Skip to content

The Akaunting Insider’s Guide

Everything we know about Akaunting in one document: what it costs, its grades, getting a refund, getting help and what else to look at. Read it here, or keep a copy.

Download the PDF
Pass it onEmailLinkedInXWhatsApp
ToolGPAOctober 2026

Akaunting

The Insider’s Guide

Open-source accounting you can host yourself or use in the cloud

Every plan, grade, refund rule and rival among accounting and invoicing tools, read from Akaunting’s own pages.

Made by Akaunting · checked Oct 17, 2026 · toolgpa.com

2.2GPA

Contents

  1. 01WelcomeWhat it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first
  2. 02What it costsEvery plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved
  3. 03What it doesIts main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it
  4. 04Where it standsIts grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own
  5. 05The alternativesThe tools it is most often weighed against, side by side
  6. 06Quick answersThe questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two
  7. 07About ToolGPAWho made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it

ToolGPA put this guide together from Akaunting’s own pages, its app-store listings and our grades. Every fact in it is on Akaunting’s page too, where it is kept up to date. Checked Oct 17, 2026.

Part 01 · Overview

Welcome

What it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first

2.2

GPA, above 1 of the 17 other accounting and invoicing tools we grade

Akaunting is open-source accounting software for small businesses and freelancers. The core handles invoices, bills, customers, vendors, sales tax, several currencies and reports, and features such as double-entry, bank feeds, payroll and inventory are added as apps. It can be installed free on your own server or used as a paid cloud service hosted by Akaunting.

To get you started, here are 9 things to know about Akaunting, taken from its own pages and our grades.

That's the catch: double-entry reports and bank feeds aren't in the free edition or the cheapest cloud plan.
From our report card of Akaunting
  1. 1

    Best for open-source books you can host yourself

    The core does invoices, bills, sales tax and several currencies, and everything else comes as apps.

  2. 2

    Paid plans start at $6 a month when paid by the year

    As its pricing page puts it: $72 per year, self-hosted.

  3. 3

    There is a free plan

    Standard On-Premise: the free, open-source edition you host yourself, for 1 company, 1 user plus 1 accountant and 1,000 invoices, with forum support. Apps cost extra.

  4. 4

    It runs on Web

    Web.

  5. 5

    Invoices, bills and payments

    Unlimited customers, vendors and products, recurring payment reminders, sales tax calculation and multiple currencies on every plan.

  6. 6

    Double-entry accounting

    Chart of accounts, general ledger, balance sheet, trial balance and manual journals come with the Double-Entry app, included from Premium Cloud.

  7. 7

    Bank feeds

    Connect bank accounts in the US, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, the UK and Europe to import transactions; included from Premium Cloud.

  8. 8

    A 2.2 GPA, above 1 of 17

    That is against the other accounting and invoicing tools we grade, on value, the free plan, features, ease of use and platforms.

  9. 9

    Keep it

    To replace Akaunting you would be making live feeds from your bank, which take an agreement with each bank or a service that has them. That is not a weekend's work, with an AI app builder or without one.

Akaunting at a glance

Pricing
Free plan, from $72 per year, self-hosted
Free plan
Yes
Free trial
Free trial of each cloud plan; the length is not stated
Runs on
Web
Made by
Akaunting, since 2017
Category
Accounting & Invoicing
Our grade
2.2 GPA, fair

The report card

Best for open-source books you can host yourself

Akaunting is open-source accounting you can run on your own server for nothing, or have them host from $8 a month. The core does invoices, bills, sales tax and several currencies, and everything else comes as apps. That's the catch: double-entry reports and bank feeds aren't in the free edition or the cheapest cloud plan.

ToolGPA report cardAkauntingGraded Oct 17, 2026
SubjectGradeComment
Value for moneyCThe cheap prices leave out the main bits. Self-hosting is free or $72 a year and Standard Cloud is $8 a month, but double-entry and bank feeds start on Premium Cloud at $24 a month yearly, about this category's middle.
Free plan and trialCThe open-source edition is free, but you run it on your own server, and it's 1 company, 1 user plus an accountant and 1,000 invoices, with no double-entry reports or bank feeds. Cloud plans have a trial of unstated length.
FeaturesCInvoices, bills, sales tax, currencies and reports in the core, with double-entry, bank feeds, payroll, inventory and projects as apps. The listing's own notes say the free and cheapest plans go without the ledger and bank feeds.
Ease of useCNo store rating on record. You either sign up for the cloud version or set up your own server, then choose which apps to add before the books are complete. That's a learning curve.
Platforms and integrationsBWeb only, with no phone or desktop app. What lifts it is the connections: Shopify, Stripe and Google, plus bank feeds in the US, Canada, the UK, Europe, Australia and New Zealand.
Grade point averageFair, out of 4.02.2

An A is worth 4 points, a B 3, a C 2, a D 1 and an F nothing. The GPA is the average of the five.

