Rosebud
AI journal that replies with reflections and follow-up questions

What is Rosebud?
Rosebud is an AI journaling app for iOS, Android and the web. As you write or speak an entry, the AI responds with reflections and follow-up questions, and it draws on earlier entries to point out patterns. Guided journals, morning and evening check-ins, weekly reports and goal suggestions round out the product. It is sold as the Rosebud Bloom subscription with a free trial, and higher-usage Thrive tiers are offered in the mobile apps.
Rosebud is a paid product with a free trial, starting at $8.99 per month, billed annually ($107.99 per year). See every plan
Good for
- People who want an AI that asks follow-up questions as they write
- Speaking entries aloud instead of typing them
- Weekly summaries of moods, themes and patterns across entries
Worth knowing
- The help center says the free plan was retired on September 30, 2026, although the homepage still calls Rosebud free to use.
- AI features run on a weekly usage limit; at 100% Dig Deeper is blocked until the limit resets.
- The web app is a companion: custom journals, photos, handwriting scans and AI model choice are mobile-only.
- Thrive tiers with larger usage budgets are sold only through the iOS and Android apps.
Key features
- Dig Deeper
- While composing an entry you can ask the AI to go deeper: Interactive mode adds a perspective and one follow-up question, and Focused mode offers three questions to choose from.
- Guided journals and daily check-ins
- Morning intention and evening reflection check-ins sit beside guided journals developed with mental health professionals, drawing on methods such as CBT and ACT.
- Voice journaling
- Entries can be spoken with voice transcription and a hands-free mode, and responses can be read back aloud. A glossary keeps up to 10 names or words transcribed accurately.
- Weekly report
- Each week Rosebud summarizes your entries with writing stats, mood trends, key themes and the people mentioned, including up to five key insights.
- Long-term memory and Ask Rosebud
- Bloom recalls earlier entries for continuity, and Ask Rosebud answers questions about your life from your journal, with links to the related entries.
- Privacy and export
- Data is encrypted in transit and at rest, the app can be locked with Face ID, Touch ID or a PIN, and entries can be exported to Markdown.
Rosebud pricing
- Starts at
- $8.99 per month, billed annually ($107.99 per year)
- Free plan
- None
- Free trial
- Free trial offered on Rosebud Bloom; its length is not stated on the pricing section.
| Plan | Price | What you get |
|---|---|---|
| Rosebud Bloom | $12.99per month, or $107.99 per year ($8.99 per month) | Interactive journaling with Dig Deeper, entry reflections, weekly reports, Ask Rosebud and long-term memory on web and mobile, within a weekly AI usage limit. |
| Rosebud Thrive 2x | $24.99US App Store; also listed at $199.99, periods not labeled | The same features as Bloom with a larger weekly usage budget and access to more advanced AI models. Sold through the mobile apps only. |
| Rosebud Thrive 5x | $59.99US App Store; also listed at $499.99, periods not labeled | The same features and models as Thrive 2x with a still larger usage budget. Sold through the mobile apps only. |
Read from rosebud.app on Oct 5, 2026. Prices change, so confirm with Rosebud before you buy.
Ways to pay less
- Annual discountSave 30% with annual billing
Rosebud's pricing section marks the annual Bloom plan as a 30% saving: $107.99 a year, shown against $155.99 for twelve monthly payments.
Stated on rosebud.app - Education40% off Bloom for students
Enrolled students can apply by email for 40% off Rosebud Bloom, valid for one year and renewable. It applies only to subscriptions created in the web app.
Stated on help.rosebud.app - Other savings40% off for seniors and people with disabilities
The same 40% discount on Bloom covers people aged 65 and older and people with a documented disability, for subscriptions created in the web app.
Stated on help.rosebud.app - Other savings40% off for military and veterans
Active service members and honorably discharged veterans can apply for 40% off Rosebud Bloom on subscriptions created in the web app.
Stated on help.rosebud.app
How people rate the Rosebud app
4.9
out of 5 for the iPhone and iPad app
3,315 ratings on the App Store in the United States, read Oct 5, 2026. It rates the app, not everything the product does. See the listing
Rosebud alternatives
- Rosebud vs Reflection
Free plan · from $5.75/mo
- Rosebud vs Mindsera
Free plan · from $10.75/mo
- Rosebud vs Stoic
Free plan · from $6.99
- Rosebud vs Reflectly
Free plan · from $4.99
- Rosebud vs Life Note
Free plan · from $10.99/mo
Common questions
Is Rosebud free?
No, Rosebud is a paid product, but you can try it first. Free trial offered on Rosebud Bloom; its length is not stated on the pricing section.
How much does Rosebud cost?
Rosebud lists 3 plans. Rosebud Bloom: $12.99 per month, or $107.99 per year ($8.99 per month). Rosebud Thrive 2x: $24.99 US App Store; also listed at $199.99, periods not labeled. Rosebud Thrive 5x: $59.99 US App Store; also listed at $499.99, periods not labeled. Prices were read from rosebud.app on Oct 5, 2026.
What platforms does Rosebud work on?
Rosebud is available on Web, iOS and Android.
Does Rosebud offer any discounts?
Rosebud publicly lists the following: Save 30% with annual billing; 40% off Bloom for students; 40% off for seniors and people with disabilities; 40% off for military and veterans.
How is Rosebud rated?
Rosebud's iPhone and iPad app averages 4.9 out of 5 from 3,315 ratings on the App Store in the United States, as read on Oct 5, 2026. That is the store's rating of the app, not a score from us.
Does Rosebud have a Windows app?
No Windows app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 5, 2026. Rosebud is listed for Web, iOS and Android.
Does Rosebud have a macOS app?
No macOS app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 5, 2026. Rosebud is listed for Web, iOS and Android.
Is Rosebud open source?
Rosebud is not described as open source on its own site, as read on Oct 5, 2026.
Does Rosebud have a student discount?
40% off Bloom for students. Enrolled students can apply by email for 40% off Rosebud Bloom, valid for one year and renewable. It applies only to subscriptions created in the web app.
Who makes Rosebud?
Rosebud is made by Just Imagine, Inc.
What are the alternatives to Rosebud?
The closest alternatives to Rosebud in our directory are Reflection, Mindsera, Stoic, Reflectly and Life Note. Each one has a side-by-side comparison with Rosebud.
Sources for this page
The prices, plans, platforms and features above were read from these pages on Oct 5, 2026. What people say is linked where it appears.
- rosebud.app
- apps.apple.com/us/app/rosebud-ai-journal-diary/id6451135127
- help.rosebud.app/account/changes-to-the-free-plan
- help.rosebud.app/ai-analysis/usage-limits
- help.rosebud.app/getting-started/install-the-mobile-app
- help.rosebud.app/account/student-senior-citizen-and-disability-discounts
- help.rosebud.app/account/military-and-veteran-discounts
- help.rosebud.app/about-us/terms-of-service
- help.rosebud.app/tools-for-growth/dig-deeper
- help.rosebud.app/tools-for-growth/ask-rosebud
- help.rosebud.app/tools-for-growth/voice-journaling
- help.rosebud.app/ai-analysis/weekly-report
- help.rosebud.app/ai-analysis/long-term-memory
- help.rosebud.app/daily-journaling/guided-journals
- help.rosebud.app/account/export-data
