The Rosebud Insider’s Guide
Everything we know about Rosebud in one document: what it costs, its grades, getting a refund, getting help and what else to look at. Read it here, or keep a copy.
Rosebud
The Insider’s Guide
AI journal that replies with reflections and follow-up questions

Every plan, grade, refund rule and rival among journaling apps, read from Rosebud’s own pages.
Made by Just Imagine, Inc. · checked Oct 9, 2026 · toolgpa.com

Contents
- 01WelcomeWhat it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first
- 02What it costsEvery plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved
- 03What it doesIts main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it
- 04Where it standsIts grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own
- 05The alternativesThe tools it is most often weighed against, side by side
- 06Quick answersThe questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two
- 07About ToolGPAWho made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it
ToolGPA put this guide together from Rosebud’s own pages, its app-store listings and our grades. Every fact in it is on Rosebud’s page too, where it is kept up to date. Checked Oct 9, 2026.
Part 01 · Overview
Welcome
What it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first
2.2
GPA, above 2 of the 35 other journaling apps we grade
Rosebud is an AI journaling app for iOS, Android and the web. As you write or speak an entry, the AI responds with reflections and follow-up questions, and it draws on earlier entries to point out patterns. Guided journals, morning and evening check-ins, weekly reports and goal suggestions round out the product. It is sold as the Rosebud Bloom subscription with a free trial, and higher-usage Thrive tiers are offered in the mobile apps.
To get you started, here are 9 things to know about Rosebud, taken from its own pages and our grades.
You write or talk and the AI replies with the next question, and replies can be read back aloud.
- 1
Best for a journal that asks you questions back
The web app is only a companion, so look elsewhere if you write at a computer.
- 2
Paid plans start at $8.99 a month
As its pricing page puts it: $8.99 per month, billed annually ($107.99 per year).
- 3
You can try it first
Free trial offered on Rosebud Bloom; its length is not stated on the pricing section.
- 4
It runs on 3 platforms
Web, iOS and Android.
- 5
Dig Deeper
While composing an entry you can ask the AI to go deeper: Interactive mode adds a perspective and one follow-up question, and Focused mode offers three questions to choose from.
- 6
Guided journals and daily check-ins
Morning intention and evening reflection check-ins sit beside guided journals developed with mental health professionals, drawing on methods such as CBT and ACT.
- 7
Voice journaling
Entries can be spoken with voice transcription and a hands-free mode, and responses can be read back aloud. A glossary keeps up to 10 names or words transcribed accurately.
- 8
A 2.2 GPA, above 2 of 35
That is against the other journaling apps we grade, on value, the free plan, features, ease of use and platforms.
- 9
Keep it
To replace Rosebud you would be making dictation that types into any app on your computer. That is not a weekend's work, with an AI app builder or without one.
Rosebud at a glance
- Pricing
- Free trial, from $8.99 per month, billed annually ($107.99 per year)
- Free plan
- No
- Free trial
- Free trial offered on Rosebud Bloom; its length is not stated on the pricing section.
- Runs on
- Web, iOS, Android
- Made by
- Just Imagine, Inc.
- Category
- Journaling Apps
- Our grade
- 2.2 GPA, fair
- Store rating
- 4.9 on the App Store, 3,315 ratings
The report card
Best for a journal that asks you questions back
Rosebud is an AI journal: write or speak an entry and it replies with a reflection and a follow-up question, and looks over earlier entries for patterns. It costs $107.99 a year or $12.99 a month, against a $4.17 middle for journaling apps. The free plan was retired on September 30, 2026, the trial length isn't stated, and a weekly AI limit blocks Dig Deeper until it resets. The web app is only a companion, so look elsewhere if you write at a computer.
