Skip to content

The Maple AI Insider’s Guide

Everything we know about Maple AI in one document: what it costs, its grades, getting a refund, getting help and what else to look at. Read it here, or keep a copy.

Download the PDF
Pass it onEmailLinkedInXWhatsApp
ToolGPAOctober 2026

Maple AI

The Insider’s Guide

End-to-end encrypted AI chat that runs open models in enclaves

Maple AI, as pictured on trymaple.ai

Every plan, grade, refund rule and rival among AI assistants, read from Maple AI’s own pages.

Made by Maple Privacy Labs Inc. · checked Oct 9, 2026 · toolgpa.com

2.4GPA

Contents

  1. 01WelcomeWhat it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first
  2. 02What it costsEvery plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved
  3. 03What it doesIts main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it
  4. 04Where it standsIts grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own
  5. 05The alternativesThe tools it is most often weighed against, side by side
  6. 06Quick answersThe questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two
  7. 07About ToolGPAWho made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it

ToolGPA put this guide together from Maple AI’s own pages, its app-store listings and our grades. Every fact in it is on Maple AI’s page too, where it is kept up to date. Checked Oct 9, 2026.

Part 01 · Overview

Welcome

What it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first

2.4

GPA, above 12 of the 57 other AI assistants we grade

Maple AI is a chat assistant from Maple Privacy Labs that encrypts messages on your device and decrypts them only inside hardware-isolated enclaves, where open models such as Kimi, GLM, DeepSeek and GPT-OSS run. The client and server code are public, and one account works across the web app and the desktop and mobile apps. Paid plans add every model, file uploads, voice recording and an OpenAI-compatible API.

To get you started, here are 9 things to know about Maple AI, taken from its own pages and our grades.

One account works across the web app and the desktop and phone apps, and there's nothing to host yourself.
From our grade for ease of use
  1. 1

    Best for AI chat that's encrypted end to end

    It offers open-weight models only, with nothing from OpenAI, Anthropic or Google.

  2. 2

    Paid plans start at $20 a month

    As its pricing page puts it: $20 per month (Pro).

  3. 3

    There is a free plan

    End-to-end encrypted chat with access to basic AI features. Web search is not included, and the pricing page does not state a usage allowance.

  4. 4

    It runs on 6 platforms

    Web, macOS, Windows, Linux, iOS and Android.

  5. 5

    End-to-end encrypted chats

    Messages are encrypted on the device with a per-account key and decrypted only inside a hardware-isolated enclave for inference. Maple says it cannot read them and does not train on them.

  6. 6

    Open models inside enclaves

    Open-weight models such as Kimi, GLM, DeepSeek, Gemma, Llama and OpenAI's GPT-OSS run on GPUs in trusted execution environments, so prompts are not passed to the labs that made them.

  7. 7

    Public code and attestation

    Client and server code are published on GitHub under the MIT license. Reproducible builds and a signed enclave attestation let anyone check what is running.

  8. 8

    A 2.4 GPA, above 12 of 57

    That is against the other AI assistants we grade, on value, the free plan, features, ease of use and platforms.

  9. 9

    Keep it

    To replace Maple AI you would be making an AI model, which you can rent by the request but not make. That is not a weekend's work, with an AI app builder or without one.

Maple AI at a glance

Pricing
Free plan, from $20 per month (Pro)
Free plan
Yes
Free trial
None stated
Runs on
Web, macOS, Windows, Linux, iOS, Android
Made by
Maple Privacy Labs Inc., since 2025
Category
AI Assistants
Our grade
2.4 GPA, fair

The report card

Best for AI chat that's encrypted end to end

Maple encrypts your messages on your device and only opens them inside sealed hardware, publishes its code, and has apps for web, Mac, Windows, Linux, iPhone and Android. It offers open-weight models only, with nothing from OpenAI, Anthropic or Google. Free has no web search or uploads and no stated allowance, Pro is $20 a month, API use costs extra, and Maple Agent is a waitlist.

