The Brex Insider’s Guide
Everything we know about Brex in one document: what it costs, its grades, getting a refund, getting help and what else to look at. Read it here, or keep a copy.
Brex
The Insider’s Guide
Corporate cards, expenses, bill pay and travel for growing companies

Every plan, grade, refund rule and rival among spend and bill pay tools, read from Brex’s own pages.
Made by Brex LLC · checked Oct 18, 2026 · toolgpa.com

Contents
- 01WelcomeWhat it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first
- 02What it costsEvery plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved
- 03What it doesIts main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it
- 04Where it standsIts grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own
- 05The alternativesThe tools it is most often weighed against, side by side
- 06Quick answersThe questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two
- 07About ToolGPAWho made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it
ToolGPA put this guide together from Brex’s own pages, its app-store listings and our grades. Every fact in it is on Brex’s page too, where it is kept up to date. Checked Oct 18, 2026.
Part 01 · Overview
Welcome
What it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first
3.6
GPA, above 12 of the 13 other spend and bill pay tools we grade
Brex issues corporate cards accepted in more than 210 countries and territories and wraps them in expense policies, reimbursements, bill pay, travel booking and a business account. AI rules check spending against policy, and transactions sync to accounting systems. The Essentials plan is free; Premium adds multiple policies, approval chains, multi-entity support and custom ERP and HR integrations. Brex is now part of Capital One.
To get you started, here are 9 things to know about Brex, taken from its own pages and our grades.
The AI rules check spending against your policy for you, so there's less chasing to do.
- 1
Best for free global cards and expenses for startups
The Essentials plan does all of that for nothing, with an API thrown in.
- 2
Paid plans start at $12 a month for each person
As its pricing page puts it: $12 per user / month, billing term not stated.
- 3
There is a free plan
Essentials: unlimited global cards, one local card program, AI spending rules, up to two entities, bill pay, reimbursements, travel booking, accounting integrations and API access.
- 4
It runs on 3 platforms
Web, iOS and Android.
- 5
Corporate cards
Unlimited cards accepted in 210+ countries and territories, with local-currency cards and billing in 50+ countries on higher plans.
- 6
Expense policies
AI-powered rules check spending; Premium adds category rules, role-based exceptions, auto-approval and audit detection.
- 7
Bill pay
Automated bill pay by ACH, check, domestic wire or international wire in local currency or US dollars, with no Brex fee per payment.
- 8
A 3.6 GPA, above 12 of 13
That is against the other spend and bill pay tools we grade, on value, the free plan, features, ease of use and platforms.
- 9
Keep it
To replace Brex you would be making cards issued through a bank. That is not a weekend's work, with an AI app builder or without one.
Brex at a glance
- Pricing
- Free plan, from $12 per user / month, billing term not stated
- Free plan
- Yes
- Free trial
- None stated
- Runs on
- Web, iOS, Android
- Made by
- Brex LLC
- Category
- Spend & Bill Pay
- Our grade
- 3.6 GPA, excellent
- Store rating
- 4.8 on the App Store, 8,836 ratings
The report card
Best for free global cards and expenses for startups
Brex issues corporate cards accepted in 210+ countries and territories and wraps them in AI spending rules, reimbursements, bill pay and travel booking. The Essentials plan does all of that for nothing, with an API thrown in. Multiple policies and approval chains need Premium at $12 a user, and card purchases in another currency can carry up to 3%.
| Subject | Grade | Comment |
|---|---|---|
| Value for money | A | Free and substantial. A ten-person company pays $0 a month on Essentials, and Brex charges no fee of its own for ACH, check or wire bill payments. Premium is $12 a user, and the pricing page doesn't say if that's monthly or yearly billing. |
| Free plan and trial | A | Essentials is free with unlimited global cards, AI spending rules, up to two entities, bill pay, reimbursements, travel booking, accounting sync and the API. No user cap is listed. |
| Features | B | The whole job: cards, expense policies, reimbursements, bill pay by ACH, check or wire, travel, a business account and accounting sync. Multiple policies and approval chains wait for Premium, but the core work is all there. |
| Ease of use | A | 4.84 from 8,836 App Store ratings, the top band. The AI rules check spending against your policy for you, so there's less chasing to do. |
| Platforms and integrations | B | Web, iPhone and Android, with QuickBooks Online, Xero, NetSuite, Sage Intacct, Dynamics 365, Workday, Rippling and Slack, and an API on every plan. No desktop app is listed. |
An A is worth 4 points, a B 3, a C 2, a D 1 and an F nothing. The GPA is the average of the five.
