The CopyClip Insider’s Guide
Everything we know about CopyClip in one document: what it costs, its grades, getting a refund, getting help and what else to look at. Read it here, or keep a copy.
CopyClip
The Insider’s Guide
Text-only clipboard manager for the Mac menu bar
Every plan, grade, refund rule and rival among desktop utilities, read from CopyClip’s own pages.
Made by FIPLAB Limited · checked Oct 9, 2026 · toolgpa.com
Contents
- 01WelcomeWhat it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first
- 02What it costsEvery plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved
- 03What it doesIts main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it
- 04Where it standsIts grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own
- 05The alternativesThe tools it is most often weighed against, side by side
- 06Quick answersThe questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two
- 07About ToolGPAWho made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it
ToolGPA put this guide together from CopyClip’s own pages, its app-store listings and our grades. Every fact in it is on CopyClip’s page too, where it is kept up to date. Checked Oct 9, 2026.
Part 01 · Overview
Welcome
What it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first
2.6
GPA, above 36 of the 94 other desktop utilities we grade
CopyClip is a clipboard manager for macOS from FIPLAB that runs in the menu bar and keeps a history of the text you copy or cut. The original CopyClip is a free Mac App Store app with a plain list of recent clips. CopyClip 2, the version featured on the vendor's site, is a separate paid app that adds search, pinned clips, direct pasting, themes and keyboard shortcuts for individual clips. Both record text only, not images or files.
To get you started, here are 9 things to know about CopyClip, taken from its own pages and our grades.
No rating is on record, but there's nothing to set up: it's a list in the menu bar and a hotkey opens it.
- 1
Best for a simple text clipboard history in the Mac menu bar
CopyClip is a Mac menu bar app that keeps a history of the text you copy.
- 2
What it costs
Paid plans start at $7.99 one-time purchase (CopyClip 2, US Mac App Store).
- 3
There is a free plan
The original CopyClip is free on the Mac App Store: a text-only clipboard history in the menu bar. Search, pinned clips, direct pasting and themes are only in the paid CopyClip 2, a separate app.
- 4
It runs on macOS
macOS.
- 5
Clipboard history
CopyClip 2 records plain text, rich text, URLs and code that you copy or cut and keeps up to 9,999 clips, removing the oldest once the limit is reached.
- 6
Search
A search bar at the top of the CopyClip 2 panel filters the whole clip history as you type.
- 7
Pinned clips
Frequently used clips can be pinned to the top of the list with Shift-Command-P, and pinned clips keep their order as new ones are added.
- 8
A 2.6 GPA, above 36 of 94
That is against the other desktop utilities we grade, on value, the free plan, features, ease of use and platforms.
- 9
Keep it
Nothing CopyClip does is plain enough to make in a weekend. The 3 things listed below take a company.
CopyClip at a glance
- Pricing
- Free plan, from $7.99 one-time purchase (CopyClip 2, US Mac App Store)
- Free plan
- Yes
- Free trial
- Free trial download of CopyClip 2 from the vendor's site; the length of the trial is not stated
- Runs on
- macOS
- Made by
- FIPLAB Limited, since 2013
- Category
- Desktop Utilities
- Our grade
- 2.6 GPA, good
The report card
Best for a simple text clipboard history in the Mac menu bar
CopyClip is a Mac menu bar app that keeps a history of the text you copy. The original is free with a plain list; search, pinned clips and direct pasting are in CopyClip 2, a separate app at $7.99 once. Both are text only, so copied images and files aren't recorded, there's no syncing, and App Store buyers need a helper app before direct pasting works.
| Subject | Grade | Comment |
|---|---|---|
| Value for money | A | CopyClip 2 is $7.99 once on the US Mac App Store, or $8.99 direct from fiplab.com with a license code for up to 3 Macs. Pay-once utilities here sit around $15, so this is half the going rate and there's nothing to renew. |
| Free plan and trial | B | The original CopyClip is free on the Mac App Store, a plain list of recently copied text in the menu bar. Search, pinned clips, direct pasting and themes mean buying CopyClip 2, a separate app whose trial length isn't stated. |
| Features | C | The basics are here: 9,999 clips, search, pins, a Control-Space hotkey, Command and a number to paste, password fields skipped. But the listing names the holes itself. Both apps are text only, so a copied image or file isn't recorded, and no syncing is described anywhere. |
| Ease of use | B | No rating is on record, but there's nothing to set up: it's a list in the menu bar and a hotkey opens it. One fiddly bit is that Mac App Store buyers of CopyClip 2 install a separate helper app before direct pasting works, which also wants the Accessibility permission. |
| Platforms and integrations | D | Mac only, one operating system. CopyClip 2 needs macOS 11.5 or later, and the free original macOS 10.13 or later. No integrations are listed, and history stays on the Mac. |
An A is worth 4 points, a B 3, a C 2, a D 1 and an F nothing. The GPA is the average of the five.
