The Strflow Insider’s Guide
Everything we know about Strflow in one document: what it costs, its grades, getting a refund, getting help and what else to look at. Read it here, or keep a copy.
Strflow
The Insider’s Guide
Chat-style notes timeline for iPhone, iPad and Mac
Every plan, grade, refund rule and rival among note-taking apps, read from Strflow’s own pages.
Made by Shingo Eguchi · checked Oct 9, 2026 · toolgpa.com
Contents
- 01WelcomeWhat it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first
- 02What it costsEvery plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved
- 03What it doesIts main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it
- 04Where it standsIts grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own
- 05The alternativesThe tools it is most often weighed against, side by side
- 06Quick answersThe questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two
- 07About ToolGPAWho made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it
ToolGPA put this guide together from Strflow’s own pages, its app-store listings and our grades. Every fact in it is on Strflow’s page too, where it is kept up to date. Checked Oct 9, 2026.
Part 01 · Overview
Welcome
What it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first
2.8
GPA, above 72 of the 147 other note-taking apps we grade
Strflow is a note app for iPhone, iPad and Mac in which notes are typed and sent like messages to yourself, building a chronological timeline. Tags create timelines for single topics, checklists are gathered into a to-do timeline, and notes can be scheduled to resurface as reminders. Notes are unlimited and free on one device; Strflow Plus, sold as a subscription or a lifetime purchase, adds encrypted iCloud sync and backup.
To get you started, here are 9 things to know about Strflow, taken from its own pages and our grades.
No rating on record, so we go by the listing: if you can send a text you can use this.
- 1
Best for texting notes to yourself on Apple devices
Strflow is an Apple-only app for texting yourself notes: you type, hit send, and it lands in a timeline sorted by tags, free and unlimited on one device.
- 2
Paid plans start at $1.25 a month when paid by the year
As its pricing page puts it: $1.49 per month, or $14.99 per year.
- 3
There is a free plan
Unlimited notes, tags, reminders and attachments on one device, with no account. Sync and backup across devices need Strflow Plus.
- 4
It runs on 2 platforms
macOS and iOS.
- 5
Chat-style timeline
Notes are typed into a message box and sent, which builds a chronological timeline. Adding tags creates separate timelines for individual topics.
- 6
To-do timeline and reminders
Checklists are collected into a dedicated Todo timeline. A note can be scheduled for a future date; it stays hidden until then and arrives with a notification.
- 7
Capture from anywhere
Notes can be added from the share sheet, from widgets, through Apple Shortcuts actions, or on the Mac with a keyboard shortcut that opens a quick note panel.
- 8
A 2.8 GPA, above 72 of 147
That is against the other note-taking apps we grade, on value, the free plan, features, ease of use and platforms.
- 9
Your call
A notes app at its plainest is text in folders with a search box.
Strflow at a glance
- Pricing
- Free plan, from $1.49 per month, or $14.99 per year
- Free plan
- Yes
- Free trial
- Free trial of Strflow Plus; the site does not state its length
- Runs on
- macOS, iOS
- Made by
- Shingo Eguchi
- Category
- Note-Taking Apps
- Our grade
- 2.8 GPA, good
The report card
Best for texting notes to yourself on Apple devices
Strflow is an Apple-only app for texting yourself notes: you type, hit send, and it lands in a timeline sorted by tags, free and unlimited on one device. Sync and backup need Plus at $1.49 a month, there's no Windows, Android or web version, end-to-end encryption depends on iCloud's Advanced Data Protection, and OCR, voice notes and a calendar view are still on the roadmap.
| Subject | Grade | Comment |
|---|---|---|
| Value for money | A | Strflow Plus is $1.49 a month or $14.99 a year, which is $1.25 a month against a $6 middle in this category, or $37.99 once for life. That buys encrypted iCloud sync and backup plus private tags behind Face ID. Few paid note apps here charge less. |
| Free plan and trial | B | Unlimited notes, tags, reminders and attachments, free, with no account, so one person on one phone could stay here for good. The limit is exactly that: one device, because sync and backup both need Plus. |
| Features | C | It does the send-yourself-a-note job completely: a timeline per tag, a Todo timeline, notes scheduled to come back with a notification, rich text, attachments, Markdown export and Spotlight search. But that's a smaller job than note-taking, and its roadmap still lists OCR, voice recording and a calendar view. |
| Ease of use | B | No rating on record, so we go by the listing: if you can send a text you can use this. Type, send, done, with no account to make and nothing to file first. |
| Platforms and integrations | C | One family of devices: iPhone, iPad, Mac and Apple Vision, with Apple Shortcuts, widgets and the share sheet for getting notes in. No Windows, Android or web version. |
An A is worth 4 points, a B 3, a C 2, a D 1 and an F nothing. The GPA is the average of the five.
