Skip to content

The Whisper Memos Insider’s Guide

Everything we know about Whisper Memos in one document: what it costs, its grades, getting a refund, getting help and what else to look at. Read it here, or keep a copy.

Download the PDF
Pass it onEmailLinkedInXWhatsApp
ToolGPAOctober 2026

Whisper Memos

The Insider’s Guide

Voice memos transcribed and emailed from iPhone or Apple Watch

Whisper Memos, as pictured on whispermemos.com

Every plan, grade, refund rule and rival among note-taking apps, read from Whisper Memos’s own pages.

Made by Median Tech, s.r.o. · checked Oct 9, 2026 · toolgpa.com

1.8GPA

Contents

  1. 01WelcomeWhat it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first
  2. 02What it costsEvery plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved
  3. 03What it doesIts main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it
  4. 04Where it standsIts grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own
  5. 05The alternativesThe tools it is most often weighed against, side by side
  6. 06Quick answersThe questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two
  7. 07About ToolGPAWho made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it

ToolGPA put this guide together from Whisper Memos’s own pages, its app-store listings and our grades. Every fact in it is on Whisper Memos’s page too, where it is kept up to date. Checked Oct 9, 2026.

Part 01 · Overview

Welcome

What it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first

1.8

GPA, above 1 of the 147 other note-taking apps we grade

Whisper Memos is a voice recorder for iPhone and Apple Watch that transcribes each recording, formats it into paragraphs with an AI summary, and sends the result to your email within seconds. Memos can also be routed to apps such as Notion, Reflect and Todoist, and a Meeting mode splits a conversation's transcript by speaker. It is made by an independent developer and sold as a single subscription with every feature included.

To get you started, here are 9 things to know about Whisper Memos, taken from its own pages and our grades.

One tap starts a recording and the transcript turns up in your email, so there's nothing to file and nothing to learn.
From our grade for ease of use
  1. 1

    Best for voice notes from your Apple Watch to your inbox

    Whisper Memos turns what you say into an emailed transcript with a summary, from one tap on your iPhone or Apple Watch, and can pass memos on to Notion or Todoist.

  2. 2

    Paid plans start at $5.83 a month

    As its pricing page puts it: $5.83 per month, billed annually ($69.99 per year).

  3. 3

    You can try it first

    Free to try before subscribing; the vendor does not state how long or how many memos the trial covers.

  4. 4

    It runs on iOS

    iOS.

  5. 5

    One-tap recording on iPhone and Watch

    Recording starts from a Lock Screen widget, an Apple Watch complication, the Action Button, Back Tap or Siri. The Watch app records on its own without the iPhone nearby.

  6. 6

    Transcripts delivered by email

    Each memo is transcribed, split into readable paragraphs and emailed with its summary by default, so it can be dealt with later from the inbox.

  7. 7

    Choice of transcription models

    An Automatic setting picks a model for each recording, or you can choose one yourself, such as OpenAI Whisper or ElevenLabs Scribe. More than 50 languages are supported.

  8. 8

    A 1.8 GPA, above 1 of 147

    That is against the other note-taking apps we grade, on value, the free plan, features, ease of use and platforms.

  9. 9

    Keep it

    To replace Whisper Memos you would be making a bot that joins your calls and turns the talk into notes. That is not a weekend's work, with an AI app builder or without one.

Whisper Memos at a glance

Pricing
Free trial, from $5.83 per month, billed annually ($69.99 per year)
Free plan
No
Free trial
Free to try before subscribing; the vendor does not state how long or how many memos the trial covers.
Runs on
iOS
Made by
Median Tech, s.r.o.
Category
Note-Taking Apps
Our grade
1.8 GPA, weak
Store rating
4.6 on the App Store, 424 ratings

The report card

Best for voice notes from your Apple Watch to your inbox

Whisper Memos turns what you say into an emailed transcript with a summary, from one tap on your iPhone or Apple Watch, and can pass memos on to Notion or Todoist. It's iPhone and Apple Watch only, and there's no free plan: the free try has no stated length, and after it you pay $9.99 a month or $69.99 a year. Each recording stops at 90 minutes.

