The Antinote Insider’s Guide
Everything we know about Antinote in one document: what it costs, its grades, getting a refund, getting help and what else to look at. Read it here, or keep a copy.
Antinote
The Insider’s Guide
Mac scratchpad for temporary notes, quick math and checklists
Every plan, grade, refund rule and rival among note-taking apps, read from Antinote’s own pages.
Made by Cmd-N Studios Inc. · checked Oct 9, 2026 · toolgpa.com
Contents
- 01WelcomeWhat it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first
- 02What it costsEvery plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved
- 03What it doesIts main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it
- 04Where it standsIts grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own
- 05The alternativesThe tools it is most often weighed against, side by side
- 06Quick answersThe questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two
- 07About ToolGPAWho made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it
ToolGPA put this guide together from Antinote’s own pages, its app-store listings and our grades. Every fact in it is on Antinote’s page too, where it is kept up to date. Checked Oct 9, 2026.
Part 01 · Overview
Welcome
What it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first
2.4
GPA, above 22 of the 147 other note-taking apps we grade
Antinote is a Mac scratchpad from Cmd-N Studios for notes that are meant to be thrown away. It opens over any app with a global hotkey, keeps notes as plain text, and turns a note into a calculator, converter, checklist or timer when a keyword is typed on its first line. Notes are stored locally with optional iCloud sync, and can be sent to Apple Notes, Obsidian or Bear. It costs $5 once, with a free trial.
To get you started, here are 9 things to know about Antinote, taken from its own pages and our grades.
No store rating on record, so we go by the listing: you install it, hit Option-A and type.
- 1
Best for a throwaway scratchpad on the Mac
It isn't a place to keep things, with no folders, no tags and plain text only.
- 2
What it costs
Paid plans start at $5 one-time purchase.
- 3
You can try it first
Free trial download with no account needed; the site does not state its length
- 4
It runs on macOS
macOS.
- 5
Swipe-through temporary notes
A two-finger swipe moves between notes, and swiping past the newest one starts another. Notes can delete themselves, and there are no folders or tags to manage.
- 6
Plain text with paste cleanup
Notes are plain text with simple Markdown. Pasting strips formatting, bullets and indentation, pasted links are shortened, and a dropped image becomes text through macOS OCR.
- 7
Inline math and conversions
With math on the first line, calculations are worked out as you type beside your own wording. Named variables recalculate, and currencies, crypto, distances and weights convert inline.
- 8
A 2.4 GPA, above 22 of 147
That is against the other note-taking apps we grade, on value, the free plan, features, ease of use and platforms.
- 9
Your call
A notes app at its plainest is text in folders with a search box.
Antinote at a glance
- Pricing
- Free trial, from $5 one-time purchase
- Free plan
- No
- Free trial
- Free trial download with no account needed; the site does not state its length
- Runs on
- macOS
- Made by
- Cmd-N Studios Inc.
- Category
- Note-Taking Apps
- Our grade
- 2.4 GPA, fair
The report card
Best for a throwaway scratchpad on the Mac
Antinote is a $5 Mac scratchpad for notes you'll throw away: press Option-A over any app, and a keyword on the first line turns a note into a calculator, checklist or timer. It isn't a place to keep things, with no folders, no tags and plain text only. Long notes get laggy, it needs macOS 14 or later, and the trial's length is never stated.
| Subject | Grade | Comment |
|---|---|---|
| Value for money | A | $5 once, with lifetime updates and no subscription. Note apps here sit at about $6 a month in the middle, so the whole thing costs less than one month of a typical rival and then it's yours. |
| Free plan and trial | C | There's no free version to settle on. The trial is a straight download with no account and no card, but the site never says how long it runs. |
| Features | C | It does the scratchpad job fully: sums as you type, currencies and units converted inline, checklists, a pomodoro timer, text pulled from a dropped image, export to Apple Notes, Obsidian or Bear. But that's a smaller job than note-taking. No folders, no tags, plain text only, and long notes get laggy. |
| Ease of use | B | No store rating on record, so we go by the listing: you install it, hit Option-A and type. Nothing to connect, nothing to set up, no folders to invent. The first-line keywords take a minute to pick up. |
| Platforms and integrations | D | One operating system, and only macOS 14 or later at that. The vendor plans no Windows or Linux version and the iPhone app is still in development. On the Mac it does plug into Raycast, Alfred, Shortcuts and iCloud sync. |
An A is worth 4 points, a B 3, a C 2, a D 1 and an F nothing. The GPA is the average of the five.
