Skip to content

Airwallex vs Ramp

We give Airwallex a 3.2 GPA and Ramp a 3.6, out of 4.0. Ramp grades higher on the free plan and ease of use. They get the same grade on value for money, features and platforms.

Price, platforms and features side by side. The table says where each price was read and when.

Airwallex

Multi-currency business accounts, cards, bill pay and expenses

Free plan · from $12/mo

Ramp

Corporate cards, expenses, travel and bill pay, with a free plan

Free plan · from $15/mo

How we grade them

3.2GPAAirwallexVery good3.6GPARampExcellent
Value for money
AFree and substantial. A ten-person company pays $0 a month on Explore, which covers up to 10 Spend users, and the listing gives no fee for local bill payments. You pay on conversion, 0.5% to 1% over the interbank rate, and on SWIFT at $15 to $25.
AFree and substantial. A ten-person company pays $0 a month on Ramp Free for cards, expenses, travel and bill pay, and the listing gives no fee for ACH bill payments, with same-day ACH free too. Plus is $15 a user, 20% less yearly, plus an unstated platform fee.
Free plan and trial
BExplore is free with accounts in 20+ currencies, unlimited cards, expenses, bill pay, invoicing and Xero or QuickBooks sync. The cap is 10 Spend users: the eleventh takes you to Grow at $12 each plus a platform fee.
AThe Free plan has no user cap on record and covers unlimited cards, receipts by text or Slack, travel booking, bill pay, invoicing, a checking account and QuickBooks or Xero sync. Plus has a 30-day trial.
Features
BThe whole job: multi-currency accounts, Visa cards with no foreign transaction fees, receipts matched by AI, reimbursements in 200+ countries, bill pay with AI data capture, invoicing, card acceptance and APIs.
BThe whole job: cards with controls, expenses and reimbursements, travel, bills read by OCR and routed for approval, invoicing and accounting sync. Purchase orders and three-way matching are an add-on, which mostly bigger finance teams will miss.
Ease of use
B4.81 from 584 App Store ratings, high but short of the 1,000 we want for the top band. There are accounts, cards and an accounting link to set up first.
A4.91 from 47,070 App Store ratings, the top band. Staff can finish an expense by replying to a text, which is about as little effort as it gets.
Platforms and integrations
BWeb, iPhone and Android, with Xero, QuickBooks, NetSuite, Business Central, BambooHR, Shopify, WooCommerce and Amazon, plus developer APIs. No desktop app is listed.
BWeb, iPhone and Android, with QuickBooks Online, Xero, NetSuite, Sage Intacct, Dynamics 365, Workday, Slack and Amazon Business. No desktop app is listed, and Workday sync needs Enterprise.
Best formulti-currency spending and paying abroadcards, expenses and bill pay at no cost

The GPA is the average of the five grades: an A is 4 points, an F is none. The full reasons are on each tool's page: Airwallex and Ramp. How we grade

Price against what you get

Airwallex starts at $12 a month for each person and scores 3.0 out of 4 on features, ease of use and platforms. Ramp starts at $15 a month for each person and scores 3.3.

Ramp scores higher, and starts $3 a month higher: the question is whether the extra is worth that to you. Of the other spend and bill pay tools on the chart, 1 scores higher than Airwallex for less, and none scores higher than Ramp for less.

Features, ease of use and platforms, averaged

C2.0B3.0A4.0Free$2$5$10$20$50More for lessCosts more, scores moreCosts less, scores lessCosts more, scores lessAirwallexRamp

What paid plans start at, a month (each step along is roughly double) →

  • The best score at each price
  • Has a free plan
  • No free plan
The full chart of spend and bill pay tools, and the best at every price

Where they differ

  • Airwallex starts at $12 per Spend user / month, plus a platform fee based on team size. Ramp starts at $15 per user / month, plus a platform fee based on team size.
  • Ramp also covers reports.
In commonFree planWebiOSAndroidAI featuresInvoicingExpense trackingBill payCompany cards

At a glance

AirwallexRamp
PricingFree planFree plan
Starts at$12 per Spend user / month, plus a platform fee based on team size$15 per user / month, plus a platform fee based on team size
Free planExplore: multi-currency accounts, unlimited corporate cards, expenses, reimbursements, bill pay and invoicing for up to 10 Spend users, with no monthly fee. Transaction fees apply.Ramp Free: unlimited cards, expenses by text or Slack, travel booking, bill pay, invoicing, a checking account, custom reports and QuickBooks Online or Xero sync.
Free trialNone listed30-day free trial of Ramp Plus
Web
iOS
Android
Made byAirwallexRamp Business Corporation
Price read fromairwallex.comramp.com
CheckedOct 18, 2026Oct 18, 2026

