Skip to content

The Fellow Insider’s Guide

Everything we know about Fellow in one document: what it costs, its grades, getting a refund, getting help and what else to look at. Read it here, or keep a copy.

Download the PDF
Pass it onEmailLinkedInXWhatsApp
ToolGPAOctober 2026

Fellow

The Insider’s Guide

AI meeting assistant with recording, notes and admin controls

Fellow, as pictured on fellow.ai

Every plan, grade, refund rule and rival among AI meeting note takers, read from Fellow’s own pages.

Made by Fellow Insights Inc. · checked Oct 4, 2026 · toolgpa.com

2.6GPA

Contents

  1. 01WelcomeWhat it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first
  2. 02What it costsEvery plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved
  3. 03What it doesIts main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it
  4. 04Where it standsIts grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own
  5. 05The alternativesThe tools it is most often weighed against, side by side
  6. 06Quick answersThe questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two
  7. 07About ToolGPAWho made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it

ToolGPA put this guide together from Fellow’s own pages, its app-store listings and our grades. Every fact in it is on Fellow’s page too, where it is kept up to date. Checked Oct 4, 2026.

Part 01 · Overview

Welcome

What it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first

2.6

GPA, above 23 of the 48 other AI meeting note takers we grade

Fellow records, transcribes and summarizes meetings held on Zoom, Microsoft Teams and Google Meet or in person. It can send a notetaker bot or capture audio directly on your device through its desktop and mobile apps, with no bot in the call. Plans are priced per user with caps on workspace size, and the free plan is limited to 5 AI notes and 5 AI recordings per user in total.

To get you started, here are 9 things to know about Fellow, taken from its own pages and our grades.

  1. 1

    Best for meeting notes a company can keep control of

    Fellow records and writes up meetings on Zoom, Teams, Meet or in a room, with a bot or without one, and gives companies admin controls over who records and who sees what.

  2. 2

    Paid plans start at $7 a month for each person

    As its pricing page puts it: $7 per user / month, billed annually.

  3. 3

    There is a free plan

    Up to 5 seats, with 5 AI notes and 5 AI recordings per user as a lifetime allowance. Includes summaries, transcription, action items, Ask Fellow and Zoom, Meet, Teams and Slack integrations.

  4. 4

    It runs on 5 platforms

    Web, macOS, Windows, iOS and Android, with a browser extension too.

  5. 5

    Bot or botless recording

    Send the Fellow notetaker to a call, or use the desktop and mobile apps to capture audio directly from your device so that no bot joins. In-person meetings can be recorded too.

  6. 6

    AI notes, summaries and action items

    Each recorded meeting gets a transcript, a summary and a list of action items. Fellow lists transcription in 100+ languages on every plan.

  7. 7

    Ask Fellow

    A built-in assistant that answers questions from your meeting history. It is included on every plan, including Free.

  8. 8

    A 2.6 GPA, above 23 of 48

    That is against the other AI meeting note takers we grade, on value, the free plan, features, ease of use and platforms.

  9. 9

    Keep it

    To replace Fellow you would be making a bot that joins your calls and turns the talk into notes. That is not a weekend's work, with an AI app builder or without one.

Fellow at a glance

Pricing
Free plan, from $7 per user / month, billed annually
Free plan
Yes
Free trial
Free trial of paid features (length not stated); the workspace moves to the Free plan when it ends.
Runs on
Web, macOS, Windows, iOS, Android, Browser extension
Made by
Fellow Insights Inc., since 2017
Category
AI Meeting Notes
Our grade
2.6 GPA, good

The report card

Best for meeting notes a company can keep control of

Fellow records and writes up meetings on Zoom, Teams, Meet or in a room, with a bot or without one, and gives companies admin controls over who records and who sees what. Team is $7 a user a month on the yearly plan. The free plan gives each person 5 AI notes in total, Team stops at 10 a month, CRM links need Business, and workspaces cap at 20 or 50 seats.

ToolGPA report cardFellowGraded Oct 10, 2026
SubjectGradeComment
Value for moneyCTeam is $7 a user a month on the yearly plan, but it's metered: 10 AI notes and 10 recordings each a month. Unlimited use starts on Business at $15, or $23 billed monthly, which is also where Salesforce and HubSpot live.
Free plan and trialDIt's called a free plan, but each person gets 5 AI notes and 5 AI recordings in total, not per month, across up to 5 seats. That's a trial with no end date rather than a plan, and five meetings in you're done.
FeaturesBIt covers the job: a bot or straight-from-your-device capture, in person too, with a transcript, summary and action items in 100-plus languages, Ask Fellow on every plan, and org-wide templates and keyword tracking on Business. Fireflies and Otter cover the same ground.
Ease of useBNo rating on record, but nothing to set up: send the notetaker to a call or let the app listen on your device, and the notes turn up afterwards.
Platforms and integrationsAWeb, Mac, Windows, iPhone, Android and a browser extension, with Zoom, Meet, Teams and Slack, Jira, Asana and Linear from Team, and an API and MCP server for AI tools.
Grade point averageGood, out of 4.02.6

An A is worth 4 points, a B 3, a C 2, a D 1 and an F nothing. The GPA is the average of the five.

