Skip to content

Airwallex vs BILL

We give Airwallex a 3.2 GPA and BILL a 2.6, out of 4.0. Airwallex grades higher on value for money and the free plan. BILL grades higher on ease of use. They get the same grade on features and platforms.

Price, platforms and features side by side. The table says where each price was read and when.

Airwallex

Multi-currency business accounts, cards, bill pay and expenses

Free plan · from $12/mo

BILL

Bill pay, invoicing and free company cards for small businesses

Free plan · from $49/mo

How we grade them

3.2GPAAirwallexVery good2.6GPABILLGood
Value for money
AFree and substantial. A ten-person company pays $0 a month on Explore, which covers up to 10 Spend users, and the listing gives no fee for local bill payments. You pay on conversion, 0.5% to 1% over the interbank rate, and on SWIFT at $15 to $25.
DGraded against its bill pay alternatives. A ten-person company paying 20 supplier bills by ACH pays $60.80 a month on Essentials: $49 for one user plus $11.80 in fees at $0.59 each. Nickel, Ramp and Brex send ACH free, and two-way QuickBooks or Xero sync needs Team at $65.
Free plan and trial
BExplore is free with accounts in 20+ currencies, unlimited cards, expenses, bill pay, invoicing and Xero or QuickBooks sync. The cap is 10 Spend users: the eleventh takes you to Grow at $12 each plus a platform fee.
CSpend & Expense is free: Divvy cards, budgets, receipts and reimbursements, though card and payment fees still apply. Bill pay and invoicing, the main job, need a paid plan, and the trial is offered in most cases with no length given.
Features
BThe whole job: multi-currency accounts, Visa cards with no foreign transaction fees, receipts matched by AI, reimbursements in 200+ countries, bill pay with AI data capture, invoicing, card acceptance and APIs.
BThe whole job: a bills inbox with approval rules, payments by ACH, check or card, local-currency transfers to 130+ countries, invoices with auto-pay, Divvy cards with budgets, AI bill coding from Team and purchase orders on Corporate.
Ease of use
B4.81 from 584 App Store ratings, high but short of the 1,000 we want for the top band. There are accounts, cards and an accounting link to set up first.
A4.86 from 48,758 App Store ratings, the top band. There are approval rules and an accounting link to set up first, but people clearly get on with it once that's done.
Platforms and integrations
BWeb, iPhone and Android, with Xero, QuickBooks, NetSuite, Business Central, BambooHR, Shopify, WooCommerce and Amazon, plus developer APIs. No desktop app is listed.
BWeb, iPhone and Android, syncing with QuickBooks Online, Xero, NetSuite, Sage Intacct, Dynamics and Acumatica, with an API. No desktop app is listed, and Essentials swaps data with QuickBooks and Xero by CSV only.
Best formulti-currency spending and paying abroadbill pay with approvals and free company cards

The GPA is the average of the five grades: an A is 4 points, an F is none. The full reasons are on each tool's page: Airwallex and BILL. How we grade

Price against what you get

Airwallex starts at $12 a month for each person and scores 3.0 out of 4 on features, ease of use and platforms. BILL starts at $49 a month for each person and scores 3.3.

BILL scores higher, and starts $37 a month higher: the question is whether the extra is worth that to you. Of the other spend and bill pay tools on the chart, 1 scores higher than Airwallex for less, and none scores higher than BILL for less.

Features, ease of use and platforms, averaged

C2.0B3.0A4.0Free$2$5$10$20$50More for lessCosts more, scores moreCosts less, scores lessCosts more, scores lessAirwallexBILL

What paid plans start at, a month (each step along is roughly double) →

  • The best score at each price
  • Has a free plan
  • No free plan
The full chart of spend and bill pay tools, and the best at every price

Where they differ

  • Airwallex starts at $12 per Spend user / month, plus a platform fee based on team size. BILL starts at $49 per user / month for AP & AR, billing term not stated.
In commonFree planWebiOSAndroidPublic APIAI featuresInvoicingExpense trackingBill payCompany cards

At a glance

AirwallexBILL
PricingFree planFree plan
Starts at$12 per Spend user / month, plus a platform fee based on team size$49 per user / month for AP & AR, billing term not stated
Free planExplore: multi-currency accounts, unlimited corporate cards, expenses, reimbursements, bill pay and invoicing for up to 10 Spend users, with no monthly fee. Transaction fees apply.BILL Spend & Expense: corporate cards, budgets, expense tracking and reimbursements with no subscription or per-user fee. Card and payment fees still apply.
Free trialNone listedFree trial of the AP & AR plans "in most cases"; length not stated
Web
iOS
Android
Made byAirwallexBILL Operations, LLC
Price read fromairwallex.combill.com
CheckedOct 18, 2026Oct 18, 2026