ToolGPA report cardMaple AIGraded Oct 10, 2026
SubjectGradeComment
Value for moneyDPro is $20 a month, where this category's dearest tenth starts, and it buys open-weight models only. Uploads, voice recording and API access all begin there, and API use is billed per million tokens on top. What you're paying for is the privacy.
Free plan and trialCThere's a free plan with end-to-end encrypted chat and the basic features. But web search is left out, uploads and voice recording need Pro, and the pricing page states no usage allowance, so you can't tell whether you could stay on it.
FeaturesCEncrypted chat, anonymous web search through Brave, projects, file uploads, voice recording and an OpenAI-compatible API. It does the private-chat job, and that's a smaller one: open-weight models only, and Maple Agent, the one with memory, is a private beta.
Ease of useBOne account works across the web app and the desktop and phone apps, and there's nothing to host yourself. We have no App Store rating on record for it, so we go by what the listing shows.
Platforms and integrationsAWeb, Mac, Windows, Linux, iPhone and Android, which is the lot. Developers also get an OpenAI-compatible API that coding tools like OpenCode and Goose can talk to.
Grade point averageFair, out of 4.02.4

An A is worth 4 points, a B 3, a C 2, a D 1 and an F nothing. The GPA is the average of the five.

Who Maple AI is for

  • Fits if you handle confidential client or company material and want an AI that keeps it encrypted
  • Works for people who'd rather check a privacy claim than trust it, since the code is public on GitHub

Who it is not for

  • Skip it if you want the proprietary models from OpenAI, Anthropic or Google, as none are offered
  • Tight if you're staying free: web search, uploads and voice recording aren't included, and no allowance is stated
  • Pricey if a general chatbot is all you're after, at $20 a month for Pro
  • Watch out: API use is billed per million tokens at each model's rate, on top of the subscription
  • Watch out: Maple Agent, the assistant with long-term memory, is a private beta behind a waitlist

Good to know

Good for

  • People who want cloud-hosted models without exposing their chats
  • Professionals working with confidential client or company material
  • Developers routing coding tools through an encrypted API

Worth knowing

  • Only open-weight models are offered; proprietary models from OpenAI, Anthropic or Google are not part of the lineup.
  • The Free plan leaves out web search, and uploads, voice recording and API access start at Pro for $20 per month.
  • API usage is charged per million tokens at each model's rate, separately from the subscription.
  • Maple Agent, the assistant with long-term memory, is in private beta behind a waitlist.

Part 02 · Pricing

What it costs

Every plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved

$20

A month to start. There is a free plan too

Maple AI has a free plan. Paid plans start at $20 per month (Pro).

Uploads, voice recording and API access all begin there, and API use is billed per million tokens on top.
From our grade for value for money
  • Free

    $0

    End-to-end encrypted chat with basic AI features. Web search is not included.

  • Pro

    $20

    per month

    All models including Kimi, GLM, DeepSeek and GPT-OSS, image and document upload in the apps, voice recording and API access.

  • Team

    $30

    per user / month

    Everything in Pro with 2x more usage per member, chat credits pooled across the team and unified billing.

  • Max

    $100

    per month

    Everything in Pro with 20x more usage, priority support and early access to features and models.

The free plan

End-to-end encrypted chat with access to basic AI features. Web search is not included, and the pricing page does not state a usage allowance.

Read from trymaple.ai on Oct 9, 2026.

Part 03 · Features

What it does

Its main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it

6

Places it runs: Web, macOS, Windows, Linux, iOS and Android

End-to-end encrypted AI chat that runs open models in enclaves. Here is what it does, as its own site describes it, and what it covers: open source, end-to-end encrypted, public API, AI features, chat assistant, AI search.

Encrypted chat, anonymous web search through Brave, projects, file uploads, voice recording and an OpenAI-compatible API.
From our grade for features
End-to-end encrypted chats
Messages are encrypted on the device with a per-account key and decrypted only inside a hardware-isolated enclave for inference. Maple says it cannot read them and does not train on them.
Open models inside enclaves
Open-weight models such as Kimi, GLM, DeepSeek, Gemma, Llama and OpenAI's GPT-OSS run on GPUs in trusted execution environments, so prompts are not passed to the labs that made them.
Public code and attestation
Client and server code are published on GitHub under the MIT license. Reproducible builds and a signed enclave attestation let anyone check what is running.
Private web search
A search agent queries the web anonymously through Brave's search API and brings current information into the chat. Web search is left out of the Free plan.
Projects, documents and voice
Chats can be grouped into projects and pinned. Pro adds image and document upload in the apps, plus voice recording, inside the same encrypted workspace.
Maple Proxy API
An OpenAI-compatible endpoint that verifies the enclave and encrypts requests from tools such as OpenCode and Goose. API usage is billed per million tokens, apart from the plan price.