Who Brex is for
- Great if you're a startup that wants cards and expenses with no software bill
- Handy when you have entities in more than one country
- Good for developers who want an API on the free plan
Who it is not for
- Skip it if you need several expense policies or approval chains without paying $12 a user
- Pricey if your team buys a lot in foreign currencies, with an FX markup of up to 3% on card purchases
- Not for you if you only want some users on Premium, since everyone must be on the same plan
Good to know
Good for
- Startups that want corporate cards and expenses at no software cost
- Companies with entities in several countries
- Finance teams that want spend policies enforced before money goes out
Worth knowing
- Card purchases that need a currency conversion carry an FX markup of up to 3%; Brex charges no fee of its own for ACH, checks or wires.
- Brex LLC is owned by Capital One, N.A.; checking is provided by Column N.A., and the cards are issued by Emigrant Bank, Fifth Third Bank or Sutton Bank.
- Essentials allows up to two entities; multiple expense policies, approval chains and custom ERP or HR integrations need Premium.
- All users on an account must be on the same plan, and the pricing page does not say whether Premium is billed monthly or yearly.
Part 02 · Pricing
What it costs
Every plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved
$12
A month to start, for each person. There is a free plan too
Brex has a free plan. Paid plans start at $12 per user / month, billing term not stated.
Essentials
$0
For startups: global cards, AI custom rules, up to two entities (one global), bill pay, reimbursements, free travel booking and real-time reports.
Premium
$12
per user / month, billing term not stated
Adds multiple expense policies, review and approval chains, AI audit checks, US and international entities, ERP and HR integrations, VAT documents and live budgets.
Enterprise
Custom
Unlimited entities, local card issuing, collections and reimbursements in other countries, an admin center and a named account manager.
The free plan
Essentials: unlimited global cards, one local card program, AI spending rules, up to two entities, bill pay, reimbursements, travel booking, accounting integrations and API access.
Read from brex.com on Oct 18, 2026.
Part 03 · Features
What it does
Its main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it
3
Places it runs: Web, iOS and Android
Corporate cards, expenses, bill pay and travel for growing companies. Here is what it does, as its own site describes it, and what it covers: public API, AI features, reports, expense tracking, bill pay, company cards.
The whole job: cards, expense policies, reimbursements, bill pay by ACH, check or wire, travel, a business account and accounting sync.
- Corporate cards
- Unlimited cards accepted in 210+ countries and territories, with local-currency cards and billing in 50+ countries on higher plans.
- Expense policies
- AI-powered rules check spending; Premium adds category rules, role-based exceptions, auto-approval and audit detection.
- Bill pay
- Automated bill pay by ACH, check, domestic wire or international wire in local currency or US dollars, with no Brex fee per payment.
- Travel booking
- Book business travel inside Brex, free on Essentials, with group travel and advanced travel rules on Premium.
- Business account
- Checking provided by Column N.A., plus Treasury and Vault cash management run by Brex Treasury LLC.
- Accounting and API
- Transactions sync to QuickBooks, Xero, NetSuite, Sage Intacct and Dynamics 365, and an API is included on every plan.
Where it runs
- Web
- iOS
- Android
What it works with
- QuickBooks Online
- Xero
- NetSuite
- Sage Intacct
- Microsoft Dynamics 365
- Workday
- Rippling
- Slack
Brex is made by Brex LLC.
Part 04 · Standing
Where it stands
Its grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own
12/13
Other spend and bill pay tools it is graded above
Brex's GPA of 3.6 is higher than 12 of the 13 other spend and bill pay tools we grade, and level with 1.
It stands best on free plan and trial (A, above 11 of 13) and worst on platforms and integrations (B, above 0).
Its paid plans start at $12 a month for each person, against a middle price of $12 for the category: 4 of the 11 others that charge start lower.
