Skip to content

BILL vs Plooto

We give BILL a 2.6 GPA and Plooto a 2.2, out of 4.0. BILL grades higher on features and ease of use. Plooto grades higher on value for money. They get the same grade on the free plan and platforms.

Price, platforms and features side by side. The table says where each price was read and when.

BILL

Bill pay, invoicing and free company cards for small businesses

Free plan · from $49/mo

Plooto

Bill pay and receivables for businesses in Canada and the US

Free trial · from $9/mo

How we grade them

2.6GPABILLGood2.2GPAPlootoFair
Value for money
DGraded against its bill pay alternatives. A ten-person company paying 20 supplier bills by ACH pays $60.80 a month on Essentials: $49 for one user plus $11.80 in fees at $0.59 each. Nickel, Ramp and Brex send ACH free, and two-way QuickBooks or Xero sync needs Team at $65.
CGraded against its bill pay alternatives. A ten-person company paying 20 supplier bills a month pays $29 on Go, $9 plus $1.00 a payment, in dollars its summary file doesn't name as US or Canadian. That's well under BILL but above Melio's free plan, and Nickel and Ramp send ACH free.
Free plan and trial
CSpend & Expense is free: Divvy cards, budgets, receipts and reimbursements, though card and payment fees still apply. Bill pay and invoicing, the main job, need a paid plan, and the trial is offered in most cases with no length given.
CNo free plan, but a 30-day trial with 10 free domestic payments and no credit card needed. After that the cheapest plan is Go at $9 a month plus $1.00 a payment.
Features
BThe whole job: a bills inbox with approval rules, payments by ACH, check or card, local-currency transfers to 130+ countries, invoices with auto-pay, Divvy cards with budgets, AI bill coding from Team and purchase orders on Corporate.
CPayables and receivables are covered: invoices read by OCR, multi-level approvals, batch payments, pre-authorized debits and CRA remittances. It's a smaller job than the category's, though, with no company cards or expense reports listed.
Ease of use
A4.86 from 48,758 App Store ratings, the top band. There are approval rules and an accounting link to set up first, but people clearly get on with it once that's done.
CNo store rating on record. You connect QuickBooks or Xero and set approval rules before the first payment goes out, which takes a bit of setting up.
Platforms and integrations
BWeb, iPhone and Android, syncing with QuickBooks Online, Xero, NetSuite, Sage Intacct, Dynamics and Acumatica, with an API. No desktop app is listed, and Essentials swaps data with QuickBooks and Xero by CSV only.
BWeb only, with QuickBooks Online, QuickBooks Desktop and Xero syncing on every plan and NetSuite as an add-on to Pro at $499 a month. No phone apps are listed.
Best forbill pay with approvals and free company cardsbill pay across the Canada and US border

The GPA is the average of the five grades: an A is 4 points, an F is none. The full reasons are on each tool's page: BILL and Plooto. How we grade

Price against what you get

BILL starts at $49 a month for each person and scores 3.3 out of 4 on features, ease of use and platforms. Plooto starts at $9 a month and scores 2.3.

BILL scores higher, and starts $40 a month higher: the question is whether the extra is worth that to you. Of the other spend and bill pay tools on the chart, none scores higher than BILL for less, and 2 score higher than Plooto for less.

Features, ease of use and platforms, averaged

C2.0B3.0A4.0Free$2$5$10$20$50More for lessCosts more, scores moreCosts less, scores lessCosts more, scores lessBILLPlooto

What paid plans start at, a month (each step along is roughly double) →

  • The best score at each price
  • Has a free plan
  • No free plan
The full chart of spend and bill pay tools, and the best at every price

Where they differ

  • BILL starts at $49 per user / month for AP & AR, billing term not stated. Plooto starts at $9 per month, billing term and currency not stated.
  • BILL has a free plan. Plooto does not, though it has a free trial.
  • Only BILL lists iOS and Android apps.
  • BILL also covers expense tracking and company cards.
In commonWebInvoicingBill pay

At a glance

BILLPlooto
PricingFree planFree trial
Starts at$49 per user / month for AP & AR, billing term not stated$9 per month, billing term and currency not stated
Free planBILL Spend & Expense: corporate cards, budgets, expense tracking and reimbursements with no subscription or per-user fee. Card and payment fees still apply.None
Free trialFree trial of the AP & AR plans "in most cases"; length not stated30-day free trial with 10 free domestic transactions, no credit card required
Web
iOS
Android
Made byBILL Operations, LLCPlooto
Price read frombill.complooto.com
CheckedOct 18, 2026Oct 18, 2026

Who each one suits

BILL

  • Small businesses that pay many supplier bills by ACH or check
  • Accounting firms running bill pay for several clients
  • Teams that want free company cards next to their bill pay