Who Fellow is for

  • Fits if your company wants a say over who can record a meeting and who can see it
  • Works for teams that mix video calls with meetings in a room and want notes in Jira, Asana or Linear

Who it is not for

  • Skip it if you want to stay free, because 5 AI notes per person is the lifetime allowance, for up to 5 seats
  • Tight if you're on Team and in lots of meetings, as it stops at 10 AI notes and 10 recordings a month each
  • Pricey if you pay monthly for unlimited notes, at $23 a user on Business, which is also where Salesforce and HubSpot start
  • Watch out: Team caps at 20 seats and Business at 50, and Enterprise needs 10 users on yearly billing
  • Watch out: Okta or OneLogin SSO is Enterprise only at $25 a user, and the paid trial's length isn't stated

Good to know

Good for

  • Companies that need admin control over who can record and see meetings
  • Teams that want notes pushed into Jira, Asana or Linear
  • Mixed schedules of video calls and in-person meetings

Worth knowing

  • The Free plan allows only 5 AI notes and 5 AI recordings per user in total, not per month, and tops out at 5 seats.
  • Team is still capped at 10 AI notes and 10 recordings per user each month; unlimited use starts on Business.
  • Plans cap workspace size: 20 seats on Team and 50 on Business. Enterprise requires at least 10 users and annual billing.
  • Salesforce and HubSpot integration needs Business, and Okta or OneLogin SSO needs Enterprise.

Part 02 · Pricing

What it costs

Every plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved

$7

A month to start, for each person. There is a free plan too

Fellow has a free plan. Paid plans start at $7 per user / month, billed annually.

That's a trial with no end date rather than a plan, and five meetings in you're done.
From our grade for free plan and trial
  • Free

    $0

    Up to 5 seats, with a lifetime allowance of 5 AI notes and 5 AI recordings per user.

  • Team

    $7

    per user / month, billed annually ($11 billed monthly)

    Up to 20 seats. 10 AI notes and 10 AI recordings per user each month, project management integrations and API access.

  • Business

    $15

    per user / month, billed annually ($23 billed monthly)

    Up to 50 seats. Unlimited AI notes and recordings, Salesforce and HubSpot integration, org-wide templates and keyword tracking.

  • Enterprise

    $25

    per user / month, billed annually

    From 10 users with no upper limit. Adds SSO through Okta or OneLogin, user provisioning, org-wide analytics and transcript redaction.

The free plan

Up to 5 seats, with 5 AI notes and 5 AI recordings per user as a lifetime allowance. Includes summaries, transcription, action items, Ask Fellow and Zoom, Meet, Teams and Slack integrations.

Trying it first

Free trial of paid features (length not stated); the workspace moves to the Free plan when it ends.

Read from fellow.ai on Oct 4, 2026.

Ways to pay less

  • Annual discount

    About 35% less on annual billing

    By the prices on Fellow's pricing page, Team is $7 per user per month billed annually against $11 monthly, and Business is $15 against $23.

    Stated on fellow.ai
  • Startups

    Up to 25% off the first year for startups

    Fellow's pricing FAQ says startups that apply to its startups program can get up to 25% off their first year.

    Stated on fellow.ai

Part 03 · Features

What it does

Its main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it

6

Places it runs: Web, macOS, Windows, iOS, Android and Browser extension

AI meeting assistant with recording, notes and admin controls. Here is what it does, as its own site describes it, and what it covers: public API, AI features, meeting notes, transcription, chat assistant, templates.