Who each one suits

Airwallex

  • Businesses that pay suppliers or staff in other countries
  • Teams that want multi-currency cards with no foreign transaction fees
  • Online sellers collecting payments in several currencies

Ramp

  • US companies that want cards, expenses and bill pay in one free tool
  • Finance teams closing books in NetSuite or Sage Intacct
  • Businesses that book company travel and want it tied to card spend

Worth knowing

Airwallex

  • Currency conversion costs 0.5% above the interbank rate for major currencies and 1% for others; SWIFT transfers cost $15 to $25 each.
  • Grow adds a platform fee based on the number of Spend users that the pricing page does not state, and plan fees are charged per legal entity.
  • Airwallex US, LLC is a licensed money transmitter that works with Evolve Bank & Trust for some US customers; the cards are issued by Community Federal Savings Bank.
  • Taking card payments costs 2.8% + $0.30 for US cards and 4.3% + $0.30 for international ones.

Ramp

  • Plus adds a platform fee based on team size that the pricing page does not state; Enterprise is quoted and billed yearly.
  • Ramp says it is not a bank: checking deposits are held at First Internet Bank of Indiana, and its corporate card is issued by Celtic Bank and needs credit approval.
  • Purchase orders and three-way matching come as an add-on to Plus or Enterprise; Workday and Oracle Fusion sync need Enterprise.
  • Cards are issued in the US, Canada, the UK and the EEA. Filing 1099s costs $0.65 per IRS form, with state filing free.

Key features

Airwallex

Multi-currency accounts
Collect and hold money in more than 20 currencies, send local transfers to over 120 countries and SWIFT transfers to more than 200.
Corporate cards
Virtual and physical Visa cards with per-card limits for use in 60+ markets, with no foreign transaction fees and up to 2% cashback on local USD spend.
Expenses and reimbursements
Receipts are matched by AI from email or bulk upload, staff submit and approve in the mobile app, and reimbursements go to employees in 200+ countries.
Bill pay
Upload, email or sync bills, have their details extracted automatically, and pay domestic or international suppliers in bulk after approval.
Invoicing and payments
Send invoices for free, take cards and 160+ local payment methods through checkout or payment links, and run subscription billing.
Developer APIs
APIs for accounts, payouts, card issuing and payments, for businesses that build these into their own products.

Ramp

Corporate cards
Unlimited physical and virtual Visa cards with spending controls. On Plus, cards lock themselves when receipts or other policy steps are missing.
Expenses and reimbursements
Employees complete expenses by text message or Slack, receipts are matched automatically, and out-of-pocket costs are reimbursed in batches.
Travel booking
Book flights, hotels and rental cars under a custom travel policy, with 24/7 phone support for bookings on Plus.
Bill pay
Invoices are read by OCR, routed through approvals and fraud checks, and paid by ACH, card, check or wire, with free same-day ACH and wires.
Invoicing
Create invoices, follow up with customers automatically and accept payment by ACH, card or check.
Accounting automation
QuickBooks Online and Xero sync on every plan. Plus adds NetSuite and Sage Intacct, AI coding for every field and automatic sync of routine spend.

Plans

Airwallex

  • Explore$0

    Accounts in 20+ currencies, unlimited cards, expense management, bill pay with AI coding, invoicing and Xero or QuickBooks sync, for up to 10 Spend users.

  • Grow$12

    per active Spend user / month, plus a platform fee by team size

    Up to 250 Spend users. Adds multi-step approvals, an AI expense policy agent, bill rules, NetSuite and Business Central sync. The platform fee is not shown.

  • AccelerateCustom

    Adds purchase orders and requests, AI 3-way matching, several legal entities, a direct ERP integration and an account manager.

Ramp

  • Free$0

    Unlimited cards with controls, receipt matching, travel booking, bill pay by ACH, card, check or wire, invoicing, and QuickBooks Online or Xero sync.

  • Plus$15

    per user / month, plus a platform fee based on team size

    20% off with yearly billing; the platform fee is not shown. Adds AI expense reviews, coded bill lines, batch payments, NetSuite and multi-entity support.

  • EnterpriseCustom

    Billed annually. Adds Workday and Oracle Fusion integrations and full customization.

Ways to pay less

Airwallex

No public discounts listed.

Ramp

  • Annual discount

    Save 20% on Plus with yearly billing

    Ramp says Plus costs 20% less when billed annually than the $15 per user a month shown.

More comparisons