Where it runs

  • Web
  • macOS
  • Windows
  • Linux
  • iOS
  • Android

What it works with

  • OpenCode
  • Goose
  • OpenClaw
  • Brave Search

Maple AI is made by Maple Privacy Labs Inc., and has been around since 2025.

Part 04 · Standing

Where it stands

Its grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own

12/57

Other AI assistants it is graded above

Maple AI's GPA of 2.4 is higher than 12 of the 57 other AI assistants we grade, and level with 10.

It stands best on platforms and integrations (A, above 45 of 57) and worst on value for money (D, above 0).

Its paid plans start at $20 a month, against a middle price of $10 for the category: 34 of the 38 others that charge start lower.

On features, ease of use and platforms it scores 3.0 out of 4. 11 tools score higher and cost less.

Each grade against the category

Every bar is all 58 AI assistants we grade, cut by the letter each got. Maple AI’s own letter is outlined.

  • DValue for moneyAbove 0 of 57
  • CFree plan and trialAbove 5 of 57
  • CFeaturesAbove 0 of 57
  • BEase of useAbove 21 of 57
  • APlatforms and integrationsAbove 45 of 57

Price against what you get

Each dot is one of 45 AI assistants. Further left costs less; higher up scores better on features, ease of use and platforms. Maple AI is the marked dot.

C2.0B3.0A4.0Free$2$5$10$20$50More for lessCosts more, scores moreCosts less, scores lessCosts more, scores lessMaple AIGeminiPoeChatboxLocally AIChatGPT

What paid plans start at, a month (each step along is roughly double) →

Keep it, or make your own?

Whether this is something you could build for yourself with an AI app builder, and what you would give up.

Keep it

To replace Maple AI you would be making an AI model, which you can rent by the request but not make. That is not a weekend's work, with an AI app builder or without one.

That makes this kind of software worth paying for, not this one in particular: 35 of the 57 other AI assistants grade higher. It costs $240 a year. Maple AI is open source, so there is a third way: take its code and run it yourself.

What you could not

  • An AI model, which you can rent by the request but not make.
  • A search engine with an AI model behind it.
  • Apps for macOS, Windows, Linux, iOS and Android that stay in step with each other.
  • It plugs into other products, OpenCode, Goose and OpenClaw among them, and has an API.
  • End-to-end encryption done properly.

What this rests on. Maple AI’s listing: what it does, where it runs, what it plugs into and what it costs. It is a judgement about the kind of software this is. We have not built a replacement for it, and making your own means looking after it too. How we decide, and every tool’s verdict.

Part 05 · Alternatives

The alternatives

The tools it is most often weighed against, side by side

Confer, Lumo, Venice and Duck.ai

The 4 tools Maple AI is most often weighed against, with where each one differs from it.

  • 2.2GPA

    Confer

    Free plan · from $34.99

    End-to-end encrypted AI assistant from the creator of Signal.

    • Only Maple AI lists macOS, Windows, Linux and Android apps.
    • Maple AI is open source, according to its own site.
    Maple AI and Confer compared in full
  • 2.2GPA

    Lumo

    Free plan · from $9.99/mo

    Proton's private AI assistant with zero-access encrypted chats.

    • Only Maple AI lists macOS, Windows and Linux apps.
    • Maple AI is end-to-end encrypted, according to its own site.
    Maple AI and Lumo compared in full
  • 2.6GPA

    Venice

    Free plan · from $18/mo

    Privacy-focused AI app for chat, images and video across many models.

    • Only Maple AI lists macOS, Windows and Linux apps.
    • Maple AI is open source, according to its own site.
    Maple AI and Venice compared in full
  • 2.4GPA

    Duck.ai

    Free plan · from $9.99/mo

    Private, anonymized chat with third-party AI models.

