Skip to content

The Daybook Insider’s Guide

Everything we know about Daybook in one document: what it costs, its grades, getting a refund, getting help and what else to look at. Read it here, or keep a copy.

Download the PDF
Pass it onEmailLinkedInXWhatsApp
ToolGPAOctober 2026

Daybook

The Insider’s Guide

Cloud-synced diary with guided journals and voice entry

Daybook, as pictured on daybook.app

Every plan, grade, refund rule and rival among journaling apps, read from Daybook’s own pages.

Made by Daybook Labs Inc · checked Oct 6, 2026 · toolgpa.com

2.6GPA

Contents

  1. 01WelcomeWhat it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first
  2. 02What it costsEvery plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved
  3. 03What it doesIts main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it
  4. 04Where it standsIts grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own
  5. 05The alternativesThe tools it is most often weighed against, side by side
  6. 06Quick answersThe questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two
  7. 07About ToolGPAWho made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it

ToolGPA put this guide together from Daybook’s own pages, its app-store listings and our grades. Every fact in it is on Daybook’s page too, where it is kept up to date. Checked Oct 6, 2026.

Part 01 · Overview

Welcome

What it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first

2.6

GPA, above 15 of the 35 other journaling apps we grade

Daybook is a diary and journal app for Android, iPhone, iPad and the web, with voice access through Alexa and a GPT in the ChatGPT store. Entries sync to the vendor's cloud and can be organized with tags, a calendar view and guided journals for gratitude, mood and reflection. The free plan covers unlimited entries and sync between devices; the paid tier adds mood analytics, AI summaries and insights, custom templates, themes and more printing options.

To get you started, here are 9 things to know about Daybook, taken from its own pages and our grades.

Your entries are on your phone and in the browser with backup running on its own, and you can speak an entry instead of typing.
From our grade for ease of use
  1. 1

    Best for a free diary that syncs phone and browser

    Daybook's free plan gives unlimited entries synced between your phone and a browser, and you can dictate entries or journal through Alexa.

  2. 2

    Paid plans start at $3.33 a month when paid by the year

    As its pricing page puts it: $3.49 per month, or $39.99 per year.

  3. 3

    There is a free plan

    Free plan with unlimited entries, sync across devices and automatic cloud backup. Mood analytics, AI features, custom templates, themes and the full set of guided journals need Pro.

  4. 4

    It runs on 3 platforms

    Web, iOS and Android.

  5. 5

    Cloud sync across devices

    Entries and photos back up automatically to Daybook's cloud and sync between phone, tablet and the web app. Unlimited entries and sync are part of the free plan.

  6. 6

    Guided journals

    Structured journals cover nightly reflection, mental health check-ins and gratitude. Access to every guided journal is one of the paid unlocks.

  7. 7

    Mood and activity tracker

    Log daily moods and activities alongside entries. Mood analytics and word analysis of what you wrote are listed under Pro.

  8. 8

    A 2.6 GPA, above 15 of 35

    That is against the other journaling apps we grade, on value, the free plan, features, ease of use and platforms.

  9. 9

    Keep it

    To replace Daybook you would be making dictation that types into any app on your computer. That is not a weekend's work, with an AI app builder or without one.

Daybook at a glance

Pricing
Free plan, from $3.49 per month, or $39.99 per year
Free plan
Yes
Free trial
The App Store listing mentions a free trial before the subscription is charged; its length is not stated.
Runs on
Web, iOS, Android
Made by
Daybook Labs Inc
Category
Journaling Apps
Our grade
2.6 GPA, good
Store rating
4.7 on the App Store, 899 ratings

The report card

Best for a free diary that syncs phone and browser

Daybook's free plan gives unlimited entries synced between your phone and a browser, and you can dictate entries or journal through Alexa. But entries sit in Daybook's cloud with no end-to-end encryption claim, the iOS app's last update was November 2024, and the website and the App Store list different prices for Pro.

