Skip to content

The SideNotes Insider’s Guide

Everything we know about SideNotes in one document: what it costs, its grades, getting a refund, getting help and what else to look at. Read it here, or keep a copy.

Download the PDF
Pass it onEmailLinkedInXWhatsApp
ToolGPAOctober 2026

SideNotes

The Insider’s Guide

Screen-edge notes panel for Mac, with a separate iPhone app

SideNotes, as pictured on apptorium.com

Every plan, grade, refund rule and rival among note-taking apps, read from SideNotes’s own pages.

Made by Apptorium · checked Oct 9, 2026 · toolgpa.com

2.6GPA

Contents

  1. 01WelcomeWhat it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first
  2. 02What it costsEvery plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved
  3. 03What it doesIts main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it
  4. 04Where it standsIts grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own
  5. 05The alternativesThe tools it is most often weighed against, side by side
  6. 06Quick answersThe questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two
  7. 07About ToolGPAWho made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it

ToolGPA put this guide together from SideNotes’s own pages, its app-store listings and our grades. Every fact in it is on SideNotes’s page too, where it is kept up to date. Checked Oct 9, 2026.

Part 01 · Overview

Welcome

What it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first

2.6

GPA, above 50 of the 147 other note-taking apps we grade

SideNotes is a Mac notes app from Apptorium that sits at the edge of the screen and opens over whatever app is in use. Notes can hold Markdown text, tasks, images, snippets and shortcuts to files, are organized in color-coded folders, and sync through iCloud. It is a one-time purchase per major version with a free trial, and SideNotes Mobile for iPhone and iPad is sold separately.

To get you started, here are 9 things to know about SideNotes, taken from its own pages and our grades.

  1. 1

    Best for notes that slide out from the edge of your Mac screen

    SideNotes is a notes panel that hides at the edge of your Mac's screen and slides out over whatever you're doing, for $19.99 once.

  2. 2

    What it costs

    Paid plans start at $9.99 one-time for iPhone and iPad; $19.99 one-time for Mac.

  3. 3

    You can try it first

    Free trial download of the Mac app; the site does not state its length

  4. 4

    It runs on 2 platforms

    macOS and iOS.

  5. 5

    Screen-edge panel

    The panel sits on the left or right edge of the screen and shows above other apps, including full-screen ones. It opens with a click, a keyboard shortcut or by moving the cursor to the edge.

  6. 6

    Folders, colors and pinning

    Notes are grouped into folders, can be given colors, reordered by drag and drop, pinned to the top of the list and folded to save space.

  7. 7

    Markdown with hidden markup

    Notes are formatted with Markdown, and the markup can stay out of sight while writing. A formatting toolbar appears when text is selected.

  8. 8

    A 2.6 GPA, above 50 of 147

    That is against the other note-taking apps we grade, on value, the free plan, features, ease of use and platforms.

  9. 9

    Keep it

    The plain part of SideNotes you could make: notes, Markdown and tasks. What surrounds it you could not. The 4 things listed below take a company, not a weekend.

SideNotes at a glance

Pricing
Free trial, from $9.99 one-time for iPhone and iPad; $19.99 one-time for Mac
Free plan
No
Free trial
Free trial download of the Mac app; the site does not state its length
Runs on
macOS, iOS
Made by
Apptorium, since 2019
Category
Note-Taking Apps
Our grade
2.6 GPA, good

The report card

Best for notes that slide out from the edge of your Mac screen

SideNotes is a notes panel that hides at the edge of your Mac's screen and slides out over whatever you're doing, for $19.99 once. It's Apple only, the iPhone and iPad app is a separate $9.99 without file shortcuts or backups, the site never says how long the trial runs, and the price covers version 1.x, with SideNotes 2 a paid upgrade.