Fireflies and Otter cover the same ground.
From our grade for features
Bot or botless recording
Send the Fellow notetaker to a call, or use the desktop and mobile apps to capture audio directly from your device so that no bot joins. In-person meetings can be recorded too.
AI notes, summaries and action items
Each recorded meeting gets a transcript, a summary and a list of action items. Fellow lists transcription in 100+ languages on every plan.
Ask Fellow
A built-in assistant that answers questions from your meeting history. It is included on every plan, including Free.
Templates and keyword tracking
Business adds org-wide meeting templates, sales recap templates and tracking of chosen keywords across recorded meetings.
Integrations, API and MCP
Project tools such as Jira, Asana and Linear plus Confluence, Notion and API access start on Team. Salesforce and HubSpot need Business. An MCP server connects meeting data to Claude and other AI tools.
Admin and compliance controls
Enterprise adds advanced recording permissions, domain control, user provisioning and transcript redaction. Fellow states SOC 2 Type II, GDPR and HIPAA compliance.

Where it runs

  • Web
  • macOS
  • Windows
  • iOS
  • Android
  • Browser extension

What it works with

  • Zoom
  • Google Meet
  • Microsoft Teams
  • Slack
  • Salesforce
  • HubSpot
  • Jira
  • Asana

Fellow is made by Fellow Insights Inc., and has been around since 2017.

Part 04 · Standing

Where it stands

Its grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own

23/48

Other AI meeting note takers it is graded above

Fellow's GPA of 2.6 is higher than 23 of the 48 other AI meeting note takers we grade, and level with 8.

It stands best on platforms and integrations (A, above 30 of 48) and worst on free plan and trial (D, above 0).

Its paid plans start at $7 a month for each person, against a middle price of $10 for the category: 5 of the 47 others that charge start lower.

On features, ease of use and platforms it scores 3.3 out of 4. 2 tools score higher and cost less.

Each grade against the category

Every bar is all 49 AI meeting note takers we grade, cut by the letter each got. Fellow’s own letter is outlined.

  • CValue for moneyAbove 13 of 48
  • DFree plan and trialAbove 0 of 48
  • BFeaturesAbove 10 of 48
  • BEase of useAbove 20 of 48
  • APlatforms and integrationsAbove 30 of 48

Price against what you get

Each dot is one of 48 AI meeting note takers. Further left costs less; higher up scores better on features, ease of use and platforms. Fellow is the marked dot.

C2.0B3.0A4.0$5$10$20$50More for lessCosts more, scores moreCosts less, scores lessCosts more, scores lessFellowHyNoteTiroFireflies.aiFathomGranola

What paid plans start at, a month (each step along is roughly double) →

Keep it, or make your own?

Whether this is something you could build for yourself with an AI app builder, and what you would give up.

Keep it

To replace Fellow you would be making a bot that joins your calls and turns the talk into notes. That is not a weekend's work, with an AI app builder or without one.

It costs $84 a year.

What you could make

  • Templates: an app builder makes this well.

What you could not

  • A bot that joins your calls and turns the talk into notes.
  • An AI model, which you can rent by the request but not make.
  • Speech turned into text you can trust.
  • Apps for macOS, Windows, iOS and Android that stay in step with each other.
  • It is priced for each person, which means accounts and billing for a team.
  • It plugs into other products, Zoom, Google Meet and Microsoft Teams among them, and has an API.
  • What a company asks for before it lets staff use something: SOC 2, HIPAA and roles and permissions.
  • The depth: we grade its features B, which means it covers the whole job.

What this rests on. Fellow’s listing: what it does, where it runs, what it plugs into and what it costs. It is a judgement about the kind of software this is. We have not built a replacement for it, and making your own means looking after it too. How we decide, and every tool’s verdict.

Part 05 · Alternatives

The alternatives

The tools it is most often weighed against, side by side

Fireflies.ai, Otter.ai, Fathom, Read AI and tl;dv

The 5 tools Fellow is most often weighed against, with where each one differs from it.

  • 3.2GPA

    Fireflies.ai

    Free plan · from $10/mo

    Meeting notetaker that records, transcribes and summarizes calls.

    • Fellow also covers templates.
    • Fireflies.ai also covers dictation.
    Fellow and Fireflies.ai compared in full
  • 3.0GPA

    Otter.ai

    Free plan · from $8.33/mo

    Live meeting transcription with summaries and AI chat.

    • Fellow also covers templates.
    Fellow and Otter.ai compared in full
  • 2.8GPA

    Fathom

    Free plan · from $15/mo

    AI notetaker for Zoom, Google Meet and Teams with a free plan.

    • Only Fellow lists a web app.
    • Only Fellow lists an Android app.
    • Only Fellow lists a browser extension.
    Fellow and Fathom compared in full
  • 2.6GPA

    Read AI

    Free plan · from $15/mo

    Meeting notetaker with search across meetings, email and chat.

    • Fellow also covers templates.
    • Read AI also covers AI search.
    Fellow and Read AI compared in full
  • 2.4GPA

    tl;dv

    Free plan · from $18/mo

    Meeting recorder and AI notetaker for Zoom, Meet and Teams.