| Subject | Grade | Comment |
|---|---|---|
| Value for money | D | Bloom is $12.99 a month, or $107.99 a year, which is $8.99 a month against a middle of $4.17 for journaling apps here, and the monthly price is in the dearest tenth. Even then the AI runs on a weekly limit, and a bigger budget means Thrive at $24.99 or $59.99 in the apps. |
| Free plan and trial | D | There's nothing free any more. The help center says the free plan was retired on September 30, 2026, though the homepage still calls Rosebud free to use, and Bloom's trial has no stated length and starts through the app stores. |
| Features | C | On record: Dig Deeper as you write, morning and evening check-ins, guided journals built on CBT and ACT, hands-free voice entries, a weekly report and Ask Rosebud. The gaps it names: a weekly limit that blocks Dig Deeper until it resets, and a web app that's only a companion. |
| Ease of use | A | 4.9 from about 3,300 App Store ratings, the highest in this category. You write or talk and the AI replies with the next question, and replies can be read back aloud. |
| Platforms and integrations | B | Both phones plus the web, but the web is a companion only: custom journals, photos, handwriting scans and the choice of AI model are all mobile. Nothing it connects to is listed, and the Thrive tiers are sold only in the apps. |
An A is worth 4 points, a B 3, a C 2, a D 1 and an F nothing. The GPA is the average of the five.
Who Rosebud is for
- Fits if you want something that asks a follow-up question when you'd have stopped writing
- Works for talking an entry out loud and getting a weekly summary of moods and themes
Who it is not for
- Skip it if you want a free journal, as the free plan was retired on September 30, 2026
- Pricey if you write a lot: the weekly AI limit blocks Dig Deeper, and bigger budgets are Thrive at $24.99 or $59.99
- Not for you if you write at a computer, since custom journals, photos, handwriting scans and model choice are mobile-only
- Watch out: the homepage still calls Rosebud free to use, Thrive is sold only in the apps, and the trial length isn't stated
- Not for you if you'd rather an AI didn't read your diary, because that's the whole idea here
Good to know
Good for
- People who want an AI that asks follow-up questions as they write
- Speaking entries aloud instead of typing them
- Weekly summaries of moods, themes and patterns across entries
Worth knowing
- The help center says the free plan was retired on September 30, 2026, although the homepage still calls Rosebud free to use.
- AI features run on a weekly usage limit; at 100% Dig Deeper is blocked until the limit resets.
- The web app is a companion: custom journals, photos, handwriting scans and AI model choice are mobile-only.
- Thrive tiers with larger usage budgets are sold only through the iOS and Android apps.
Part 02 · Pricing
What it costs
Every plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved
$8.99
A month to start
Rosebud is a paid product with a free trial, starting at $8.99 per month, billed annually ($107.99 per year).
Rosebud Bloom
$12.99
per month, or $107.99 per year ($8.99 per month)
Interactive journaling with Dig Deeper, entry reflections, weekly reports, Ask Rosebud and long-term memory on web and mobile, within a weekly AI usage limit.
Rosebud Thrive 2x
$24.99
US App Store; also listed at $199.99, periods not labeled
The same features as Bloom with a larger weekly usage budget and access to more advanced AI models. Sold through the mobile apps only.
Rosebud Thrive 5x
$59.99
US App Store; also listed at $499.99, periods not labeled
The same features and models as Thrive 2x with a still larger usage budget. Sold through the mobile apps only.
Trying it first
Free trial offered on Rosebud Bloom; its length is not stated on the pricing section.
Read from rosebud.app on Oct 9, 2026.
Ways to pay less
Annual discount
Save 30% with annual billing
Rosebud's pricing section marks the annual Bloom plan as a 30% saving: $107.99 a year, shown against $155.99 for twelve monthly payments.
Stated on rosebud.appEducation
40% off Bloom for students
Enrolled students can apply by email for 40% off Rosebud Bloom, valid for one year and renewable. It applies only to subscriptions created in the web app.
Stated on help.rosebud.appOther savings
40% off for seniors and people with disabilities
The same 40% discount on Bloom covers people aged 65 and older and people with a documented disability, for subscriptions created in the web app.
Stated on help.rosebud.appOther savings
40% off for military and veterans
Active service members and honorably discharged veterans can apply for 40% off Rosebud Bloom on subscriptions created in the web app.