ToolGPA report cardWhisper MemosGraded Oct 10, 2026
SubjectGradeComment
Value for moneyC$69.99 a year, which it shows as $5.83 a month, or $9.99 if you pay monthly. That's the ordinary band for note apps here, just under the $6 middle, and the monthly price touches the dearest tenth at $9.99. One plan covers everything, with no cap on memos.
Free plan and trialDNo free plan at all. The app is free to try before you subscribe, but the vendor won't say how long the try lasts or how many memos it covers, so there's nothing on record you can count on keeping.
FeaturesCIt does the talking-into-text job completely, and that's a far smaller job than a notes app: recording from the Lock Screen, Action Button, Siri or a Watch with no phone nearby, 50-odd languages, a choice of models, your own summary prompts, and a Meeting mode that splits speakers. Recordings stop at 90 minutes.
Ease of useB4.58 on the App Store from about 420 ratings, a whisker under our line for an A. One tap starts a recording and the transcript turns up in your email, so there's nothing to file and nothing to learn.
Platforms and integrationsDOne platform: iPhone, with a Watch app beside it. The App Store listing isn't even verified for macOS, and there's no Android or web app. It sends memos on to Notion, Reflect, Todoist and anything on Zapier or a webhook.
Grade point averageWeak, out of 4.01.8

An A is worth 4 points, a B 3, a C 2, a D 1 and an F nothing. The GPA is the average of the five.

Who Whisper Memos is for

  • Fits if you wear an Apple Watch and want to record notes on a walk or in the car
  • Works for dealing with voice notes later, from your email inbox

Who it is not for

  • Skip it if you use Android, a computer or the web, as it's iPhone and Apple Watch only
  • Not for you if you want a free plan: after a free try of unstated length it's $9.99 a month or $69.99 a year
  • Tight if you record long sessions, since each recording stops at 90 minutes
  • Watch out: transcription runs online, so offline memos wait to upload, and imported video files are rejected

Good to know

Good for

  • Capturing ideas on a walk or in the car from an Apple Watch
  • People who want voice notes to arrive in their email inbox
  • Recording in-person meetings or interviews with speakers separated

Worth knowing

  • iPhone and Apple Watch only: the App Store listing says it is designed for iPhone and not verified for macOS, and no Android or web app is offered.
  • There is no free plan. The app is free to try, then needs a subscription at $9.99 a month or $69.99 a year.
  • Transcription happens online: memos recorded offline are saved on the device and uploaded once a connection returns.
  • Each recording is limited to 90 minutes, and imported audio must be an audio-only file; video files are rejected.

Part 02 · Pricing

What it costs

Every plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved

$5.83

A month to start

Whisper Memos is a paid product with a free trial, starting at $5.83 per month, billed annually ($69.99 per year).

One plan covers everything, with no cap on memos.
From our grade for value for money
  • Pay annually

    $5.83

    per month, billed $69.99 per year

    Every feature: unlimited memos, 90-minute recordings, the Apple Watch app, AI summaries, audio import and Zapier integrations.

  • Pay monthly

    $9.99

    per month, billed monthly

    The same features as the annual option, billed month to month.

Trying it first

Free to try before subscribing; the vendor does not state how long or how many memos the trial covers.

Read from whispermemos.com on Oct 9, 2026.

Ways to pay less

  • Annual discount

    Save 42% with annual billing

    Paying annually costs $69.99 a year, which the vendor shows as $5.83 a month and a 42% saving against the $9.99 monthly price.

    Stated on whispermemos.com

What the app costs elsewhere

Each country’s App Store price for “Annual”, against $69.99 in the United States, in dollars at the day’s rate. The four cheapest and the four dearest of 11.

CountryPrice thereIn dollarsAgainst the US
IndonesiaRp 1,199juta$67.06about the same
Australia$99.99$69.80about the same
Canada$99.99$70.29about the same
India₹ 6,900$71.33about the same
Mexico$1,499.00$82.3618% more
South AfricaR1,499.99$90.7330% more
United Kingdom£69.99$92.5332% more
BrazilR$ 499,90$99.8843% more

Part 03 · Features

What it does

Its main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it

1

Place it runs: iOS

Voice memos transcribed and emailed from iPhone or Apple Watch. Here is what it does, as its own site describes it, and what it covers: AI features, meeting notes, transcription, notes.

One platform: iPhone, with a Watch app beside it.
From our grade for platforms and integrations
One-tap recording on iPhone and Watch
Recording starts from a Lock Screen widget, an Apple Watch complication, the Action Button, Back Tap or Siri. The Watch app records on its own without the iPhone nearby.
Transcripts delivered by email
Each memo is transcribed, split into readable paragraphs and emailed with its summary by default, so it can be dealt with later from the inbox.
Choice of transcription models
An Automatic setting picks a model for each recording, or you can choose one yourself, such as OpenAI Whisper or ElevenLabs Scribe. More than 50 languages are supported.
Summaries with custom prompts
Every memo gets an AI summary, and extra summary tabs can be defined with your own prompts, for example one that pulls out action items.
Meeting mode
Turning on Meeting mode produces a transcript organized by speaker, with an optional hint that up to 2 to 6 people will talk. Each speaker can then be given a name and a color.
Integrations and agents
Built-in Notion and Reflect integrations, Mail Drop, Zapier and webhooks send memos elsewhere, and named agents route a memo when its name is spoken at the start.