ToolGPA report cardDaybookGraded Oct 10, 2026
SubjectGradeComment
Value for moneyCPro is $3.49 a month or $39.99 a year, which is $3.33 a month against a middle of $4.17 for journaling apps here: ordinary money, slightly under. The muddle is that the US App Store disagrees with the website, listing $4.49 a month, $29.99 a year or $94.99 once.
Free plan and trialBFree covers unlimited entries, sync across devices and automatic cloud backup. The caps are the extras: mood analytics, AI, custom templates, themes, the full set of guided journals and full-resolution photos are Pro.
FeaturesCThe basics plus guided journals, mood and activity logging, dictation, a calendar, tags, a passcode lock and PDF export with print layouts, and AI summaries on Pro. The gaps its own pages show: no end-to-end encryption claim, and the iOS app was last updated in November 2024.
Ease of useB4.74 from 899 App Store ratings, too few to reach the top band. Your entries are on your phone and in the browser with backup running on its own, and you can speak an entry instead of typing.
Platforms and integrationsBBoth phones plus a web app, and that's the computer story too, because no Mac or Windows app is listed. It does connect out: voice through Amazon Alexa, Google Assistant and Bixby, and a GPT in the ChatGPT store.
Grade point averageGood, out of 4.02.6

An A is worth 4 points, a B 3, a C 2, a D 1 and an F nothing. The GPA is the average of the five.

Who Daybook is for

  • Fits if you want a free journal that syncs between your phone and a browser
  • Works for dictating an entry, or adding one through a voice assistant

Who it is not for

  • Skip it if you want end-to-end encryption, which Daybook's site doesn't claim
  • Not for you if a stale app worries you, as the iOS version was last updated in November 2024
  • Tight if you're staying free and want mood analytics or AI, which are both Pro
  • Not for you if you want a Mac or Windows app, as computers get the web app only
  • Watch out: the website lists Pro at $3.49 a month, while the App Store shows $4.49, $29.99 a year or $94.99 once

Good to know

Good for

  • People who want a free journal that syncs between phone and browser
  • Dictating entries by voice or through a voice assistant
  • Guided gratitude, mood and reflection journaling

Worth knowing

  • Vendor prices disagree: the website shows Pro at $3.49 a month or $39.99 a year, while the US App Store lists Premium at $4.49 a month, $29.99 a year or $94.99 once.
  • Mood analytics, AI features, custom templates, themes, higher-resolution photos and the full set of guided journals need the paid tier.
  • Entries are stored in Daybook's cloud and encrypted in transit; the site does not claim end-to-end encryption.
  • No Mac or Windows app is listed, so desktop use is through the web app. The App Store shows the iOS app's last update as November 2024.

Part 02 · Pricing

What it costs

Every plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved

$3.33

A month to start, paid by the year. There is a free plan too

Daybook has a free plan. Paid plans start at $3.49 per month, or $39.99 per year.

Free covers unlimited entries, sync across devices and automatic cloud backup.
From our grade for free plan and trial
  • Free

    $0

    Daybook's basic features: unlimited entries, sync across multiple devices and automatic cloud backup.

  • Pro (monthly)

    $3.49

    per month

    Mood analytics and word analysis, AI features, guided journals, themes, custom templates, higher-resolution photos and the advanced printer.

  • Pro (yearly)

    $39.99

    per year

    The same Pro features billed once a year, as shown under the Yearly toggle on the vendor's website.

The free plan

Free plan with unlimited entries, sync across devices and automatic cloud backup. Mood analytics, AI features, custom templates, themes and the full set of guided journals need Pro.

Trying it first

The App Store listing mentions a free trial before the subscription is charged; its length is not stated.

Read from daybook.app on Oct 6, 2026.

Ways to pay less

  • Annual discount

    Yearly billing costs slightly less than monthly

    The website lists Pro at $3.49 a month or $39.99 a year. Twelve monthly payments come to $41.88, so the yearly plan saves $1.89, about 4.5%.

    Stated on daybook.app
  • Lifetime license

    One-time purchase of Daybook Premium

    The US App Store lists a Daybook Premium OneTime in-app purchase at $94.99 as an alternative to a subscription. The listing's description text gives the figure as $94.49.

    Stated on apps.apple.com

What the app costs elsewhere

Each country’s App Store price for “Daybook Premium Monthly”, against $4.49 in the United States, in dollars at the day’s rate. The four cheapest and the four dearest of 11.

CountryPrice thereIn dollarsAgainst the US
Turkey₺32,99$0.6785% less
India₹ 99$1.0277% less
IndonesiaRp 65ribu$3.6419% less
BrazilR$ 18,90$3.7816% less
Australia$7.49$5.2316% more
Germany4,99 €$5.5925% more
Mexico$105.00$5.7728% more
United Kingdom£4.49$5.9432% more

Part 03 · Features

What it does

Its main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it

3

Places it runs: Web, iOS and Android

Cloud-synced diary with guided journals and voice entry. Here is what it does, as its own site describes it, and what it covers: AI features, dictation, daily notes, templates, mood tracking.