On features, ease of use and platforms it scores 3.3 out of 4. Nothing scores higher for less, though at least one tool matches that score at a lower price.
Each grade against the category
Every bar is all 14 spend and bill pay tools we grade, cut by the letter each got. Brex’s own letter is outlined.
- AValue for moneyAbove 9 of 13
- AFree plan and trialAbove 11 of 13
- BFeaturesAbove 8 of 13
- AEase of useAbove 8 of 13
- BPlatforms and integrationsAbove 0 of 13
Price against what you get
Each dot is one of 13 spend and bill pay tools. Further left costs less; higher up scores better on features, ease of use and platforms. Brex is the marked dot.
What paid plans start at, a month (each step along is roughly double) →
Keep it, or make your own?
Whether this is something you could build for yourself with an AI app builder, and what you would give up.
Keep it
To replace Brex you would be making cards issued through a bank. That is not a weekend's work, with an AI app builder or without one.
It is one of the better ones too: its GPA of 3.6 is higher than 12 of the 13 other spend and bill pay tools we grade. It costs $144 a year.
What you could make
- Expense tracking and reports: an app builder makes these well.
What you could not
- Cards issued through a bank.
- Money moved between bank accounts, which takes a licensed payments partner.
- A real app for iOS and Android. Something home-made would be a web page.
- It is priced for each person, which means accounts and billing for a team.
- It plugs into other products, QuickBooks Online, Xero and NetSuite among them, and has an API.
- AI features, unless you pay a model provider for each request yourself.
- What a company asks for before it lets staff use something: roles and permissions.
- The depth: we grade its features B, which means it covers the whole job.
What this rests on. Brex’s listing: what it does, where it runs, what it plugs into and what it costs. It is a judgement about the kind of software this is. We have not built a replacement for it, and making your own means looking after it too. How we decide, and every tool’s verdict.
Part 05 · Alternatives
The alternatives
The tools it is most often weighed against, side by side
Ramp, Airwallex, Expensify, Navan and BILL
The 5 tools Brex is most often weighed against, with where each one differs from it.
- 3.6GPA
Ramp
Free plan · from $15/mo
Corporate cards, expenses, travel and bill pay, with a free plan.
- Ramp also covers invoicing.
- 3.2GPA
Airwallex
Free plan · from $12/mo
Multi-currency business accounts, cards, bill pay and expenses.
- Brex also covers reports.
- Airwallex also covers invoicing.
- 2.8GPA
Expensify
Free plan · from $5/mo
Receipt scanning, expense reports and company cards, from $5 a member.
- Only Expensify lists a macOS app.
- Only Expensify lists a browser extension.
- Brex also covers reports.
- 2.8GPA
Navan
Free plan · from $15/mo
Business travel booking with expenses and corporate cards built in.
- Brex also covers bill pay.
- 2.6GPA
BILL
Free plan · from $49/mo
Bill pay, invoicing and free company cards for small businesses.
- Brex also covers reports.
- BILL also covers invoicing.
Part 06 · Questions
Quick answers
The questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two
14
Questions, each answered in a line or two
The short version of everything above, for when you only need the answer. Each one is told in full in its part of the guide.
Is Brex free?
Brex has a free plan. Essentials: unlimited global cards, one local card program, AI spending rules, up to two entities, bill pay, reimbursements, travel booking, accounting integrations and API access.
How much does Brex cost?
Brex lists 3 plans. Essentials: $0.
What platforms does Brex work on?
Brex is available on Web, iOS and Android.
How is Brex rated?
Brex's iPhone and iPad app averages 4.8 out of 5 from 8,836 ratings on the App Store in the United States, as read on Oct 18, 2026.
Does Brex have a Windows app?
No Windows app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 18, 2026. Brex is listed for Web, iOS and Android.
Does Brex have a macOS app?
No macOS app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 18, 2026. Brex is listed for Web, iOS and Android.
Is Brex open source?
Brex is not described as open source on its own site, as read on Oct 18, 2026.
Does Brex have an API?
Yes. Brex offers a public API, according to its own site.
What does Brex integrate with?
Brex's listing names QuickBooks Online, Xero, NetSuite, Sage Intacct, Microsoft Dynamics 365, Workday, Rippling and Slack.
