The CrankWheel Insider’s Guide
Everything we know about CrankWheel in one document: what it costs, its grades, getting a refund, getting help and what else to look at. Read it here, or keep a copy.
CrankWheel
The Insider’s Guide
Screen sharing for sales calls that opens in the viewer's browser
Every plan, grade, refund rule and rival among remote desktop apps, read from CrankWheel’s own pages.
Made by CrankWheel ehf. · checked Oct 18, 2026 · toolgpa.com
Contents
- 01WelcomeWhat it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first
- 02What it costsEvery plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved
- 03What it doesIts main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it
- 04Where it standsIts grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own
- 05The alternativesThe tools it is most often weighed against, side by side
- 06Quick answersThe questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two
- 07About ToolGPAWho made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it
ToolGPA put this guide together from CrankWheel’s own pages, its app-store listings and our grades. Every fact in it is on CrankWheel’s page too, where it is kept up to date. Checked Oct 18, 2026.
Part 01 · Overview
Welcome
What it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first
2.4
GPA, above 4 of the 15 other remote desktop apps we grade
CrankWheel is screen sharing for salespeople and agents who sell over the phone: the prospect gets a link by text or email and sees the presenter's screen in a browser, with nothing to install. It is not a tool for controlling other people's computers; its remote control works the other way, letting a single viewer use the presenter's screen to fill in a form. It also records screencasts and sends tracked sales videos.
To get you started, here are 9 things to know about CrankWheel, taken from its own pages and our grades.
The prospect taps a link and sees your screen in a browser, with no install and no sign-up, which is the whole point.
- 1
Best for showing your screen on a sales call
It isn't remote access in the usual sense, as it can't reach anyone else's computer.
- 2
Paid plans start at $29 a month
As its pricing page puts it: $29 per month (Solo, one user).
- 3
There is a free plan
1 user, 15 meetings a month, 3 viewers per meeting and 1 week of cloud recording retention. Remote control, Projector and Instant Demos work; branding options do not.
- 4
It runs on Web
Web, with a browser extension too.
- 5
No-download screen sharing
Share the full screen, a window or a browser tab; viewers open a link on any device, phone included, and need no install or sign-up.
- 6
Remote control for the viewer
In a one-to-one session the presenter can hand a viewer control of part or all of the screen, for example to fill in a form. Presenters need Windows or macOS.
- 7
Recordings and sales videos
Record meetings or screencasts and send them as links or by email with an animated preview, then track who played them.
- 8
A 2.4 GPA, above 4 of 15
That is against the other remote desktop apps we grade, on value, the free plan, features, ease of use and platforms.
- 9
Keep it
To replace CrankWheel you would be making video calls. That is not a weekend's work, with an AI app builder or without one.
CrankWheel at a glance
- Pricing
- Free plan, from $29 per month (Solo, one user)
- Free plan
- Yes
- Free trial
- Free trial of the Solo plan, no credit card required; length not stated
- Runs on
- Web, Browser extension
- Made by
- CrankWheel ehf.
- Category
- Remote Desktop
- Our grade
- 2.4 GPA, fair
The report card
Best for showing your screen on a sales call
CrankWheel is screen sharing for people who sell over the phone: you text the prospect a link and they see your screen in their browser, with nothing to install. It isn't remote access in the usual sense, as it can't reach anyone else's computer. And Solo is $29 a month for one person, which is a lot for screen sharing.
| Subject | Grade | Comment |
|---|---|---|
| Value for money | C | Solo is $29 a month for one user, with 48% off if you pay for 12 months at once. Against its listed rivals for showing a screen, Zoom's and Loom's paid plans cost less on monthly billing, and the yearly discount roughly closes that gap. Teams share 100 meetings for $99 a month. |
| Free plan and trial | C | A free plan you'll outgrow fast: 1 user, 15 meetings a month and 3 viewers per meeting, with recordings kept a week. Someone on sales calls all day will use up 15 meetings in a few days. Solo has a free trial with no card. |
| Features | C | It does sales screen sharing fully: viewing with no download on any phone, recordings with tracked plays, Instant Demos callbacks and CRM connectors. But it's a smaller job than this category's. It can't reach anyone else's computer, and handing over control works for one viewer from Windows or Mac. |
| Ease of use | B | No App Store rating on record. The prospect taps a link and sees your screen in a browser, with no install and no sign-up, which is the whole point. Your side runs in the browser with an extension. |
| Platforms and integrations | B | It runs in the browser with an extension, and viewers can join from any device, phone included. It connects to Salesforce, HubSpot, Zoho CRM, HighLevel and Zapier, but there's no desktop app, so B is its ceiling. |
An A is worth 4 points, a B 3, a C 2, a D 1 and an F nothing. The GPA is the average of the five.