ToolGPA report cardSideNotesGraded Oct 10, 2026
SubjectGradeComment
Value for moneyA$19.99 once for the Mac app, covering 1 user on up to 5 Macs. A year of the middle note app here is $72, at $6 a month, so this is under a third of that and paid once. The iPhone and iPad app is another $9.99, and SideNotes 2 will be a paid upgrade.
Free plan and trialCNo free version to settle on. There's a trial download of the Mac app with no card asked for, but the site never says how long it runs. After buying there's a 14-day money-back guarantee.
FeaturesCIt does the screen-edge notes job completely: Markdown with the markup hidden, checklists, images, snippets and shortcuts to files in colour-coded folders, plus iCloud sync, automatic backups and an AppleScript API. But that's a smaller job than note-taking, and the phone app drops the file shortcuts and backups.
Ease of useBNo rating on record, so we go by the listing: you open it with a click, a keyboard shortcut or by nudging the cursor to the screen edge, and a formatting toolbar appears when you select text. Nothing to set up.
Platforms and integrationsCOne family of devices: Mac, iPhone and iPad, synced through iCloud, with hooks into Alfred, Raycast, PopClip, Hookmark and Dropzone. The Mac app needs macOS 13 or later and the mobile one iOS or iPadOS 17.
Grade point averageGood, out of 4.02.6

An A is worth 4 points, a B 3, a C 2, a D 1 and an F nothing. The GPA is the average of the five.

Who SideNotes is for

  • Fits if you want notes at hand on a Mac without switching apps
  • Works for keeping snippets, links and screenshots beside the thing you're working on

Who it is not for

  • Skip it if you use Windows or Android, as it's Apple only and needs macOS 13 or iOS 17
  • Pricey if you want it on your phone too, since SideNotes Mobile is a separate $9.99 and has no file shortcuts or backups
  • Not for you if you hate paying twice, because the price covers version 1.x and SideNotes 2 will be a paid upgrade
  • Watch out: the site offers a trial but never says how long it lasts

Good to know

Good for

  • Mac users who want notes at hand without switching apps
  • Keeping snippets, links and screenshots beside the work in progress
  • People who prefer a one-time purchase to a subscription

Worth knowing

  • Apple platforms only: the Mac app needs macOS 13 or later, and SideNotes Mobile needs iOS or iPadOS 17.
  • SideNotes Mobile is a separate $9.99 purchase and lacks the Mac app's file shortcuts and backups.
  • The payment covers version 1.x. The vendor says SideNotes 2 will be a paid upgrade, discounted for owners and free for those who bought in the prior 6 months.
  • A free trial is offered, but the site does not say how long it lasts.

Part 02 · Pricing

What it costs

Every plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved

$9.99 one-time

To start

SideNotes is a paid product with a free trial, starting at $9.99 one-time for iPhone and iPad; $19.99 one-time for Mac.

There's a trial download of the Mac app with no card asked for, but the site never says how long it runs.
From our grade for free plan and trial
  • SideNotes Mobile

    $9.99

    one-time purchase (US App Store)

    The iPhone and iPad app, sold separately from the Mac app. It syncs through iCloud but has no file shortcuts or backups.

  • SideNotes

    $19.99

    one-time purchase per major version

    The Mac app: a license for 1 user on up to 5 Macs, free updates within version 1.x and a 14-day money-back guarantee.

Trying it first

Free trial download of the Mac app; the site does not state its length

Read from apptorium.com on Oct 9, 2026.

Ways to pay less

  • Education

    Student discount through Student App Centre

    Apptorium's buy page says a student discount on SideNotes is available through Student App Centre. The page does not give the size of the discount.

    Stated on apptorium.com

What the app costs elsewhere

Each country’s App Store price for the app, against $19.99 in the United States, in dollars at the day’s rate. The four cheapest and the four dearest of 11.

CountryPrice thereIn dollarsAgainst the US
Canada$24.99$17.5712% less
Turkey₺999,99$20.34about the same
Philippines₱ 1,290.00$20.53about the same
India₹ 1,999$20.67about the same
South AfricaR399.99$24.1921% more
Germany22,99 €$25.7629% more
BrazilR$ 129,90$25.9530% more
United Kingdom£19.99$26.4332% more

Part 03 · Features

What it does

Its main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it

2

Places it runs: macOS and iOS

Screen-edge notes panel for Mac, with a separate iPhone app. Here is what it does, as its own site describes it, and what it covers: one-time purchase, keyboard-first, notes, Markdown, tasks, menu bar app.