Plooto

  • Canadian and US businesses that pay suppliers across the border
  • Bookkeeping firms paying bills for many clients
  • Canadian businesses remitting payroll and GST/HST to the CRA online

Worth knowing

BILL

  • Payments carry fees on every plan: $0.59 per ACH payment, $1.99 per mailed check, $19.99 per USD wire abroad, and 2.9% to pay a bill by card.
  • The Essentials plan exchanges data with QuickBooks and Xero only by CSV file; automatic two-way sync starts on Team, and NetSuite or Sage Intacct needs Enterprise.
  • Spend & Expense is provided by Divvy Pay LLC, the Divvy Card is issued by its bank partners, and credit lines depend on approval.
  • Every Essentials and Team user pays the full seat price; cheaper approver-only seats come with Corporate and Enterprise.

Plooto

  • Fees per payment: domestic $1.00 on Go or $0.50 on Grow, checks $1.99, CRA payments $3.00, card acceptance about 2.9% + $0.30. The file also lists cross-border at $9.99.
  • Plooto's pricing page answered with a bot check; plan prices come from Plooto's own summary file of April 2026, which does not say whether they are US or Canadian dollars.
  • Plooto serves businesses in Canada and the US and says it is a licensed money transmission business in Canada.
  • QuickBooks Online, QuickBooks Desktop and Xero sync on every plan; NetSuite is a Pro add-on.

Key features

BILL

Accounts payable
Bills arrive in one inbox, are routed through approval rules and are paid by ACH, check, virtual card or card, with W-9s collected by an agent.
Invoices and receivables
Send one-off or recurring invoices, chase them with automatic reminders, and get paid by ACH or card with auto-charge and auto-pay.
Spend & Expense with the Divvy Card
Corporate cards with budgets and spending rules. Receipts are captured by photo or text message and matched to transactions.
International payments
Pay suppliers in more than 130 countries, in their local currency with no BILL fee beyond the exchange rate, or by USD wire.
AI bill coding
From the Team plan, the Invoice Coding Agent fills in line-by-line accounting codes on incoming bills.
Procurement
Purchase requests, purchase orders, tolerance rules and 2-way matching, included on Corporate and an add-on below it.

Plooto

Accounts payable
Plooto Capture reads invoices by OCR, and bills go through multi-level approvals, scheduling and batch payment with a full audit trail.
Receivables
Send invoices and collect by pre-authorized debit or by Visa, Mastercard or Amex with two-business-day settlement, plus recurring payments and reminders.
International payments
Pay suppliers in 40+ countries and 25+ currencies over Global ACH, with a flat cross-border fee and no separate FX transfer fee.
Pay by card
Pay a supplier with a commercial credit card while the supplier receives EFT, ACH or a check, for a 2.9% fee.
Plooto Instant
A pre-funded wallet in US or Canadian dollars that speeds payments up to one or two business days at no extra transaction cost.
Dashboard for accounting firms
Firms run payables for every client from one dashboard, with per-client approval rules and dual controls.

Plans

BILL

  • Spend & Expense$0

    BILL Divvy Card, budgets, receipt capture, reimbursements and credit lines from $1,000 to $5M, subject to approval.

  • Essentials$49

    per user / month, billing term not stated

    Bill entry and approvals, payments by ACH, card or check, invoicing, W-9 collection. Syncs with accounting software by CSV only.

  • Team$65

    per user / month, billing term not stated

    Adds automatic two-way sync with QuickBooks and Xero, AI bill coding, custom user roles and cash flow forecasting.

  • Corporate$89

    per user / month, billing term not stated

    Adds custom approval policies, purchase orders and requests, cheaper approver-only users, single sign-on and multi-entity books.

  • EnterpriseCustom

    Adds sync with NetSuite, Sage Intacct, Dynamics and QuickBooks Enterprise, 2- and 3-way matching, dual control and premium phone support.

Plooto

  • Go$9

    per month, billing term and currency not stated

    1 approver. Domestic payments $1.00 each, cross-border payments a $19 flat fee.

  • Grow$32

    per month, billing term and currency not stated

    Unlimited approvers. Domestic payments $0.50 each, cross-border payments a $10 flat fee.

  • Grow Unlimited$59

    per month, billing term and currency not stated

    Grow with unlimited free domestic payments.

  • Pro$499

    per month, billing term and currency not stated

    Everything in Grow plus single sign-on, priority support and a NetSuite integration add-on.

Ways to pay less

BILL

No public discounts listed.

Plooto

  • Other savings

    Free firm subscription for accountants

    Accounting firms with 3 or more active clients on Grow or Pro get their own firm subscription free.

More comparisons