Who CrankWheel is for
- Great if you sell over the phone and want the customer to see your screen in seconds
- Handy when your buyers aren't technical and won't install anything
- Good for teams that log every demo back to Salesforce or HubSpot
Who it is not for
- Skip it if you need to get into a customer's computer to fix something, as it can't
- Pricey if you just want the odd bit of screen sharing, since Solo is $29 a month
- Tight if you stay on the free plan, with 15 meetings a month and 3 viewers each
Good to know
Good for
- Telesales and inside sales teams who show prospects a screen during a phone call
- Insurance, mortgage and home services agents selling to less technical customers
- Teams that want inbound website leads called back by a free agent at once
Worth knowing
- It shares the presenter's own screen; it does not give you access to a customer's computer for support.
- Team plans are priced by meetings a month shared across the team, counted for any session with a viewer of 40 seconds or more.
- Removing CrankWheel branding is an add-on on Team and included only on Enterprise; single sign-on is Enterprise only.
- Handing remote control to a viewer works only for presenters on Windows or macOS, and only with one viewer at a time.
Part 02 · Pricing
What it costs
Every plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved
$29
A month to start. There is a free plan too
CrankWheel has a free plan. Paid plans start at $29 per month (Solo, one user).
Free
$0
What an account reverts to after the trial or a cancellation: 1 user, 15 meetings a month, 3 viewers per meeting, no branding.
Solo
$29
per month for one user
One named user with unlimited meetings, up to 30 viewers, video meetings of up to 10 people and 6 months of recording retention.
Team 100
$99
per month for up to 100 meetings
Unlimited users sharing 100 meetings a month; plans stack, so 200 meetings cost $194 a month and 1,000 cost $882. Up to 100 viewers.
Team 100 (Busy User discount)
$59
per month for up to 100 meetings
For up to 3 users sharing 100 meetings a month; each stacked plan adds 3 users and 100 meetings, e.g. $117 for 6 users and 200 meetings.
Enterprise
Custom
Usage and features set per organization, including corporate single sign-on, an audit log, an SLA and dedicated training.
The free plan
1 user, 15 meetings a month, 3 viewers per meeting and 1 week of cloud recording retention. Remote control, Projector and Instant Demos work; branding options do not.
Trying it first
Free trial of the Solo plan, no credit card required; length not stated
Read from crankwheel.com on Oct 18, 2026.
Ways to pay less
Annual discount
48% off Solo when paying 12 months at a time
The pricing FAQ offers Solo users a 48% loyalty discount for paying for 12 months at once.
Stated on crankwheel.comOther savings
Busy User discount of up to 40% on Team
Teams with 3 or fewer user licences per stacked Team plan can buy the Busy User version, $59 a month instead of $99 for 100 meetings.
Stated on crankwheel.comEducation
Special pricing for educational institutions
CrankWheel says it offers special pricing and benefits to educational institutions, arranged by emailing its sales team.
Stated on crankwheel.com
Part 03 · Features
What it does
Its main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it
2
Places it runs: Web and Browser extension
Screen sharing for sales calls that opens in the viewer's browser. Here is what it does, as its own site describes it, and what it covers: public API, screen recording, video calls.
But it's a smaller job than this category's.
- No-download screen sharing
- Share the full screen, a window or a browser tab; viewers open a link on any device, phone included, and need no install or sign-up.
- Remote control for the viewer
- In a one-to-one session the presenter can hand a viewer control of part or all of the screen, for example to fill in a form. Presenters need Windows or macOS.
- Recordings and sales videos
- Record meetings or screencasts and send them as links or by email with an animated preview, then track who played them.
- Instant Demos
- A lead capture widget for your website that looks for an available agent to call the prospect back straight away, with leads passed on to your CRM.
- Video meetings
- Schedule web conferences with microphone and webcam: up to 10 participants on Solo, 25 on Team and 50 on Enterprise.
- CRM connectors
- Start sessions from a contact in Salesforce, HubSpot, Zoho CRM, HighLevel and other CRMs and write meeting details and recording links back.
