Skip to content

Daybook

Cloud-synced diary with guided journals and voice entry

Free plan · from $3.49/moJournalingChecked Oct 6, 20264.7 on the App Store
Daybook, as pictured on daybook.app
How Daybook presents itself. Image from daybook.app.

What is Daybook?

Daybook is a diary and journal app for Android, iPhone, iPad and the web, with voice access through Alexa and a GPT in the ChatGPT store. Entries sync to the vendor's cloud and can be organized with tags, a calendar view and guided journals for gratitude, mood and reflection. The free plan covers unlimited entries and sync between devices; the paid tier adds mood analytics, AI summaries and insights, custom templates, themes and more printing options.

Daybook has a free plan. Paid plans start at $3.49 per month, or $39.99 per year. See every plan

Good for

  • People who want a free journal that syncs between phone and browser
  • Dictating entries by voice or through a voice assistant
  • Guided gratitude, mood and reflection journaling

Worth knowing

  • Vendor prices disagree: the website shows Pro at $3.49 a month or $39.99 a year, while the US App Store lists Premium at $4.49 a month, $29.99 a year or $94.99 once.
  • Mood analytics, AI features, custom templates, themes, higher-resolution photos and the full set of guided journals need the paid tier.
  • Entries are stored in Daybook's cloud and encrypted in transit; the site does not claim end-to-end encryption.
  • No Mac or Windows app is listed, so desktop use is through the web app. The App Store shows the iOS app's last update as November 2024.

Key features

Cloud sync across devices
Entries and photos back up automatically to Daybook's cloud and sync between phone, tablet and the web app. Unlimited entries and sync are part of the free plan.
Guided journals
Structured journals cover nightly reflection, mental health check-ins and gratitude. Access to every guided journal is one of the paid unlocks.
Mood and activity tracker
Log daily moods and activities alongside entries. Mood analytics and word analysis of what you wrote are listed under Pro.
Voice-to-text and voice assistants
Entries can be dictated with speech-to-text, and the store listings describe voice features through Alexa and Google Assistant. A Daybook GPT is listed in the ChatGPT store.
AI features
AI summarizes entries, offers insights and suggests improvements, and the iOS listing describes a Journal GPT that answers questions about your entries. AI features are part of Pro.
Calendar, tags and PDF export
A calendar view and tags help you find past entries, and entries export to PDF with customizable layouts for printing. A passcode lock keeps the journal private.

Daybook pricing

Starts at
$3.49 per month, or $39.99 per year
Free plan
Free plan with unlimited entries, sync across devices and automatic cloud backup. Mood analytics, AI features, custom templates, themes and the full set of guided journals need Pro.
Free trial
The App Store listing mentions a free trial before the subscription is charged; its length is not stated.
Free$0Daybook's basic features: unlimited entries, sync across multiple devices and automatic cloud backup.
Pro (monthly)$3.49per monthMood analytics and word analysis, AI features, guided journals, themes, custom templates, higher-resolution photos and the advanced printer.
Pro (yearly)$39.99per yearThe same Pro features billed once a year, as shown under the Yearly toggle on the vendor's website.

Read from daybook.app on Oct 6, 2026. Prices change, so confirm with Daybook before you buy.

Pricing in detail

Ways to pay less

  • Annual discountYearly billing costs slightly less than monthly

    The website lists Pro at $3.49 a month or $39.99 a year. Twelve monthly payments come to $41.88, so the yearly plan saves $1.89, about 4.5%.

    Stated on daybook.app
  • Lifetime licenseOne-time purchase of Daybook Premium

    The US App Store lists a Daybook Premium OneTime in-app purchase at $94.99 as an alternative to a subscription. The listing's description text gives the figure as $94.49.

    Stated on apps.apple.com

How people rate the Daybook app

4.7

out of 5 for the iPhone and iPad app

  1. 5 stars84%
  2. 4 stars10%
  3. 3 stars3%
  4. 2 stars<1%
  5. 1 star2%

899 ratings on the App Store in the United States, read Oct 6, 2026. It rates the app, not everything the product does. See the listing

Daybook reviews, and where to read more

Works with

  • Amazon Alexa
  • ChatGPT
  • Google Assistant
  • Bixby

Daybook alternatives

Common questions

Is Daybook free?

Daybook has a free plan. Free plan with unlimited entries, sync across devices and automatic cloud backup. Mood analytics, AI features, custom templates, themes and the full set of guided journals need Pro. Paid plans start at $3.49 per month, or $39.99 per year.

How much does Daybook cost?

Daybook lists 3 plans. Free: $0. Pro (monthly): $3.49 per month. Pro (yearly): $39.99 per year. Prices were read from daybook.app on Oct 6, 2026.

What platforms does Daybook work on?

Daybook is available on Web, iOS and Android.

Does Daybook offer any discounts?

Daybook publicly lists the following: Yearly billing costs slightly less than monthly; One-time purchase of Daybook Premium.

How is Daybook rated?

Daybook's iPhone and iPad app averages 4.7 out of 5 from 899 ratings on the App Store in the United States, as read on Oct 6, 2026. That is the store's rating of the app, not a score from us.

Does Daybook have a Windows app?

No Windows app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 6, 2026. Daybook is listed for Web, iOS and Android.

Does Daybook have a macOS app?

No macOS app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 6, 2026. Daybook is listed for Web, iOS and Android.

Is Daybook open source?

Daybook is not described as open source on its own site, as read on Oct 6, 2026.

What does Daybook integrate with?

Daybook's listing names Amazon Alexa, ChatGPT, Google Assistant and Bixby. A listing names up to eight integrations, so it may connect to more.

Does Daybook have a free trial?

Yes. The App Store listing mentions a free trial before the subscription is charged; its length is not stated.

Who makes Daybook?

Daybook is made by Daybook Labs Inc.

What are the alternatives to Daybook?

The closest alternatives to Daybook in our directory are Journey, Day One, Penzu, Diaro and Diarium. Each one has a side-by-side comparison with Daybook.

Sources for this page

The prices, plans, platforms and features above were read from these pages on Oct 6, 2026. What people say is linked where it appears.