Stated on help.rosebud.app
What the app costs elsewhere
Each country’s App Store price for “Rosebud Bloom”, against $12.99 in the United States, in dollars at the day’s rate. The four cheapest and the four dearest of 11.
| Country | Price there | In dollars | Against the US |
|---|---|---|---|
| Turkey | ₺499,99 | $10.17 | 22% less |
| Philippines | ₱ 699.00 | $11.13 | 14% less |
| Canada | $17.99 | $12.65 | about the same |
| Indonesia | Rp 229ribu | $12.81 | about the same |
| South Africa | R249.99 | $15.12 | 16% more |
| Mexico | $299.00 | $16.43 | 26% more |
| Germany | 14,99 € | $16.80 | 29% more |
| United Kingdom | £12.99 | $17.17 | 32% more |
Part 03 · Features
What it does
Its main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it
3
Places it runs: Web, iOS and Android
AI journal that replies with reflections and follow-up questions. Here is what it does, as its own site describes it, and what it covers: AI features, dictation, daily notes, goals, mood tracking.
The gaps it names: a weekly limit that blocks Dig Deeper until it resets, and a web app that's only a companion.
- Dig Deeper
- While composing an entry you can ask the AI to go deeper: Interactive mode adds a perspective and one follow-up question, and Focused mode offers three questions to choose from.
- Guided journals and daily check-ins
- Morning intention and evening reflection check-ins sit beside guided journals developed with mental health professionals, drawing on methods such as CBT and ACT.
- Voice journaling
- Entries can be spoken with voice transcription and a hands-free mode, and responses can be read back aloud. A glossary keeps up to 10 names or words transcribed accurately.
- Weekly report
- Each week Rosebud summarizes your entries with writing stats, mood trends, key themes and the people mentioned, including up to five key insights.
- Long-term memory and Ask Rosebud
- Bloom recalls earlier entries for continuity, and Ask Rosebud answers questions about your life from your journal, with links to the related entries.
- Privacy and export
- Data is encrypted in transit and at rest, the app can be locked with Face ID, Touch ID or a PIN, and entries can be exported to Markdown.
Where it runs
- Web
- iOS
- Android
What it works with
Its own pages name no integrations.
Rosebud is made by Just Imagine, Inc.
Part 04 · Standing
Where it stands
Its grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own
2/35
Other journaling apps it is graded above
Rosebud's GPA of 2.2 is higher than 2 of the 35 other journaling apps we grade, and level with 4.
It stands best on ease of use (A, above 19 of 35) and worst on value for money (D, above 0).
Its paid plans start at $8.99 a month, against a middle price of $3.66 for the category: 19 of the 21 others that charge start lower.
On features, ease of use and platforms it scores 3.0 out of 4. 3 tools score higher and cost less.
Each grade against the category
Every bar is all 36 journaling apps we grade, cut by the letter each got. Rosebud’s own letter is outlined.
- DValue for moneyAbove 0 of 35
- DFree plan and trialAbove 0 of 35
- CFeaturesAbove 0 of 35
- AEase of useAbove 19 of 35
- BPlatforms and integrationsAbove 22 of 35
Price against what you get
Each dot is one of 29 journaling apps. Further left costs less; higher up scores better on features, ease of use and platforms. Rosebud is the marked dot.
What paid plans start at, a month (each step along is roughly double) →
Keep it, or make your own?
Whether this is something you could build for yourself with an AI app builder, and what you would give up.
Keep it
To replace Rosebud you would be making dictation that types into any app on your computer. That is not a weekend's work, with an AI app builder or without one.
That makes this kind of software worth paying for, not this one in particular: 29 of the 35 other journaling apps grade higher. It costs $107.88 a year.
What you could make
- Daily notes, mood tracking and goals: an app builder makes these well.
What you could not
- Dictation that types into any app on your computer.
- A real app for iOS and Android. Something home-made would be a web page.
- AI features, unless you pay a model provider for each request yourself.
What this rests on. Rosebud’s listing: what it does, where it runs, what it plugs into and what it costs. It is a judgement about the kind of software this is. We have not built a replacement for it, and making your own means looking after it too. How we decide, and every tool’s verdict.