But that's a smaller job than note-taking, and the phone app drops the file shortcuts and backups.
From our grade for features
Screen-edge panel
The panel sits on the left or right edge of the screen and shows above other apps, including full-screen ones. It opens with a click, a keyboard shortcut or by moving the cursor to the edge.
Folders, colors and pinning
Notes are grouped into folders, can be given colors, reordered by drag and drop, pinned to the top of the list and folded to save space.
Markdown with hidden markup
Notes are formatted with Markdown, and the markup can stay out of sight while writing. A formatting toolbar appears when text is selected.
Tasks, images and file shortcuts
A note can hold checklists, pictures, text snippets, or a shortcut to a file or folder. Color codes typed as #rrggbb get a preview.
iCloud sync and backups
Notes sync through iCloud across Mac, iPhone and iPad. The Mac app also backs notes up automatically to a local folder, or to iCloud.
Automation
Shortcuts actions, an AppleScript API and URL links to notes and folders let other apps create, find and open notes. The site lists Alfred, Raycast, PopClip, Hookmark and Dropzone.

Where it runs

  • macOS
  • iOS

What it works with

  • iCloud
  • Apple Shortcuts
  • AppleScript
  • Alfred
  • Raycast
  • PopClip
  • Hookmark
  • Dropzone

SideNotes is made by Apptorium, and has been around since 2019.

Part 04 · Standing

Where it stands

Its grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own

50/147

Other note-taking apps it is graded above

SideNotes's GPA of 2.6 is higher than 50 of the 147 other note-taking apps we grade, and level with 21.

It stands best on value for money (A, above 62 of 147) and worst on features (C, above 2).

Each grade against the category

Every bar is all 148 note-taking apps we grade, cut by the letter each got. SideNotes’s own letter is outlined.

  • AValue for moneyAbove 62 of 147
  • CFree plan and trialAbove 7 of 147
  • CFeaturesAbove 2 of 147
  • BEase of useAbove 47 of 147
  • CPlatforms and integrationsAbove 31 of 147

Keep it, or make your own?

Whether this is something you could build for yourself with an AI app builder, and what you would give up.

Keep it

The plain part of SideNotes you could make: notes, Markdown and tasks. What surrounds it you could not. The 4 things listed below take a company, not a weekend.

It costs $9.99, paid once.

What you could make

  • Notes, Markdown and tasks: an app builder makes these well.

What you could not

  • A native app living in the menu bar.
  • Apps for macOS and iOS that stay in step with each other.
  • It plugs into other products, iCloud, Apple Shortcuts and AppleScript among them.
  • Hooks into the device itself: Shortcuts.

What this rests on. SideNotes’s listing: what it does, where it runs, what it plugs into and what it costs. It is a judgement about the kind of software this is. We have not built a replacement for it, and making your own means looking after it too. How we decide, and every tool’s verdict.

Part 05 · Alternatives

The alternatives

The tools it is most often weighed against, side by side

Tot, Antinote, Stickier, Drafts and Apple Notes

The 5 tools SideNotes is most often weighed against, with where each one differs from it.

  • 2.6GPA

    Tot

    Free plan · from $19.99 one-time

    Seven-note text scratchpad for Mac, iPhone, iPad and Apple Watch.

    • Tot has a free plan. SideNotes does not, though it has a free trial.
    • SideNotes also covers tasks.
    SideNotes and Tot compared in full
  • 2.4GPA

    Antinote

    Free trial · from $5 one-time

    Mac scratchpad for temporary notes, quick math and checklists.

    • Only SideNotes lists an iOS app.
    • SideNotes also covers Markdown and tasks.
    • Antinote also covers Pomodoro timer and calculator.
    SideNotes and Antinote compared in full
  • 2.8GPA

    Stickier

    Free plan · from $4.99 one-time

    Sticky notes for Mac with iCloud sync and an iPhone companion app.

    • Stickier has a free plan. SideNotes does not, though it has a free trial.
    • SideNotes also covers Markdown and tasks.
    SideNotes and Stickier compared in full
  • 3.4GPA

    Drafts

    Free plan · from $1.99/mo

    Quick-capture notes app for Apple devices with text actions.

    • Drafts has a free plan. SideNotes does not, though it has a free trial.
    • SideNotes can be bought with a one-time purchase.
    • SideNotes also covers tasks and menu bar app.
    SideNotes and Drafts compared in full
  • 3.4GPA

    Apple Notes

    Free

    Apple's free notes app for iPhone, iPad, Mac and the web.