Where it runs

  • iOS

What it works with

  • Notion
  • Reflect
  • Zapier
  • Things 3
  • Todoist
  • Trello
  • Day One
  • Evernote

Whisper Memos is made by Median Tech, s.r.o.

Part 04 · Standing

Where it stands

Its grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own

1/147

Other note-taking apps it is graded above

Whisper Memos's GPA of 1.8 is higher than 1 of the 147 other note-taking apps we grade, and level with 2.

It stands best on ease of use (B, above 47 of 147) and worst on platforms and integrations (D, above 0).

Its paid plans start at $5.83 a month, against a middle price of $5.83 for the category: 33 of the 66 others that charge start lower.

On features, ease of use and platforms it scores 2.0 out of 4. 43 tools score higher and cost less.

Each grade against the category

Every bar is all 148 note-taking apps we grade, cut by the letter each got. Whisper Memos’s own letter is outlined.

  • CValue for moneyAbove 16 of 147
  • DFree plan and trialAbove 3 of 147
  • CFeaturesAbove 2 of 147
  • BEase of useAbove 47 of 147
  • DPlatforms and integrationsAbove 0 of 147

Price against what you get

Each dot is one of 103 note-taking apps. Further left costs less; higher up scores better on features, ease of use and platforms. Whisper Memos is the marked dot.

D1.0C2.0B3.0A4.0Free$0.5$1$2$5$10$20More for lessCosts more, scores moreCosts less, scores lessCosts more, scores lessWhisper MemosGoodnotesSimplenoteApple NotesNotionObsidian

What paid plans start at, a month (each step along is roughly double) →

Keep it, or make your own?

Whether this is something you could build for yourself with an AI app builder, and what you would give up.

Keep it

To replace Whisper Memos you would be making a bot that joins your calls and turns the talk into notes. That is not a weekend's work, with an AI app builder or without one.

That makes this kind of software worth paying for, not this one in particular: 144 of the 147 other note-taking apps grade higher. It costs $69.96 a year.

What you could make

  • Notes: an app builder makes this well.

What you could not

  • A bot that joins your calls and turns the talk into notes.
  • Speech turned into text you can trust.
  • A real app for iOS. Something home-made would be a web page.
  • It plugs into other products, Notion, Reflect and Zapier among them.
  • AI features, unless you pay a model provider for each request yourself.
  • Hooks into the device itself: an Apple Watch app, widgets, Siri and the lock screen.

What this rests on. Whisper Memos’s listing: what it does, where it runs, what it plugs into and what it costs. It is a judgement about the kind of software this is. We have not built a replacement for it, and making your own means looking after it too. How we decide, and every tool’s verdict.

Part 05 · Alternatives

The alternatives

The tools it is most often weighed against, side by side

AudioPen, Cleft, Talknotes, Voicenotes and Letterly

The 5 tools Whisper Memos is most often weighed against, with where each one differs from it.

  • 2.6GPA

    AudioPen

    Free plan · from $33/mo

    Voice notes rewritten into clear text in a chosen style.

    • AudioPen has a free plan. Whisper Memos does not, though it has a free trial.
    • Only AudioPen lists a web app.
    • Only AudioPen lists macOS, Windows and Android apps.
    Whisper Memos and AudioPen compared in full
  • 2.2GPA

    Cleft

    Free plan · from $39.99/yr

    Voice notes turned into structured notes on Apple devices.

    • Cleft has a free plan. Whisper Memos does not, though it has a free trial.
    • Only Cleft lists a macOS app.
    • Whisper Memos also covers meeting notes.
    Whisper Memos and Cleft compared in full
  • 1.8GPA

    Talknotes

    Free trial · from $197/yr

    AI voice notes that turn recordings into formatted text.

    • Only Talknotes lists a web app.
    • Only Talknotes lists an Android app.
    • Talknotes also covers templates.
    Whisper Memos and Talknotes compared in full
  • 3.0GPA

    Voicenotes

    Free plan · from $9/mo

    Bot-free AI notetaker for meetings, memos and dictation.

    • Voicenotes has a free plan. Whisper Memos does not, though it has a free trial.
    • Only Voicenotes lists a web app.
    • Only Voicenotes lists macOS, Windows and Android apps.
    Whisper Memos and Voicenotes compared in full
  • 3.0GPA

    Letterly

    Free trial · from $19.99/mo

    Voice notes and dictation that rewrite speech into finished text.