Who CopyClip is for
- Fits if most of what you copy and reuse on your Mac is text
- Works for people who paste the same snippets often and want them on a hotkey
Who it is not for
- Skip it if you copy images or files, as both apps record text only
- Not for you if you want your clips on a second Mac or a phone, since no syncing is described
- Tight if you're staying on the free app, because search, pinned clips and direct pasting are only in CopyClip 2
- Watch out: Mac App Store buyers must install a separate helper app, with Accessibility permission, before direct pasting works
- Watch out: CopyClip 2 needs macOS 11.5 or later, and the trial on the vendor's site has no stated length
Good to know
Good for
- Mac users who mostly copy and reuse text
- People who want a free, basic clipboard history in the menu bar
- Pasting frequently used snippets from the keyboard
Worth knowing
- Mac only. CopyClip 2 requires macOS 11.5 or later; the free original requires macOS 10.13 or later.
- Both apps are text-only: images and files copied to the clipboard are not recorded.
- The help center says CopyClip has no syncing and stores history on the Mac; the CopyClip 2 pages read describe no syncing either.
- Mac App Store buyers of CopyClip 2 must install a separate helper app before direct pasting works.
Part 02 · Pricing
What it costs
Every plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved
$7.99 one-time
To start. There is a free plan too
CopyClip has a free plan. Paid plans start at $7.99 one-time purchase (CopyClip 2, US Mac App Store).
The original CopyClip is free on the Mac App Store, a plain list of recently copied text in the menu bar.
CopyClip (original)
$0
Free Mac App Store app that lists recently copied text in the menu bar. Requires macOS 10.13 or later; the vendor's help center calls it CopyClip 1.
CopyClip 2 (Mac App Store)
$7.99
one-time purchase (US Mac App Store)
Up to 9,999 text clips with search, pins, direct pasting and themes. Installs on any Mac signed in to the buyer's Apple Account.
CopyClip 2 (direct license)
$8.99
one-time purchase from fiplab.com via Paddle (US price)
The same features with a license code for up to 3 Macs the buyer owns; updates are delivered through the app.
The free plan
The original CopyClip is free on the Mac App Store: a text-only clipboard history in the menu bar. Search, pinned clips, direct pasting and themes are only in the paid CopyClip 2, a separate app.
Trying it first
Free trial download of CopyClip 2 from the vendor's site; the length of the trial is not stated
Read from apps.apple.com on Oct 9, 2026.
What the app costs elsewhere
Each country’s App Store price for the app, against $7.99 in the United States, in dollars at the day’s rate. The four cheapest and the four dearest of 11.
| Country | Price there | In dollars | Against the US |
|---|---|---|---|
| Canada | $9.99 | $7.02 | 12% less |
| Philippines | ₱ 499.00 | $7.94 | about the same |
| Turkey | ₺399,99 | $8.13 | about the same |
| India | ₹ 799 | $8.26 | about the same |
| Mexico | $179.00 | $9.84 | 23% more |
| Brazil | R$ 49,90 | $9.97 | 25% more |
| Germany | 8,99 € | $10.07 | 26% more |
| United Kingdom | £7.99 | $10.56 | 32% more |
Part 03 · Features
What it does
Its main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it
1
Place it runs: macOS
Text-only clipboard manager for the Mac menu bar. Here is what it does, as its own site describes it, and what it covers: local-first, one-time purchase, keyboard-first, clipboard manager, menu bar app.
Both apps are text only, so a copied image or file isn't recorded, and no syncing is described anywhere.
- Clipboard history
- CopyClip 2 records plain text, rich text, URLs and code that you copy or cut and keeps up to 9,999 clips, removing the oldest once the limit is reached.
- Search
- A search bar at the top of the CopyClip 2 panel filters the whole clip history as you type.
- Pinned clips
- Frequently used clips can be pinned to the top of the list with Shift-Command-P, and pinned clips keep their order as new ones are added.
- Hotkeys and direct pasting
- A global hotkey, Control-Space by default, opens the panel and Command plus a number pastes one of the first ten clips. Direct pasting needs the macOS Accessibility permission.
