Skip to content

Tim vs Timemator

Price, platforms and features side by side. The table says where each price was read and when.

Tim

Menu bar time tracker for Mac with reports and invoicing

Free plan · from $12.99/yr

Timemator

Automatic time tracking for Mac with a one-time license

Free trial · from $39 one-time

Where they differ

  • Tim starts at $12.99 per year, or $24.99 one-time (Pro, US Mac App Store). Timemator starts at $39 one-time for the Mac app; the iOS app is $7.99 one-time, sold separately.
  • Tim has a free plan. Timemator does not, though it has a free trial.
  • Only Timemator lists an iOS app.
  • Tim also covers invoicing and menu bar app.
In commonmacOSWorks offlineLocal-firstOne-time purchaseTime trackingReports

At a glance

TimTimemator
PricingFree planFree trial
Starts at$12.99 per year, or $24.99 one-time (Pro, US Mac App Store)$39 one-time for the Mac app; the iOS app is $7.99 one-time, sold separately
Free planFree version with most features, limited to 3 tasks and 6 tags. It has no automatic backups or data import and shows upgrade prompts and ads for the maker's other apps.None
Free trialNone listed30-day free trial with all features, on both the Mac and iOS apps
macOS
iOS
Made byNeat Software Co.Catforce Studio
Price read fromapps.apple.comtimemator.com
CheckedOct 6, 2026Oct 6, 2026

Who each one suits

Tim

  • Mac users who want a timer that lives in the menu bar
  • Freelancers who invoice clients from their tracked hours
  • People who want time data kept on their own Mac with no account

Timemator

  • Freelancers on a Mac who forget to start timers
  • People who prefer a one-time purchase to a subscription
  • Users who want tracked data kept on their own devices

Worth knowing

Tim

  • Tim is for Mac only, and the Mac App Store listing says the current version requires macOS 15 or later.
  • The free version stops at 3 tasks and 6 tags and shows upgrade prompts.
  • Data stays on the device it was recorded on; moving it to another Mac means importing a backup, which needs Pro.
  • The website does not state the price of the direct-download Pro version; the listed prices are from the US Mac App Store.

Timemator

  • The Mac and iOS apps are sold separately, at $39 and $7.99.
  • The Activity Timeline and Auto-tracking are marked Mac only; the iOS listing describes manual tracking of hours and tasks.
  • There is no Windows, Android or web version, and no team features; Windows and Teams editions appear on the roadmap.
  • A Mac license can be active on 2 computers at the same time.

Key features

Tim

Menu bar timer
The running time shows in the menu bar and the timer is controlled with keyboard shortcuts. Idle detection asks what to do with the time when you return.
Tasks, groups and tags
Tasks and their time records can be created and edited freely, grouped or tagged, and archived when they should stay on file but out of the main list and menu bar.
Charts and filters
Charts give a visual breakdown of hours, averages and revenue, and any view can be filtered by date range, by tag or by both.
Invoicing
Invoices are created from tracked time. Tim calculates totals from hourly rates, applies tax and payment terms, and exports a PDF to send to the client.
Exports and backups
Data exports to CSV, JSON, PDF or iCal, and a full export doubles as a backup. Pro adds automatic backups at a set interval and importing data on another Mac.
Automation
AppleScript, Shortcuts actions, Spotlight, deep links and x-callback-url can start and stop the timer and create tasks or records. A command-line export is possible through osascript.

Timemator

Activity Timeline
On the Mac, Timemator captures what you do during the day so you can go back, review it, and assign the time to projects in a few clicks.
Auto-tracking
Rules you define let the Mac app start and pause the timer by itself, for example when a given app or project file is open. You keep manual control.
Manual timer and sessions
A start and pause timer works alongside Auto-tracking, and sessions can be added or edited by hand on daily and weekly timelines.
Tasks, folders and hourly rates
Tasks are grouped in folders by project, client or both. Setting an hourly rate on a task makes Timemator calculate revenue for the tracked time.
Reports and export
Charts compare tracked time by day or month, and sessions can be filtered by date or task. Reports can be exported for clients, and data exports as CSV.
iCloud Sync and backups
Tasks, folders, sessions and Auto-tracking rules sync across devices through iCloud. Automatic backups can go to a custom location such as Dropbox.

Plans

Tim

  • Free$0

    Most of Tim's features with up to 3 tasks and 6 tags, without automatic backups or data import.

  • Pro: Monthly$4.99

    per month, US Mac App Store in-app purchase

    Unlimited tasks and tags, automatic backups, importing and transferring data, and no ads or upgrade prompts.

  • Pro: Yearly$12.99

    per year, US Mac App Store in-app purchase

    The same Pro features paid once a year.

  • Pro: Lifetime$24.99

    one-time, US Mac App Store in-app purchase

    Pro as a single purchase. Pro is also sold as a direct download from the website, where the price appears at checkout.

Timemator

  • Timemator for iOS$7.99

    one-time in-app purchase (Full License)

    The iPhone, iPad and Apple Watch app. A free download with a 30-day trial; the Full License unlocks it for good.

  • Timemator for Mac$39

    one-time payment

    The Mac app with the Activity Timeline and Auto-tracking. Use forever, with activation on 2 computers.

Ways to pay less

Tim

  • Lifetime license

    Pro: Lifetime one-time purchase

    The US Mac App Store lists Pro: Lifetime at $24.99, a one-time alternative to the monthly and yearly subscriptions.

  • Annual discount

    Yearly Pro costs far less than monthly

    The US Mac App Store lists Pro at $12.99 a year against $4.99 a month. Twelve monthly payments come to $59.88, so the yearly plan costs about 78% less.

  • Education

    Student discount through Student App Centre

    Tim's help page says students can get a discount code from Student App Centre, which verifies student status. The amount is not stated.

Timemator

  • Lifetime license

    One-time purchase instead of a subscription

    Timemator for Mac is a one-time payment of $39 described as "use forever", and the iOS Full License is a one-time $7.99 in-app purchase.

  • Education

    Student discount

    The homepage links to a student discount on Timemator, offered through Student App Centre. The discount amount is not stated on the vendor's site.

More comparisons