Skip to content

Otter.ai vs Voicenotes

Price, platforms and features side by side. The table says where each price was read and when.

Otter.ai

Live meeting transcription with summaries and AI chat

Free plan · from $8.33/mo

Voicenotes

Bot-free AI notetaker for meetings, memos and dictation

Free plan · from $9/mo

Where they differ

  • Otter.ai starts at $8.33 per user / month, billed annually. Voicenotes starts at $9 per user / month; billing basis not stated.
  • Voicenotes also covers dictation and notes.
In commonFree planWebmacOSWindowsiOSAndroidBrowser extensionAI featuresMeeting notesTranscriptionChat assistant

At a glance

Otter.aiVoicenotes
PricingFree planFree plan
Starts at$8.33 per user / month, billed annually$9 per user / month; billing basis not stated
Free planBasic plan: 300 transcription minutes a month, 30 minutes per conversation, 3 lifetime file imports, 20 AI Chat queries a month and access to the 25 most recent conversations.Basic plan: unlimited recordings, 100 transcription minutes a week shared across meetings, memos and dictation, and access to the last 30 days of notes.
Free trial7-day free trial of Otter Business.7-day free trial of paid features, according to the terms of service
Web
macOS
Windows
iOS
Android
Browser extension
Made byOtter.ai IncCoping Hard Inc.
Price read fromotter.aivoicenotes.com
CheckedOct 4, 2026Oct 5, 2026

Who each one suits

Otter.ai

  • Reading a live transcript while a meeting or lecture is still going
  • Students and teachers, who get a discount on Pro with a .edu address
  • People who want the same notes on web, desktop and phone

Voicenotes

  • People who want one app for meetings, voice memos and dictation
  • Meetings where a visible recording bot is not acceptable
  • Capturing notes from a phone or smartwatch as well as a computer

Worth knowing

Otter.ai

  • Basic is capped at 300 minutes a month and 30 minutes per conversation, and only the 25 most recent conversations stay accessible.
  • Pro is still metered: 1,200 minutes a month and 90 minutes per meeting. Unlimited meetings start on Business.
  • AI Chat queries are capped on every plan, at most 200 per user per month.
  • SSO, SCIM, the API and webhooks are Enterprise only, and HIPAA compliance is an add-on.

Voicenotes

  • The free Basic plan transcribes 100 minutes a week and shows only the last 30 days of notes. Older notes are stored but hidden until you upgrade.
  • The pricing page gives $9 per user a month without a billing basis. The US App Store lists in-app subscriptions at $14.99 a month and up to $99.99 a year.
  • Dictation, audio imports, real-time notes, the MCP server and advanced integrations need Pro.
  • SSO, SCIM and consent management are Enterprise features at $24 per user a month. The Windows desktop app is labeled a beta.

Key features

Otter.ai

Meeting agent or bot-free recording
The notetaker can auto-join Zoom, Microsoft Teams and Google Meet meetings from your calendar. The desktop app for Mac and Windows records without a bot joining the call.
Live transcription with speaker ID
Transcribes as people speak, labels speakers and syncs the text to audio playback. Custom vocabulary covers 5 terms on Basic and up to 800 names and 800 terms on Business.
Automated summaries
Each conversation gets an automated summary on every plan, so the main points are available without reading the full transcript.
AI Chat
Ask questions about your conversations in a chat. Monthly queries are capped per user: 20 on Basic, 50 on Pro and 200 on Business and Enterprise.
File imports and exports
Import audio or video files for transcription and export notes. Basic allows 3 imports in total and mp3 or txt export; paid plans add pdf, docx and srt.
Integrations and MCP server
Salesforce, HubSpot and Zapier integrations start on Pro. An MCP server is listed on every plan, while the Otter API and webhooks are Enterprise only.

Voicenotes

Bot-free meeting recording
Hit record in the app when a meeting starts and nothing joins the call. It works with any meeting app and with in-person conversations, and you can jot comments on the note as you go.
Summaries and next steps
When the meeting ends you get a summary, action items and next steps alongside the recording and transcript, ready to share as a link or export as a PDF.
Ask AI across your notes
Ask a question and get an answer drawn from every conversation and memo you have recorded, or turn a meeting into a follow-up email, report or to-do list.
Voice memos and dictation
The same app captures spoken memos, and dictation types with your voice in other apps on desktop and mobile. Dictation is a Pro feature with a one-time free allowance on Basic.
Language detection
Transcribes English, Spanish, French, Portuguese, Italian and more than 60 other languages, detects the language automatically and handles switching mid-sentence.
Integrations and MCP
Integrations include Zapier, Notion, Obsidian, Todoist and Readwise, plus webhooks, and an MCP server connects notes to Claude and ChatGPT. Advanced integrations and the MCP server need Pro.

Plans

Otter.ai

  • Basic$0

    300 transcription minutes a month, 30 minutes per conversation, 3 lifetime file imports and the 25 most recent conversations.

  • Pro$8.33

    per user / month, billed annually ($16.99 billed monthly)

    1,200 minutes a month, 90 minutes per meeting, 10 file imports a month, unlimited history and extra export formats.

  • Business$19.99

    per user / month, billed annually ($30 billed monthly)

    Unlimited meetings and file imports, up to 4 hours per meeting, 3 concurrent meetings, activity logs and usage analytics.

  • EnterpriseCustom

    Adds SSO, SCIM, domain capture, the Otter API and webhooks, video replay and a HIPAA compliance add-on.

Voicenotes

  • Basic$0

    Unlimited recordings, 100 minutes a week of transcripts and summaries refreshed weekly, and a 30-day history.

  • Pro$9

    per user / month; monthly or annual basis not stated

    Unlimited transcription, dictation and history, real-time notes and live transcription, audio imports, the Voicenotes MCP, advanced integrations and team billing.

  • Enterprise$24

    per user / month, sold through sales; basis not stated

    Everything in Pro, plus SSO and SCIM, consent management, admin controls for sharing, CRM and dialer integrations and a dedicated success manager.

Ways to pay less

Otter.ai

  • Annual discount

    Save 51% on Pro and 33% on Business annually

    Otter's pricing page shows Pro at $8.33 per user per month on annual billing against $16.99 monthly (labeled save 51%), and Business at $19.99 against $30 (save 33%).

  • Education

    20% off Pro for students and teachers

    Individual students and teachers with an email address ending in .edu get 20% off Otter Pro: $6.67 per month billed annually ($79.99) or $13.59 month to month.

Voicenotes

No public discounts listed.

More comparisons