The BILL Insider’s Guide
Everything we know about BILL in one document: what it costs, its grades, getting a refund, getting help and what else to look at. Read it here, or keep a copy.
BILL
The Insider’s Guide
Bill pay, invoicing and free company cards for small businesses

Every plan, grade, refund rule and rival among spend and bill pay tools, read from BILL’s own pages.
Made by BILL Operations, LLC · checked Oct 18, 2026 · toolgpa.com

Contents
- 01WelcomeWhat it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first
- 02What it costsEvery plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved
- 03What it doesIts main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it
- 04Where it standsIts grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own
- 05The alternativesThe tools it is most often weighed against, side by side
- 06Quick answersThe questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two
- 07About ToolGPAWho made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it
ToolGPA put this guide together from BILL’s own pages, its app-store listings and our grades. Every fact in it is on BILL’s page too, where it is kept up to date. Checked Oct 18, 2026.
Part 01 · Overview
Welcome
What it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first
2.6
GPA, above 3 of the 13 other spend and bill pay tools we grade
BILL is a financial operations platform for small and midsize businesses. Its accounts payable side collects supplier bills, routes them for approval and pays them by ACH, check, card or international transfer, and its receivables side sends invoices and takes payment. BILL Spend & Expense, run by Divvy Pay, adds corporate cards, budgets and receipt capture with no subscription fee.
To get you started, here are 9 things to know about BILL, taken from its own pages and our grades.
There are approval rules and an accounting link to set up first, but people clearly get on with it once that's done.
- 1
Best for bill pay with approvals and free company cards
BILL runs both sides of a small company's bills: supplier bills land in one inbox, get approved and go out by ACH, check or card, and invoices go the other way.
- 2
Paid plans start at $49 a month for each person
As its pricing page puts it: $49 per user / month for AP & AR, billing term not stated.
- 3
There is a free plan
BILL Spend & Expense: corporate cards, budgets, expense tracking and reimbursements with no subscription or per-user fee. Card and payment fees still apply.
- 4
It runs on 3 platforms
Web, iOS and Android.
- 5
Accounts payable
Bills arrive in one inbox, are routed through approval rules and are paid by ACH, check, virtual card or card, with W-9s collected by an agent.
- 6
Invoices and receivables
Send one-off or recurring invoices, chase them with automatic reminders, and get paid by ACH or card with auto-charge and auto-pay.
- 7
Spend & Expense with the Divvy Card
Corporate cards with budgets and spending rules. Receipts are captured by photo or text message and matched to transactions.
- 8
A 2.6 GPA, above 3 of 13
That is against the other spend and bill pay tools we grade, on value, the free plan, features, ease of use and platforms.
- 9
Keep it
To replace BILL you would be making money moved between bank accounts, which takes a licensed payments partner. That is not a weekend's work, with an AI app builder or without one.
BILL at a glance
- Pricing
- Free plan, from $49 per user / month for AP & AR, billing term not stated
- Free plan
- Yes
- Free trial
- Free trial of the AP & AR plans "in most cases"; length not stated
- Runs on
- Web, iOS, Android
- Made by
- BILL Operations, LLC, since 2006
- Category
- Spend & Bill Pay
- Our grade
- 2.6 GPA, good
- Store rating
- 4.9 on the App Store, 48,758 ratings
The report card
Best for bill pay with approvals and free company cards
BILL runs both sides of a small company's bills: supplier bills land in one inbox, get approved and go out by ACH, check or card, and invoices go the other way. Its Spend & Expense cards cost nothing. But bill pay itself is $49 a user a month plus $0.59 for every ACH payment, when several rivals send ACH for free.
| Subject | Grade | Comment |
|---|---|---|
| Value for money | D | Graded against its bill pay alternatives. A ten-person company paying 20 supplier bills by ACH pays $60.80 a month on Essentials: $49 for one user plus $11.80 in fees at $0.59 each. Nickel, Ramp and Brex send ACH free, and two-way QuickBooks or Xero sync needs Team at $65. |
| Free plan and trial | C | Spend & Expense is free: Divvy cards, budgets, receipts and reimbursements, though card and payment fees still apply. Bill pay and invoicing, the main job, need a paid plan, and the trial is offered in most cases with no length given. |
| Features | B | The whole job: a bills inbox with approval rules, payments by ACH, check or card, local-currency transfers to 130+ countries, invoices with auto-pay, Divvy cards with budgets, AI bill coding from Team and purchase orders on Corporate. |
| Ease of use | A | 4.86 from 48,758 App Store ratings, the top band. There are approval rules and an accounting link to set up first, but people clearly get on with it once that's done. |
| Platforms and integrations | B | Web, iPhone and Android, syncing with QuickBooks Online, Xero, NetSuite, Sage Intacct, Dynamics and Acumatica, with an API. No desktop app is listed, and Essentials swaps data with QuickBooks and Xero by CSV only. |
An A is worth 4 points, a B 3, a C 2, a D 1 and an F nothing. The GPA is the average of the five.