Where it runs
- Web
- Browser extension
What it works with
- Salesforce
- HubSpot
- Zoho CRM
- HighLevel
- Less Annoying CRM
- Insites
- Zapier
CrankWheel is made by CrankWheel ehf.
Part 04 · Standing
Where it stands
Its grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own
4/15
Other remote desktop apps it is graded above
CrankWheel's GPA of 2.4 is higher than 4 of the 15 other remote desktop apps we grade, and level with 2.
It stands best on ease of use (B, above 5 of 15) and worst on free plan and trial (C, above 0).
Its paid plans start at $29 a month, against a middle price of $10 for the category: 8 of the 10 others that charge start lower.
On features, ease of use and platforms it scores 2.7 out of 4. 3 tools score higher and cost less.
Each grade against the category
Every bar is all 16 remote desktop apps we grade, cut by the letter each got. CrankWheel’s own letter is outlined.
- CValue for moneyAbove 2 of 15
- CFree plan and trialAbove 0 of 15
- CFeaturesAbove 0 of 15
- BEase of useAbove 5 of 15
- BPlatforms and integrationsAbove 0 of 15
Price against what you get
Each dot is one of 12 remote desktop apps. Further left costs less; higher up scores better on features, ease of use and platforms. CrankWheel is the marked dot.
What paid plans start at, a month (each step along is roughly double) →
Keep it, or make your own?
Whether this is something you could build for yourself with an AI app builder, and what you would give up.
Keep it
To replace CrankWheel you would be making video calls. That is not a weekend's work, with an AI app builder or without one.
That makes this kind of software worth paying for, not this one in particular: 9 of the 15 other remote desktop apps grade higher. It costs $348 a year.
What you could not
- Video calls.
- Recording the screen with its sound, and somewhere to keep the video.
- It plugs into other products, Salesforce, HubSpot and Zoho CRM among them, and has an API.
- Hooks into the device itself: widgets.
- Sharing with other people, which means accounts and invitations.
What this rests on. CrankWheel’s listing: what it does, where it runs, what it plugs into and what it costs. It is a judgement about the kind of software this is. We have not built a replacement for it, and making your own means looking after it too. How we decide, and every tool’s verdict.
Part 05 · Alternatives
The alternatives
The tools it is most often weighed against, side by side
Getscreen.me, Zoho Assist, TeamViewer, Zoom and Loom
The 5 tools CrankWheel is most often weighed against, with where each one differs from it.
- 2.8GPA
Getscreen.me
Free plan · from $4.17/mo
Browser-based remote access for IT teams, with a free two-device plan.
- Only Getscreen.me lists Windows, macOS, Linux and Android apps.
- Getscreen.me is self-hostable, according to its own site.
- Getscreen.me can be bought with a one-time purchase.
- 3.0GPA
Zoho Assist
Free plan · from $10/mo
Remote support and unattended access for help desks and IT teams.
- Only CrankWheel lists a browser extension.
- Only Zoho Assist lists Windows, macOS, Linux, iOS and Android apps.
- CrankWheel also covers screen recording and video calls.
- 2.6GPA
TeamViewer
Free plan · from $619.99/yr
Remote access and IT support, free for personal use only.
- Only CrankWheel lists a browser extension.
- Only TeamViewer lists Windows, macOS, Linux, iOS and Android apps.
- TeamViewer is end-to-end encrypted, according to its own site.
- 2.6GPA
Zoom
Free plan · from $14.16/mo
Video meetings bundled with team chat, phone and AI notes.
- Only Zoom lists macOS, Windows, Linux, iOS and Android apps.
- CrankWheel also covers screen recording.
- Zoom also covers meeting notes, whiteboard, booking links and team chat.
- 2.8GPA
Loom
Free plan · from $18/mo
Screen and camera recorder for shareable video messages.
- Only CrankWheel lists a web app.
- Only Loom lists macOS, Windows, iOS and Android apps.
- CrankWheel also covers video calls.
Part 06 · Questions
Quick answers
The questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two
16
Questions, each answered in a line or two
The short version of everything above, for when you only need the answer. Each one is told in full in its part of the guide.
Is CrankWheel free?
CrankWheel has a free plan. 1 user, 15 meetings a month, 3 viewers per meeting and 1 week of cloud recording retention.
How much does CrankWheel cost?
CrankWheel lists 5 plans. Free: $0.
What platforms does CrankWheel work on?
CrankWheel is available on Web. It also has a browser extension.
