Skip to content

BILL vs Ramp

We give BILL a 2.6 GPA and Ramp a 3.6, out of 4.0. Ramp grades higher on value for money and the free plan. They get the same grade on features, ease of use and platforms.

Price, platforms and features side by side. The table says where each price was read and when.

BILL

Bill pay, invoicing and free company cards for small businesses

Free plan · from $49/mo

Ramp

Corporate cards, expenses, travel and bill pay, with a free plan

Free plan · from $15/mo

How we grade them

2.6GPABILLGood3.6GPARampExcellent
Value for money
DGraded against its bill pay alternatives. A ten-person company paying 20 supplier bills by ACH pays $60.80 a month on Essentials: $49 for one user plus $11.80 in fees at $0.59 each. Nickel, Ramp and Brex send ACH free, and two-way QuickBooks or Xero sync needs Team at $65.
AFree and substantial. A ten-person company pays $0 a month on Ramp Free for cards, expenses, travel and bill pay, and the listing gives no fee for ACH bill payments, with same-day ACH free too. Plus is $15 a user, 20% less yearly, plus an unstated platform fee.
Free plan and trial
CSpend & Expense is free: Divvy cards, budgets, receipts and reimbursements, though card and payment fees still apply. Bill pay and invoicing, the main job, need a paid plan, and the trial is offered in most cases with no length given.
AThe Free plan has no user cap on record and covers unlimited cards, receipts by text or Slack, travel booking, bill pay, invoicing, a checking account and QuickBooks or Xero sync. Plus has a 30-day trial.
Features
BThe whole job: a bills inbox with approval rules, payments by ACH, check or card, local-currency transfers to 130+ countries, invoices with auto-pay, Divvy cards with budgets, AI bill coding from Team and purchase orders on Corporate.
BThe whole job: cards with controls, expenses and reimbursements, travel, bills read by OCR and routed for approval, invoicing and accounting sync. Purchase orders and three-way matching are an add-on, which mostly bigger finance teams will miss.
Ease of use
A4.86 from 48,758 App Store ratings, the top band. There are approval rules and an accounting link to set up first, but people clearly get on with it once that's done.
A4.91 from 47,070 App Store ratings, the top band. Staff can finish an expense by replying to a text, which is about as little effort as it gets.
Platforms and integrations
BWeb, iPhone and Android, syncing with QuickBooks Online, Xero, NetSuite, Sage Intacct, Dynamics and Acumatica, with an API. No desktop app is listed, and Essentials swaps data with QuickBooks and Xero by CSV only.
BWeb, iPhone and Android, with QuickBooks Online, Xero, NetSuite, Sage Intacct, Dynamics 365, Workday, Slack and Amazon Business. No desktop app is listed, and Workday sync needs Enterprise.
Best forbill pay with approvals and free company cardscards, expenses and bill pay at no cost

The GPA is the average of the five grades: an A is 4 points, an F is none. The full reasons are on each tool's page: BILL and Ramp. How we grade

Price against what you get

BILL starts at $49 a month for each person and scores 3.3 out of 4 on features, ease of use and platforms. Ramp starts at $15 a month for each person and scores 3.3.

They score the same, and Ramp starts $34 a month lower. Of the other spend and bill pay tools on the chart, none scores higher than BILL for less, and none scores higher than Ramp for less.

Features, ease of use and platforms, averaged

C2.0B3.0A4.0Free$2$5$10$20$50More for lessCosts more, scores moreCosts less, scores lessCosts more, scores lessBILLRamp

What paid plans start at, a month (each step along is roughly double) →

  • The best score at each price
  • Has a free plan
  • No free plan
The full chart of spend and bill pay tools, and the best at every price

Where they differ

  • BILL starts at $49 per user / month for AP & AR, billing term not stated. Ramp starts at $15 per user / month, plus a platform fee based on team size.
  • Ramp also covers reports.
In commonFree planWebiOSAndroidAI featuresInvoicingExpense trackingBill payCompany cards

At a glance

BILLRamp
PricingFree planFree plan
Starts at$49 per user / month for AP & AR, billing term not stated$15 per user / month, plus a platform fee based on team size
Free planBILL Spend & Expense: corporate cards, budgets, expense tracking and reimbursements with no subscription or per-user fee. Card and payment fees still apply.Ramp Free: unlimited cards, expenses by text or Slack, travel booking, bill pay, invoicing, a checking account, custom reports and QuickBooks Online or Xero sync.
Free trialFree trial of the AP & AR plans "in most cases"; length not stated30-day free trial of Ramp Plus
Web
iOS
Android
Made byBILL Operations, LLCRamp Business Corporation
Price read frombill.comramp.com
CheckedOct 18, 2026Oct 18, 2026