Who BILL is for
- Great if you pay lots of supplier bills by ACH or check and want them approved before money goes out
- Handy when you also want free company cards with budgets next to your bill pay
- Good for accounting firms running bill pay for several clients
Who it is not for
- Pricey if you're a small team, as every Essentials user pays $49 a month and each ACH payment $0.59
- Skip it if you want automatic QuickBooks or Xero sync without paying $65 a user for Team
- Tight if you pay bills by card often, since that costs 2.9% a payment
Good to know
Good for
- Small businesses that pay many supplier bills by ACH or check
- Accounting firms running bill pay for several clients
- Teams that want free company cards next to their bill pay
Worth knowing
- Payments carry fees on every plan: $0.59 per ACH payment, $1.99 per mailed check, $19.99 per USD wire abroad, and 2.9% to pay a bill by card.
- The Essentials plan exchanges data with QuickBooks and Xero only by CSV file; automatic two-way sync starts on Team, and NetSuite or Sage Intacct needs Enterprise.
- Spend & Expense is provided by Divvy Pay LLC, the Divvy Card is issued by its bank partners, and credit lines depend on approval.
- Every Essentials and Team user pays the full seat price; cheaper approver-only seats come with Corporate and Enterprise.
Part 02 · Pricing
What it costs
Every plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved
$49
A month to start, for each person. There is a free plan too
BILL has a free plan. Paid plans start at $49 per user / month for AP & AR, billing term not stated.
Graded against its bill pay alternatives.
Spend & Expense
$0
BILL Divvy Card, budgets, receipt capture, reimbursements and credit lines from $1,000 to $5M, subject to approval.
Essentials
$49
per user / month, billing term not stated
Bill entry and approvals, payments by ACH, card or check, invoicing, W-9 collection. Syncs with accounting software by CSV only.
Team
$65
per user / month, billing term not stated
Adds automatic two-way sync with QuickBooks and Xero, AI bill coding, custom user roles and cash flow forecasting.
Corporate
$89
per user / month, billing term not stated
Adds custom approval policies, purchase orders and requests, cheaper approver-only users, single sign-on and multi-entity books.
Enterprise
Custom
Adds sync with NetSuite, Sage Intacct, Dynamics and QuickBooks Enterprise, 2- and 3-way matching, dual control and premium phone support.
The free plan
BILL Spend & Expense: corporate cards, budgets, expense tracking and reimbursements with no subscription or per-user fee. Card and payment fees still apply.
Trying it first
Free trial of the AP & AR plans "in most cases"; length not stated
Read from bill.com on Oct 18, 2026.
Part 03 · Features
What it does
Its main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it
3
Places it runs: Web, iOS and Android
Bill pay, invoicing and free company cards for small businesses. Here is what it does, as its own site describes it, and what it covers: public API, AI features, invoicing, expense tracking, bill pay, company cards.
Web, iPhone and Android, syncing with QuickBooks Online, Xero, NetSuite, Sage Intacct, Dynamics and Acumatica, with an API.
- Accounts payable
- Bills arrive in one inbox, are routed through approval rules and are paid by ACH, check, virtual card or card, with W-9s collected by an agent.
- Invoices and receivables
- Send one-off or recurring invoices, chase them with automatic reminders, and get paid by ACH or card with auto-charge and auto-pay.
- Spend & Expense with the Divvy Card
- Corporate cards with budgets and spending rules. Receipts are captured by photo or text message and matched to transactions.
- International payments
- Pay suppliers in more than 130 countries, in their local currency with no BILL fee beyond the exchange rate, or by USD wire.
- AI bill coding
- From the Team plan, the Invoice Coding Agent fills in line-by-line accounting codes on incoming bills.
- Procurement
- Purchase requests, purchase orders, tolerance rules and 2-way matching, included on Corporate and an add-on below it.
Where it runs
- Web
- iOS
- Android
What it works with
- QuickBooks Online
- Xero
- Oracle NetSuite
- Sage Intacct
- Microsoft Dynamics
- QuickBooks Enterprise
- Acumatica
- Rillet
BILL is made by BILL Operations, LLC, and has been around since 2006.