Who Akaunting is for

  • Great if you want to own and host your accounting data yourself
  • Handy when you keep the books for several small companies, with 10 on Premium
  • Good for businesses outside the US, with translations in 50+ languages

Who it is not for

  • Not for you if you've never run a server and want the free edition
  • Tight if you stay on Standard Cloud, which has no double-entry reports or bank feeds
  • Pricey if you self-host and need lots of apps, since none are included and each is bought

Good to know

Good for

  • Businesses that want to own and host their accounting data
  • Accountants managing books for many small companies
  • Teams outside the US, with translations in 50+ languages

Worth knowing

  • The free self-hosted edition and Standard Cloud lack double-entry reports and bank feeds; those come from Premium Cloud or as paid apps.
  • Self-hosted plans include no apps at all; Elite and Ultimate On-Premise cost $168 and $684 a year before any apps.
  • Payroll, inventory, projects and estimates need Elite Cloud or separate app purchases on lower plans.
  • The free self-hosted edition is supported only through the community forum; ticket support comes with the paid plans.

Part 02 · Pricing

What it costs

Every plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved

$6

A month to start, paid by the year. There is a free plan too

Akaunting has a free plan. Paid plans start at $72 per year, self-hosted.

The cheap prices leave out the main bits.
From our grade for value for money
  • Standard On-Premise

    $0

    Free and open source, hosted on your own server. 1 company, 1 user plus 1 accountant, 1,000 invoices and forum support.

  • Premium On-Premise

    $72

    per year, self-hosted

    Hosted on your own server. 10 companies, 10 users, 10,000 invoices and ticket support. Apps are bought separately. $756 as a one-time lifetime license.

  • Standard Cloud

    $8

    per month, billed yearly

    $12 billed monthly. Hosted by Akaunting for 1 company, 1 user plus 1 accountant and 1,000 invoices, with 4 apps included.

  • Premium Cloud

    $24

    per month, billed yearly

    $36 billed monthly. 10 companies, 10 users and 10,000 invoices, adding double-entry, bank feeds, expense claims, roles and a client portal.

  • Elite Cloud

    $56

    per month, billed yearly

    $84 billed monthly. 30 companies, 30 users and 30,000 invoices, adding estimates, payroll, projects, inventory, CRM, receipt scanning, Shopify and Stripe.

  • Ultimate Cloud

    $145

    per month, billed yearly

    $218 billed monthly. Unlimited companies, users and invoices, and all 50+ apps, including budgeting, purchase orders, point of sale and 1099 tools.

The free plan

Standard On-Premise: the free, open-source edition you host yourself, for 1 company, 1 user plus 1 accountant and 1,000 invoices, with forum support. Apps cost extra.

Trying it first

Free trial of each cloud plan; the length is not stated

Read from akaunting.com on Oct 17, 2026.

Ways to pay less

  • Annual discount

    4 months free with yearly cloud billing

    Yearly billing brings Standard Cloud from $12 to $8 a month, Premium from $36 to $24, Elite from $84 to $56 and Ultimate from $218 to $145.

    Stated on akaunting.com
  • Lifetime license

    Lifetime licenses for the self-hosted plans

    Pay once instead of yearly: $756 for Premium On-Premise, $1,764 for Elite and $7,224 for Ultimate.

    Stated on akaunting.com

Part 03 · Features

What it does

Its main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it

1

Place it runs: Web

Open-source accounting you can host yourself or use in the cloud. Here is what it does, as its own site describes it, and what it covers: open source, self-hostable, invoicing, reports, bookkeeping, expense tracking.

Invoices, bills, sales tax, currencies and reports in the core, with double-entry, bank feeds, payroll, inventory and projects as apps.
From our grade for features
Invoices, bills and payments
Unlimited customers, vendors and products, recurring payment reminders, sales tax calculation and multiple currencies on every plan.
Double-entry accounting
Chart of accounts, general ledger, balance sheet, trial balance and manual journals come with the Double-Entry app, included from Premium Cloud.
Bank feeds
Connect bank accounts in the US, Canada, Australia, New Zealand, the UK and Europe to import transactions; included from Premium Cloud.
App store
50+ apps add payroll with payslips, inventory, projects, CRM, expense claims and more. Self-hosted plans include no apps, so each is bought.
Multiple companies
Run the books of several businesses from one account: 10 on Premium, 30 on Elite and unlimited on Ultimate.
Self-hosting
Install it on your own server with the source code available, and Akaunting says it collects none of your financial data.

