Skip to content

The IFTTT Insider’s Guide

Everything we know about IFTTT in one document: what it costs, its grades, getting a refund, getting help and what else to look at. Read it here, or keep a copy.

Download the PDF
Pass it onEmailLinkedInXWhatsApp
ToolGPAOctober 2026

IFTTT

The Insider’s Guide

Simple trigger-and-action automations for apps and smart devices

IFTTT, as pictured on ifttt.com

Every plan, grade, refund rule and rival among automation tools, read from IFTTT’s own pages.

Made by IFTTT Inc. · checked Oct 4, 2026 · toolgpa.com

3.0GPA

Contents

  1. 01WelcomeWhat it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first
  2. 02What it costsEvery plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved
  3. 03What it doesIts main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it
  4. 04Where it standsIts grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own
  5. 05The alternativesThe tools it is most often weighed against, side by side
  6. 06Quick answersThe questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two
  7. 07About ToolGPAWho made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it

ToolGPA put this guide together from IFTTT’s own pages, its app-store listings and our grades. Every fact in it is on IFTTT’s page too, where it is kept up to date. Checked Oct 4, 2026.

Part 01 · Overview

Welcome

What it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first

3.0

GPA, above 38 of the 40 other automation tools we grade

IFTTT connects apps and smart-home devices through Applets, small automations in which a trigger in one service causes an action in another. You can switch on published Applets or build your own on the web or in the iOS and Android apps, choosing from more than 1,000 services. Plans are priced per account and limited by the number of Applets rather than by how often they run.

To get you started, here are 9 things to know about IFTTT, taken from its own pages and our grades.

Switching on a published Applet takes a tap, and the phone apps build and manage them too.
From our grade for ease of use
  1. 1

    Best for simple automations for apps and smart homes

    IFTTT runs simple if-this-then-that automations across more than 1,000 services, like a Slack ping when a row lands in Google Sheets or the lights on when you get home.

  2. 2

    Paid plans start at $2.99 a month

    As its pricing page puts it: $2.99 / month, billed annually ($35.88 per year).

  3. 3

    There is a free plan

    2 Applets with unlimited runs at standard speeds, using published or do-it-yourself Applets, plus the mobile apps.

  4. 4

    It runs on 3 platforms

    Web, iOS and Android.

  5. 5

    Applets

    An Applet links a trigger in one service to an action in another. Published Applets can be switched on as they are, or you can build your own.

  6. 6

    1,000+ services

    IFTTT lists more than 1,000 services, from apps such as Google Sheets, Slack and Notion to smart-home brands such as Philips Hue, Ring and LIFX.

  7. 7

    Multi-action Applets and Webhooks

    Pro and Pro+ Applets can run several actions from one trigger and can use Webhooks to reach services IFTTT does not list. Neither is part of the Free plan.

  8. 8

    A 3.0 GPA, above 38 of 40

    That is against the other automation tools we grade, on value, the free plan, features, ease of use and platforms.

  9. 9

    Keep it

    To replace IFTTT you would be making connections to other products, each kept working as those products change. That is not a weekend's work, with an AI app builder or without one.

IFTTT at a glance

Pricing
Free plan, from $2.99 / month, billed annually ($35.88 per year)
Free plan
Yes
Free trial
Free trial of Pro offered at sign-up; length not stated on the pages checked
Runs on
Web, iOS, Android
Made by
IFTTT Inc.
Category
Automation
Our grade
3.0 GPA, very good
Store rating
4.6 on the App Store, 59,651 ratings

The report card

Best for simple automations for apps and smart homes

IFTTT runs simple if-this-then-that automations across more than 1,000 services, like a Slack ping when a row lands in Google Sheets or the lights on when you get home. Pro is $2.99 a month billed yearly, charged per account, not per run. Free stops at 2 Applets, Pro at 20, queries and filter code need Pro+, there's no desktop app, and the terms say there are no refunds.

ToolGPA report cardIFTTTGraded Oct 10, 2026
SubjectGradeComment
Value for moneyAPro is $2.99 a month billed yearly, $35.88 for the year, where this category starts around $15 a month. And you're charged per account, not per run, so a busy Applet costs the same as a quiet one. Pro+ is $8.99 a month.
Free plan and trialCFree gets you 2 Applets. Runs are unlimited, but they go at standard speeds and can't be multi-action, and Webhooks need Pro. Two automations is a taste, not a toolkit.
FeaturesBMore than 1,000 services, from Google Sheets and Slack to Philips Hue and Ring, published Applets you can switch on, multi-action Applets on Pro, and Chat Create to build one from a prompt. The whole job for small automations, though queries and filter code wait for Pro+.
Ease of useB4.6 on the App Store from nearly 60,000 ratings, short of the 4.7 the top grade wants. Switching on a published Applet takes a tap, and the phone apps build and manage them too.
Platforms and integrationsBMore than 1,000 services behind it, Webhooks on Pro for anything not listed, and an MCP server that connects AI tools to your automations. Where it stops is devices: web, iPhone and Android only, with no desktop app, so on a computer it's a browser tab.
Grade point averageVery good, out of 4.03.0

An A is worth 4 points, a B 3, a C 2, a D 1 and an F nothing. The GPA is the average of the five.