Part 04 · Standing
Where it stands
Its grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own
3/13
Other spend and bill pay tools it is graded above
BILL's GPA of 2.6 is higher than 3 of the 13 other spend and bill pay tools we grade, and level with 1.
It stands best on ease of use (A, above 8 of 13) and worst on value for money (D, above 0).
Its paid plans start at $49 a month for each person, against a middle price of $12 for the category: 11 of the 11 others that charge start lower.
On features, ease of use and platforms it scores 3.3 out of 4. Nothing scores higher for less, though at least one tool matches that score at a lower price.
Each grade against the category
Every bar is all 14 spend and bill pay tools we grade, cut by the letter each got. BILL’s own letter is outlined.
- DValue for moneyAbove 0 of 13
- CFree plan and trialAbove 2 of 13
- BFeaturesAbove 8 of 13
- AEase of useAbove 8 of 13
- BPlatforms and integrationsAbove 0 of 13
Price against what you get
Each dot is one of 13 spend and bill pay tools. Further left costs less; higher up scores better on features, ease of use and platforms. BILL is the marked dot.
What paid plans start at, a month (each step along is roughly double) →
Keep it, or make your own?
Whether this is something you could build for yourself with an AI app builder, and what you would give up.
Keep it
To replace BILL you would be making money moved between bank accounts, which takes a licensed payments partner. That is not a weekend's work, with an AI app builder or without one.
That makes this kind of software worth paying for, not this one in particular: 9 of the 13 other spend and bill pay tools grade higher. It costs $588 a year.
What you could make
- Invoicing and expense tracking: an app builder makes these well.
What you could not
- Money moved between bank accounts, which takes a licensed payments partner.
- Cards issued through a bank.
- A real app for iOS and Android. Something home-made would be a web page.
- It is priced for each person, which means accounts and billing for a team.
- It plugs into other products, QuickBooks Online, Xero and Oracle NetSuite among them, and has an API.
- AI features, unless you pay a model provider for each request yourself.
- The depth: we grade its features B, which means it covers the whole job.
What this rests on. BILL’s listing: what it does, where it runs, what it plugs into and what it costs. It is a judgement about the kind of software this is. We have not built a replacement for it, and making your own means looking after it too. How we decide, and every tool’s verdict.
Part 05 · Alternatives
The alternatives
The tools it is most often weighed against, side by side
Melio, Plooto, Ramp, Brex and Nickel
The 5 tools BILL is most often weighed against, with where each one differs from it.
- 2.8GPA
Melio
Free plan · from $20/mo
Bill pay and invoicing for small US businesses, with a free plan.
- BILL also covers company cards.
- 2.2GPA
Plooto
Free trial · from $9/mo
Bill pay and receivables for businesses in Canada and the US.
- BILL has a free plan. Plooto does not, though it has a free trial.
- Only BILL lists iOS and Android apps.
- BILL also covers expense tracking and company cards.
- 3.6GPA
Ramp
Free plan · from $15/mo
Corporate cards, expenses, travel and bill pay, with a free plan.
- Ramp also covers reports.
- 3.6GPA
Brex
Free plan · from $12/mo
Corporate cards, expenses, bill pay and travel for growing companies.
- BILL also covers invoicing.
- Brex also covers reports.
- 2.8GPA
Nickel
Free plan · from $35/mo
Free ACH invoicing and bill pay for US businesses.
- Only BILL lists iOS and Android apps.
- BILL also covers expense tracking and company cards.
Part 06 · Questions
Quick answers
The questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two
15
Questions, each answered in a line or two
The short version of everything above, for when you only need the answer. Each one is told in full in its part of the guide.
Is BILL free?
BILL has a free plan. BILL Spend & Expense: corporate cards, budgets, expense tracking and reimbursements with no subscription or per-user fee.
How much does BILL cost?
BILL lists 5 plans. Spend & Expense: $0.
What platforms does BILL work on?
BILL is available on Web, iOS and Android.
How is BILL rated?
BILL's iPhone and iPad app averages 4.9 out of 5 from 48,758 ratings on the App Store in the United States, as read on Oct 18, 2026.
Does BILL have a Windows app?
No Windows app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 18, 2026. BILL is listed for Web, iOS and Android.
Does BILL have a macOS app?
No macOS app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 18, 2026. BILL is listed for Web, iOS and Android.
Is BILL open source?
BILL is not described as open source on its own site, as read on Oct 18, 2026.
Does BILL have an API?
Yes. BILL offers a public API, according to its own site.
