Strides vs Way of Life
We give Strides a 2.8 GPA and Way of Life a 3.2, out of 4.0. Way of Life grades higher on value for money and ease of use. They get the same grade on the free plan, features and platforms.
Price, platforms and features side by side. The table says where each price was read and when.
Strides
Goal and habit tracker with four flexible tracker types
Way of Life
Color-coded habit tracker for building and breaking habits
How we grade them
| 2.8GPAStridesGood | 3.2GPAWay of LifeVery good | |
|---|---|---|
| Value for money | CStrides Plus is listed at anything from $4.99 to $149.99, and the App Store doesn't say which price is monthly, yearly or lifetime. Sync and backups sit behind it, when Habitify syncs for free. | BPremium removes the habit limit, and the App Store lists it at $4.99, $14.99 and $29.99 without saying which is monthly, yearly or one-time. So we can't work out what it'll really cost you. Google Play shows $4.99 to $6.49 per item. |
| Free plan and trial | BFree forever for three goals or habits, with reminders and charts and no ads. Three is tight, though, and there's no sync or backup until you pay. | BFree gives you chains, charts, the scoreboard, notes, reminders, tags and export, which is nearly everything. But only for a limited number of habits, and the store listings don't say how many. |
| Features | AFour kinds of tracker: yes-or-no habits, a number by a date, a running average, and projects with milestones. Plus 150+ templates, a pace line that shows if you're falling behind, streaks and as many reminders as you like. | AGreen or red for every habit each day, chains you try not to break, and a weekly and monthly scoreboard. The charts go deep, with trend lines over weeks, months or years. Notes and flexible reminders too, and on iPhone a passcode lock, widgets and export as CSV, Excel or JSON. |
| Ease of use | B4.8 from about 19,200 App Store ratings, and you log with a swipe. Picking between four tracker types takes a little thought, and an older review says you can't change a tracker's type once it's made. | A4.8 from about 5,300 App Store ratings. You just mark each habit green or red, and Way of Life says keeping it up to date takes less than a minute a day. |
| Platforms and integrations | CiPhone, iPad, Mac and Apple Watch, with Apple Health and Siri Shortcuts. The Android app is new, with only a few hundred downloads on Google Play. No web or Windows version. | CiPhone and Android only, with Siri and Shortcuts on the iPhone side. No web or desktop version is listed. And the two apps don't share a data format, so moving between them means asking the vendor for a manual conversion. |
| Best for | habits and number goals on Apple devices | marking each day green or red and reading the trend |
The GPA is the average of the five grades: an A is 4 points, an F is none. The full reasons are on each tool's page: Strides and Way of Life. How we grade
Where they differ
- Strides starts at $4.99 (lowest Strides Plus in-app purchase; billing basis not shown). Way of Life starts at $4.99 (lowest Premium in-app purchase; billing basis not shown).
- Only Strides lists a macOS app.
- Strides also covers templates.
At a glance
| Strides | Way of Life | |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | Free plan | Free plan |
| Starts at | $4.99 (lowest Strides Plus in-app purchase; billing basis not shown) | $4.99 (lowest Premium in-app purchase; billing basis not shown) |
| Free plan | Free with no time limit for your top three goals and habits, with reminders and charts and without ads. | Chains, charts, notes, reminders, tags and export for a limited number of habits. The store listings do not state the limit. |
| Free trial | Free trial of Strides Plus, offered on the App Store listing; its length is not shown | None listed |
| macOS | ||
| iOS | ||
| Android | ||
| Made by | Goals LLC | Way of Life ApS |
| Price read from | apps.apple.com | apps.apple.com |
| Checked | Oct 9, 2026 | Oct 5, 2026 |
Who each one suits
Strides
- People who track numeric goals as well as yes-or-no habits
- Apple users who want trackers on iPhone, iPad, Mac and Apple Watch
- Anyone with only two or three goals, which fit the free plan
Way of Life
- People who want to log many habits in a few taps a day
- Tracking habits to break alongside habits to build
- Spotting long-term trends through charts rather than streaks alone
Worth knowing
Strides
- The free plan tracks three goals or habits; unlimited trackers, sync, backups, tags, export and the privacy lock need Strides Plus.
- The App Store lists Strides Plus purchases from $4.99 to $149.99 without saying which is monthly, annual or lifetime.
- Sharing progress with accountability partners requires iCloud and works on Apple devices only.
- The Android app is recent, showing 100+ downloads on Google Play, and no web or Windows version is listed.
Way of Life
- The free version limits the number of habits, and the store listings do not state the limit.
- The App Store lists Premium at $4.99, $14.99 and $29.99 without saying which is monthly, yearly or one-time.
- iOS and Android data formats are not interchangeable; the vendor offers a manual conversion on request.
- Apps are listed for iPhone and Android only; no web or desktop version is listed.
Key features
Strides
- Four tracker types
- Habit trackers log repeating actions, Target trackers aim for a number by a date, Average trackers follow a repeating number, and Project trackers break work into milestones.
- Templates and SMART goal setup
- Start from more than 150 tracker templates or set a SMART goal through a 3-step process, then adjust the defaults.
- Daily Goals view
- Filters all trackers down to the ones that need logging now, based on their repeat settings. Getting every tracker done earns a perfect day.
- Charts and progress reports
- Each tracker has progress bars with an on-track pace line, streaks, success rates, calendars and line charts. Reports summarize all trackers by week, month, year or all time.
- Reminders and bad-habit tracking
- Trackers can have as many reminders as you like on the days they are due, and a Bad Habit setting counts down against a limit instead of up to a goal.
- Accountability partners
- Invite other people to see progress on chosen goals or habits, or work on a goal together. This needs iCloud and works on Apple devices only.
Way of Life
- Color-coded daily tracking
- Each day is marked green or red for every habit. The vendor says updating takes less than a minute a day.
- Chains and scoreboard
- Chains challenge you not to break a streak, and a scoreboard gives weekly and monthly feedback.
- Charts
- Pie charts, bar graphs with trend lines and a frequency distribution chart show positive and negative trends over weeks, months or years.
- Notes and reminders
- A note can record what went well or what triggered a bad habit, and reminders support flexible schedules and custom messages.
- Lock, backup and export
- The iOS app can be locked with a passcode, Face ID or Touch ID, backed up to a cloud storage provider of your choice, and exported as CSV, Excel or JSON.
- Widgets, Siri and Shortcuts
- The iOS app adds widgets, Siri and Shortcuts support, and URL schemes for working with other apps.
Plans
Strides
Free$0
Tracks up to three goals and habits with reminders and charts, with no time limit and no ads.
Strides Plus$4.99 to $149.99
monthly, annual or lifetime; the listing does not label them
Unlimited goals and habits, sync across devices, data backups, progress reports, tags and filters, archiving, data export, goal notes and a privacy lock.
Way of Life
Free$0
Chains, charts, scoreboard, notes, reminders, tags and data export for a limited number of habits. The limit is not stated.
Premium$4.99 to $29.99
billing basis not shown on the App Store listing
Unlocks unlimited habits. Google Play lists in-app purchases from $4.99 to $6.49 per item, and on Android cloud backup also needs Premium.
Ways to pay less
Strides
- Lifetime license
Lifetime plan as a one-time payment
The help center says Strides Plus can be bought with a one-time payment called the Lifetime plan instead of a monthly or annual subscription. It does not state the price.
Way of Life
No public discounts listed.

