Skip to content

Matomo vs PostHog

We give Matomo a 2.4 GPA and PostHog a 3.2, out of 4.0. PostHog grades higher on value for money, the free plan and features. They get the same grade on ease of use and platforms.

Price, platforms and features side by side. The table says where each price was read and when.

Matomo

Open-source web analytics you can host yourself or in Matomo's cloud

Free plan · from $26/mo

PostHog

Open-source product analytics with replays, flags and surveys

Free plan · from $0.00005

How we grade them

2.4GPAMatomoFair3.2GPAPostHogVery good
Value for money
C100,000 pageviews puts Cloud Business at $42 a month billed monthly ($26 covers 50,000 hits), rising to $204 at 1M. Yearly billing takes off two months. That's mid-category. The free edition only counts if you host it.
AA site with 10,000 visitors a month fits in the free 1M events and 5,000 recordings, so the figure is $0. There's no base fee after that, just usage from $0.00005 an event. Boost, at $250 a month, is only for SSO, HIPAA and more projects.
Free plan and trial
CThe self-hosted Community edition is free forever with unlimited users and hits, but you need your own server and get forum support only. The cloud has a free trial with no card, length not stated.
BNo card and no time limit: 1M events, 5,000 recordings, 1M flag requests and 1,500 survey responses every month, with unlimited members. Usage stops at the limit, so no surprise bill. You get 1 project, and recordings are kept a month.
Features
BTraffic, campaigns, ecommerce, goals and visitor profiles without sampling, plus heatmaps, recordings, A/B tests, funnels and a tag manager on Cloud Business. That's the whole job in one. On your own server those extras are paid plugins.
AAnalytics, web analytics, replays, flags, A/B tests, surveys, error tracking, logs and a data warehouse with pipelines in and out. Graded against Amplitude, Mixpanel and Heap, it covers the whole job, and none of them bundles errors, logs and a warehouse too.
Ease of use
CNo rating on record. The cloud is a snippet, but the reports run as deep as Google Analytics', so there's learning to do. Self-hosting means running the server, updates and backups yourself.
CNo rating on record. The cloud version is a snippet and a sign-up, but there are a lot of products to learn and events to plan. The free self-hosted version is a Docker deploy PostHog doesn't officially support, which is a developer's job.
Platforms and integrations
BWeb only, no desktop or phone app. It has HTTP analytics and tracking APIs, log file analytics, a Google Analytics importer and plugins for WordPress and WooCommerce. A short list of integrations, but the APIs fill the gap.
BWeb only, so it can't reach an A. It pulls data in from Stripe, HubSpot, Salesforce and Postgres, sends events out to Braze, Klaviyo and others, and works with Snowflake, BigQuery and Zendesk.
Best forowning your analytics data outrighta whole product toolkit on one free allowance

The GPA is the average of the five grades: an A is 4 points, an F is none. The full reasons are on each tool's page: Matomo and PostHog. How we grade

Where they differ

  • Matomo starts at $26 per month for up to 50,000 hits, billed monthly (Cloud Business). PostHog starts at $0.00005 per analytics event past the free 1M (pay-as-you-go).
  • PostHog also covers surveys.
In commonFree planWebOpen sourceSelf-hostableWeb analyticsSession replayA/B testing

At a glance

MatomoPostHog
PricingFree planFree plan
Starts at$26 per month for up to 50,000 hits, billed monthly (Cloud Business)$0.00005 per analytics event past the free 1M (pay-as-you-go)
Free planMatomo On-Premise Community: free forever and open source, hosted on your own server, with unlimited users and hits, all base features and forum support.Monthly allowance that resets: 1M analytics events, 5,000 recordings, 1M flag requests, 1,500 survey responses, 100K exceptions. Unlimited members, 1 project, 1-year retention.
Free trialFree trial of Matomo Cloud with all core features, no credit card; length not statedNone listed
Web
Made byMatomoPostHog
Price read frommatomo.orgposthog.com
CheckedOct 18, 2026Oct 18, 2026

Who each one suits

Matomo

  • Organizations that must keep analytics data on their own servers
  • Public sector and EU sites with strict privacy rules
  • Teams leaving Google Analytics that want similar depth

PostHog

  • Startups and developers who want many product tools under one bill
  • Teams that want to cap spend with a billing limit per product
  • Companies that prefer open-source software they can host themselves

Worth knowing

Matomo

  • Self-hosted premium bundles are priced in euros only; Cloud shows dollar prices to US visitors.
  • On your own server, heatmaps, session recordings, funnels and A/B testing are paid plugins or bundles, not part of the free edition.
  • Cloud Business caps you at 30 websites, 30 team members and 24 months of raw data; more needs Cloud Enterprise.
  • Self-hosting means you run the server, updates and backups yourself, with forum support only on the free edition.