Who IFTTT is for

  • Fits if you want your lights, apps and phone to react to each other without any code
  • Works for people who'd rather switch on a ready-made automation than build one

Who it is not for

  • Tight if you're staying free, since 2 Applets is the lot and they run at standard speeds
  • Too light for long business workflows, where queries and filter code need Pro+ at $8.99 a month
  • Skip it if you want a refund option, as IFTTT's terms say it offers no refunds or credits
  • Watch out: Pro stops at 20 Applets, Webhooks and multi-action need Pro, and plans renew by themselves
  • Not for you if you work on a computer all day, as there's no desktop app, only web, iPhone and Android

Good to know

Good for

  • Personal and smart-home automations with one trigger and one action
  • People who prefer switching on ready-made automations to building them
  • A low-cost paid plan priced per account rather than per run

Worth knowing

  • The Free plan allows only 2 Applets, and Pro stops at 20.
  • Multi-action Applets and Webhooks need Pro; queries, filter code and AI services need Pro+.
  • Free Applets run at standard speeds; the fastest speeds are reserved for paid plans.
  • IFTTT's terms say it offers no refunds or credits, and subscriptions renew automatically.

Part 02 · Pricing

What it costs

Every plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved

$2.99

A month to start. There is a free plan too

IFTTT has a free plan. Paid plans start at $2.99 / month, billed annually ($35.88 per year).

And you're charged per account, not per run, so a busy Applet costs the same as a quiet one.
From our grade for value for money
  • Free

    $0

    2 Applets with unlimited runs at standard speeds, using published or do-it-yourself Applets, and mobile app access.

  • Pro

    $2.99

    per month, billed annually ($35.88)

    20 Applets at the fastest speeds, multi-action Applets, Webhooks, exclusive triggers and actions, and customer support.

  • Pro+

    $8.99

    per month, billed annually ($107.88)

    Unlimited Applets, AI services, multiple accounts per service, queries and filter code, and prioritized support.

The free plan

2 Applets with unlimited runs at standard speeds, using published or do-it-yourself Applets, plus the mobile apps.

Trying it first

Free trial of Pro offered at sign-up; length not stated on the pages checked

Read from ifttt.com on Oct 4, 2026.

Ways to pay less

  • Annual discount

    Save 40% with yearly billing

    IFTTT's plans page shows a 40% saving on Pro and Pro+ when billed yearly: $35.88 a year for Pro and $107.88 a year for Pro+.

    Stated on ifttt.com

How its prices have moved

  • Jul 9, 2025Pro: $2.49 per month, billed annually ($29.88) → $2.99 per month, billed annually ($35.88)The archived copy of 9 July 2025 shows $35.88 a year, or $2.99 a month; the copy before it, of 3 April 2025, shows $29.88, or $2.49 a month. The price changed between the two.
  • Jul 9, 2025Pro+: $8.49 per month, billed annually ($101.88) → $8.99 per month, billed annually ($107.88)The archived copy of 9 July 2025 shows $107.88 a year, or $8.99 a month; the copy before it, of 3 April 2025, shows $101.88, or $8.49 a month. The price changed between the two.
  • Apr 3, 2025Pro: $2.92 per month, billed annually ($34.99) → $2.49 per month, billed annually ($29.88)The archived copy of 3 April 2025 shows $29.88 a year, or $2.49 a month; the copy before it, of 6 January 2025, shows $34.99, or $2.92 a month. The price changed between the two.
  • Apr 3, 2025Pro+: $12.50 per month, billed annually ($149.99) → $8.49 per month, billed annually ($101.88)The archived copy of 3 April 2025 shows $101.88 a year, or $8.49 a month; the copy before it, of 6 January 2025, shows $149.99, or $12.50 a month. The price changed between the two.
  • Jul 8, 2023Free plan: 5 Applets → 2 AppletsThe archived copy of 8 July 2023 gives the free plan 2 Applets; the copy of 3 July 2022 gives it 5, and one in between, of 3 January 2023, says only Limited Applets. The allowance was cut between the first and the last.
  • Jan 3, 2023Pro: $5 per month → $2.50 per monthThe archived copy of 3 January 2023 shows $2.50 a month; the copy before it, of 3 July 2022, shows a regular price of $5 crossed out beside a $2 offer. The regular price changed between the two.