    • Only Maple AI lists a Linux app.
    • Maple AI is open source and end-to-end encrypted, according to its own site.
    • Maple AI also covers AI search.
    Maple AI and Duck.ai compared in full

Part 06 · Questions

Quick answers

The questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two

12

Questions, each answered in a line or two

The short version of everything above, for when you only need the answer. Each one is told in full in its part of the guide.

Is Maple AI free?

Maple AI has a free plan. End-to-end encrypted chat with access to basic AI features.

How much does Maple AI cost?

Maple AI lists 4 plans. Free: $0.

What platforms does Maple AI work on?

Maple AI is available on Web, macOS, Windows, Linux, iOS and Android.

Is Maple AI open source?

Yes. Maple AI is open source, according to its own site.

Is Maple AI end-to-end encrypted?

Maple AI describes itself as end-to-end encrypted on its own site. Nobody here has audited that.

Does Maple AI have an API?

Yes. Maple AI offers a public API, according to its own site.

What does Maple AI integrate with?

Maple AI's listing names OpenCode, Goose, OpenClaw and Brave Search. A listing names up to eight integrations, so it may connect to more.

Who makes Maple AI?

Maple AI is made by Maple Privacy Labs Inc. It dates from 2025.

What are the alternatives to Maple AI?

The closest alternatives to Maple AI in our directory are Confer, Lumo, Venice and Duck.ai.

How does Maple AI compare with other AI assistants?

Maple AI's GPA of 2.4 is higher than 12 of the 57 other AI assistants we grade, and level with 10.

Is Maple AI good value for money?

ToolGPA grades Maple AI D for value for money. Its paid plans start at $20 a month, against a middle price of $10 for the category: 34 of the 38 others that charge start lower.

Could I make my own version of Maple AI?

To replace Maple AI you would be making an AI model, which you can rent by the request but not make.

Where this guide comes from

The prices, plans, platforms and features were read from Maple AI’s own pages on Oct 9, 2026, and the grades were given on Oct 10, 2026. Graded from this listing, whose facts were read from Maple AI's own pages on 9 October 2026. Also tested with a demo account on 2026-09-19.

Every tool we list gets five grades, A to F, each with its reason, and a GPA that averages them. How each is decided is at toolgpa.com/grades. This guide is ToolGPA’s own work; it is not made, paid for or approved by Maple Privacy Labs Inc. Prices change, so check trymaple.ai before you buy.

Part 07 · About

About ToolGPA

Who made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it

3,189

Tools graded, in 94 categories

ToolGPA grades software the way a school report grades a pupil: five subjects, a letter for each with the reason written beside it, and a GPA that averages them. Prices, plans and platforms are read from each maker’s own pages and dated, so you always know how fresh a figure is.

Every grade, review and ranking on ToolGPA is our own judgement. No company can pay for a grade or change one. Every tool on the site has a guide like this one, free to download and pass on. It all lives at toolgpa.com.

  • 3,189

    tools graded

  • 94

    categories

  • 426

    price changes on record

  • 579

    apps priced in 12 countries

What else is on toolgpa.com

Scan for the live page

Prices and grades as they are today

Quoting this guide?

Please name ToolGPA and link to the live page, so readers can check the figures for themselves:

ToolGPA, "Maple AI: The Insider's Guide", checked Oct 9, 2026. https://toolgpa.com/tools/maple-ai

Know someone choosing between AI assistants?

Send them this guide: toolgpa.com/tools/maple-ai/guide

ToolGPA elsewhere: youtube.com/@toolgpa

See our other guides

The best-graded AI assistants after Maple AI, each with an Insider's Guide of its own.

ToolGPA

Choosing software? Every tool graded, every price dated.

Compare tools at toolgpa.com ›

Everything in this guide is ToolGPA’s own summary of what Maple AI’s pages, its app-store listings and public reviews said on the dates shown. Grades are our judgement under the rules at toolgpa.com/grades. Every grade, review and ranking on ToolGPA is our own judgement. No company can pay for a grade or change one. Maple AI is a trademark of its owner, and this guide is not made, paid for or approved by Maple Privacy Labs Inc. Prices and plans change: check trymaple.ai before you buy.