Who Antinote is for
- Fits if you want a pad for phone numbers and half-thoughts beside your main notes app
- Works for quick sums in words, like rent split three ways, on a Mac running macOS 14 or later
Who it is not for
- Skip it if you want one app to keep your notes in, as there are no folders or tags
- Not for you if you're on Windows or Linux, because no version is planned, and the iPhone app is still in development
- Too light for long documents, since the vendor says very long notes get laggy
- Tight if you want formatting, as notes are plain text with no fonts, colors or styles
- Watch out: there's no free version, the trial length isn't stated, and iCloud sync stays off until you switch it on
Good to know
Good for
- Mac users who want a throwaway pad beside their main notes app
- Quick sums, conversions and what-if calculations written in words
- Keyboard-driven users of Raycast or Alfred
Worth knowing
- It runs on macOS 14 or later only. The vendor plans no Windows or Linux version; an iOS app is in development with an October 2026 release date.
- Notes are plain text with no fonts, colors or styles, and the vendor says very long notes get laggy.
- There are no folders or tags: it is built for short-lived notes that get exported elsewhere when worth keeping.
- iCloud sync, added in version 2.0, is optional and off until switched on; notes otherwise stay in a local SQLite database.
Part 02 · Pricing
What it costs
Every plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved
$5 one-time
To start
Antinote is a paid product with a free trial, starting at $5 one-time purchase.
The trial is a straight download with no account and no card, but the site never says how long it runs.
Antinote
$5
one-time purchase
A license for the Mac app with lifetime updates and no subscription. Requires macOS 14 (Sonoma) or later.
Trying it first
Free trial download with no account needed; the site does not state its length
Read from antinote.io on Oct 9, 2026.
Ways to pay less
Other savings
Free license for charity donors and volunteers
The FAQ says that describing a donation you made or volunteer work you did in the #charity-offer channel on the Antinote Discord earns a free lifetime license.
Stated on antinote.io
Part 03 · Features
What it does
Its main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it
1
Place it runs: macOS
Mac scratchpad for temporary notes, quick math and checklists. Here is what it does, as its own site describes it, and what it covers: local-first, one-time purchase, keyboard-first, notes, Pomodoro timer, menu bar app, calculator.
But that's a smaller job than note-taking.
- Swipe-through temporary notes
- A two-finger swipe moves between notes, and swiping past the newest one starts another. Notes can delete themselves, and there are no folders or tags to manage.
- Plain text with paste cleanup
- Notes are plain text with simple Markdown. Pasting strips formatting, bullets and indentation, pasted links are shortened, and a dropped image becomes text through macOS OCR.
- Inline math and conversions
- With math on the first line, calculations are worked out as you type beside your own wording. Named variables recalculate, and currencies, crypto, distances and weights convert inline.
- Checklists, timers and AutoPaste
- Other first-line keywords change what a note does: list makes a checklist, timer runs a stopwatch, countdown or pomodoro, and paste collects everything copied afterwards.
- Global hotkey and display modes
- Option-A brings the app up from inside any other app. It can live in the Dock, the menu bar or a dropdown, show over full-screen apps and be pinned on top.
- Export and automation
- A note can be sent to Apple Notes, Obsidian or Bear, or exported as txt, Markdown or PDF. URL schemes, Shortcuts, Raycast, Alfred and JavaScript extensions can drive the app.
Where it runs
- macOS
What it works with
- Apple Notes
- Obsidian
- Bear
- Raycast
- Alfred
- Apple Shortcuts
- iCloud
Antinote is made by Cmd-N Studios Inc.