      Fellow and tl;dv compared in full

    Part 06 · Questions

    Quick answers

    The questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two

    14

    Questions, each answered in a line or two

    The short version of everything above, for when you only need the answer. Each one is told in full in its part of the guide.

    Is Fellow free?

    Fellow has a free plan. Up to 5 seats, with 5 AI notes and 5 AI recordings per user as a lifetime allowance.

    How much does Fellow cost?

    Fellow lists 4 plans. Free: $0.

    What platforms does Fellow work on?

    Fellow is available on Web, macOS, Windows, iOS and Android. It also has a browser extension.

    Does Fellow offer any discounts?

    Fellow publicly lists the following: About 35% less on annual billing; Up to 25% off the first year for startups.

    Does Fellow have a Linux app?

    No Linux app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 4, 2026. Fellow is listed for Web, macOS, Windows, iOS and Android.

    Is Fellow open source?

    Fellow is not described as open source on its own site, as read on Oct 4, 2026.

    Does Fellow have an API?

    Yes. Fellow offers a public API, according to its own site.

    What does Fellow integrate with?

    Fellow's listing names Zoom, Google Meet, Microsoft Teams, Slack, Salesforce, HubSpot, Jira and Asana.

    Does Fellow have a free trial?

    Yes. Free trial of paid features (length not stated); the workspace moves to the Free plan when it ends.

    Who makes Fellow?

    Fellow is made by Fellow Insights Inc. It dates from 2017.

    What are the alternatives to Fellow?

    The closest alternatives to Fellow in our directory are Fireflies.ai, Otter.ai, Fathom, Read AI and tl;dv.

    How does Fellow compare with other AI meeting note takers?

    Fellow's GPA of 2.6 is higher than 23 of the 48 other AI meeting note takers we grade, and level with 8.

    Is Fellow good value for money?

    ToolGPA grades Fellow C for value for money. Its paid plans start at $7 a month for each person, against a middle price of $10 for the category: 5 of the 47 others that charge start lower.

    Could I make my own version of Fellow?

    To replace Fellow you would be making a bot that joins your calls and turns the talk into notes.

    Where this guide comes from

    The prices, plans, platforms and features were read from Fellow’s own pages on Oct 4, 2026, and the grades were given on Oct 10, 2026. Graded from this listing, whose facts were read from Fellow's own pages on 4 October 2026. Also tested with a demo account on 2026-04-22.

    Every tool we list gets five grades, A to F, each with its reason, and a GPA that averages them. How each is decided is at toolgpa.com/grades. This guide is ToolGPA’s own work; it is not made, paid for or approved by Fellow Insights Inc. Prices change, so check fellow.ai before you buy.

    Part 07 · About

    About ToolGPA

    Who made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it

    3,189

    Tools graded, in 94 categories

    ToolGPA grades software the way a school report grades a pupil: five subjects, a letter for each with the reason written beside it, and a GPA that averages them. Prices, plans and platforms are read from each maker’s own pages and dated, so you always know how fresh a figure is.

    Every grade, review and ranking on ToolGPA is our own judgement. No company can pay for a grade or change one. Every tool on the site has a guide like this one, free to download and pass on. It all lives at toolgpa.com.

    • 3,189

      tools graded

    • 94

      categories

    • 426

      price changes on record

    • 579

      apps priced in 12 countries

    What else is on toolgpa.com

    Scan for the live page

    Prices and grades as they are today

    Quoting this guide?

    Please name ToolGPA and link to the live page, so readers can check the figures for themselves:

    ToolGPA, "Fellow: The Insider's Guide", checked Oct 4, 2026. https://toolgpa.com/tools/fellow

    Know someone choosing between AI meeting note takers?

    Send them this guide: toolgpa.com/tools/fellow/guide

    ToolGPA elsewhere: youtube.com/@toolgpa

    See our other guides

    The best-graded AI meeting note takers after Fellow, each with an Insider's Guide of its own.

    ToolGPA

    Choosing software? Every tool graded, every price dated.

    Compare tools at toolgpa.com ›

    Everything in this guide is ToolGPA’s own summary of what Fellow’s pages, its app-store listings and public reviews said on the dates shown. Grades are our judgement under the rules at toolgpa.com/grades. Every grade, review and ranking on ToolGPA is our own judgement. No company can pay for a grade or change one. Fellow is a trademark of its owner, and this guide is not made, paid for or approved by Fellow Insights Inc. Prices and plans change: check fellow.ai before you buy.