without a billing period.
- The Play listing says the AI features are available in select regions only.
Squid
- Squid is an Android app only. It also runs on Chromebooks that have the Play Store; no iPhone, iPad, desktop or web version is offered.
- PDF import, the highlighter, true eraser, shapes, typed text, premium backgrounds and cloud backup are all paid features.
- Google Play gives in-app prices only as a range of $1.00 to $14.99 per item, without saying which is monthly, yearly or one-time.
- Purchases are tied to the app store account used to buy them and apply only on the same platform and app store.
Key features
Notein
- Infinite canvas and A4 notes
- Two paper sizes: an infinite canvas for freeform sketching and A4 pages, with auto-shape, 3D shapes, color sets and a template library.
- PDF and document annotation
- Imports PDFs, images, Word and PowerPoint files to highlight, comment and draw on, with merge and split, an in-app split screen, dictionary lookup and translation.
- Bidirectional links
- Links connect notes and pages in both directions across all Notein documents, for study guides, planners or a personal knowledge base.
- Layers
- Handwriting, shapes and highlights can sit on separate layers, so part of a page can be revised without erasing the rest.
- Audio-synced notes
- Records a lecture or meeting while writing. Tapping handwriting jumps to that moment in the recording, with speed control, silence skipping and looping.
- Sync and backup
- Notebooks sync through Google Drive or OneDrive, with automatic and local backups. Cloud sync is part of the VIP plan.
Squid
- Vector ink engine
- Strokes stay sharp at any zoom level and can be selected, moved, resized, recolored and reweighted later. A stroke eraser removes whole letters or words at once.
- Active pen support
- On devices with an active pen, such as Samsung devices with S Pen, the pen writes and a finger erases, with pressure sensitivity and quick actions on the pen's side button.
- Paper types and sizes
- Pages are infinite by default or sized as letter, legal or A4. Blank, ruled and graph paper are free; math, engineering, music, sports and planning backgrounds need Squid Premium.
- PDF markup
- A premium feature that imports a PDF as a note to annotate, fill in or sign, then exports the result as a new PDF. It is also sold on its own as an in-app purchase.
- Presentation mode
- Casts a note to a TV or projector so a tablet works as a virtual whiteboard, or shows imported slides that can be written on during a talk.
- Export and cloud backup
- Notes export to PDF, PNG, JPEG or Squid Note format. Squid Premium adds backup at set intervals and bulk PDF export to Google Drive, Dropbox or Box.
Plans
Notein
Free$0
Up to 3 notebooks with all handwriting tools, editor features, page management and document organization.
VIP$5.99
per in-app item on Google Play (US); billing basis not shown
Unlimited notebooks, AI features and cloud sync, offered monthly, yearly or as a lifetime purchase. The US listing, named Orion Notes, shows a single in-app price.
Squid
Squid$0
Base features with no account: vector ink, blank, ruled and graph paper, stroke eraser, image import, folders and export to PDF, PNG or JPEG.
Squid Premium and in-app purchases$1.00 - $14.99
per item on Google Play (US); billing basis not shown
Covers the monthly or yearly Squid Premium subscription and the one-time PDF Import and Tool Pack purchases. The listing does not price each item.
Education bulk licenseCustom
Discounted bulk Squid Premium licenses for Google Workspace for Education accounts, quoted on request and assigned in the Google Admin console.
Ways to pay less
Notein
- Lifetime license
VIP as a lifetime purchase
Notein's help center lists a Lifetime option beside the monthly and yearly VIP plans: a one-time payment with no recurring charges. It does not state the price.
Squid
- Education
Discounted bulk licensing for schools
Squid's help center offers discounted bulk licensing of Squid Premium for Google Workspace for Education accounts, by quote, with a trial available on request.
- Annual discount
Discounted yearly subscription
Squid Premium is sold monthly or yearly, and the help center describes the yearly option as the discounted price. It does not state the amounts.
- Other savings
6 months of Squid Premium on eligible Chromebooks
Eligible Chromebooks get 6 months of Squid Premium free through the Chromebook Perks page, redeemed against the monthly subscription option on Google Play.