Where it runs

  • Web

What it works with

  • Shopify
  • Stripe
  • Google

Akaunting is made by Akaunting, and has been around since 2017.

Part 04 · Standing

Where it stands

Its grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own

1/17

Other accounting and invoicing tools it is graded above

Akaunting's GPA of 2.2 is higher than 1 of the 17 other accounting and invoicing tools we grade, and level with 2.

It stands best on platforms and integrations (B, above 2 of 17) and worst on free plan and trial (C, above 0).

Its paid plans start at $6 a month when paid by the year, against a middle price of $19 for the category: 1 of the 16 others that charge start lower.

On features, ease of use and platforms it scores 2.3 out of 4. 2 tools score higher and cost less.

Each grade against the category

Every bar is all 18 accounting and invoicing tools we grade, cut by the letter each got. Akaunting’s own letter is outlined.

  • CValue for moneyAbove 2 of 17
  • CFree plan and trialAbove 0 of 17
  • CFeaturesAbove 0 of 17
  • CEase of useAbove 0 of 17
  • BPlatforms and integrationsAbove 2 of 17

Price against what you get

Each dot is one of 18 accounting and invoicing tools. Further left costs less; higher up scores better on features, ease of use and platforms. Akaunting is the marked dot.

C2.0B3.0A4.0Free$2$5$10$20$50$100More for lessCosts more, scores moreCosts less, scores lessCosts more, scores lessAkauntingZoho BooksZoho InvoiceOdooManager.ioKashoo

What paid plans start at, a month (each step along is roughly double) →

Keep it, or make your own?

Whether this is something you could build for yourself with an AI app builder, and what you would give up.

Keep it

To replace Akaunting you would be making live feeds from your bank, which take an agreement with each bank or a service that has them. That is not a weekend's work, with an AI app builder or without one.

That makes this kind of software worth paying for, not this one in particular: 14 of the 17 other accounting and invoicing tools grade higher. It costs $72 a year. Akaunting is open source, so there is a third way: take its code and run it yourself.

What you could make

  • Invoicing, expense tracking and reports: an app builder makes these well.

What you could not

  • Live feeds from your bank, which take an agreement with each bank or a service that has them.

What this rests on. Akaunting’s listing: what it does, where it runs, what it plugs into and what it costs. It is a judgement about the kind of software this is. We have not built a replacement for it, and making your own means looking after it too. How we decide, and every tool’s verdict.

Part 05 · Alternatives

The alternatives

The tools it is most often weighed against, side by side

Manager.io, Odoo, Wave, Zoho Books and QuickBooks Online

The 5 tools Akaunting is most often weighed against, with where each one differs from it.

  • 2.8GPA

    Manager.io

    Free plan · from $59/mo

    Free offline accounting for Windows, Mac and Linux, with a paid cloud.

    • Only Manager.io lists Windows, macOS and Linux apps.
    • Akaunting is open source, according to its own site.
    Akaunting and Manager.io compared in full
  • 3.2GPA

    Odoo

    Free plan · from $31.10/mo

    Business app suite whose Accounting app is free when used on its own.

    • Only Odoo lists iOS and Android apps.
    Akaunting and Odoo compared in full
  • 2.4GPA

    Wave

    Free plan · from $19/mo

    Free invoicing and bookkeeping for US and Canadian small businesses.

    • Only Wave lists iOS and Android apps.
    • Akaunting is open source and self-hostable, according to its own site.
    • Wave also covers payroll.
    Akaunting and Wave compared in full
  • 3.4GPA

    Zoho Books

    Free plan · from $15/mo

    Online accounting from Zoho, with a free plan and six paid tiers.

    • Only Zoho Books lists Windows, iOS and Android apps.
    • Akaunting is open source and self-hostable, according to its own site.
    Akaunting and Zoho Books compared in full
  • 2.4GPA

    QuickBooks Online

    Free plan · from $38/mo

    Cloud accounting from Intuit, from a free plan to 25-user Advanced.