Both phones plus a web app, and that's the computer story too, because no Mac or Windows app is listed.
From our grade for platforms and integrations
Cloud sync across devices
Entries and photos back up automatically to Daybook's cloud and sync between phone, tablet and the web app. Unlimited entries and sync are part of the free plan.
Guided journals
Structured journals cover nightly reflection, mental health check-ins and gratitude. Access to every guided journal is one of the paid unlocks.
Mood and activity tracker
Log daily moods and activities alongside entries. Mood analytics and word analysis of what you wrote are listed under Pro.
Voice-to-text and voice assistants
Entries can be dictated with speech-to-text, and the store listings describe voice features through Alexa and Google Assistant. A Daybook GPT is listed in the ChatGPT store.
AI features
AI summarizes entries, offers insights and suggests improvements, and the iOS listing describes a Journal GPT that answers questions about your entries. AI features are part of Pro.
Calendar, tags and PDF export
A calendar view and tags help you find past entries, and entries export to PDF with customizable layouts for printing. A passcode lock keeps the journal private.

Where it runs

  • Web
  • iOS
  • Android

What it works with

  • Amazon Alexa
  • ChatGPT
  • Google Assistant
  • Bixby

Daybook is made by Daybook Labs Inc.

Part 04 · Standing

Where it stands

Its grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own

15/35

Other journaling apps it is graded above

Daybook's GPA of 2.6 is higher than 15 of the 35 other journaling apps we grade, and level with 3.

It stands best on platforms and integrations (B, above 22 of 35) and worst on features (C, above 0).

Its paid plans start at $3.33 a month when paid by the year, against a middle price of $3.66 for the category: 8 of the 21 others that charge start lower.

On features, ease of use and platforms it scores 2.7 out of 4. 2 tools score higher and cost less.

Each grade against the category

Every bar is all 36 journaling apps we grade, cut by the letter each got. Daybook’s own letter is outlined.

  • CValue for moneyAbove 4 of 35
  • BFree plan and trialAbove 21 of 35
  • CFeaturesAbove 0 of 35
  • BEase of useAbove 3 of 35
  • BPlatforms and integrationsAbove 22 of 35

Price against what you get

Each dot is one of 29 journaling apps. Further left costs less; higher up scores better on features, ease of use and platforms. Daybook is the marked dot.

D1.0C2.0B3.0A4.0Free$0.5$1$2$5$10$20More for lessCosts more, scores moreCosts less, scores lessCosts more, scores lessDaybookDay OneDiaroHow We FeelApple JournalWaffle

What paid plans start at, a month (each step along is roughly double) →

Keep it, or make your own?

Whether this is something you could build for yourself with an AI app builder, and what you would give up.

Keep it

To replace Daybook you would be making dictation that types into any app on your computer. That is not a weekend's work, with an AI app builder or without one.

It costs $39.99 a year.

What you could make

  • Daily notes, mood tracking and templates: an app builder makes these well.

What you could not

  • Dictation that types into any app on your computer.
  • A real app for iOS and Android. Something home-made would be a web page.
  • AI features, unless you pay a model provider for each request yourself.

What this rests on. Daybook’s listing: what it does, where it runs, what it plugs into and what it costs. It is a judgement about the kind of software this is. We have not built a replacement for it, and making your own means looking after it too. How we decide, and every tool’s verdict.

Part 05 · Alternatives

The alternatives

The tools it is most often weighed against, side by side

Journey, Day One, Penzu, Diaro and Diarium

The 5 tools Daybook is most often weighed against, with where each one differs from it.

  • 2.8GPA

    Journey

    Free plan · from $17.99 one-time

    Cross-platform diary with maps, mood tracking and guided programs.

    • Only Journey lists macOS, Windows and Linux apps.
    • Journey is end-to-end encrypted, according to its own site.
    • Daybook also covers dictation.
    Daybook and Journey compared in full
  • 3.2GPA

    Day One

    Free plan · from $49.99/yr

    Encrypted journal for text, photos, audio and video across devices.

    • Only Day One lists macOS and Windows apps.
    • Only Day One lists a browser extension.
    • Day One is end-to-end encrypted, according to its own site.
    Daybook and Day One compared in full
  • 2.8GPA

    Penzu

    Free plan · from $19.99/yr

    Private online journal for the browser, with iOS and Android apps.

    • Penzu can be bought with a one-time purchase.
    • Daybook also covers dictation, templates and mood tracking.
    • Penzu also covers long-form writing.
    Daybook and Penzu compared in full
  • 3.0GPA

    Diaro

    Free plan · from $8.99/yr

    Diary and notes app that syncs through your own Dropbox.

    • Daybook also covers dictation and templates.
    Daybook and Diaro compared in full
  • 3.2GPA

    Diarium

    Free plan · from $14.99 one-time

    Private journal with a one-time Pro purchase and your own cloud sync.

