The PrivadoVPN Insider’s Guide
Everything we know about PrivadoVPN in one document: what it costs, its grades, getting a refund, getting help and what else to look at. Read it here, or keep a copy.
PrivadoVPN
The Insider’s Guide
VPN with a 10GB free plan and ad blocking on paid plans
Every plan, grade, refund rule and rival among VPNs, read from PrivadoVPN’s own pages.
Made by Privado Networks ehf · checked Oct 17, 2026 · toolgpa.com
Contents
- 01WelcomeWhat it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first
- 02What it costsEvery plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved
- 03What it doesIts main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it
- 04Where it standsIts grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own
- 05The alternativesThe tools it is most often weighed against, side by side
- 06Quick answersThe questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two
- 07About ToolGPAWho made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it
ToolGPA put this guide together from PrivadoVPN’s own pages, its app-store listings and our grades. Every fact in it is on PrivadoVPN’s page too, where it is kept up to date. Checked Oct 17, 2026.
Part 01 · Overview
Welcome
What it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first
2.8
GPA, above 13 of the 16 other VPNs we grade
PrivadoVPN is a VPN from Privado Networks ehf with apps for Windows, macOS, Linux, iOS, Android, smart TVs and browser extensions. A free account gets 10GB every 30 days on one device, and paid plans add unlimited data, 10 simultaneous connections, an ad and tracker blocker, threat protection and parental controls. Antivirus is sold as an add-on.
To get you started, here are 9 things to know about PrivadoVPN, taken from its own pages and our grades.
- 1
Best for the cheapest first two years of VPN
The catch is that the pricing page doesn't say what it renews at, and its App Store rating is on the low side.
- 2
Paid plans start at $1.11 a month
As its pricing page puts it: $1.11 per month for a first 27 months (24-month plan); renewal price not stated.
- 3
There is a free plan
10GB of data every 30 days on one device, with access to a subset of servers.
- 4
It runs on 5 platforms
macOS, Windows, Linux, iOS and Android, with a browser extension too.
- 5
Ad blocker and threat protection
Paid plans block ads and trackers and warn about phishing and malware sites.
- 6
Parental controls
Listed on every paid plan, and the homepage pairs them with social filters.
- 7
10 connections, unlimited installs
Paid accounts can be installed on any number of devices and connect 10 at once; free accounts connect one.
- 8
A 2.8 GPA, above 13 of 16
That is against the other VPNs we grade, on value, the free plan, features, ease of use and platforms.
- 9
Keep it
To replace PrivadoVPN you would be making servers in dozens of countries, kept fast and private. That is not a weekend's work, with an AI app builder or without one.
PrivadoVPN at a glance
- Pricing
- Free plan, from $1.11 per month for a first 27 months (24-month plan); renewal price not stated
- Free plan
- Yes
- Free trial
- None stated
- Runs on
- macOS, Windows, Linux, iOS, Android, Browser extension
- Made by
- Privado Networks ehf
- Category
- VPNs
- Our grade
- 2.8 GPA, good
- Store rating
- 4.0 on the App Store, 743 ratings
The report card
Best for the cheapest first two years of VPN
PrivadoVPN has the cheapest two years of VPN on record here: $1.11 a month for the first 27 months, with unlimited data, 10 connections, an ad blocker and parental controls. The free plan gives you 10GB a month on one device. The catch is that the pricing page doesn't say what it renews at, and its App Store rating is on the low side.
| Subject | Grade | Comment |
|---|---|---|
| Value for money | A | The 24-month plan is $1.11 a month for the first 27 months, about $30 in all, so two years cost about $1.25 a month, well under the $2 an A needs. The renewal price isn't stated, so check it before month 27. Monthly is $10.99. |
| Free plan and trial | C | 10GB every 30 days on one device, with a subset of servers. Fine for café Wi-Fi and the odd trip, but streaming will burn through it. |
| Features | B | Unlimited data, 10 connections at once on any number of installs, an ad and tracker blocker, threat protection, parental controls, a SOCKS5 proxy, a kill switch, split tunneling and smart DNS. It covers the whole job; antivirus is $1.99 a month extra. |
| Ease of use | C | 3.99 from about 740 App Store ratings, below most VPNs here and well short of the 4.5 a B needs. |
| Platforms and integrations | B | Windows, Mac, Linux, iPhone, Android, Fire TV, Android TV, Apple TV and browser extensions. There's no integration list or API on record, so it stops at B. |
An A is worth 4 points, a B 3, a C 2, a D 1 and an F nothing. The GPA is the average of the five.