Who makes Brex?
Brex is made by Brex LLC.
What are the alternatives to Brex?
The closest alternatives to Brex in our directory are Ramp, Airwallex, Expensify, Navan and BILL.
How does Brex compare with other spend and bill pay tools?
Brex's GPA of 3.6 is higher than 12 of the 13 other spend and bill pay tools we grade, and level with 1.
Is Brex good value for money?
ToolGPA grades Brex A for value for money. Its paid plans start at $12 a month for each person, against a middle price of $12 for the category: 4 of the 11 others that charge start lower.
Could I make my own version of Brex?
To replace Brex you would be making cards issued through a bank. That is not a weekend's work, with an AI app builder or without one.
Where this guide comes from
The prices, plans, platforms and features were read from Brex’s own pages on Oct 18, 2026, and the grades were given on Oct 18, 2026. Graded from this listing, whose facts were read from Brex's own pages on 18 October 2026, and its App Store rating. Not based on using the product, and shorter than our full reviews.
Every tool we list gets five grades, A to F, each with its reason, and a GPA that averages them. How each is decided is at toolgpa.com/grades. This guide is ToolGPA’s own work; it is not made, paid for or approved by Brex LLC. Prices change, so check brex.com before you buy.
Part 07 · About
About ToolGPA
Who made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it
2,068
Tools graded, in 57 categories
ToolGPA grades software the way a school report grades a pupil: five subjects, a letter for each with the reason written beside it, and a GPA that averages them. Prices, plans and platforms are read from each maker’s own pages and dated, so you always know how fresh a figure is.
ToolGPA is free to read. It may earn a commission from affiliate links and it works with sponsors, but anything paid for is labelled and no one can pay for a grade. Every tool on the site has a guide like this one, free to download and pass on. It all lives at toolgpa.com.
2,068
tools graded
57
categories
426
price changes on record
579
apps priced in 12 countries
What else is on toolgpa.com
- Brex, kept up to dateEverything in this guide, with prices and grades as they are todaytoolgpa.com/tools/brex
- How grades are givenThe rules behind every letter and every GPAtoolgpa.com/grades
- Value chartsWhat each tool costs against what it scores, for every categorytoolgpa.com/charts
- CompareAny two tools side by side, plan by plantoolgpa.com/compare
- Price changesEvery price rise and cut on record, each with its sourcetoolgpa.com/price-changes
- Prices by countryWhat apps cost on the App Store in 12 countriestoolgpa.com/prices-by-country
- Pay lessEvery public discount: yearly billing, students, nonprofitstoolgpa.com/save
- Keep or makeWhich tools are worth paying for, and which you could build yourselftoolgpa.com/keep-or-make
Scan for the live page
Prices and grades as they are today
Quoting this guide?
Please name ToolGPA and link to the live page, so readers can check the figures for themselves:
ToolGPA, "Brex: The Insider's Guide", checked Oct 18, 2026. https://toolgpa.com/tools/brex
Know someone choosing between spend and bill pay tools?
Send them this guide: toolgpa.com/tools/brex/guide
ToolGPA elsewhere: youtube.com/@toolgpa
See our other guides
The best-graded spend and bill pay tools after Brex, each with an Insider's Guide of its own.
- Spend & Bill Pay Insider's GuideEvery one of the 14 spend and bill pay tools we grade, compared
- Ramp Insider's GuideCorporate cards, expenses, travel and bill pay, with a free plan3.6 GPA
- Airwallex Insider's GuideMulti-currency business accounts, cards, bill pay and expenses3.2 GPA
- Aspire Insider's GuideFree business account with global payments, cards and expense tools3.0 GPA
Choosing software? Every tool graded, every price dated.
Compare tools at toolgpa.com ›Everything in this guide is ToolGPA’s own summary of what Brex’s pages, its app-store listings and public reviews said on the dates shown. Grades are our judgement under the rules at toolgpa.com/grades. ToolGPA uses affiliate links and may earn a commission from them, and it works with sponsors; anything paid for is labelled, and no one can pay for a grade. Brex is a trademark of its owner, and this guide is not made, paid for or approved by Brex LLC. Prices and plans change: check brex.com before you buy.





