Voicenotes vs Whisper Memos
We give Voicenotes a 3.6 GPA and Whisper Memos a 2.6, out of 4.0. Voicenotes grades higher on the free plan, ease of use and platforms. They get the same grade on value for money and features.
Price, platforms and features side by side. The table says where each price was read and when.
Voicenotes
Bot-free AI notetaker for meetings, memos and dictation
Whisper Memos
Voice memos transcribed and emailed from iPhone or Apple Watch
How we grade them
| 3.6GPAVoicenotesExcellent | 2.6GPAWhisper MemosGood | |
|---|---|---|
| Value for money | BPro is $9 a user a month for unlimited transcription, dictation and history, which is about what notetakers start at. But the pricing page doesn't say whether that's billed monthly or yearly, and the US App Store lists subscriptions at $14.99 a month and up to $99.99 a year. | B$69.99 a year, which works out to $5.83 a month, or $9.99 month by month. That's about what its voice-note rivals charge, and close to the $5.99 typical for notes apps. One plan includes everything, with no cap on the number of memos. |
| Free plan and trial | BBasic is free with unlimited recordings and 100 transcription minutes a week. But you only see the last 30 days of notes: older ones are stored and hidden until you upgrade. Dictation, audio imports and real-time notes are Pro. | CThere's no free plan. The app is free to try before you subscribe, but the vendor doesn't say how long the try lasts or how many memos it covers. So you can have a go, and we can't tell you how far you'll get. |
| Features | AHit record and nothing joins the call, so it works with any meeting app and in person. You get a summary, action items and next steps, and Ask AI answers from every recording you've made. Voice memos and dictation sit in the same app, and it copes when a speaker switches language mid-sentence. | AIt does one thing and does it fully: recording from the Lock Screen, Action Button, Siri or a Watch with no phone nearby, more than 50 languages, a choice of transcription models, summaries from your own prompts and a Meeting mode that splits the transcript by speaker. |
| Ease of use | A4.8 from about 7,100 App Store ratings. There's no bot to invite: you press record when the meeting starts, and the notes are there when it ends. | B4.58 from about 420 App Store ratings, a whisker under our line for an A. One tap starts a recording and the transcript turns up in your email, so there's nothing to file. |
| Platforms and integrations | AMac, Windows, iPhone, Android, the web, smartwatches and a browser extension. It connects to Zapier, Notion, Obsidian, Todoist and Readwise, with webhooks and an MCP server for Claude and ChatGPT. The Windows app is still labelled a beta. | DiPhone and Apple Watch only, which we grade the same as an app that's Android only. No Android or web app is offered. It does send memos out well, to Notion, Reflect, Todoist and anything on Zapier or a webhook. |
| Best for | meetings, voice memos and dictation in one app | voice notes from your Apple Watch to your inbox |
The GPA is the average of the five grades: an A is 4 points, an F is none. The full reasons are on each tool's page: Voicenotes and Whisper Memos. How we grade
Where they differ
- Voicenotes starts at $9 per user / month; billing basis not stated. Whisper Memos starts at $5.83 per month, billed annually ($69.99 per year).
- Voicenotes has a free plan. Whisper Memos does not, though it has a free trial.
- Only Voicenotes lists a web app.
- Only Voicenotes lists macOS, Windows and Android apps.
- Only Voicenotes lists a browser extension.
- Voicenotes also covers dictation and chat assistant.
At a glance
| Voicenotes | Whisper Memos | |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | Free plan | Free trial |
| Starts at | $9 per user / month; billing basis not stated | $5.83 per month, billed annually ($69.99 per year) |
| Free plan | Basic plan: unlimited recordings, 100 transcription minutes a week shared across meetings, memos and dictation, and access to the last 30 days of notes. | None |
| Free trial | 7-day free trial of paid features, according to the terms of service | Free to try before subscribing; the vendor does not state how long or how many memos the trial covers. |
| Web | ||
| macOS | ||
| Windows | ||
| iOS | ||
| Android | ||
| Browser extension | ||
| Made by | Coping Hard Inc. | Median Tech, s.r.o. |
| Price read from | voicenotes.com | whispermemos.com |
| Checked | Oct 5, 2026 | Oct 9, 2026 |
Who each one suits
Voicenotes
- People who want one app for meetings, voice memos and dictation
- Meetings where a visible recording bot is not acceptable
- Capturing notes from a phone or smartwatch as well as a computer
Whisper Memos
- Capturing ideas on a walk or in the car from an Apple Watch
- People who want voice notes to arrive in their email inbox
- Recording in-person meetings or interviews with speakers separated
Worth knowing
Voicenotes
- The free Basic plan transcribes 100 minutes a week and shows only the last 30 days of notes. Older notes are stored but hidden until you upgrade.