    • Only Letterly lists a web app.
    • Only Letterly lists macOS, Windows and Android apps.
    • Letterly also covers dictation and text expansion.
    Whisper Memos and Letterly compared in full

Part 06 · Questions

Quick answers

The questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two

14

Questions, each answered in a line or two

The short version of everything above, for when you only need the answer. Each one is told in full in its part of the guide.

Is Whisper Memos free?

No, Whisper Memos is a paid product, but you can try it first. Free to try before subscribing; the vendor does not state how long or how many memos the trial covers.

How much does Whisper Memos cost?

Whisper Memos lists 2 plans. Pay annually: $5.83 per month, billed $69.99 per year.

What platforms does Whisper Memos work on?

Whisper Memos is available on iOS.

Does Whisper Memos offer any discounts?

Whisper Memos publicly lists the following: Save 42% with annual billing.

How is Whisper Memos rated?

Whisper Memos's iPhone and iPad app averages 4.6 out of 5 from 424 ratings on the App Store in the United States, as read on Oct 9, 2026.

Does Whisper Memos have an Android app?

No Android app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 9, 2026. Whisper Memos is listed for iOS.

Does Whisper Memos have a Windows app?

No Windows app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 9, 2026. Whisper Memos is listed for iOS.

Is Whisper Memos open source?

Whisper Memos is not described as open source on its own site, as read on Oct 9, 2026.

What does Whisper Memos integrate with?

Whisper Memos's listing names Notion, Reflect, Zapier, Things 3, Todoist, Trello, Day One and Evernote.

Who makes Whisper Memos?

Whisper Memos is made by Median Tech, s.r.o.

What are the alternatives to Whisper Memos?

The closest alternatives to Whisper Memos in our directory are AudioPen, Cleft, Talknotes, Voicenotes and Letterly.

How does Whisper Memos compare with other note-taking apps?

Whisper Memos's GPA of 1.8 is higher than 1 of the 147 other note-taking apps we grade, and level with 2.

Is Whisper Memos good value for money?

ToolGPA grades Whisper Memos C for value for money. Its paid plans start at $5.83 a month, against a middle price of $5.83 for the category: 33 of the 66 others that charge start lower.

Could I make my own version of Whisper Memos?

To replace Whisper Memos you would be making a bot that joins your calls and turns the talk into notes.

Where this guide comes from

The prices, plans, platforms and features were read from Whisper Memos’s own pages on Oct 9, 2026, and the grades were given on Oct 10, 2026. Graded from this listing, whose facts were read from Whisper Memos' own pages on 9 October 2026, and its App Store rating. Also tested with a demo account on 2026-05-22.

Every tool we list gets five grades, A to F, each with its reason, and a GPA that averages them. How each is decided is at toolgpa.com/grades. This guide is ToolGPA’s own work; it is not made, paid for or approved by Median Tech, s.r.o. Prices change, so check whispermemos.com before you buy.

Part 07 · About

About ToolGPA

Who made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it

3,189

Tools graded, in 94 categories

ToolGPA grades software the way a school report grades a pupil: five subjects, a letter for each with the reason written beside it, and a GPA that averages them. Prices, plans and platforms are read from each maker’s own pages and dated, so you always know how fresh a figure is.

Every grade, review and ranking on ToolGPA is our own judgement. No company can pay for a grade or change one. Every tool on the site has a guide like this one, free to download and pass on. It all lives at toolgpa.com.

  • 3,189

    tools graded

  • 94

    categories

  • 426

    price changes on record

  • 579

    apps priced in 12 countries

What else is on toolgpa.com

Scan for the live page

Prices and grades as they are today

Quoting this guide?

Please name ToolGPA and link to the live page, so readers can check the figures for themselves:

ToolGPA, "Whisper Memos: The Insider's Guide", checked Oct 9, 2026. https://toolgpa.com/tools/whisper-memos

Know someone choosing between note-taking apps?

Send them this guide: toolgpa.com/tools/whisper-memos/guide

ToolGPA elsewhere: youtube.com/@toolgpa

See our other guides

The best-graded note-taking apps after Whisper Memos, each with an Insider's Guide of its own.

ToolGPA

Choosing software? Every tool graded, every price dated.

Compare tools at toolgpa.com ›

Everything in this guide is ToolGPA’s own summary of what Whisper Memos’s pages, its app-store listings and public reviews said on the dates shown. Grades are our judgement under the rules at toolgpa.com/grades. Every grade, review and ranking on ToolGPA is our own judgement. No company can pay for a grade or change one. Whisper Memos is a trademark of its owner, and this guide is not made, paid for or approved by Median Tech, s.r.o. Prices and plans change: check whispermemos.com before you buy.