Skip to content

Daily vs Tim

Price, platforms and features side by side. The table says where each price was read and when.

Daily

Mac time tracker that asks what you are working on

Free trial · from $39.99/yr

Tim

Menu bar time tracker for Mac with reports and invoicing

Free plan · from $12.99/yr

Where they differ

  • Daily starts at $39.99 per year or $7.99 per month; lifetime license $99.99. Tim starts at $12.99 per year, or $24.99 one-time (Pro, US Mac App Store).
  • Tim has a free plan. Daily does not, though it has a free trial.
  • Only Daily lists an iOS app.
  • Tim also covers invoicing and reports.
In commonmacOSOne-time purchaseTime trackingMenu bar app

At a glance

DailyTim
PricingFree trialFree plan
Starts at$39.99 per year or $7.99 per month; lifetime license $99.99$12.99 per year, or $24.99 one-time (Pro, US Mac App Store)
Free planNoneFree version with most features, limited to 3 tasks and 6 tags. It has no automatic backups or data import and shows upgrade prompts and ads for the maker's other apps.
Free trialFree trial license for new users; the length is not stated on the vendor's siteNone listed
macOS
iOS
Made byNiels MouthaanNeat Software Co.
Price read fromapps.apple.comapps.apple.com
CheckedOct 6, 2026Oct 6, 2026

Who each one suits

Daily

  • Mac users who forget to start and stop timers
  • Employees who report hours to an employer each week
  • People who want a lifetime license instead of a subscription

Tim

  • Mac users who want a timer that lives in the menu bar
  • Freelancers who invoice clients from their tracked hours
  • People who want time data kept on their own Mac with no account

Worth knowing

Daily

  • Tracking happens only on the Mac; the iOS app views and edits timesheets, and the FAQ says there is no Windows app.
  • A license is needed to track time. There is no free plan, and the length of the trial is not published.
  • Business licenses are priced in euros, excluding VAT, and each one is assigned to a single device.
  • The integrations page describes sending billable hours to an invoicing system; invoices are made in that other tool.

Tim

  • Tim is for Mac only, and the Mac App Store listing says the current version requires macOS 15 or later.
  • The free version stops at 3 tasks and 6 tags and shows upgrade prompts.
  • Data stays on the device it was recorded on; moving it to another Mac means importing a backup, which needs Pro.
  • The website does not state the price of the direct-download Pro version; the listed prices are from the US Mac App Store.

Key features

Daily

Asks instead of timing
Daily periodically asks what you are doing and logs the answer, so no timer has to be toggled when you switch tasks. The vendor says confirming your activity regularly also helps against procrastination.
Timesheets
Timesheets cover a day, week, month or year, broken down by category, project or customer, and show when work started and stopped. Time can be added or edited.
Scheduler and silent tracking
A scheduler sets when Daily tracks on each day of the week and accounts for overtime. An activity can also be applied silently for a set duration.
Activity management
Activities can be added, renamed, archived, merged and deleted, and grouped by category, client or project.
Export, API and automation
Data exports to CSV, JSON or PDF. A web API, an MCP connection for AI assistants, Zapier and AppleScript link Daily to other tools.
iOS companion app
The iOS app shows and edits timesheets when you are away from the Mac. It syncs through iCloud and is covered by an existing Daily license.

Tim

Menu bar timer
The running time shows in the menu bar and the timer is controlled with keyboard shortcuts. Idle detection asks what to do with the time when you return.
Tasks, groups and tags
Tasks and their time records can be created and edited freely, grouped or tagged, and archived when they should stay on file but out of the main list and menu bar.
Charts and filters
Charts give a visual breakdown of hours, averages and revenue, and any view can be filtered by date range, by tag or by both.
Invoicing
Invoices are created from tracked time. Tim calculates totals from hourly rates, applies tax and payment terms, and exports a PDF to send to the client.
Exports and backups
Data exports to CSV, JSON, PDF or iCal, and a full export doubles as a backup. Pro adds automatic backups at a set interval and importing data on another Mac.
Automation
AppleScript, Shortcuts actions, Spotlight, deep links and x-callback-url can start and stop the timer and create tasks or records. A command-line export is possible through osascript.

Plans

Daily

  • Monthly$7.99

    per month, in-app subscription

    A license for one person, bought in the app through the Mac App Store. Renews each month until canceled.

  • Quarterly$19.99

    per quarter, as labelled on the App Store listing

    Listed among the in-app purchases on the US App Store. The app description names only monthly, yearly and lifetime licenses.

  • Yearly$39.99

    per year, in-app subscription

    A license for one person, renewing each year until canceled. The iOS companion app is included with any license.

  • Lifetime$99.99

    one-time purchase

    A license bought once in the app, with no renewal.

  • Business license€39.99

    per license / year, excl. VAT (€7.99 per month)

    Licenses bought in bulk on the vendor's site with one payment method and VAT invoices, then handed out to employees by email.

Tim

  • Free$0

    Most of Tim's features with up to 3 tasks and 6 tags, without automatic backups or data import.

  • Pro: Monthly$4.99

    per month, US Mac App Store in-app purchase

    Unlimited tasks and tags, automatic backups, importing and transferring data, and no ads or upgrade prompts.

  • Pro: Yearly$12.99

    per year, US Mac App Store in-app purchase

    The same Pro features paid once a year.

  • Pro: Lifetime$24.99

    one-time, US Mac App Store in-app purchase

    Pro as a single purchase. Pro is also sold as a direct download from the website, where the price appears at checkout.

Ways to pay less

Daily

  • Annual discount

    Yearly license costs less than paying monthly

    The US App Store listing shows Yearly at $39.99 and Monthly at $7.99, so a year paid at once costs $39.99 against $95.88 for twelve monthly payments.

  • Lifetime license

    Lifetime license for $99.99

    The US App Store listing includes a Lifetime in-app purchase at $99.99, and the app description says a lifetime license can be obtained in the app.

Tim

  • Lifetime license

    Pro: Lifetime one-time purchase

    The US Mac App Store lists Pro: Lifetime at $24.99, a one-time alternative to the monthly and yearly subscriptions.

  • Annual discount

    Yearly Pro costs far less than monthly

    The US Mac App Store lists Pro at $12.99 a year against $4.99 a month. Twelve monthly payments come to $59.88, so the yearly plan costs about 78% less.

  • Education

    Student discount through Student App Centre

    Tim's help page says students can get a discount code from Student App Centre, which verifies student status. The amount is not stated.

More comparisons