- The pricing page gives $9 per user a month without a billing basis. The US App Store lists in-app subscriptions at $14.99 a month and up to $99.99 a year.
- Dictation, audio imports, real-time notes, the MCP server and advanced integrations need Pro.
- SSO, SCIM and consent management are Enterprise features at $24 per user a month. The Windows desktop app is labeled a beta.
Whisper Memos
- iPhone and Apple Watch only: the App Store listing says it is designed for iPhone and not verified for macOS, and no Android or web app is offered.
- There is no free plan. The app is free to try, then needs a subscription at $9.99 a month or $69.99 a year.
- Transcription happens online: memos recorded offline are saved on the device and uploaded once a connection returns.
- Each recording is limited to 90 minutes, and imported audio must be an audio-only file; video files are rejected.
Key features
Voicenotes
- Bot-free meeting recording
- Hit record in the app when a meeting starts and nothing joins the call. It works with any meeting app and with in-person conversations, and you can jot comments on the note as you go.
- Summaries and next steps
- When the meeting ends you get a summary, action items and next steps alongside the recording and transcript, ready to share as a link or export as a PDF.
- Ask AI across your notes
- Ask a question and get an answer drawn from every conversation and memo you have recorded, or turn a meeting into a follow-up email, report or to-do list.
- Voice memos and dictation
- The same app captures spoken memos, and dictation types with your voice in other apps on desktop and mobile. Dictation is a Pro feature with a one-time free allowance on Basic.
- Language detection
- Transcribes English, Spanish, French, Portuguese, Italian and more than 60 other languages, detects the language automatically and handles switching mid-sentence.
- Integrations and MCP
- Integrations include Zapier, Notion, Obsidian, Todoist and Readwise, plus webhooks, and an MCP server connects notes to Claude and ChatGPT. Advanced integrations and the MCP server need Pro.
Whisper Memos
- One-tap recording on iPhone and Watch
- Recording starts from a Lock Screen widget, an Apple Watch complication, the Action Button, Back Tap or Siri. The Watch app records on its own without the iPhone nearby.
- Transcripts delivered by email
- Each memo is transcribed, split into readable paragraphs and emailed with its summary by default, so it can be dealt with later from the inbox.
- Choice of transcription models
- An Automatic setting picks a model for each recording, or you can choose one yourself, such as OpenAI Whisper or ElevenLabs Scribe. More than 50 languages are supported.
- Summaries with custom prompts
- Every memo gets an AI summary, and extra summary tabs can be defined with your own prompts, for example one that pulls out action items.
- Meeting mode
- Turning on Meeting mode produces a transcript organized by speaker, with an optional hint that up to 2 to 6 people will talk. Each speaker can then be given a name and a color.
- Integrations and agents
- Built-in Notion and Reflect integrations, Mail Drop, Zapier and webhooks send memos elsewhere, and named agents route a memo when its name is spoken at the start.
Plans
Voicenotes
Basic$0
Unlimited recordings, 100 minutes a week of transcripts and summaries refreshed weekly, and a 30-day history.
Pro$9
per user / month; monthly or annual basis not stated
Unlimited transcription, dictation and history, real-time notes and live transcription, audio imports, the Voicenotes MCP, advanced integrations and team billing.
Enterprise$24
per user / month, sold through sales; basis not stated
Everything in Pro, plus SSO and SCIM, consent management, admin controls for sharing, CRM and dialer integrations and a dedicated success manager.
Whisper Memos
Pay annually$5.83
per month, billed $69.99 per year
Every feature: unlimited memos, 90-minute recordings, the Apple Watch app, AI summaries, audio import and Zapier integrations.
Pay monthly$9.99
per month, billed monthly
The same features as the annual option, billed month to month.
Ways to pay less
Voicenotes
No public discounts listed.
Whisper Memos
- Annual discount
Save 42% with annual billing
Paying annually costs $69.99 a year, which the vendor shows as $5.83 a month and a 42% saving against the $9.99 monthly price.

