Skip to content

Ulysses pricing

Ulysses is a paid product with a free trial, starting at $39.99 per year, or $5.99 per month.

Free trialChecked Oct 9, 2026 against ulysses.app

Plans and prices

Starts at
$39.99 per year, or $5.99 per month
Free plan
None
Free trial
Every plan includes a free, fully functional trial with sync and export. The site does not state how long it lasts.
Yearly Plan$39.99per yearUlysses on all your Macs, iPads and iPhones with full sync. Apple Family Sharing with up to five other family members is included.
Monthly Plan$5.99per monthThe same app and sync on every Mac, iPad and iPhone, paid month to month.
Volume licensing€39.00per user / year, plus VAT if applicableLicenses for businesses and organizations, bought outside the App Store. Covers one Mac, one iPad and one iPhone per user.

Read from ulysses.app on Oct 9, 2026. Prices change, so confirm with Ulysses before you buy.

Ways to pay less for Ulysses

  • Annual discountYearly plan costs about 44% less than monthly

    The yearly subscription is $39.99, against $71.88 for twelve payments on the $5.99 monthly plan.

    Stated on ulysses.app
  • EducationStudent offer: $10.99 per 6 months

    Students enrolled at a high school, vocational school, college or university can apply from inside the app with a valid student ID.

    Stated on ulysses.app
  • Other savingsApple Family Sharing included

    One subscription can be shared with up to five other family members through Apple Family Sharing.

    Stated on ulysses.app
  • Lifetime licensePerpetual License listed in the App Store

    The US App Store listing shows a Perpetual License in-app purchase at $199.99 alongside the subscriptions. The pricing page does not describe its terms.

    Stated on apps.apple.com

Ulysses prices by country, on its own site

We read Ulysses’s pricing page on ulysses.app from 8 countries on Oct 9, 2026. It showed the same prices in every one of them as in the United States.

Read by a script, from a home connection in one country and from a data centre in each of the others. A site does not always show a data centre what it shows a person at home there. A page can list its prices in a different order from one country to the next, so a price here is not matched to a plan: open the vendor’s page to see which is which. A country’s price is for people who live there.

How Ulysses's price compares

ToolStarts atFree plan
Ulysses$39.99 per year, or $5.99 per monthNo
iA Writer$19.99 one-time (iPhone and iPad); $29.99 Windows, $49.99 MacNoCompare
Scrivener$23.99 one-time (iOS); $59.99 one-time for macOS or WindowsNoCompare
Bear$2.99 per month, or $29.99 per yearYesCompare
Typora$14.99 one-time, before taxNoCompare
1Writer$4.99 one-time on the App StoreNoCompare

Each price is the vendor’s own, with its billing basis as stated. Check dates are on each tool’s page.

Ulysses pricing questions

Is Ulysses free?

No, Ulysses is a paid product, but you can try it first. Every plan includes a free, fully functional trial with sync and export. The site does not state how long it lasts.

How much does Ulysses cost?

Ulysses lists 3 plans. Yearly Plan: $39.99 per year. Monthly Plan: $5.99 per month. Volume licensing: €39.00 per user / year, plus VAT if applicable. Prices were read from ulysses.app on Oct 9, 2026.

Does Ulysses have a free trial?

Yes. Every plan includes a free, fully functional trial with sync and export. The site does not state how long it lasts.

Is Ulysses cheaper with annual billing?

Yearly plan costs about 44% less than monthly. The yearly subscription is $39.99, against $71.88 for twelve payments on the $5.99 monthly plan.

Does Ulysses have a student or education discount?

Student offer: $10.99 per 6 months. Students enrolled at a high school, vocational school, college or university can apply from inside the app with a valid student ID.

Can I buy Ulysses once instead of subscribing?

Perpetual License listed in the App Store. The US App Store listing shows a Perpetual License in-app purchase at $199.99 alongside the subscriptions. The pricing page does not describe its terms.

When were Ulysses's prices last checked?

On Oct 9, 2026, against ulysses.app. Vendors change prices without notice, so confirm on their site before you buy.

Everything about Ulysses: features, platforms and alternatives