Who each one suits

Airwallex

  • Businesses that pay suppliers or staff in other countries
  • Teams that want multi-currency cards with no foreign transaction fees
  • Online sellers collecting payments in several currencies

BILL

  • Small businesses that pay many supplier bills by ACH or check
  • Accounting firms running bill pay for several clients
  • Teams that want free company cards next to their bill pay

Worth knowing

Airwallex

  • Currency conversion costs 0.5% above the interbank rate for major currencies and 1% for others; SWIFT transfers cost $15 to $25 each.
  • Grow adds a platform fee based on the number of Spend users that the pricing page does not state, and plan fees are charged per legal entity.
  • Airwallex US, LLC is a licensed money transmitter that works with Evolve Bank & Trust for some US customers; the cards are issued by Community Federal Savings Bank.
  • Taking card payments costs 2.8% + $0.30 for US cards and 4.3% + $0.30 for international ones.

BILL

  • Payments carry fees on every plan: $0.59 per ACH payment, $1.99 per mailed check, $19.99 per USD wire abroad, and 2.9% to pay a bill by card.
  • The Essentials plan exchanges data with QuickBooks and Xero only by CSV file; automatic two-way sync starts on Team, and NetSuite or Sage Intacct needs Enterprise.
  • Spend & Expense is provided by Divvy Pay LLC, the Divvy Card is issued by its bank partners, and credit lines depend on approval.
  • Every Essentials and Team user pays the full seat price; cheaper approver-only seats come with Corporate and Enterprise.

Key features

Airwallex

Multi-currency accounts
Collect and hold money in more than 20 currencies, send local transfers to over 120 countries and SWIFT transfers to more than 200.
Corporate cards
Virtual and physical Visa cards with per-card limits for use in 60+ markets, with no foreign transaction fees and up to 2% cashback on local USD spend.
Expenses and reimbursements
Receipts are matched by AI from email or bulk upload, staff submit and approve in the mobile app, and reimbursements go to employees in 200+ countries.
Bill pay
Upload, email or sync bills, have their details extracted automatically, and pay domestic or international suppliers in bulk after approval.
Invoicing and payments
Send invoices for free, take cards and 160+ local payment methods through checkout or payment links, and run subscription billing.
Developer APIs
APIs for accounts, payouts, card issuing and payments, for businesses that build these into their own products.

BILL

Accounts payable
Bills arrive in one inbox, are routed through approval rules and are paid by ACH, check, virtual card or card, with W-9s collected by an agent.
Invoices and receivables
Send one-off or recurring invoices, chase them with automatic reminders, and get paid by ACH or card with auto-charge and auto-pay.
Spend & Expense with the Divvy Card
Corporate cards with budgets and spending rules. Receipts are captured by photo or text message and matched to transactions.
International payments
Pay suppliers in more than 130 countries, in their local currency with no BILL fee beyond the exchange rate, or by USD wire.
AI bill coding
From the Team plan, the Invoice Coding Agent fills in line-by-line accounting codes on incoming bills.
Procurement
Purchase requests, purchase orders, tolerance rules and 2-way matching, included on Corporate and an add-on below it.

Plans

Airwallex

  • Explore$0

    Accounts in 20+ currencies, unlimited cards, expense management, bill pay with AI coding, invoicing and Xero or QuickBooks sync, for up to 10 Spend users.

  • Grow$12

    per active Spend user / month, plus a platform fee by team size

    Up to 250 Spend users. Adds multi-step approvals, an AI expense policy agent, bill rules, NetSuite and Business Central sync. The platform fee is not shown.

  • AccelerateCustom

    Adds purchase orders and requests, AI 3-way matching, several legal entities, a direct ERP integration and an account manager.

BILL

  • Spend & Expense$0

    BILL Divvy Card, budgets, receipt capture, reimbursements and credit lines from $1,000 to $5M, subject to approval.

  • Essentials$49

    per user / month, billing term not stated

    Bill entry and approvals, payments by ACH, card or check, invoicing, W-9 collection. Syncs with accounting software by CSV only.

  • Team$65

    per user / month, billing term not stated

    Adds automatic two-way sync with QuickBooks and Xero, AI bill coding, custom user roles and cash flow forecasting.

  • Corporate$89

    per user / month, billing term not stated

    Adds custom approval policies, purchase orders and requests, cheaper approver-only users, single sign-on and multi-entity books.

  • EnterpriseCustom

    Adds sync with NetSuite, Sage Intacct, Dynamics and QuickBooks Enterprise, 2- and 3-way matching, dual control and premium phone support.

More comparisons