Part 05 · Alternatives
The alternatives
The tools it is most often weighed against, side by side
Reflection, Mindsera, Stoic, Reflectly and Life Note
The 5 tools Rosebud is most often weighed against, with where each one differs from it.
- 2.8GPA
Reflection
Free plan · from $5.75/mo
AI-coached journal with guided programs and voice entries.
- Reflection has a free plan. Rosebud does not, though it has a free trial.
- Only Reflection lists a macOS app.
- Rosebud also covers goals and mood tracking.
- 2.4GPA
Mindsera
Free plan · from $10.75/mo
AI journal that analyzes entries for emotions and patterns.
- Mindsera has a free plan. Rosebud does not, though it has a free trial.
- Rosebud also covers goals.
- Mindsera also covers chat assistant and templates.
- 2.6GPA
Stoic
Free plan · from $6.99
Guided journal with morning and evening reflections and mood tracking.
- Stoic has a free plan. Rosebud does not, though it has a free trial.
- Only Stoic lists a macOS app.
- Rosebud also covers dictation and goals.
- 2.2GPA
Reflectly
Free plan · from $4.99
AI-guided journal and mood tracker for iPhone, iPad and Android.
- Reflectly has a free plan. Rosebud does not, though it has a free trial.
- Only Rosebud lists a web app.
- Rosebud also covers dictation and goals.
- 2.2GPA
Life Note
Free plan · from $10.99/mo
AI journal whose mentors reply in the voice of historical thinkers.
- Life Note has a free plan. Rosebud does not, though it has a free trial.
- Life Note also covers chat assistant.
Part 06 · Questions
Quick answers
The questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two
14
Questions, each answered in a line or two
The short version of everything above, for when you only need the answer. Each one is told in full in its part of the guide.
Is Rosebud free?
No, Rosebud is a paid product, but you can try it first. Free trial offered on Rosebud Bloom; its length is not stated on the pricing section.
How much does Rosebud cost?
Rosebud lists 3 plans. Rosebud Bloom: $12.99 per month, or $107.99 per year ($8.99 per month).
What platforms does Rosebud work on?
Rosebud is available on Web, iOS and Android.
Does Rosebud offer any discounts?
Rosebud publicly lists the following: Save 30% with annual billing; 40% off Bloom for students; 40% off for seniors and people with disabilities; 40% off for military and veterans.
How is Rosebud rated?
Rosebud's iPhone and iPad app averages 4.9 out of 5 from 3,315 ratings on the App Store in the United States, as read on Oct 5, 2026.
Does Rosebud have a Windows app?
No Windows app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 9, 2026. Rosebud is listed for Web, iOS and Android.
Does Rosebud have a macOS app?
No macOS app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 9, 2026. Rosebud is listed for Web, iOS and Android.
Is Rosebud open source?
Rosebud is not described as open source on its own site, as read on Oct 9, 2026.
Does Rosebud have a student discount?
40% off Bloom for students. Enrolled students can apply by email for 40% off Rosebud Bloom, valid for one year and renewable.
Who makes Rosebud?
Rosebud is made by Just Imagine, Inc.
What are the alternatives to Rosebud?
The closest alternatives to Rosebud in our directory are Reflection, Mindsera, Stoic, Reflectly and Life Note.
How does Rosebud compare with other journaling apps?
Rosebud's GPA of 2.2 is higher than 2 of the 35 other journaling apps we grade, and level with 4.
Is Rosebud good value for money?
ToolGPA grades Rosebud D for value for money. Its paid plans start at $8.99 a month, against a middle price of $3.66 for the category: 19 of the 21 others that charge start lower.
Could I make my own version of Rosebud?
To replace Rosebud you would be making dictation that types into any app on your computer.
Where this guide comes from
The prices, plans, platforms and features were read from Rosebud’s own pages on Oct 9, 2026, and the grades were given on Oct 10, 2026. Graded from this listing, whose facts were read from Rosebud's own pages on 9 October 2026, and its App Store rating. Also tested with a demo account on 2026-05-09.