What does BILL integrate with?
BILL's listing names QuickBooks Online, Xero, Oracle NetSuite, Sage Intacct, Microsoft Dynamics, QuickBooks Enterprise, Acumatica and Rillet.
Does BILL have a free trial?
Yes. Free trial of the AP & AR plans "in most cases"; length not stated.
Who makes BILL?
BILL is made by BILL Operations, LLC. It dates from 2006.
What are the alternatives to BILL?
The closest alternatives to BILL in our directory are Melio, Plooto, Ramp, Brex and Nickel.
How does BILL compare with other spend and bill pay tools?
BILL's GPA of 2.6 is higher than 3 of the 13 other spend and bill pay tools we grade, and level with 1.
Is BILL good value for money?
ToolGPA grades BILL D for value for money. Its paid plans start at $49 a month for each person, against a middle price of $12 for the category: 11 of the 11 others that charge start lower.
Could I make my own version of BILL?
To replace BILL you would be making money moved between bank accounts, which takes a licensed payments partner.
Where this guide comes from
The prices, plans, platforms and features were read from BILL’s own pages on Oct 18, 2026, and the grades were given on Oct 18, 2026. Graded from this listing, whose facts were read from BILL's own pages on 18 October 2026, and its App Store rating. Not based on using the product, and shorter than our full reviews.
Every tool we list gets five grades, A to F, each with its reason, and a GPA that averages them. How each is decided is at toolgpa.com/grades. This guide is ToolGPA’s own work; it is not made, paid for or approved by BILL Operations, LLC. Prices change, so check bill.com before you buy.
Part 07 · About
About ToolGPA
Who made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it
2,068
Tools graded, in 57 categories
ToolGPA grades software the way a school report grades a pupil: five subjects, a letter for each with the reason written beside it, and a GPA that averages them. Prices, plans and platforms are read from each maker’s own pages and dated, so you always know how fresh a figure is.
ToolGPA is free to read. It may earn a commission from affiliate links and it works with sponsors, but anything paid for is labelled and no one can pay for a grade. Every tool on the site has a guide like this one, free to download and pass on. It all lives at toolgpa.com.
2,068
tools graded
57
categories
426
price changes on record
579
apps priced in 12 countries
What else is on toolgpa.com
- BILL, kept up to dateEverything in this guide, with prices and grades as they are todaytoolgpa.com/tools/bill
- How grades are givenThe rules behind every letter and every GPAtoolgpa.com/grades
- Value chartsWhat each tool costs against what it scores, for every categorytoolgpa.com/charts
- CompareAny two tools side by side, plan by plantoolgpa.com/compare
- Price changesEvery price rise and cut on record, each with its sourcetoolgpa.com/price-changes
- Prices by countryWhat apps cost on the App Store in 12 countriestoolgpa.com/prices-by-country
- Pay lessEvery public discount: yearly billing, students, nonprofitstoolgpa.com/save
- Keep or makeWhich tools are worth paying for, and which you could build yourselftoolgpa.com/keep-or-make
Scan for the live page
Prices and grades as they are today
Quoting this guide?
Please name ToolGPA and link to the live page, so readers can check the figures for themselves:
ToolGPA, "BILL: The Insider's Guide", checked Oct 18, 2026. https://toolgpa.com/tools/bill
Know someone choosing between spend and bill pay tools?
Send them this guide: toolgpa.com/tools/bill/guide
ToolGPA elsewhere: youtube.com/@toolgpa
See our other guides
The best-graded spend and bill pay tools after BILL, each with an Insider's Guide of its own.
- Spend & Bill Pay Insider's GuideEvery one of the 14 spend and bill pay tools we grade, compared
- Brex Insider's GuideCorporate cards, expenses, bill pay and travel for growing companies3.6 GPA
- Ramp Insider's GuideCorporate cards, expenses, travel and bill pay, with a free plan3.6 GPA
- Airwallex Insider's GuideMulti-currency business accounts, cards, bill pay and expenses3.2 GPA
Choosing software? Every tool graded, every price dated.
Compare tools at toolgpa.com ›Everything in this guide is ToolGPA’s own summary of what BILL’s pages, its app-store listings and public reviews said on the dates shown. Grades are our judgement under the rules at toolgpa.com/grades. ToolGPA uses affiliate links and may earn a commission from them, and it works with sponsors; anything paid for is labelled, and no one can pay for a grade. BILL is a trademark of its owner, and this guide is not made, paid for or approved by BILL Operations, LLC. Prices and plans change: check bill.com before you buy.