Who PrivadoVPN is for
- Great if you want two years of VPN for about $30
- Handy when a few gigabytes a month on one device is all you need, for free
- Good for parents who want ad blocking and parental controls with the VPN
Who it is not for
- Skip it if you want to know the renewal price up front, as the pricing page doesn't state it
- Not for you if you'd use it for work, as the terms allow personal use only
- Pricey if you pay monthly, at $10.99 a month
Good to know
Good for
- Light users who need a few gigabytes of VPN a month for free
- Buyers who want an ad blocker and parental controls with the VPN
- Households with many devices on one account
Worth knowing
- The pricing page gives the 24- and 12-month plans only as a monthly rate and does not say what they renew at; the terms say renewals use the then-current price.
- Antivirus costs $1.99 a month extra on the 12- and 24-month plans.
- The pricing page calls PrivadoVPN Switzerland-based, but its terms name Privado Networks ehf of Iceland as the provider since May 1, 2026.
- The terms allow personal, non-commercial use only, and there is no free trial of paid features.
Part 02 · Pricing
What it costs
Every plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved
$1.11
A month to start. There is a free plan too
PrivadoVPN has a free plan. Paid plans start at $1.11 per month for a first 27 months (24-month plan); renewal price not stated.
Fine for café Wi-Fi and the odd trip, but streaming will burn through it.
Free
$0
10GB every 30 days on one device.
24 Month Plan
$1.11
per month for a first term of 27 months; renewal price not stated
24 months plus 3 free. Unlimited data, 10 connections, ad blocker, threat protection and parental controls. Shown as 90% off the monthly plan.
12 Month Plan
$1.33
per month for a first term of 15 months; renewal price not stated
12 months plus 3 free, with the same features. Shown as 88% off the monthly plan.
1 Month Plan
$10.99
per month
The same features billed monthly, with no saving.
The free plan
10GB of data every 30 days on one device, with access to a subset of servers.
Read from privadovpn.com on Oct 17, 2026.
Ways to pay less
Other savings
24-month plan plus 3 free months at $1.11 a month
The first 27 months are priced at $1.11 a month, shown as 90% off the $10.99 monthly plan. The page does not state the renewal price.
Stated on privadovpn.comOther savings
12-month plan plus 3 free months at $1.33 a month
The first 15 months are priced at $1.33 a month, shown as 88% off the monthly plan. The page does not state the renewal price.
Stated on privadovpn.com
Part 03 · Features
What it does
Its main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it
6
Places it runs: macOS, Windows, Linux, iOS, Android and Browser extension
VPN with a 10GB free plan and ad blocking on paid plans. Here is what it does, as its own site describes it, and what it covers: vPN, ad and tracker blocking.
Windows, Mac, Linux, iPhone, Android, Fire TV, Android TV, Apple TV and browser extensions.
- Ad blocker and threat protection
- Paid plans block ads and trackers and warn about phishing and malware sites.
- Parental controls
- Listed on every paid plan, and the homepage pairs them with social filters.
- 10 connections, unlimited installs
- Paid accounts can be installed on any number of devices and connect 10 at once; free accounts connect one.
- SOCKS5 proxy and kill switch
- A SOCKS5 proxy is included alongside the VPN, and a kill switch cuts traffic if the VPN connection drops.
- Smart DNS and split tunneling
- Control Tower smart DNS and split tunneling, which lets chosen traffic bypass the VPN, are part of the feature set along with VPN SmartRoute.
- Apps for TVs and browsers
- Apps for Fire TV, Android TV, Apple TV and Wear OS, plus proxy extensions for Chrome, Edge, Firefox and Brave.
Where it runs
- macOS
- Windows
- Linux
- iOS
- Android
- Browser extension
What it works with
Its own pages name no integrations.
PrivadoVPN is made by Privado Networks ehf.
Part 04 · Standing
Where it stands
Its grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own
13/16
Other VPNs it is graded above
PrivadoVPN's GPA of 2.8 is higher than 13 of the 16 other VPNs we grade, and level with 2.