Who Strflow is for
- Fits if you already text yourself notes, links and to-dos on an iPhone
- Works for one person on one Apple device who doesn't need sync
Who it is not for
- Skip it if you use Windows or Android, as it's iPhone, iPad, Mac and Vision only with no web version
- Tight if you're staying free on two devices, because sync and backup need Plus at $1.49 a month
- Not for you if you want voice notes, OCR or a calendar view today, since all three are still on the roadmap
- Watch out: notes are only end-to-end encrypted if you've turned on iCloud's Advanced Data Protection
- Watch out: private tags are Plus only, and the Plus trial has no stated length
Good to know
Good for
- People who already text themselves notes, links and to-dos
- Jotting thoughts down on iPhone or Mac without filing them first
- Apple users who want notes kept on device or in their own iCloud
Worth knowing
- The App Store listing covers iPhone, iPad, Mac and Apple Vision only; there is no Windows, Android or web version.
- Sync and backup between devices need Strflow Plus; the free plan keeps notes on one device.
- End-to-end encryption applies only when the user has turned on iCloud's Advanced Data Protection.
- Private tags are limited to Strflow Plus, and the roadmap still lists OCR, voice recording and a calendar view as planned or under consideration.
Part 02 · Pricing
What it costs
Every plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved
$1.25
A month to start, paid by the year. There is a free plan too
Strflow has a free plan. Paid plans start at $1.49 per month, or $14.99 per year.
That buys encrypted iCloud sync and backup plus private tags behind Face ID.
Free
$0
Unlimited notes on a single device with all core features, including tags, reminders and attachments. No account needed.
Strflow Plus (Monthly)
$1.49
per month
Encrypted iCloud sync and backup across iPhone, iPad and Mac, plus private tags locked behind Face ID, Touch ID or the device passcode.
Strflow Plus (Annual)
$14.99
per year
The same Strflow Plus features as the monthly plan, billed once a year through the App Store.
Strflow Plus (Lifetime)
$37.99
one-time purchase
Non-renewing purchase of Strflow Plus. The US App Store also lists a $27.99 lifetime price for people who have paid for a yearly subscription.
The free plan
Unlimited notes, tags, reminders and attachments on one device, with no account. Sync and backup across devices need Strflow Plus.
Trying it first
Free trial of Strflow Plus; the site does not state its length
Read from strflow.app on Oct 9, 2026.
Ways to pay less
Annual discount
About 16% off with annual billing
Strflow Plus costs $14.99 a year against $1.49 a month, which comes to $17.88 over 12 months, a saving of about 16%.
Stated on strflow.appLifetime license
Lifetime Strflow Plus for $37.99
A one-time, non-renewing purchase gives permanent access to Strflow Plus. The terms say a discounted lifetime price may be offered to people who have paid for a yearly subscription.
Stated on strflow.app
What the app costs elsewhere
Each country’s App Store price for “Strflow Plus (Annual)”, against $14.99 in the United States, in dollars at the day’s rate. The four cheapest and the four dearest of 11.
| Country | Price there | In dollars | Against the US |
|---|---|---|---|
| Turkey | ₺599,99 | $12.20 | 19% less |
| Philippines | ₱ 799.00 | $12.72 | 15% less |
| Indonesia | Rp 249ribu | $13.93 | 7% less |
| Canada | $19.99 | $14.05 | 6% less |
| Mexico | $299.00 | $16.43 | 10% more |
| Germany | 15,99 € | $17.92 | 20% more |
| South Africa | R299.99 | $18.14 | 21% more |
| United Kingdom | £14.99 | $19.82 | 32% more |
Part 03 · Features
What it does
Its main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it
2
Places it runs: macOS and iOS
Chat-style notes timeline for iPhone, iPad and Mac. Here is what it does, as its own site describes it, and what it covers: works offline, local-first, notes, tasks.
But that's a smaller job than note-taking, and its roadmap still lists OCR, voice recording and a calendar view.
- Chat-style timeline
- Notes are typed into a message box and sent, which builds a chronological timeline. Adding tags creates separate timelines for individual topics.
- To-do timeline and reminders
- Checklists are collected into a dedicated Todo timeline. A note can be scheduled for a future date; it stays hidden until then and arrives with a notification.
- Capture from anywhere
- Notes can be added from the share sheet, from widgets, through Apple Shortcuts actions, or on the Mac with a keyboard shortcut that opens a quick note panel.
- Rich text and attachments
- The editor handles inline and block formatting, checklists, links between notes and link previews. Images and other file types such as PDFs and videos can be attached.
- Encrypted iCloud sync
- Strflow Plus syncs and backs up notes through iCloud, encrypted with the iCloud Keychain. With Apple's Advanced Data Protection turned on, the data is end-to-end encrypted.
