Skip to content

Brex vs Ramp

We give Brex and Ramp the same GPA: 3.6 out of 4.0. They get the same grade on all five counts.

Price, platforms and features side by side. The table says where each price was read and when.

Brex

Corporate cards, expenses, bill pay and travel for growing companies

Free plan · from $12/mo

Ramp

Corporate cards, expenses, travel and bill pay, with a free plan

Free plan · from $15/mo

How we grade them

3.6GPABrexExcellent3.6GPARampExcellent
Value for money
AFree and substantial. A ten-person company pays $0 a month on Essentials, and Brex charges no fee of its own for ACH, check or wire bill payments. Premium is $12 a user, and the pricing page doesn't say if that's monthly or yearly billing.
AFree and substantial. A ten-person company pays $0 a month on Ramp Free for cards, expenses, travel and bill pay, and the listing gives no fee for ACH bill payments, with same-day ACH free too. Plus is $15 a user, 20% less yearly, plus an unstated platform fee.
Free plan and trial
AEssentials is free with unlimited global cards, AI spending rules, up to two entities, bill pay, reimbursements, travel booking, accounting sync and the API. No user cap is listed.
AThe Free plan has no user cap on record and covers unlimited cards, receipts by text or Slack, travel booking, bill pay, invoicing, a checking account and QuickBooks or Xero sync. Plus has a 30-day trial.
Features
BThe whole job: cards, expense policies, reimbursements, bill pay by ACH, check or wire, travel, a business account and accounting sync. Multiple policies and approval chains wait for Premium, but the core work is all there.
BThe whole job: cards with controls, expenses and reimbursements, travel, bills read by OCR and routed for approval, invoicing and accounting sync. Purchase orders and three-way matching are an add-on, which mostly bigger finance teams will miss.
Ease of use
A4.84 from 8,836 App Store ratings, the top band. The AI rules check spending against your policy for you, so there's less chasing to do.
A4.91 from 47,070 App Store ratings, the top band. Staff can finish an expense by replying to a text, which is about as little effort as it gets.
Platforms and integrations
BWeb, iPhone and Android, with QuickBooks Online, Xero, NetSuite, Sage Intacct, Dynamics 365, Workday, Rippling and Slack, and an API on every plan. No desktop app is listed.
BWeb, iPhone and Android, with QuickBooks Online, Xero, NetSuite, Sage Intacct, Dynamics 365, Workday, Slack and Amazon Business. No desktop app is listed, and Workday sync needs Enterprise.
Best forfree global cards and expenses for startupscards, expenses and bill pay at no cost

The GPA is the average of the five grades: an A is 4 points, an F is none. The full reasons are on each tool's page: Brex and Ramp. How we grade

Price against what you get

Brex starts at $12 a month for each person and scores 3.3 out of 4 on features, ease of use and platforms. Ramp starts at $15 a month for each person and scores 3.3.

They score the same, and Brex starts $3 a month lower. Of the other spend and bill pay tools on the chart, none scores higher than Brex for less, and none scores higher than Ramp for less.

Features, ease of use and platforms, averaged

C2.0B3.0A4.0Free$2$5$10$20$50More for lessCosts more, scores moreCosts less, scores lessCosts more, scores lessBrexRamp

What paid plans start at, a month (each step along is roughly double) →

  • The best score at each price
  • Has a free plan
  • No free plan
The full chart of spend and bill pay tools, and the best at every price

Where they differ

  • Brex starts at $12 per user / month, billing term not stated. Ramp starts at $15 per user / month, plus a platform fee based on team size.
  • Ramp also covers invoicing.
In commonFree planWebiOSAndroidAI featuresReportsExpense trackingBill payCompany cards

At a glance

BrexRamp
PricingFree planFree plan
Starts at$12 per user / month, billing term not stated$15 per user / month, plus a platform fee based on team size
Free planEssentials: unlimited global cards, one local card program, AI spending rules, up to two entities, bill pay, reimbursements, travel booking, accounting integrations and API access.Ramp Free: unlimited cards, expenses by text or Slack, travel booking, bill pay, invoicing, a checking account, custom reports and QuickBooks Online or Xero sync.
Free trialNone listed30-day free trial of Ramp Plus
Web
iOS
Android
Made byBrex LLCRamp Business Corporation
Price read frombrex.comramp.com
CheckedOct 18, 2026Oct 18, 2026

