Habit List vs Today Habit Tracker
We give Habit List a 2.4 GPA and Today Habit Tracker a 3.2, out of 4.0. Today Habit Tracker grades higher on value for money, features and ease of use. They get the same grade on the free plan and platforms.
Price, platforms and features side by side. The table says where each price was read and when.
Habit List
iPhone habit tracker that lists only what is due today
Today Habit Tracker
iPhone habit tracker with a customizable card dashboard per habit
How we grade them
| 2.4GPAHabit ListFair | 3.2GPAToday Habit TrackerVery good | |
|---|---|---|
| Value for money | BThe Premium upgrade is $4.99 on the US App Store. It removes the three-habit limit and adds a passcode or Touch ID lock and dark mode. If that's a one-time unlock, it's a bargain. But the listing shows no billing period, so we can't promise it is. | APremium is $9.99 a year, about 79% less than paying $3.99 a month. That's under a dollar a month for unlimited habits and cards, backups and the app lock, and it can be shared through Family Sharing. The App Store also lists an unexplained item at $299.99. |
| Free plan and trial | BThe first three habits are free, with streaks, reminders, flexible schedules and progress views, and no account needed. Three is tight, though, and the lock and dark mode are Premium. | BFree to download and use, with check-ins, reminders, cards and photo covers. But habits and cards per habit are capped at limits nobody states, and backups and the app lock are Premium. There's a free trial of Premium, length not given. |
| Features | BOnly today's habits on the main list, colour-coded streak badges, and three kinds of schedule: set days, a number of days a week, or intervals. Weekly and monthly completion bars, skips that don't break a streak, and JSON export. But nothing on record mentions sync, widgets or health data. | AEach habit gets a dashboard you build from cards: streak calendar, milestones, counters, custom charts, to-do lists and a journal. Apple Health brings in more than 30 data sources, like steps, sleep and caffeine, each with a goal you set. Plus a Watch app and check-ins from the notification. |
| Ease of use | C4.0 from about 310 App Store ratings, which is a C on our ladder. The idea itself is simple enough: a short list of what's due today, and you can complete a habit from its reminder. | A4.7 from about 3,550 App Store ratings. There are no user accounts to set up, and you can check in straight from a notification without opening the app. |
| Platforms and integrations | DiPhone only. The App Store listing is marked only for iPhone, and no iPad, Mac, Android or web version is listed. The current version needs iOS 18.6 or later, and nothing mentions sync between devices. | DiPhone and Apple Watch only, which is really one operating system. No iPad, Mac, Android or web version is listed. It does connect to Apple Health, iCloud Drive and Dropbox, and action URLs let automation apps drive it. |
| Best for | a short list of only the habits due today | a custom dashboard for every habit on iPhone |
The GPA is the average of the five grades: an A is 4 points, an F is none. The full reasons are on each tool's page: Habit List and Today Habit Tracker. How we grade
Where they differ
- Habit List starts at $4.99 for Upgrade to Premium (US App Store; billing period not shown). Today Habit Tracker starts at $9.99 per year, or $3.99 per month (US App Store prices).
- Today Habit Tracker also covers daily notes.
At a glance
| Habit List | Today Habit Tracker | |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | Free plan | Free plan |
| Starts at | $4.99 for Upgrade to Premium (US App Store; billing period not shown) | $9.99 per year, or $3.99 per month (US App Store prices) |
| Free plan | The first three habits are free. Unlimited habits, the passcode or Touch ID lock and dark mode need the Premium upgrade. | Free to download and use for habit tracking. Unlimited habits, unlimited cards per habit, premium cards, backups and the app lock need Premium; the free limits are not stated. |
| Free trial | None listed | The support center refers to a free trial of Today Premium; its length is not stated |
| iOS | ||
| Made by | Scott Dunlap & Gerard Gualberto | Neybox Digital Ltd. |
| Price read from | apps.apple.com | apps.apple.com |
| Checked | Oct 6, 2026 | Oct 6, 2026 |
Who each one suits
Habit List
- iPhone users who want a short list of only what is due today
- Habits on irregular schedules, such as any 4 days a week
- People who want to track habits without creating an account
Today Habit Tracker
- People who want a different tracking layout for each habit
- Habits measured by Apple Health data such as steps, weight or sleep
- iPhone users who like a visual design built around photos
Worth knowing
Habit List
- The App Store listing is marked only for iPhone; no iPad, Mac, Android or web version is listed.