Who each one suits

BILL

  • Small businesses that pay many supplier bills by ACH or check
  • Accounting firms running bill pay for several clients
  • Teams that want free company cards next to their bill pay

Ramp

  • US companies that want cards, expenses and bill pay in one free tool
  • Finance teams closing books in NetSuite or Sage Intacct
  • Businesses that book company travel and want it tied to card spend

Worth knowing

BILL

  • Payments carry fees on every plan: $0.59 per ACH payment, $1.99 per mailed check, $19.99 per USD wire abroad, and 2.9% to pay a bill by card.
  • The Essentials plan exchanges data with QuickBooks and Xero only by CSV file; automatic two-way sync starts on Team, and NetSuite or Sage Intacct needs Enterprise.
  • Spend & Expense is provided by Divvy Pay LLC, the Divvy Card is issued by its bank partners, and credit lines depend on approval.
  • Every Essentials and Team user pays the full seat price; cheaper approver-only seats come with Corporate and Enterprise.

Ramp

  • Plus adds a platform fee based on team size that the pricing page does not state; Enterprise is quoted and billed yearly.
  • Ramp says it is not a bank: checking deposits are held at First Internet Bank of Indiana, and its corporate card is issued by Celtic Bank and needs credit approval.
  • Purchase orders and three-way matching come as an add-on to Plus or Enterprise; Workday and Oracle Fusion sync need Enterprise.
  • Cards are issued in the US, Canada, the UK and the EEA. Filing 1099s costs $0.65 per IRS form, with state filing free.

Key features

BILL

Accounts payable
Bills arrive in one inbox, are routed through approval rules and are paid by ACH, check, virtual card or card, with W-9s collected by an agent.
Invoices and receivables
Send one-off or recurring invoices, chase them with automatic reminders, and get paid by ACH or card with auto-charge and auto-pay.
Spend & Expense with the Divvy Card
Corporate cards with budgets and spending rules. Receipts are captured by photo or text message and matched to transactions.
International payments
Pay suppliers in more than 130 countries, in their local currency with no BILL fee beyond the exchange rate, or by USD wire.
AI bill coding
From the Team plan, the Invoice Coding Agent fills in line-by-line accounting codes on incoming bills.
Procurement
Purchase requests, purchase orders, tolerance rules and 2-way matching, included on Corporate and an add-on below it.

Ramp

Corporate cards
Unlimited physical and virtual Visa cards with spending controls. On Plus, cards lock themselves when receipts or other policy steps are missing.
Expenses and reimbursements
Employees complete expenses by text message or Slack, receipts are matched automatically, and out-of-pocket costs are reimbursed in batches.
Travel booking
Book flights, hotels and rental cars under a custom travel policy, with 24/7 phone support for bookings on Plus.
Bill pay
Invoices are read by OCR, routed through approvals and fraud checks, and paid by ACH, card, check or wire, with free same-day ACH and wires.
Invoicing
Create invoices, follow up with customers automatically and accept payment by ACH, card or check.
Accounting automation
QuickBooks Online and Xero sync on every plan. Plus adds NetSuite and Sage Intacct, AI coding for every field and automatic sync of routine spend.

Plans

BILL

  • Spend & Expense$0

    BILL Divvy Card, budgets, receipt capture, reimbursements and credit lines from $1,000 to $5M, subject to approval.

  • Essentials$49

    per user / month, billing term not stated

    Bill entry and approvals, payments by ACH, card or check, invoicing, W-9 collection. Syncs with accounting software by CSV only.

  • Team$65

    per user / month, billing term not stated

    Adds automatic two-way sync with QuickBooks and Xero, AI bill coding, custom user roles and cash flow forecasting.

  • Corporate$89

    per user / month, billing term not stated

    Adds custom approval policies, purchase orders and requests, cheaper approver-only users, single sign-on and multi-entity books.

  • EnterpriseCustom

    Adds sync with NetSuite, Sage Intacct, Dynamics and QuickBooks Enterprise, 2- and 3-way matching, dual control and premium phone support.

Ramp

  • Free$0

    Unlimited cards with controls, receipt matching, travel booking, bill pay by ACH, card, check or wire, invoicing, and QuickBooks Online or Xero sync.

  • Plus$15

    per user / month, plus a platform fee based on team size

    20% off with yearly billing; the platform fee is not shown. Adds AI expense reviews, coded bill lines, batch payments, NetSuite and multi-entity support.

  • EnterpriseCustom

    Billed annually. Adds Workday and Oracle Fusion integrations and full customization.

Ways to pay less

BILL

No public discounts listed.

Ramp

  • Annual discount

    Save 20% on Plus with yearly billing

    Ramp says Plus costs 20% less when billed annually than the $15 per user a month shown.

More comparisons