What the app costs elsewhere

Each country’s App Store price for “IFTTT Pro”, against $6.99 in the United States, in dollars at the day’s rate. The four cheapest and the four dearest of 11.

CountryPrice thereIn dollarsAgainst the US
Turkey₺87,99$1.7974% less
Philippines₱ 199.00$3.1755% less
Canada$4.99$3.5150% less
India₹ 369$3.8145% less
Australia$9.99$6.97about the same
South AfricaR119.99$7.26about the same
BrazilR$ 38,90$7.7711% more
Mexico$165.00$9.0730% more

Part 03 · Features

What it does

Its main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it

3

Places it runs: Web, iOS and Android

Simple trigger-and-action automations for apps and smart devices. Here is what it does, as its own site describes it, and what it covers: AI features, templates, workflow automation.

The whole job for small automations, though queries and filter code wait for Pro+.
From our grade for features
Applets
An Applet links a trigger in one service to an action in another. Published Applets can be switched on as they are, or you can build your own.
1,000+ services
IFTTT lists more than 1,000 services, from apps such as Google Sheets, Slack and Notion to smart-home brands such as Philips Hue, Ring and LIFX.
Multi-action Applets and Webhooks
Pro and Pro+ Applets can run several actions from one trigger and can use Webhooks to reach services IFTTT does not list. Neither is part of the Free plan.
Queries and filter code
Pro+ adds queries and filter code to Applets and lets you connect more than one account for the same service.
Chat Create and MCP
Chat Create builds an automation from a written prompt, and the IFTTT MCP server connects AI tools to your services and automations. AI services inside Applets need Pro+.
Mobile apps
The iOS and Android apps create and manage Applets and add device triggers such as location, photos and notifications. Mobile access is included on the Free plan.

Where it runs

  • Web
  • iOS
  • Android

What it works with

  • Google Sheets
  • Gmail
  • Slack
  • Notion
  • Discord
  • Philips Hue
  • Spotify
  • Todoist

IFTTT is made by IFTTT Inc.

Part 04 · Standing

Where it stands

Its grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own

38/40

Other automation tools it is graded above

IFTTT's GPA of 3.0 is higher than 38 of the 40 other automation tools we grade, and level with 2.

It stands best on value for money (A, above 27 of 40) and worst on free plan and trial (C, above 2).

Its paid plans start at $2.99 a month, against a middle price of $18.50 for the category: 1 of the 29 others that charge start lower.

On features, ease of use and platforms it scores 3.0 out of 4, and no tool on the category's chart scores higher without costing more.

Each grade against the category

Every bar is all 41 automation tools we grade, cut by the letter each got. IFTTT’s own letter is outlined.

  • AValue for moneyAbove 27 of 40
  • CFree plan and trialAbove 2 of 40
  • BFeaturesAbove 17 of 40
  • BEase of useAbove 38 of 40
  • BPlatforms and integrationsAbove 10 of 40

Price against what you get

Each dot is one of 33 automation tools. Further left costs less; higher up scores better on features, ease of use and platforms. IFTTT is the marked dot.

D1.0C2.0B3.0A4.0Free$1$2$5$10$20$50$100$200$500$1kMore for lessCosts more, scores moreCosts less, scores lessCosts more, scores lessIFTTTNode-REDMakeZapierActivepieces

What paid plans start at, a month (each step along is roughly double) →

Keep it, or make your own?

Whether this is something you could build for yourself with an AI app builder, and what you would give up.

Keep it

To replace IFTTT you would be making connections to other products, each kept working as those products change. That is not a weekend's work, with an AI app builder or without one.

It is one of the better ones too: its GPA of 3.0 is higher than 38 of the 40 other automation tools we grade. It costs $35.88 a year.

What you could make

  • Templates: an app builder makes this well.

What you could not

  • Connections to other products, each kept working as those products change.
  • A real app for iOS and Android. Something home-made would be a web page.
  • AI features, unless you pay a model provider for each request yourself.
  • The depth: we grade its features B, which means it covers the whole job.

What this rests on. IFTTT’s listing: what it does, where it runs, what it plugs into and what it costs. It is a judgement about the kind of software this is. We have not built a replacement for it, and making your own means looking after it too. How we decide, and every tool’s verdict.

Part 05 · Alternatives

The alternatives

The tools it is most often weighed against, side by side

Zapier, Make and n8n

The 3 tools IFTTT is most often weighed against, with where each one differs from it.

  • 2.6GPA

    Zapier

    Free plan · from $19.99/mo

    Workflow automation across 9,000+ apps, with AI agents.

    • Only IFTTT lists iOS and Android apps.
    • Only Zapier lists a browser extension.
    • IFTTT also covers templates.
    IFTTT and Zapier compared in full
  • 2.8GPA

    Make

    Free plan · from $9/mo

    Visual automation builder for multi-step scenarios and AI agents.