Part 04 · Standing
Where it stands
Its grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own
22/147
Other note-taking apps it is graded above
Antinote's GPA of 2.4 is higher than 22 of the 147 other note-taking apps we grade, and level with 27.
It stands best on value for money (A, above 62 of 147) and worst on platforms and integrations (D, above 0).
Each grade against the category
Every bar is all 148 note-taking apps we grade, cut by the letter each got. Antinote’s own letter is outlined.
- AValue for moneyAbove 62 of 147
- CFree plan and trialAbove 7 of 147
- CFeaturesAbove 2 of 147
- BEase of useAbove 47 of 147
- DPlatforms and integrationsAbove 0 of 147
Keep it, or make your own?
Whether this is something you could build for yourself with an AI app builder, and what you would give up.
Your call
A notes app at its plainest is text in folders with a search box.
You could make the core of Antinote for yourself: notes, calculator and Pomodoro timer. What you would give up is listed below. Whether that is worth the price is your call. At $5, paid once, it costs less than the weekend it would take to replace, which is the argument for keeping it.
What you could make
- Notes, calculator and Pomodoro timer: an app builder makes these well.
What you could not
- A native app living in the menu bar.
- A real app for macOS. Something home-made would be a web page.
- It plugs into other products, Apple Notes, Obsidian and Bear among them.
What this rests on. Antinote’s listing: what it does, where it runs, what it plugs into and what it costs. It is a judgement about the kind of software this is. We have not built a replacement for it, and making your own means looking after it too. How we decide, and every tool’s verdict.
Part 05 · Alternatives
The alternatives
The tools it is most often weighed against, side by side
Tot, Heynote, SideNotes, Drafts and Strflow
The 5 tools Antinote is most often weighed against, with where each one differs from it.
- 2.6GPA
Tot
Free plan · from $19.99 one-time
Seven-note text scratchpad for Mac, iPhone, iPad and Apple Watch.
- Tot has a free plan. Antinote does not, though it has a free trial.
- Only Tot lists an iOS app.
- Antinote also covers Pomodoro timer and calculator.
- 3.0GPA
Heynote
Free
Block-based scratchpad for developers on Mac, Windows and Linux.
- Heynote has a free plan. Antinote does not, though it has a free trial.
- Only Heynote lists Windows and Linux apps.
- Antinote can be bought with a one-time purchase.
- 2.6GPA
SideNotes
Free trial · from $9.99 one-time
Screen-edge notes panel for Mac, with a separate iPhone app.
- Only SideNotes lists an iOS app.
- Antinote also covers Pomodoro timer and calculator.
- SideNotes also covers Markdown and tasks.
- 3.4GPA
Drafts
Free plan · from $1.99/mo
Quick-capture notes app for Apple devices with text actions.
- Drafts has a free plan. Antinote does not, though it has a free trial.
- Only Drafts lists an iOS app.
- Antinote can be bought with a one-time purchase.
- 2.8GPA
Strflow
Free plan · from $1.49/mo
Chat-style notes timeline for iPhone, iPad and Mac.
- Strflow has a free plan. Antinote does not, though it has a free trial.
- Only Strflow lists an iOS app.
- Antinote can be bought with a one-time purchase.
Part 06 · Questions
Quick answers
The questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two
12
Questions, each answered in a line or two
The short version of everything above, for when you only need the answer. Each one is told in full in its part of the guide.
Is Antinote free?
No, Antinote is a paid product, but you can try it first. Free trial download with no account needed; the site does not state its length.
How much does Antinote cost?
Antinote lists one plan. Antinote: $5 one-time purchase.
What platforms does Antinote work on?
Antinote is available on macOS.
Does Antinote offer any discounts?
Antinote publicly lists the following: Free license for charity donors and volunteers.
Does Antinote have an Android app?
No Android app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 9, 2026. Antinote is listed for macOS.
Does Antinote have an iPhone app?
No iPhone app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 9, 2026. Antinote is listed for macOS.
Is Antinote open source?
Antinote is not described as open source on its own site, as read on Oct 9, 2026.
What does Antinote integrate with?