- Markdown export and Spotlight search
- All notes can be exported as Markdown. Notes, tags, link previews and attachment file names can be found through Spotlight on Mac, iPhone and iPad.
Where it runs
- macOS
- iOS
What it works with
- iCloud
- Apple Shortcuts
- Spotlight
Strflow is made by Shingo Eguchi.
Part 04 · Standing
Where it stands
Its grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own
72/147
Other note-taking apps it is graded above
Strflow's GPA of 2.8 is higher than 72 of the 147 other note-taking apps we grade, and level with 34.
It stands best on value for money (A, above 62 of 147) and worst on features (C, above 2).
Its paid plans start at $1.25 a month when paid by the year, against a middle price of $5.83 for the category: 3 of the 66 others that charge start lower.
On features, ease of use and platforms it scores 2.3 out of 4. 8 tools score higher and cost less.
Each grade against the category
Every bar is all 148 note-taking apps we grade, cut by the letter each got. Strflow’s own letter is outlined.
- AValue for moneyAbove 62 of 147
- BFree plan and trialAbove 71 of 147
- CFeaturesAbove 2 of 147
- BEase of useAbove 47 of 147
- CPlatforms and integrationsAbove 31 of 147
Price against what you get
Each dot is one of 103 note-taking apps. Further left costs less; higher up scores better on features, ease of use and platforms. Strflow is the marked dot.
What paid plans start at, a month (each step along is roughly double) →
Keep it, or make your own?
Whether this is something you could build for yourself with an AI app builder, and what you would give up.
Your call
A notes app at its plainest is text in folders with a search box.
You could make the core of Strflow for yourself: notes and tasks. What you would give up is listed below. Whether that is worth the price is your call. At $14.99 a year it costs less than the weekend it would take to replace, which is the argument for keeping it.
What you could make
- Notes and tasks: an app builder makes these well.
What you could not
- Apps for macOS and iOS that stay in step with each other.
- Hooks into the device itself: widgets and Shortcuts.
What this rests on. Strflow’s listing: what it does, where it runs, what it plugs into and what it costs. It is a judgement about the kind of software this is. We have not built a replacement for it, and making your own means looking after it too. How we decide, and every tool’s verdict.
Part 05 · Alternatives
The alternatives
The tools it is most often weighed against, side by side
Drafts, Bebop, Memos, Apple Notes and Twos
The 5 tools Strflow is most often weighed against, with where each one differs from it.
- 3.4GPA
Drafts
Free plan · from $1.99/mo
Quick-capture notes app for Apple devices with text actions.
- Strflow also covers tasks.
- Drafts also covers transcription, dictation, Markdown and workflow automation.
- 2.4GPA
Bebop
Free plan · from $4.99 one-time
Capture-first plain-text notes app for iPhone.
- Only Strflow lists a macOS app.
- Bebop can be bought with a one-time purchase.
- Strflow also covers tasks.
- 2.8GPA
Memos
Free
Open-source, self-hosted timeline of short Markdown notes.
- Only Strflow lists macOS and iOS apps.
- Only Memos lists a web app.
- Only Memos lists a browser extension.
- 3.4GPA
Apple Notes
Free
Apple's free notes app for iPhone, iPad, Mac and the web.
- Only Apple Notes lists a web app.
- Strflow also covers tasks.
- Apple Notes also covers transcription and linked notes.
- 3.4GPA
Twos
Free plan · from $3.33/mo
Daily lists for notes, to-dos and reminders in one app.
- Only Twos lists a web app.
- Only Twos lists Windows, Linux and Android apps.
- Only Twos lists a browser extension.
Part 06 · Questions
Quick answers
The questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two
15
Questions, each answered in a line or two
The short version of everything above, for when you only need the answer. Each one is told in full in its part of the guide.
Is Strflow free?
Strflow has a free plan. Unlimited notes, tags, reminders and attachments on one device, with no account.
How much does Strflow cost?
Strflow lists 4 plans. Free: $0.
What platforms does Strflow work on?
Strflow is available on macOS and iOS.
Does Strflow offer any discounts?
Strflow publicly lists the following: About 16% off with annual billing; Lifetime Strflow Plus for $37.99.
Does Strflow have an Android app?
No Android app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 9, 2026. Strflow is listed for macOS and iOS.
Does Strflow have a Windows app?
No Windows app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 9, 2026. Strflow is listed for macOS and iOS.
Is Strflow open source?
Strflow is not described as open source on its own site, as read on Oct 9, 2026.
Does Strflow work offline?
Yes, according to its own site. What works without a connection differs by plan and platform, so check the vendor's page for the detail.
What does Strflow integrate with?