- Plain-text paste and clip editing
- Clips can be pasted with their original formatting or as plain text, and a clip's content can be edited or given a custom name.
- Privacy controls
- Specific apps can be excluded from recording, concealed fields such as passwords are skipped automatically, and a private mode pauses recording.
Where it runs
- macOS
What it works with
Its own pages name no integrations.
CopyClip is made by FIPLAB Limited, and has been around since 2013.
Part 04 · Standing
Where it stands
Its grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own
36/94
Other desktop utilities it is graded above
CopyClip's GPA of 2.6 is higher than 36 of the 94 other desktop utilities we grade, and level with 20.
It stands best on value for money (A, above 24 of 94) and worst on platforms and integrations (D, above 0).
Each grade against the category
Every bar is all 95 desktop utilities we grade, cut by the letter each got. CopyClip’s own letter is outlined.
- AValue for moneyAbove 24 of 94
- BFree plan and trialAbove 37 of 94
- CFeaturesAbove 1 of 94
- BEase of useAbove 33 of 94
- DPlatforms and integrationsAbove 0 of 94
Keep it, or make your own?
Whether this is something you could build for yourself with an AI app builder, and what you would give up.
Keep it
Nothing CopyClip does is plain enough to make in a weekend. The 3 things listed below take a company.
It costs $7.99, paid once.
What you could not
- A clipboard history running in the background of your computer.
- A native app living in the menu bar.
- A real app for macOS. Something home-made would be a web page.
What this rests on. CopyClip’s listing: what it does, where it runs, what it plugs into and what it costs. It is a judgement about the kind of software this is. We have not built a replacement for it, and making your own means looking after it too. How we decide, and every tool’s verdict.
Part 05 · Alternatives
The alternatives
The tools it is most often weighed against, side by side
Maccy, Pastebot, Paste, CopyQ and Raycast
The 5 tools CopyClip is most often weighed against, with where each one differs from it.
- 2.8GPA
Maccy
Free plan · from $4.99
Lightweight, open-source clipboard manager for macOS.
- CopyClip can be bought with a one-time purchase.
- Maccy is open source, according to its own site.
- 2.4GPA
Pastebot
Free trial · from $2.99/mo
Mac clipboard manager with pastebins, filters and stacks.
- CopyClip has a free plan. Pastebot does not, though it has a free trial.
- CopyClip also covers menu bar app.
- 2.2GPA
Paste
Free trial · from $2.49/mo
Clipboard manager for Mac, iPhone and iPad with pinboards.
- CopyClip has a free plan. Paste does not, though it has a free trial.
- Only Paste lists an iOS app.
- CopyClip also covers menu bar app.
- 2.8GPA
CopyQ
Free
Open-source clipboard manager with tabs, commands and scripting.
- Only CopyQ lists Windows and Linux apps.
- CopyClip can be bought with a one-time purchase.
- CopyQ is open source, according to its own site.
- 2.8GPA
Raycast
Free plan · from $96/yr
Keyboard launcher with extensions, clipboard history and AI.
- Only Raycast lists Windows and iOS apps.
- Only Raycast lists a browser extension.
- CopyClip can be bought with a one-time purchase.
Part 06 · Questions
Quick answers
The questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two
11
Questions, each answered in a line or two
The short version of everything above, for when you only need the answer. Each one is told in full in its part of the guide.
Is CopyClip free?
CopyClip has a free plan. The original CopyClip is free on the Mac App Store: a text-only clipboard history in the menu bar.
How much does CopyClip cost?
CopyClip lists 3 plans. CopyClip (original): $0.
What platforms does CopyClip work on?
CopyClip is available on macOS.
Does CopyClip have an Android app?
No Android app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 9, 2026. CopyClip is listed for macOS.
Does CopyClip have an iPhone app?
No iPhone app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 9, 2026. CopyClip is listed for macOS.
Is CopyClip open source?
CopyClip is not described as open source on its own site, as read on Oct 9, 2026.
Does CopyClip have a free trial?
Yes. Free trial download of CopyClip 2 from the vendor's site; the length of the trial is not stated.
Who makes CopyClip?
CopyClip is made by FIPLAB Limited. It dates from 2013.
What are the alternatives to CopyClip?
The closest alternatives to CopyClip in our directory are Maccy, Pastebot, Paste, CopyQ and Raycast.
How does CopyClip compare with other desktop utilities?