Antinote's listing names Apple Notes, Obsidian, Bear, Raycast, Alfred, Apple Shortcuts and iCloud.
Who makes Antinote?
Antinote is made by Cmd-N Studios Inc.
What are the alternatives to Antinote?
The closest alternatives to Antinote in our directory are Tot, Heynote, SideNotes, Drafts and Strflow.
How does Antinote compare with other note-taking apps?
Antinote's GPA of 2.4 is higher than 22 of the 147 other note-taking apps we grade, and level with 27.
Could I make my own version of Antinote?
A notes app at its plainest is text in folders with a search box. You could make the core of Antinote for yourself: notes, calculator and Pomodoro timer.
Where this guide comes from
The prices, plans, platforms and features were read from Antinote’s own pages on Oct 9, 2026, and the grades were given on Oct 10, 2026. Graded from this listing, whose facts were read from Antinote's own pages on 9 October 2026. Also tested with a demo account on 2026-03-12.
Every tool we list gets five grades, A to F, each with its reason, and a GPA that averages them. How each is decided is at toolgpa.com/grades. This guide is ToolGPA’s own work; it is not made, paid for or approved by Cmd-N Studios Inc. Prices change, so check antinote.io before you buy.
Part 07 · About
About ToolGPA
Who made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it
3,189
Tools graded, in 94 categories
ToolGPA grades software the way a school report grades a pupil: five subjects, a letter for each with the reason written beside it, and a GPA that averages them. Prices, plans and platforms are read from each maker’s own pages and dated, so you always know how fresh a figure is.
Every grade, review and ranking on ToolGPA is our own judgement. No company can pay for a grade or change one. Every tool on the site has a guide like this one, free to download and pass on. It all lives at toolgpa.com.
3,189
tools graded
94
categories
426
price changes on record
579
apps priced in 12 countries
What else is on toolgpa.com
- Antinote, kept up to dateEverything in this guide, with prices and grades as they are todaytoolgpa.com/tools/antinote
- How grades are givenThe rules behind every letter and every GPAtoolgpa.com/grades
- Value chartsWhat each tool costs against what it scores, for every categorytoolgpa.com/charts
- CompareAny two tools side by side, plan by plantoolgpa.com/compare
- Price changesEvery price rise and cut on record, each with its sourcetoolgpa.com/price-changes
- Prices by countryWhat apps cost on the App Store in 12 countriestoolgpa.com/prices-by-country
- Pay lessEvery public discount: yearly billing, students, nonprofitstoolgpa.com/save
- Keep or makeWhich tools are worth paying for, and which you could build yourselftoolgpa.com/keep-or-make
Scan for the live page
Prices and grades as they are today
Quoting this guide?
Please name ToolGPA and link to the live page, so readers can check the figures for themselves:
ToolGPA, "Antinote: The Insider's Guide", checked Oct 9, 2026. https://toolgpa.com/tools/antinote
Know someone choosing between note-taking apps?
Send them this guide: toolgpa.com/tools/antinote/guide
ToolGPA elsewhere: youtube.com/@toolgpa
See our other guides
The best-graded note-taking apps after Antinote, each with an Insider's Guide of its own.
- Note-Taking Apps Insider's GuideEvery one of the 148 note-taking apps we grade, compared
- Microsoft OneNote Insider's GuideMicrosoft's free digital notebook for typed, inked and audio notes3.8 GPA
- Goodnotes Insider's GuideHandwritten notes, PDF markup and whiteboards with an AI assistant3.6 GPA
- Joplin Insider's GuideOpen source Markdown notes with sync through a service you choose3.6 GPA
Choosing software? Every tool graded, every price dated.
Compare tools at toolgpa.com ›Everything in this guide is ToolGPA’s own summary of what Antinote’s pages, its app-store listings and public reviews said on the dates shown. Grades are our judgement under the rules at toolgpa.com/grades. Every grade, review and ranking on ToolGPA is our own judgement. No company can pay for a grade or change one. Antinote is a trademark of its owner, and this guide is not made, paid for or approved by Cmd-N Studios Inc. Prices and plans change: check antinote.io before you buy.