    • Only Daybook lists a web app.
    • Only Diarium lists Windows and macOS apps.
    • Diarium can be bought with a one-time purchase.
    Daybook and Diarium compared in full

Part 06 · Questions

Quick answers

The questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two

15

Questions, each answered in a line or two

The short version of everything above, for when you only need the answer. Each one is told in full in its part of the guide.

Is Daybook free?

Daybook has a free plan. Free plan with unlimited entries, sync across devices and automatic cloud backup.

How much does Daybook cost?

Daybook lists 3 plans. Free: $0.

What platforms does Daybook work on?

Daybook is available on Web, iOS and Android.

Does Daybook offer any discounts?

Daybook publicly lists the following: Yearly billing costs slightly less than monthly; One-time purchase of Daybook Premium.

How is Daybook rated?

Daybook's iPhone and iPad app averages 4.7 out of 5 from 899 ratings on the App Store in the United States, as read on Oct 6, 2026.

Does Daybook have a Windows app?

No Windows app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 6, 2026. Daybook is listed for Web, iOS and Android.

Does Daybook have a macOS app?

No macOS app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 6, 2026. Daybook is listed for Web, iOS and Android.

Is Daybook open source?

Daybook is not described as open source on its own site, as read on Oct 6, 2026.

What does Daybook integrate with?

Daybook's listing names Amazon Alexa, ChatGPT, Google Assistant and Bixby.

Does Daybook have a free trial?

Yes. The App Store listing mentions a free trial before the subscription is charged; its length is not stated.

Who makes Daybook?

Daybook is made by Daybook Labs Inc.

What are the alternatives to Daybook?

The closest alternatives to Daybook in our directory are Journey, Day One, Penzu, Diaro and Diarium.

How does Daybook compare with other journaling apps?

Daybook's GPA of 2.6 is higher than 15 of the 35 other journaling apps we grade, and level with 3.

Is Daybook good value for money?

ToolGPA grades Daybook C for value for money. Its paid plans start at $3.33 a month when paid by the year, against a middle price of $3.66 for the category: 8 of the 21 others that charge start lower.

Could I make my own version of Daybook?

To replace Daybook you would be making dictation that types into any app on your computer.

Where this guide comes from

The prices, plans, platforms and features were read from Daybook’s own pages on Oct 6, 2026, and the grades were given on Oct 10, 2026. Graded from this listing, whose facts were read from Daybook's own pages on 6 October 2026, and its App Store rating. Also tested with a demo account on 2026-04-24.

Every tool we list gets five grades, A to F, each with its reason, and a GPA that averages them. How each is decided is at toolgpa.com/grades. This guide is ToolGPA’s own work; it is not made, paid for or approved by Daybook Labs Inc. Prices change, so check daybook.app before you buy.

Part 07 · About

About ToolGPA

Who made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it

3,189

Tools graded, in 94 categories

ToolGPA grades software the way a school report grades a pupil: five subjects, a letter for each with the reason written beside it, and a GPA that averages them. Prices, plans and platforms are read from each maker’s own pages and dated, so you always know how fresh a figure is.

Every grade, review and ranking on ToolGPA is our own judgement. No company can pay for a grade or change one. Every tool on the site has a guide like this one, free to download and pass on. It all lives at toolgpa.com.

  • 3,189

    tools graded

  • 94

    categories

  • 426

    price changes on record

  • 579

    apps priced in 12 countries

What else is on toolgpa.com

Scan for the live page

Prices and grades as they are today

Quoting this guide?

Please name ToolGPA and link to the live page, so readers can check the figures for themselves:

ToolGPA, "Daybook: The Insider's Guide", checked Oct 6, 2026. https://toolgpa.com/tools/daybook

Know someone choosing between journaling apps?

Send them this guide: toolgpa.com/tools/daybook/guide

ToolGPA elsewhere: youtube.com/@toolgpa

See our other guides

The best-graded journaling apps after Daybook, each with an Insider's Guide of its own.

ToolGPA

Choosing software? Every tool graded, every price dated.

Compare tools at toolgpa.com ›

Everything in this guide is ToolGPA’s own summary of what Daybook’s pages, its app-store listings and public reviews said on the dates shown. Grades are our judgement under the rules at toolgpa.com/grades. Every grade, review and ranking on ToolGPA is our own judgement. No company can pay for a grade or change one. Daybook is a trademark of its owner, and this guide is not made, paid for or approved by Daybook Labs Inc. Prices and plans change: check daybook.app before you buy.