Every tool we list gets five grades, A to F, each with its reason, and a GPA that averages them. How each is decided is at toolgpa.com/grades. This guide is ToolGPA’s own work; it is not made, paid for or approved by Just Imagine, Inc. Prices change, so check rosebud.app before you buy.
- rosebud.app
- apps.apple.com/us/app/rosebud-ai-journal-diary/id6451135127
- help.rosebud.app/account/changes-to-the-free-plan
- help.rosebud.app/ai-analysis/usage-limits
- help.rosebud.app/getting-started/install-the-mobile-app
- help.rosebud.app/account/student-senior-citizen-and-disability-discounts
- help.rosebud.app/account/military-and-veteran-discounts
- help.rosebud.app/about-us/terms-of-service
- help.rosebud.app/tools-for-growth/dig-deeper
- help.rosebud.app/tools-for-growth/ask-rosebud
- help.rosebud.app/tools-for-growth/voice-journaling
- help.rosebud.app/ai-analysis/weekly-report
- help.rosebud.app/ai-analysis/long-term-memory
- help.rosebud.app/daily-journaling/guided-journals
- help.rosebud.app/account/export-data
Part 07 · About
About ToolGPA
Who made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it
3,189
Tools graded, in 94 categories
ToolGPA grades software the way a school report grades a pupil: five subjects, a letter for each with the reason written beside it, and a GPA that averages them. Prices, plans and platforms are read from each maker’s own pages and dated, so you always know how fresh a figure is.
Every grade, review and ranking on ToolGPA is our own judgement. No company can pay for a grade or change one. Every tool on the site has a guide like this one, free to download and pass on. It all lives at toolgpa.com.
3,189
tools graded
94
categories
426
price changes on record
579
apps priced in 12 countries
What else is on toolgpa.com
- Rosebud, kept up to dateEverything in this guide, with prices and grades as they are todaytoolgpa.com/tools/rosebud
- How grades are givenThe rules behind every letter and every GPAtoolgpa.com/grades
- Value chartsWhat each tool costs against what it scores, for every categorytoolgpa.com/charts
- CompareAny two tools side by side, plan by plantoolgpa.com/compare
- Price changesEvery price rise and cut on record, each with its sourcetoolgpa.com/price-changes
- Prices by countryWhat apps cost on the App Store in 12 countriestoolgpa.com/prices-by-country
- Pay lessEvery public discount: yearly billing, students, nonprofitstoolgpa.com/save
- Keep or makeWhich tools are worth paying for, and which you could build yourselftoolgpa.com/keep-or-make
Scan for the live page
Prices and grades as they are today
Quoting this guide?
Please name ToolGPA and link to the live page, so readers can check the figures for themselves:
ToolGPA, "Rosebud: The Insider's Guide", checked Oct 9, 2026. https://toolgpa.com/tools/rosebud
Know someone choosing between journaling apps?
Send them this guide: toolgpa.com/tools/rosebud/guide
ToolGPA elsewhere: youtube.com/@toolgpa
See our other guides
The best-graded journaling apps after Rosebud, each with an Insider's Guide of its own.
- Journaling Apps Insider's GuideEvery one of the 36 journaling apps we grade, compared
- Apple Journal Insider's GuideApple's free journaling app for iPhone, iPad and Mac3.2 GPA
- Day One Insider's GuideEncrypted journal for text, photos, audio and video across devices3.2 GPA
- Diarium Insider's GuidePrivate journal with a one-time Pro purchase and your own cloud sync3.2 GPA
Choosing software? Every tool graded, every price dated.
Compare tools at toolgpa.com ›Everything in this guide is ToolGPA’s own summary of what Rosebud’s pages, its app-store listings and public reviews said on the dates shown. Grades are our judgement under the rules at toolgpa.com/grades. Every grade, review and ranking on ToolGPA is our own judgement. No company can pay for a grade or change one. Rosebud is a trademark of its owner, and this guide is not made, paid for or approved by Just Imagine, Inc. Prices and plans change: check rosebud.app before you buy.