    • Apple Notes has a free plan. SideNotes does not, though it has a free trial.
    • Only Apple Notes lists a web app.
    • SideNotes can be bought with a one-time purchase.
    SideNotes and Apple Notes compared in full

Part 06 · Questions

Quick answers

The questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two

13

Questions, each answered in a line or two

The short version of everything above, for when you only need the answer. Each one is told in full in its part of the guide.

Is SideNotes free?

No, SideNotes is a paid product, but you can try it first. Free trial download of the Mac app; the site does not state its length.

How much does SideNotes cost?

SideNotes lists 2 plans. SideNotes Mobile: $9.99 one-time purchase (US App Store).

What platforms does SideNotes work on?

SideNotes is available on macOS and iOS.

Does SideNotes offer any discounts?

SideNotes publicly lists the following: Student discount through Student App Centre.

Does SideNotes have an Android app?

No Android app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 9, 2026. SideNotes is listed for macOS and iOS.

Does SideNotes have a Windows app?

No Windows app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 9, 2026. SideNotes is listed for macOS and iOS.

Is SideNotes open source?

SideNotes is not described as open source on its own site, as read on Oct 9, 2026.

What does SideNotes integrate with?

SideNotes's listing names iCloud, Apple Shortcuts, AppleScript, Alfred, Raycast, PopClip, Hookmark and Dropzone.

Does SideNotes have a student discount?

Student discount through Student App Centre. Apptorium's buy page says a student discount on SideNotes is available through Student App Centre.

Who makes SideNotes?

SideNotes is made by Apptorium. It dates from 2019.

What are the alternatives to SideNotes?

The closest alternatives to SideNotes in our directory are Tot, Antinote, Stickier, Drafts and Apple Notes.

How does SideNotes compare with other note-taking apps?

SideNotes's GPA of 2.6 is higher than 50 of the 147 other note-taking apps we grade, and level with 21.

Could I make my own version of SideNotes?

The plain part of SideNotes you could make: notes, Markdown and tasks.

Where this guide comes from

The prices, plans, platforms and features were read from SideNotes’s own pages on Oct 9, 2026, and the grades were given on Oct 10, 2026. Graded from this listing, whose facts were read from Apptorium's own pages on 9 October 2026. Also tested with a demo account on 2026-05-20.

Every tool we list gets five grades, A to F, each with its reason, and a GPA that averages them. How each is decided is at toolgpa.com/grades. This guide is ToolGPA’s own work; it is not made, paid for or approved by Apptorium. Prices change, so check apptorium.com before you buy.

Part 07 · About

About ToolGPA

Who made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it

3,189

Tools graded, in 94 categories

ToolGPA grades software the way a school report grades a pupil: five subjects, a letter for each with the reason written beside it, and a GPA that averages them. Prices, plans and platforms are read from each maker’s own pages and dated, so you always know how fresh a figure is.

Every grade, review and ranking on ToolGPA is our own judgement. No company can pay for a grade or change one. Every tool on the site has a guide like this one, free to download and pass on. It all lives at toolgpa.com.

  • 3,189

    tools graded

  • 94

    categories

  • 426

    price changes on record

  • 579

    apps priced in 12 countries

What else is on toolgpa.com

Scan for the live page

Prices and grades as they are today

Quoting this guide?

Please name ToolGPA and link to the live page, so readers can check the figures for themselves:

ToolGPA, "SideNotes: The Insider's Guide", checked Oct 9, 2026. https://toolgpa.com/tools/sidenotes

Know someone choosing between note-taking apps?

Send them this guide: toolgpa.com/tools/sidenotes/guide

ToolGPA elsewhere: youtube.com/@toolgpa

See our other guides

The best-graded note-taking apps after SideNotes, each with an Insider's Guide of its own.

ToolGPA

Choosing software? Every tool graded, every price dated.

Compare tools at toolgpa.com ›

Everything in this guide is ToolGPA’s own summary of what SideNotes’s pages, its app-store listings and public reviews said on the dates shown. Grades are our judgement under the rules at toolgpa.com/grades. Every grade, review and ranking on ToolGPA is our own judgement. No company can pay for a grade or change one. SideNotes is a trademark of its owner, and this guide is not made, paid for or approved by Apptorium. Prices and plans change: check apptorium.com before you buy.