    • IFTTT also covers templates.
    IFTTT and Make compared in full
  • 2.4GPA

    n8n

    Free plan · from €20/mo

    Workflow automation and AI agents you can self-host.

    • Only IFTTT lists iOS and Android apps.
    • n8n is self-hostable, according to its own site.
    • IFTTT also covers templates.
    IFTTT and n8n compared in full

Part 06 · Questions

Quick answers

The questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two

15

Questions, each answered in a line or two

The short version of everything above, for when you only need the answer. Each one is told in full in its part of the guide.

Is IFTTT free?

IFTTT has a free plan. 2 Applets with unlimited runs at standard speeds, using published or do-it-yourself Applets, plus the mobile apps.

How much does IFTTT cost?

IFTTT lists 3 plans. Free: $0.

What platforms does IFTTT work on?

IFTTT is available on Web, iOS and Android.

Does IFTTT offer any discounts?

IFTTT publicly lists the following: Save 40% with yearly billing.

How is IFTTT rated?

IFTTT's iPhone and iPad app averages 4.6 out of 5 from 59,651 ratings on the App Store in the United States, as read on Oct 5, 2026.

Does IFTTT have a Windows app?

No Windows app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 4, 2026. IFTTT is listed for Web, iOS and Android.

Does IFTTT have a macOS app?

No macOS app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 4, 2026. IFTTT is listed for Web, iOS and Android.

Is IFTTT open source?

IFTTT is not described as open source on its own site, as read on Oct 4, 2026.

What does IFTTT integrate with?

IFTTT's listing names Google Sheets, Gmail, Slack, Notion, Discord, Philips Hue, Spotify and Todoist.

Does IFTTT have a free trial?

Yes. Free trial of Pro offered at sign-up; length not stated on the pages checked.

Who makes IFTTT?

IFTTT is made by IFTTT Inc.

What are the alternatives to IFTTT?

The closest alternatives to IFTTT in our directory are Zapier, Make and n8n.

How does IFTTT compare with other automation tools?

IFTTT's GPA of 3.0 is higher than 38 of the 40 other automation tools we grade, and level with 2.

Is IFTTT good value for money?

ToolGPA grades IFTTT A for value for money. Its paid plans start at $2.99 a month, against a middle price of $18.50 for the category: 1 of the 29 others that charge start lower.

Could I make my own version of IFTTT?

To replace IFTTT you would be making connections to other products, each kept working as those products change.

Where this guide comes from

The prices, plans, platforms and features were read from IFTTT’s own pages on Oct 4, 2026, and the grades were given on Oct 10, 2026. Graded from this listing, whose facts were read from IFTTT's own pages on 4 October 2026, and its App Store rating. Also tested with a demo account on 2026-08-06.

Every tool we list gets five grades, A to F, each with its reason, and a GPA that averages them. How each is decided is at toolgpa.com/grades. This guide is ToolGPA’s own work; it is not made, paid for or approved by IFTTT Inc. Prices change, so check ifttt.com before you buy.

Part 07 · About

About ToolGPA

Who made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it

3,189

Tools graded, in 94 categories

ToolGPA grades software the way a school report grades a pupil: five subjects, a letter for each with the reason written beside it, and a GPA that averages them. Prices, plans and platforms are read from each maker’s own pages and dated, so you always know how fresh a figure is.

Every grade, review and ranking on ToolGPA is our own judgement. No company can pay for a grade or change one. Every tool on the site has a guide like this one, free to download and pass on. It all lives at toolgpa.com.

  • 3,189

    tools graded

  • 94

    categories

  • 426

    price changes on record

  • 579

    apps priced in 12 countries

What else is on toolgpa.com

Scan for the live page

Prices and grades as they are today

Quoting this guide?

Please name ToolGPA and link to the live page, so readers can check the figures for themselves:

ToolGPA, "IFTTT: The Insider's Guide", checked Oct 4, 2026. https://toolgpa.com/tools/ifttt

Know someone choosing between automation tools?

Send them this guide: toolgpa.com/tools/ifttt/guide

ToolGPA elsewhere: youtube.com/@toolgpa

See our other guides

The best-graded automation tools after IFTTT, each with an Insider's Guide of its own.

ToolGPA

Choosing software? Every tool graded, every price dated.

Compare tools at toolgpa.com ›

Everything in this guide is ToolGPA’s own summary of what IFTTT’s pages, its app-store listings and public reviews said on the dates shown. Grades are our judgement under the rules at toolgpa.com/grades. Every grade, review and ranking on ToolGPA is our own judgement. No company can pay for a grade or change one. IFTTT is a trademark of its owner, and this guide is not made, paid for or approved by IFTTT Inc. Prices and plans change: check ifttt.com before you buy.