Skip to content

Ulysses

Markup-based writing app for Mac, iPad and iPhone

Free trial · from $39.99/yrWritingChecked Oct 5, 20264.6 on the App Store
Ulysses, as pictured on ulysses.app
How Ulysses presents itself. Image from ulysses.app.

What is Ulysses?

Ulysses is a writing app for Mac, iPad and iPhone that pairs a markup-based editor with one library for everything from blog posts to book manuscripts. Texts sync between devices, a built-in checker covers grammar and style in more than 20 languages, and finished work can be exported as a PDF, Word document, ebook or HTML, or published straight to a blog. It is sold by subscription.

Ulysses is a paid product with a free trial, starting at $39.99 per year, or $5.99 per month. See every plan

Good for

  • Writers who work only on Apple devices and want their texts on all of them
  • Bloggers publishing to WordPress, Ghost or Micro.blog
  • Novelists and students keeping many texts in one library

Worth knowing

  • The site and App Store listing cover Mac, iPad and iPhone only; no Windows, Android or web version is offered.
  • The pricing page lists subscriptions only: $5.99 a month or $39.99 a year once the trial ends.
  • The trial is described as fully functional, but the site does not say how many days it runs.
  • Volume licenses are priced in euros and cover one Mac, one iPad and one iPhone per user.

Key features

Markup-based editor
Text is formatted by typing markup in Markdown XL, Ulysses' own markup language, so headings, lists and emphasis never require leaving the keyboard.
Unified library
Everything is stored in one library and organized into projects, so scenes and chapters can be split into chunks and reordered.
Sync across Apple devices
Texts sync automatically between Mac, iPad and iPhone, and the vendor describes feature parity across macOS and iOS.
Grammar and style check
A built-in proofreader for more than 20 languages suggests fixes for capitalization, punctuation, semantics, redundancy and style.
Export and publishing
Exports PDFs, Word documents, ebooks and HTML with switchable styles, and posts directly to WordPress, Ghost and Micro.blog with images and tags.
Writing goals
Set a character limit, a deadline or a daily goal for a text and track progress against it.

Ulysses pricing

Starts at
$39.99 per year, or $5.99 per month
Free plan
None
Free trial
Every plan includes a free, fully functional trial with sync and export. The site does not state how long it lasts.
Yearly Plan$39.99per yearUlysses on all your Macs, iPads and iPhones with full sync. Apple Family Sharing with up to five other family members is included.
Monthly Plan$5.99per monthThe same app and sync on every Mac, iPad and iPhone, paid month to month.
Volume licensing€39.00per user / year, plus VAT if applicableLicenses for businesses and organizations, bought outside the App Store. Covers one Mac, one iPad and one iPhone per user.

Read from ulysses.app on Oct 5, 2026. Prices change, so confirm with Ulysses before you buy.

Pricing in detail

Ways to pay less

  • Annual discountYearly plan costs about 44% less than monthly

    The yearly subscription is $39.99, against $71.88 for twelve payments on the $5.99 monthly plan.

    Stated on ulysses.app
  • EducationStudent offer: $10.99 per 6 months

    Students enrolled at a high school, vocational school, college or university can apply from inside the app with a valid student ID.

    Stated on ulysses.app
  • Other savingsApple Family Sharing included

    One subscription can be shared with up to five other family members through Apple Family Sharing.

    Stated on ulysses.app
  • Lifetime licensePerpetual License listed in the App Store

    The US App Store listing shows a Perpetual License in-app purchase at $199.99 alongside the subscriptions. The pricing page does not describe its terms.

    Stated on apps.apple.com

How people rate the Ulysses app

4.6

out of 5 for the iPhone and iPad app

  1. 5 stars82%
  2. 4 stars7%
  3. 3 stars2%
  4. 2 stars2%
  5. 1 star6%

2,125 ratings on the App Store in the United States, read Oct 5, 2026. It rates the app, not everything the product does. See the listing

Ulysses reviews, and where to read more

Works with

Ulysses alternatives

Common questions

Is Ulysses free?

No, Ulysses is a paid product, but you can try it first. Every plan includes a free, fully functional trial with sync and export. The site does not state how long it lasts.

How much does Ulysses cost?

Ulysses lists 3 plans. Yearly Plan: $39.99 per year. Monthly Plan: $5.99 per month. Volume licensing: €39.00 per user / year, plus VAT if applicable. Prices were read from ulysses.app on Oct 5, 2026.

What platforms does Ulysses work on?

Ulysses is available on macOS and iOS.

Does Ulysses offer any discounts?

Ulysses publicly lists the following: Yearly plan costs about 44% less than monthly; Student offer: $10.99 per 6 months; Apple Family Sharing included; Perpetual License listed in the App Store.

How is Ulysses rated?

Ulysses's iPhone and iPad app averages 4.6 out of 5 from 2,125 ratings on the App Store in the United States, as read on Oct 5, 2026. That is the store's rating of the app, not a score from us.

Does Ulysses have an Android app?

No Android app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 5, 2026. Ulysses is listed for macOS and iOS.

Does Ulysses have a Windows app?

No Windows app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 5, 2026. Ulysses is listed for macOS and iOS.

Is Ulysses open source?

Ulysses is not described as open source on its own site, as read on Oct 5, 2026.

What does Ulysses integrate with?

Ulysses's listing names WordPress, Ghost and Micro.blog. A listing names up to eight integrations, so it may connect to more.

Does Ulysses have a student discount?

Student offer: $10.99 per 6 months. Students enrolled at a high school, vocational school, college or university can apply from inside the app with a valid student ID.

Who makes Ulysses?

Ulysses is made by Ulysses GmbH & Co. KG. It dates from 2003.

What are the alternatives to Ulysses?

The closest alternatives to Ulysses in our directory are iA Writer, Scrivener, Bear, Typora and 1Writer. Each one has a side-by-side comparison with Ulysses.

Sources for this page

The prices, plans, platforms and features above were read from these pages on Oct 5, 2026. What people say is linked where it appears.