CopyClip's GPA of 2.6 is higher than 36 of the 94 other desktop utilities we grade, and level with 20.
Could I make my own version of CopyClip?
Nothing CopyClip does is plain enough to make in a weekend. The 3 things listed below take a company.
Where this guide comes from
The prices, plans, platforms and features were read from CopyClip’s own pages on Oct 9, 2026, and the grades were given on Oct 10, 2026. Graded from this listing, whose facts were read from FIPLAB's own pages on 9 October 2026. Also tested with a demo account on 2026-03-23.
Every tool we list gets five grades, A to F, each with its reason, and a GPA that averages them. How each is decided is at toolgpa.com/grades. This guide is ToolGPA’s own work; it is not made, paid for or approved by FIPLAB Limited. Prices change, so check fiplab.com before you buy.
- fiplab.com/apps/copyclip-for-mac
- apps.apple.com/us/app/copyclip-2-clipboard-manager/id1020812363?mt=12
- apps.apple.com/us/app/copyclip-clipboard-history/id595191960?mt=12
- checkout.paddle.com/api/2.0/prices?product_ids=493500&customer_country=US
- fiplab.com/faq
- fiplab.com/apps
- support.fiplab.com/copyclip-2/upgrading-from-copyclip
- support.fiplab.com/copyclip-2/getting-started
- support.fiplab.com/copyclip-2/clipboard-history
- support.fiplab.com/copyclip-2/direct-pasting
- support.fiplab.com/copyclip-2/image-support
- support.fiplab.com/copyclip/the-copyclip-support-syncing
- support.fiplab.com/copyclip/the-app-transmit-my-snippet-data
- support.fiplab.com/billing/license-activation
Part 07 · About
About ToolGPA
Who made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it
3,189
Tools graded, in 94 categories
ToolGPA grades software the way a school report grades a pupil: five subjects, a letter for each with the reason written beside it, and a GPA that averages them. Prices, plans and platforms are read from each maker’s own pages and dated, so you always know how fresh a figure is.
Every grade, review and ranking on ToolGPA is our own judgement. No company can pay for a grade or change one. Every tool on the site has a guide like this one, free to download and pass on. It all lives at toolgpa.com.
3,189
tools graded
94
categories
426
price changes on record
579
apps priced in 12 countries
What else is on toolgpa.com
- CopyClip, kept up to dateEverything in this guide, with prices and grades as they are todaytoolgpa.com/tools/copyclip
- How grades are givenThe rules behind every letter and every GPAtoolgpa.com/grades
- Value chartsWhat each tool costs against what it scores, for every categorytoolgpa.com/charts
- CompareAny two tools side by side, plan by plantoolgpa.com/compare
- Price changesEvery price rise and cut on record, each with its sourcetoolgpa.com/price-changes
- Prices by countryWhat apps cost on the App Store in 12 countriestoolgpa.com/prices-by-country
- Pay lessEvery public discount: yearly billing, students, nonprofitstoolgpa.com/save
- Keep or makeWhich tools are worth paying for, and which you could build yourselftoolgpa.com/keep-or-make
Scan for the live page
Prices and grades as they are today
Quoting this guide?
Please name ToolGPA and link to the live page, so readers can check the figures for themselves:
ToolGPA, "CopyClip: The Insider's Guide", checked Oct 9, 2026. https://toolgpa.com/tools/copyclip
Know someone choosing between desktop utilities?
Send them this guide: toolgpa.com/tools/copyclip/guide
ToolGPA elsewhere: youtube.com/@toolgpa
See our other guides
The best-graded desktop utilities after CopyClip, each with an Insider's Guide of its own.
- Desktop Utilities Insider's GuideEvery one of the 95 desktop utilities we grade, compared
- LocalSend Insider's GuideOpen-source file sharing between nearby devices, no cloud3.2 GPA
- Ninite Insider's GuideInstalls and updates many Windows apps at once3.2 GPA
- 7-Zip Insider's GuideFree, open-source file archiver with the 7z format3.0 GPA
Choosing software? Every tool graded, every price dated.
Compare tools at toolgpa.com ›Everything in this guide is ToolGPA’s own summary of what CopyClip’s pages, its app-store listings and public reviews said on the dates shown. Grades are our judgement under the rules at toolgpa.com/grades. Every grade, review and ranking on ToolGPA is our own judgement. No company can pay for a grade or change one. CopyClip is a trademark of its owner, and this guide is not made, paid for or approved by FIPLAB Limited. Prices and plans change: check fiplab.com before you buy.