Who each one suits

Brex

  • Startups that want corporate cards and expenses at no software cost
  • Companies with entities in several countries
  • Finance teams that want spend policies enforced before money goes out

Ramp

  • US companies that want cards, expenses and bill pay in one free tool
  • Finance teams closing books in NetSuite or Sage Intacct
  • Businesses that book company travel and want it tied to card spend

Worth knowing

Brex

  • Card purchases that need a currency conversion carry an FX markup of up to 3%; Brex charges no fee of its own for ACH, checks or wires.
  • Brex LLC is owned by Capital One, N.A.; checking is provided by Column N.A., and the cards are issued by Emigrant Bank, Fifth Third Bank or Sutton Bank.
  • Essentials allows up to two entities; multiple expense policies, approval chains and custom ERP or HR integrations need Premium.
  • All users on an account must be on the same plan, and the pricing page does not say whether Premium is billed monthly or yearly.

Ramp

  • Plus adds a platform fee based on team size that the pricing page does not state; Enterprise is quoted and billed yearly.
  • Ramp says it is not a bank: checking deposits are held at First Internet Bank of Indiana, and its corporate card is issued by Celtic Bank and needs credit approval.
  • Purchase orders and three-way matching come as an add-on to Plus or Enterprise; Workday and Oracle Fusion sync need Enterprise.
  • Cards are issued in the US, Canada, the UK and the EEA. Filing 1099s costs $0.65 per IRS form, with state filing free.

Key features

Brex

Corporate cards
Unlimited cards accepted in 210+ countries and territories, with local-currency cards and billing in 50+ countries on higher plans.
Expense policies
AI-powered rules check spending; Premium adds category rules, role-based exceptions, auto-approval and audit detection.
Bill pay
Automated bill pay by ACH, check, domestic wire or international wire in local currency or US dollars, with no Brex fee per payment.
Travel booking
Book business travel inside Brex, free on Essentials, with group travel and advanced travel rules on Premium.
Business account
Checking provided by Column N.A., plus Treasury and Vault cash management run by Brex Treasury LLC.
Accounting and API
Transactions sync to QuickBooks, Xero, NetSuite, Sage Intacct and Dynamics 365, and an API is included on every plan.

Ramp

Corporate cards
Unlimited physical and virtual Visa cards with spending controls. On Plus, cards lock themselves when receipts or other policy steps are missing.
Expenses and reimbursements
Employees complete expenses by text message or Slack, receipts are matched automatically, and out-of-pocket costs are reimbursed in batches.
Travel booking
Book flights, hotels and rental cars under a custom travel policy, with 24/7 phone support for bookings on Plus.
Bill pay
Invoices are read by OCR, routed through approvals and fraud checks, and paid by ACH, card, check or wire, with free same-day ACH and wires.
Invoicing
Create invoices, follow up with customers automatically and accept payment by ACH, card or check.
Accounting automation
QuickBooks Online and Xero sync on every plan. Plus adds NetSuite and Sage Intacct, AI coding for every field and automatic sync of routine spend.

Plans

Brex

  • Essentials$0

    For startups: global cards, AI custom rules, up to two entities (one global), bill pay, reimbursements, free travel booking and real-time reports.

  • Premium$12

    per user / month, billing term not stated

    Adds multiple expense policies, review and approval chains, AI audit checks, US and international entities, ERP and HR integrations, VAT documents and live budgets.

  • EnterpriseCustom

    Unlimited entities, local card issuing, collections and reimbursements in other countries, an admin center and a named account manager.

Ramp

  • Free$0

    Unlimited cards with controls, receipt matching, travel booking, bill pay by ACH, card, check or wire, invoicing, and QuickBooks Online or Xero sync.

  • Plus$15

    per user / month, plus a platform fee based on team size

    20% off with yearly billing; the platform fee is not shown. Adds AI expense reviews, coded bill lines, batch payments, NetSuite and multi-entity support.

  • EnterpriseCustom

    Billed annually. Adds Workday and Oracle Fusion integrations and full customization.

Ways to pay less

Brex

No public discounts listed.

Ramp

  • Annual discount

    Save 20% on Plus with yearly billing

    Ramp says Plus costs 20% less when billed annually than the $15 per user a month shown.

More comparisons