- The free version stops at three habits, and the passcode or Touch ID lock and dark mode are part of Premium.
- The App Store lists Upgrade to Premium at $4.99 without a billing period, so the listing does not say whether it is a one-time unlock.
- The current version requires iOS 18.6 or later, and neither the site nor the listing mentions sync between devices.
Today Habit Tracker
- The App Store lists the app for iPhone and Apple Watch only; no iPad, Mac, Android or web version is listed.
- Unlimited habits, unlimited cards per habit, premium cards, backups and the app lock all need Premium, and the free limits are not stated.
- Today has no user accounts; backup and restore through iCloud Drive or Dropbox is a Premium feature.
- The US App Store also lists an item called All premium features at $299.99, without saying what it covers beyond the subscription.
Key features
Habit List
- Streaks with colored badges
- Each habit shows its streak and personal best. Green means due today, red means you have fallen behind, yellow marks a streak that just ended and gray marks optional days.
- Today view
- The main list shows only the habits due today, in an order you set, and tapping Today shows the day's completion percentage.
- Flexible scheduling
- Three schedule types cover specific days such as Monday, Wednesday and Friday, a number of non-specific days per week, and intervals such as every 2 to 3 days.
- Reminders and app badge
- Per-habit reminders can be completed from the notification, the app badge counts habits left for the day, and a daily review reminder is optional.
- Trends and history
- Weekly and monthly completion percentages are drawn as bars colored from green to red, alongside each habit's history, longest streak and total completions.
- Skips, counts and export
- Habits can be done several times a day, skipped without breaking a streak or marked as missed. Data can be exported as JSON.
Today Habit Tracker
- Card dashboard per habit
- Each habit has its own dashboard built from cards you pick and customize: streak calendar, milestones, photo gallery, Apple Health charts, custom charts, counters and journal notes.
- Streak calendar
- A monthly calendar of check-ins shows the current and longest streaks and lets you check in for a previous day. Swipe sideways to view earlier months.
- Apple Health charts
- Connect Apple Health to view and track more than 30 data sources such as steps, weight, sleep, active calories and caffeine, each with a goal value you set.
- Photo covers and badges
- Every habit carries a full-screen photo cover from the app's gallery or your own photos, and badges awarded for progress can be shared.
- Apple Watch and notifications
- The Apple Watch app lists the check-ins due today and has a complication. Rich notifications show progress and let you check in from the notification itself.
- Backups, lock and action URLs
- Premium backs data up automatically to iCloud Drive or Dropbox and locks the app with Face ID, Touch ID or a passcode. Action URLs follow the x-callback-url scheme for automation apps.
Plans
Habit List
Free$0
Up to three habits with streaks, reminders, flexible schedules and progress views.
Premium$4.99
in-app purchase; billing period not shown in the listing
Unlimited habits, passcode or Touch ID lock and dark mode. Listed in the US App Store as Upgrade to Premium.
Today Habit Tracker
Free$0
Habit tracking with check-ins, reminders, cards and photo covers. The caps on habits and on cards per habit are not stated.
Today Premium Monthly$3.99
per month
Unlimited habits and cards, premium cards, custom photo covers and premium galleries, iCloud Drive or Dropbox backup, and a Face ID, Touch ID or passcode lock.
Today Premium Annual$9.99
per year
The same Premium features billed once a year.
All premium features$299.99
billing period not shown on the App Store listing
A third in-app purchase, listed without a description. The support center says the app moved from a one-time purchase to subscriptions.
Ways to pay less
Habit List
No public discounts listed.
Today Habit Tracker
- Annual discount
Annual plan costs about 79% less than monthly
The US App Store lists Today Premium at $3.99 a month and $9.99 a year, about 79% less than 12 monthly payments ($47.88). The subscription can be shared through Family Sharing.
