Skip to content

Cin7 vs Katana

We give Cin7 and Katana the same GPA: 2.4 out of 4.0. They get the same grade on all five counts.

Price, platforms and features side by side. The table says where each price was read and when.

Cin7

Inventory software for wholesale and multichannel product sellers

Free trial · from $349/mo

Katana

Inventory and production software for makers and manufacturers

Free plan

How we grade them

2.4GPACin7Fair2.4GPAKatanaFair
Value for money
CStandard is $349 a month for 5 users, 2 store or app connections and 6,000 sales orders a year; the page doesn't say if that's billed monthly or yearly. A shop and an online store fit, but it's at the dear end of this category, and API access and point of sale are add-ons.
CA shop with an online store will pass the free plan's 30 SKUs fast, since every variant and material counts. After that it's Advantage, quoted after a scoping call on one yearly contract, so there's no monthly figure to set against other tools. With no published price, it sits in the middle.
Free plan and trial
CNo free plan, but a 14-day free trial from a sign-up form, and the listing doesn't mention a card. Every plan button on the pricing page books a demo, though.
CFree for up to 30 SKUs with every feature, unlimited users and the API, plus 15 days of unlimited SKUs with no card. A real way to try it, but 30 SKUs is a cap most makers will hit, and support on free is the AI assistant only.
Features
BStock and orders across stores, marketplaces, wholesale and retail, unlimited locations, purchasing, bills of materials with batch, serial and expiry tracking, and warehouse apps. That covers the whole job; MRP waits for Pro and AI forecasting is a paid add-on.
BMulti-level bills of materials, routings and work orders, live stock across locations, batch and serial tracking, sales and purchase orders and AI reorder suggestions. That's the whole job for a maker. There are no native phone apps, but the browser warehouse app handles scanning.
Ease of use
CNo store rating on record. You'll connect a store and your accounting, set up locations and assemblies, and the plans are sold through a demo, so plan on a proper setup.
CNo store rating on record to go by. Before it earns its keep you'll set up materials, bills of materials, routings and locations, and the paid plan comes with guided setup for a reason.
Platforms and integrations
BWeb, iPhone and Android, with Shopify, Amazon, WooCommerce, QuickBooks Online, Xero and ShipStation. No desktop app, and the API is a paid add-on.
BWeb only, with no native phone apps. It connects to Shopify, Amazon, WooCommerce, BigCommerce, QuickBooks Online, Xero, ShipStation and HubSpot, has an API, and links to Claude, ChatGPT or Gemini over MCP.
Best forbrands selling in stores, marketplaces and wholesalemakers who build their own products

The GPA is the average of the five grades: an A is 4 points, an F is none. The full reasons are on each tool's page: Cin7 and Katana. How we grade

Where they differ

  • Katana has a free plan. Cin7 does not, though it has a free trial.
  • Only Cin7 lists iOS and Android apps.
In commonWebPublic APIAI featuresInventoryBarcode scanning

At a glance

Cin7Katana
PricingFree trialFree plan
Starts at$349 per month for 6,000 sales orders a yearNot published
Free planNoneFree plan for up to 30 SKUs with unlimited users, integrations and locations, every Katana feature and API access. Support is the AI assistant and knowledge base only.
Free trial14-day free trialA new free account can use unlimited SKUs for 15 days, no card required
Web
iOS
Android
Made byCin7 Americas, Inc.Katana Technologies OÜ
Price read fromcin7.comkatanamrp.com
CheckedOct 18, 2026Oct 18, 2026

Who each one suits

Cin7

  • Brands selling through their own store, marketplaces and wholesale at once
  • Distributors and wholesalers that want a B2B ordering portal
  • Growing sellers that have outgrown spreadsheets but do not want an ERP

Katana

  • Small manufacturers that make their own products from raw materials
  • Shopify brands that also run production in-house or with co-manufacturers
  • Food, cosmetics and other businesses that must trace batches

Worth knowing

Cin7

  • Each plan caps users, yearly sales orders and ecommerce or app integrations; more of each costs extra through sales.
  • API access, point of sale, the B2B portal, ForesightAI forecasting and premium support are paid add-ons on every Core plan.
  • The pricing page does not say whether the monthly prices are for monthly or annual billing, and notes they are for new customers.
  • Each plan's button books a demo rather than a checkout, and Cin7 Omni has no published price.

Katana

  • No price is published beyond the free plan: Advantage is quoted after a scoping call and sold as one annual contract.
  • The free plan stops at 30 SKUs, counting each product or material variant, and has no live support.
  • There are no native phone apps; the warehouse app runs in a mobile browser at wh.katanamrp.com.

Key features

Cin7

Multichannel stock and orders
Stock levels and sales orders across online stores, marketplaces, wholesale and retail, with unlimited inventory locations on every Core plan.
Purchasing and reordering
Purchase orders, supplier records and stock reordering, with AI demand forecasting available as the paid ForesightAI add-on.
Assembly and light manufacturing
Bills of materials, kits and bundles, assembly and disassembly, batch, serial and expiry tracking, and MRP from the Pro plan.
Warehouse mobile apps
iOS and Android apps for picking, packing, put-away, counts and barcode scanning; Advanced adds several warehouses and FIFO or FEFO picking.
Accounting sync
Connects to Xero or QuickBooks Online and tracks cost of goods sold across several currencies.
Wholesale portal and point of sale
A B2B ordering portal for trade customers and a point of sale that runs on a mobile device, both sold as add-ons.

Katana

Production planning
Multi-level bills of materials, routings and work orders, with materials assigned to orders and finished goods returned to stock when production ends.
Live inventory across locations
Stock for products and materials across warehouses, production sites and partner locations, with transfers and a real-time availability planner.
Batch and serial traceability
Track lot numbers, serial numbers and expiry dates from supplier to customer to answer recalls and audits.
Sales and purchase orders
Orders from Shopify, Amazon, WooCommerce and wholesale in one list, purchase orders with landed costs, price lists and multiple currencies.
Warehouse app and barcode scanning
A browser-based warehouse app for receiving, picking, packing and stocktakes with a phone camera or a rugged scanner.
AI replenishment and MCP
AI purchase-order suggestions based on demand history, and an MCP connection to query and update Katana from Claude, ChatGPT or Gemini.

Plans

Cin7

  • Standard$349

    per month for 6,000 sales orders a year (billing term not stated)

    5 users, 2 ecommerce or app integrations, unlimited locations, warehouse app for one location, and assembly with BOMs and batch tracking.

  • Pro$599

    per month for 24,000 sales orders a year (billing term not stated)

    10 users and 4 ecommerce or app integrations, and adds material requirements planning.

  • Advanced$1,199

    per month for 120,000 sales orders a year (billing term not stated)

    15 users, 6 ecommerce or app integrations, and the advanced warehouse app for several warehouses with FIFO and FEFO picking.

  • OmniCustom

    Cin7's separate system for larger companies with several warehouses and complex supply chains, quoted by sales.

Katana

  • Free$0

    Up to 30 SKUs, unlimited users, integrations and inventory locations, all features and API access, with self-serve setup.

  • AdvantageCustom

    Unlimited SKUs on one annual contract that includes guided setup, custom integrations and reports, a success manager and 24/7 live support.

More comparisons