    • Only QuickBooks Online lists iOS and Android apps.
    • Akaunting is open source and self-hostable, according to its own site.
    • QuickBooks Online also covers payroll.
    Akaunting and QuickBooks Online compared in full

Part 06 · Questions

Quick answers

The questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two

14

Questions, each answered in a line or two

The short version of everything above, for when you only need the answer. Each one is told in full in its part of the guide.

Is Akaunting free?

Akaunting has a free plan. Standard On-Premise: the free, open-source edition you host yourself, for 1 company, 1 user plus 1 accountant and 1,000 invoices, with forum support.

How much does Akaunting cost?

Akaunting lists 6 plans. Standard On-Premise: $0.

What platforms does Akaunting work on?

Akaunting is available on Web.

Does Akaunting offer any discounts?

Akaunting publicly lists the following: 4 months free with yearly cloud billing; Lifetime licenses for the self-hosted plans.

Does Akaunting have an Android app?

No Android app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 17, 2026. Akaunting is listed for Web.

Does Akaunting have an iPhone app?

No iPhone app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 17, 2026. Akaunting is listed for Web.

Is Akaunting open source?

Yes. Akaunting is open source, according to its own site.

What does Akaunting integrate with?

Akaunting's listing names Shopify, Stripe and Google. A listing names up to eight integrations, so it may connect to more.

Does Akaunting have a free trial?

Yes. Free trial of each cloud plan; the length is not stated.

Who makes Akaunting?

Akaunting is made by Akaunting. It dates from 2017.

What are the alternatives to Akaunting?

The closest alternatives to Akaunting in our directory are Manager.io, Odoo, Wave, Zoho Books and QuickBooks Online.

How does Akaunting compare with other accounting and invoicing tools?

Akaunting's GPA of 2.2 is higher than 1 of the 17 other accounting and invoicing tools we grade, and level with 2.

Is Akaunting good value for money?

ToolGPA grades Akaunting C for value for money. Its paid plans start at $6 a month when paid by the year, against a middle price of $19 for the category: 1 of the 16 others that charge start lower.

Could I make my own version of Akaunting?

To replace Akaunting you would be making live feeds from your bank, which take an agreement with each bank or a service that has them.

Where this guide comes from

The prices, plans, platforms and features were read from Akaunting’s own pages on Oct 17, 2026, and the grades were given on Oct 17, 2026. Graded from this listing, whose facts were read from Akaunting's own pages on 17 October 2026. Not based on using the product, and shorter than our full reviews.

Every tool we list gets five grades, A to F, each with its reason, and a GPA that averages them. How each is decided is at toolgpa.com/grades. This guide is ToolGPA’s own work; it is not made, paid for or approved by Akaunting. Prices change, so check akaunting.com before you buy.

Part 07 · About

About ToolGPA

Who made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it

1,858

Tools graded, in 46 categories

ToolGPA grades software the way a school report grades a pupil: five subjects, a letter for each with the reason written beside it, and a GPA that averages them. Prices, plans and platforms are read from each maker’s own pages and dated, so you always know how fresh a figure is.

ToolGPA is free to read. It may earn a commission from affiliate links and it works with sponsors, but anything paid for is labelled and no one can pay for a grade. Every tool on the site has a guide like this one, free to download and pass on. It all lives at toolgpa.com.

  • 1,858

    tools graded

  • 46

    categories

  • 426

    price changes on record

  • 579

    apps priced in 12 countries

What else is on toolgpa.com

Scan for the live page

Prices and grades as they are today

Quoting this guide?

Please name ToolGPA and link to the live page, so readers can check the figures for themselves:

ToolGPA, "Akaunting: The Insider's Guide", checked Oct 17, 2026. https://toolgpa.com/tools/akaunting

Know someone choosing between accounting and invoicing tools?

Send them this guide: toolgpa.com/tools/akaunting/guide

ToolGPA elsewhere: youtube.com/@toolgpa

See our other guides

The best-graded accounting and invoicing tools after Akaunting, each with an Insider's Guide of its own.

ToolGPA

Choosing software? Every tool graded, every price dated.

Compare tools at toolgpa.com ›

Everything in this guide is ToolGPA’s own summary of what Akaunting’s pages, its app-store listings and public reviews said on the dates shown. Grades are our judgement under the rules at toolgpa.com/grades. ToolGPA uses affiliate links and may earn a commission from them, and it works with sponsors; anything paid for is labelled, and no one can pay for a grade. Akaunting is a trademark of its owner, and this guide is not made, paid for or approved by Akaunting. Prices and plans change: check akaunting.com before you buy.