Strflow's listing names iCloud, Apple Shortcuts and Spotlight. A listing names up to eight integrations, so it may connect to more.
Does Strflow have a free trial?
Yes. Free trial of Strflow Plus; the site does not state its length.
Who makes Strflow?
Strflow is made by Shingo Eguchi.
What are the alternatives to Strflow?
The closest alternatives to Strflow in our directory are Drafts, Bebop, Memos, Apple Notes and Twos.
How does Strflow compare with other note-taking apps?
Strflow's GPA of 2.8 is higher than 72 of the 147 other note-taking apps we grade, and level with 34.
Is Strflow good value for money?
ToolGPA grades Strflow A for value for money. Its paid plans start at $1.25 a month when paid by the year, against a middle price of $5.83 for the category: 3 of the 66 others that charge start lower.
Could I make my own version of Strflow?
A notes app at its plainest is text in folders with a search box. You could make the core of Strflow for yourself: notes and tasks.
Where this guide comes from
The prices, plans, platforms and features were read from Strflow’s own pages on Oct 9, 2026, and the grades were given on Oct 10, 2026. Graded from this listing, whose facts were read from Strflow's own pages on 9 October 2026. Also tested with a demo account on 2026-02-18.
Every tool we list gets five grades, A to F, each with its reason, and a GPA that averages them. How each is decided is at toolgpa.com/grades. This guide is ToolGPA’s own work; it is not made, paid for or approved by Shingo Eguchi. Prices change, so check strflow.app before you buy.
- strflow.app/
- apps.apple.com/us/app/strflow-text-yourself-notes/id6468486339
- strflow.app/terms
- strflow.app/press
- strflow.app/roadmap
- strflow.app/privacy-policy
- strflow.app/blog
- strflow.app/blog/spotlight-search-private-tags
- strflow.app/blog/refining-the-strflow-mac-experience
- strflow.app/blog/strflow-now-supports-apple-shortcut
Part 07 · About
About ToolGPA
Who made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it
3,189
Tools graded, in 94 categories
ToolGPA grades software the way a school report grades a pupil: five subjects, a letter for each with the reason written beside it, and a GPA that averages them. Prices, plans and platforms are read from each maker’s own pages and dated, so you always know how fresh a figure is.
Every grade, review and ranking on ToolGPA is our own judgement. No company can pay for a grade or change one. Every tool on the site has a guide like this one, free to download and pass on. It all lives at toolgpa.com.
3,189
tools graded
94
categories
426
price changes on record
579
apps priced in 12 countries
What else is on toolgpa.com
- Strflow, kept up to dateEverything in this guide, with prices and grades as they are todaytoolgpa.com/tools/strflow
- How grades are givenThe rules behind every letter and every GPAtoolgpa.com/grades
- Value chartsWhat each tool costs against what it scores, for every categorytoolgpa.com/charts
- CompareAny two tools side by side, plan by plantoolgpa.com/compare
- Price changesEvery price rise and cut on record, each with its sourcetoolgpa.com/price-changes
- Prices by countryWhat apps cost on the App Store in 12 countriestoolgpa.com/prices-by-country
- Pay lessEvery public discount: yearly billing, students, nonprofitstoolgpa.com/save
- Keep or makeWhich tools are worth paying for, and which you could build yourselftoolgpa.com/keep-or-make
Scan for the live page
Prices and grades as they are today
Quoting this guide?
Please name ToolGPA and link to the live page, so readers can check the figures for themselves:
ToolGPA, "Strflow: The Insider's Guide", checked Oct 9, 2026. https://toolgpa.com/tools/strflow
Know someone choosing between note-taking apps?
Send them this guide: toolgpa.com/tools/strflow/guide
ToolGPA elsewhere: youtube.com/@toolgpa
See our other guides
The best-graded note-taking apps after Strflow, each with an Insider's Guide of its own.
- Note-Taking Apps Insider's GuideEvery one of the 148 note-taking apps we grade, compared
- Microsoft OneNote Insider's GuideMicrosoft's free digital notebook for typed, inked and audio notes3.8 GPA
- Goodnotes Insider's GuideHandwritten notes, PDF markup and whiteboards with an AI assistant3.6 GPA
- Joplin Insider's GuideOpen source Markdown notes with sync through a service you choose3.6 GPA
Choosing software? Every tool graded, every price dated.
Compare tools at toolgpa.com ›Everything in this guide is ToolGPA’s own summary of what Strflow’s pages, its app-store listings and public reviews said on the dates shown. Grades are our judgement under the rules at toolgpa.com/grades. Every grade, review and ranking on ToolGPA is our own judgement. No company can pay for a grade or change one. Strflow is a trademark of its owner, and this guide is not made, paid for or approved by Shingo Eguchi. Prices and plans change: check strflow.app before you buy.