PostHog

  • Usage is metered per product, so the monthly bill moves with traffic; billing limits can be set for each product to cap it.
  • SSO enforcement, a HIPAA BAA and unlimited projects need the $250-a-month Boost package on top of usage; SAML sign-in needs Scale at $750.
  • The free plan keeps recordings for 1 month and data for 1 year, allows 1 project, and drops events past its limits.
  • Self-hosted PostHog is officially unsupported and has no tagged releases; PostHog recommends always running the latest image.

Key features

Matomo

Full web analytics without sampling
Traffic, campaigns, ecommerce, events, site search, visitor maps and visitor profiles, with report data kept forever and no data sampling.
Data ownership and privacy
Data stays on your own servers or in Matomo Cloud in Frankfurt, with a GDPR manager and privacy options for what is collected.
Heatmaps and session recordings
Included in Cloud Business and, for self-hosters, in the Team bundle and above; also sold as a separate plugin.
A/B testing, funnels and forms
A/B tests, conversion funnels, user flows and form analytics come with Cloud Business; on your own server they are premium plugins or bundles.
Google Analytics importer and APIs
Imports historical Google Analytics data, and offers HTTP Analytics and Tracking APIs plus log file analytics.
Tag manager
A built-in tag manager (30 containers on Cloud Business) to add and manage tracking codes without editing the site.

PostHog

Product and web analytics
Funnels, trends, retention, user paths and a web analytics dashboard, built from events. The first 1M events a month are free.
Session replay
Recordings of real visits to see where people get stuck, linked to funnels and errors. 5,000 recordings a month are free; recordings are kept 90 days on pay-as-you-go.
Feature flags and experiments
Roll features out to chosen users and run A/B tests, billed together by flag requests, with 1M requests free each month.
Surveys
In-app surveys with 1,500 free responses a month, and white-labeled surveys on the Boost package.
Error tracking and logs
Captures exceptions (100K free a month) and ingests logs (10 GB free), so you can go from a replay to the error behind it.
Data warehouse and pipelines
Syncs data in from Stripe, HubSpot, Salesforce, Postgres and others, and sends events out to tools such as Braze and Klaviyo.

Plans

Matomo

  • Community (On-Premise)$0

    Free self-hosted edition you run yourself: unlimited users and hits, base features and community plugins, forum support.

  • Cloud Business$26

    per month for up to 50,000 hits, billed monthly

    Hosted in Germany: 30 sites, 30 users, 24 months of raw data, heatmaps, recordings, A/B tests, funnels. $42 a month at 100,000 hits, $204 at 1M.

  • Team (On-Premise)€230

    per month, billed annually (€275 billed monthly)

    Self-hosted plugin bundle for up to 4 users and 5M hits a month: heatmaps and recordings, funnels, custom reports, email support.

  • Business (On-Premise)€1,209

    per month, billed annually (€1,450 billed monthly)

    Up to 20 users and 30M hits a month. Adds cohorts, multi-channel attribution, roll-up reporting, activity log and white label.

  • Enterprise (On-Premise)€2,834

    per month, billed annually (€3,400 billed monthly)

    Up to 50 users and 100M hits a month, A/B testing, a customer success manager, onboarding and chat support.

  • Cloud EnterpriseCustom

    Sold through sales for larger sites: custom allowances and raw data retention, email support and a customer success manager.

PostHog

  • Free$0

    Full free allowance on every product, unlimited team members, 1 project, community support. Usage stops at the limits, so no surprise bill.

  • Pay-as-you-go$0

    plus usage above the monthly free allowance

    No base fee. Analytics from $0.00005 an event and replays from $0.005 a recording, cheaper at volume. 6 projects, 7-year data, email support.

  • Boost$250

    per month, plus usage

    Platform package: unlimited projects, SSO enforcement, 2FA enforcement, white labeling, HIPAA BAA and 12 months of replay retention.

  • Scale$750

    per month, plus usage

    Everything in Boost plus SAML and OIDC sign-in, approval workflows, real-time alerts and priority support with an 8-hour target.

  • EnterpriseCustom

    Sold through sales: role-based access, a dedicated account manager, training, and up to 5 years of replay retention.

  • Self-hosted (hobby deploy)$0

    MIT-licensed Docker Compose deployment you host yourself. Officially unsupported, with no paid support plan.

Ways to pay less

Matomo

  • Annual discount

    2 months free with annual billing

    Matomo Cloud billed annually costs 10 times the monthly price, a 17% saving; the self-hosted bundles are also about 17% cheaper billed annually.

  • Nonprofit

    Discount for eligible nonprofits

    Matomo says eligible nonprofit organizations and charities may receive a discount; they contact the team to learn more.

PostHog

  • Startups

    $50,000 in credits for early-stage startups

    Companies under 2 years old that have raised less than $5M get $50,000 of PostHog credit for 12 months, plus partner perks. A company email domain is required.

  • Nonprofit

    Discount for nonprofits

    PostHog says it gives nonprofits a discount in most cases: create an account, then contact sales with details of the organization.

More comparisons