It stands best on value for money (A, above 16 of 16) and worst on ease of use (C, above 1).
Its paid plans start at $1.11 a month, against a middle price of $5 for the category: 0 of the 15 others that charge start lower.
On features, ease of use and platforms it scores 2.7 out of 4, and no tool on the category's chart scores higher without costing more.
Each grade against the category
Every bar is all 17 VPNs we grade, cut by the letter each got. PrivadoVPN’s own letter is outlined.
- AValue for moneyAbove 16 of 16
- CFree plan and trialAbove 11 of 16
- BFeaturesAbove 5 of 16
- CEase of useAbove 1 of 16
- BPlatforms and integrationsAbove 0 of 16
Price against what you get
Each dot is one of 16 VPNs. Further left costs less; higher up scores better on features, ease of use and platforms. PrivadoVPN is the marked dot.
What paid plans start at, a month (each step along is roughly double) →
Keep it, or make your own?
Whether this is something you could build for yourself with an AI app builder, and what you would give up.
Keep it
To replace PrivadoVPN you would be making servers in dozens of countries, kept fast and private. That is not a weekend's work, with an AI app builder or without one.
It is one of the better ones too: its GPA of 2.8 is higher than 13 of the 16 other VPNs we grade. It costs $13.32 a year.
What you could make
- Ad and tracker blocking: an app builder makes this well.
What you could not
- Servers in dozens of countries, kept fast and private.
- Apps for macOS, Windows, Linux, iOS and Android that stay in step with each other.
- Hooks into the device itself: a Wear OS app.
- The depth: we grade its features B, which means it covers the whole job.
What this rests on. PrivadoVPN’s listing: what it does, where it runs, what it plugs into and what it costs. It is a judgement about the kind of software this is. We have not built a replacement for it, and making your own means looking after it too. How we decide, and every tool’s verdict.
Part 05 · Alternatives
The alternatives
The tools it is most often weighed against, side by side
Windscribe, Proton VPN, hide.me, Surfshark and TunnelBear
The 5 tools PrivadoVPN is most often weighed against, with where each one differs from it.
- 2.6GPA
Windscribe
Free plan · from $3/mo
VPN with a 10GB free plan and pay-per-location pricing.
- Windscribe is open source, according to its own site.
- 2.8GPA
Proton VPN
Free plan · from $83.88/yr
Open-source Swiss VPN with a free plan that has no data cap.
- Proton VPN is open source, according to its own site.
- 3.0GPA
hide.me
Free plan · from $2.69/mo
Malaysia-based VPN with a no-signup free plan and flat renewal prices.
- 2.8GPA
Surfshark
Free trial · from $79/yr
VPN with no device limit, sold alone or in security bundles.
- PrivadoVPN has a free plan. Surfshark does not, though it has a free trial.
- 2.4GPA
TunnelBear
Free plan · from $3.33/mo
McAfee-owned VPN with a 2GB free plan and pay-once multi-year plans.
- Only PrivadoVPN lists a Linux app.
Part 06 · Questions
Quick answers
The questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two
11
Questions, each answered in a line or two
The short version of everything above, for when you only need the answer. Each one is told in full in its part of the guide.
Is PrivadoVPN free?
PrivadoVPN has a free plan. 10GB of data every 30 days on one device, with access to a subset of servers.
How much does PrivadoVPN cost?
PrivadoVPN lists 4 plans. Free: $0.
What platforms does PrivadoVPN work on?
PrivadoVPN is available on macOS, Windows, Linux, iOS and Android. It also has a browser extension.
Does PrivadoVPN offer any discounts?
PrivadoVPN publicly lists the following: 24-month plan plus 3 free months at $1.11 a month; 12-month plan plus 3 free months at $1.33 a month.
How is PrivadoVPN rated?
PrivadoVPN's iPhone and iPad app averages 4.0 out of 5 from 743 ratings on the App Store in the United States, as read on Oct 17, 2026.
Is PrivadoVPN open source?
PrivadoVPN is not described as open source on its own site, as read on Oct 17, 2026.
Who makes PrivadoVPN?
PrivadoVPN is made by Privado Networks ehf.
What are the alternatives to PrivadoVPN?
The closest alternatives to PrivadoVPN in our directory are Windscribe, Proton VPN, hide.me, Surfshark and TunnelBear.
How does PrivadoVPN compare with other VPNs?
PrivadoVPN's GPA of 2.8 is higher than 13 of the 16 other VPNs we grade, and level with 2.
Is PrivadoVPN good value for money?
ToolGPA grades PrivadoVPN A for value for money. Its paid plans start at $1.11 a month, against a middle price of $5 for the category: 0 of the 15 others that charge start lower.
Could I make my own version of PrivadoVPN?
To replace PrivadoVPN you would be making servers in dozens of countries, kept fast and private.
Where this guide comes from
The prices, plans, platforms and features were read from PrivadoVPN’s own pages on Oct 17, 2026, and the grades were given on Oct 17, 2026. Graded from this listing, whose facts were read from PrivadoVPN's own pages on 17 October 2026, and its App Store rating. Not based on using the product, and shorter than our full reviews.
Every tool we list gets five grades, A to F, each with its reason, and a GPA that averages them. How each is decided is at toolgpa.com/grades. This guide is ToolGPA’s own work; it is not made, paid for or approved by Privado Networks ehf. Prices change, so check privadovpn.com before you buy.
Part 07 · About
About ToolGPA
Who made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it
1,880
Tools graded, in 47 categories
ToolGPA grades software the way a school report grades a pupil: five subjects, a letter for each with the reason written beside it, and a GPA that averages them. Prices, plans and platforms are read from each maker’s own pages and dated, so you always know how fresh a figure is.
ToolGPA is free to read. It may earn a commission from affiliate links and it works with sponsors, but anything paid for is labelled and no one can pay for a grade. Every tool on the site has a guide like this one, free to download and pass on. It all lives at toolgpa.com.
1,880
tools graded
47
categories
426
price changes on record
579
apps priced in 12 countries
What else is on toolgpa.com
- PrivadoVPN, kept up to dateEverything in this guide, with prices and grades as they are todaytoolgpa.com/tools/privadovpn
- How grades are givenThe rules behind every letter and every GPAtoolgpa.com/grades
- Value chartsWhat each tool costs against what it scores, for every categorytoolgpa.com/charts
- CompareAny two tools side by side, plan by plantoolgpa.com/compare
- Price changesEvery price rise and cut on record, each with its sourcetoolgpa.com/price-changes
- Prices by countryWhat apps cost on the App Store in 12 countriestoolgpa.com/prices-by-country
- Pay lessEvery public discount: yearly billing, students, nonprofitstoolgpa.com/save
- Keep or makeWhich tools are worth paying for, and which you could build yourselftoolgpa.com/keep-or-make
Scan for the live page
Prices and grades as they are today
Quoting this guide?
Please name ToolGPA and link to the live page, so readers can check the figures for themselves:
ToolGPA, "PrivadoVPN: The Insider's Guide", checked Oct 17, 2026. https://toolgpa.com/tools/privadovpn
Know someone choosing between VPNs?
Send them this guide: toolgpa.com/tools/privadovpn/guide
ToolGPA elsewhere: youtube.com/@toolgpa
See our other guides
The best-graded VPNs after PrivadoVPN, each with an Insider's Guide of its own.
- VPNs Insider's GuideEvery one of the 17 VPNs we grade, compared
- hide.me Insider's GuideMalaysia-based VPN with a no-signup free plan and flat renewal prices3.0 GPA
- Proton VPN Insider's GuideOpen-source Swiss VPN with a free plan that has no data cap2.8 GPA
- Surfshark Insider's GuideVPN with no device limit, sold alone or in security bundles2.8 GPA
Choosing software? Every tool graded, every price dated.
Compare tools at toolgpa.com ›Everything in this guide is ToolGPA’s own summary of what PrivadoVPN’s pages, its app-store listings and public reviews said on the dates shown. Grades are our judgement under the rules at toolgpa.com/grades. ToolGPA uses affiliate links and may earn a commission from them, and it works with sponsors; anything paid for is labelled, and no one can pay for a grade. PrivadoVPN is a trademark of its owner, and this guide is not made, paid for or approved by Privado Networks ehf. Prices and plans change: check privadovpn.com before you buy.