Does CrankWheel offer any discounts?
CrankWheel publicly lists the following: 48% off Solo when paying 12 months at a time; Busy User discount of up to 40% on Team; Special pricing for educational institutions.
Does CrankWheel have an Android app?
No Android app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 18, 2026. CrankWheel is listed for Web.
Does CrankWheel have an iPhone app?
No iPhone app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 18, 2026. CrankWheel is listed for Web.
Is CrankWheel open source?
CrankWheel is not described as open source on its own site, as read on Oct 18, 2026.
Does CrankWheel have an API?
Yes. CrankWheel offers a public API, according to its own site.
What does CrankWheel integrate with?
CrankWheel's listing names Salesforce, HubSpot, Zoho CRM, HighLevel, Less Annoying CRM, Insites and Zapier.
Does CrankWheel have a student discount?
Special pricing for educational institutions. CrankWheel says it offers special pricing and benefits to educational institutions, arranged by emailing its sales team.
Does CrankWheel have a free trial?
Yes. Free trial of the Solo plan, no credit card required; length not stated.
Who makes CrankWheel?
CrankWheel is made by CrankWheel ehf.
What are the alternatives to CrankWheel?
The closest alternatives to CrankWheel in our directory are Getscreen.me, Zoho Assist, TeamViewer, Zoom and Loom.
How does CrankWheel compare with other remote desktop apps?
CrankWheel's GPA of 2.4 is higher than 4 of the 15 other remote desktop apps we grade, and level with 2.
Is CrankWheel good value for money?
ToolGPA grades CrankWheel C for value for money. Its paid plans start at $29 a month, against a middle price of $10 for the category: 8 of the 10 others that charge start lower.
Could I make my own version of CrankWheel?
To replace CrankWheel you would be making video calls. That is not a weekend's work, with an AI app builder or without one.
Where this guide comes from
The prices, plans, platforms and features were read from CrankWheel’s own pages on Oct 18, 2026, and the grades were given on Oct 18, 2026. Graded from this listing, whose facts were read from CrankWheel's own pages on 18 October 2026. Not based on using the product, and shorter than our full reviews.
Every tool we list gets five grades, A to F, each with its reason, and a GPA that averages them. How each is decided is at toolgpa.com/grades. This guide is ToolGPA’s own work; it is not made, paid for or approved by CrankWheel ehf. Prices change, so check crankwheel.com before you buy.
Part 07 · About
About ToolGPA
Who made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it
2,281
Tools graded, in 73 categories
ToolGPA grades software the way a school report grades a pupil: five subjects, a letter for each with the reason written beside it, and a GPA that averages them. Prices, plans and platforms are read from each maker’s own pages and dated, so you always know how fresh a figure is.
ToolGPA is free to read. It may earn a commission from affiliate links and it works with sponsors, but anything paid for is labelled and no one can pay for a grade. Every tool on the site has a guide like this one, free to download and pass on. It all lives at toolgpa.com.
2,281
tools graded
73
categories
426
price changes on record
579
apps priced in 12 countries
What else is on toolgpa.com
- CrankWheel, kept up to dateEverything in this guide, with prices and grades as they are todaytoolgpa.com/tools/crankwheel
- How grades are givenThe rules behind every letter and every GPAtoolgpa.com/grades
- Value chartsWhat each tool costs against what it scores, for every categorytoolgpa.com/charts
- CompareAny two tools side by side, plan by plantoolgpa.com/compare
- Price changesEvery price rise and cut on record, each with its sourcetoolgpa.com/price-changes
- Prices by countryWhat apps cost on the App Store in 12 countriestoolgpa.com/prices-by-country
- Pay lessEvery public discount: yearly billing, students, nonprofitstoolgpa.com/save
- Keep or makeWhich tools are worth paying for, and which you could build yourselftoolgpa.com/keep-or-make
Scan for the live page
Prices and grades as they are today
Quoting this guide?
Please name ToolGPA and link to the live page, so readers can check the figures for themselves:
ToolGPA, "CrankWheel: The Insider's Guide", checked Oct 18, 2026. https://toolgpa.com/tools/crankwheel
Know someone choosing between remote desktop apps?
Send them this guide: toolgpa.com/tools/crankwheel/guide
ToolGPA elsewhere: youtube.com/@toolgpa
See our other guides
The best-graded remote desktop apps after CrankWheel, each with an Insider's Guide of its own.
- Remote Desktop Insider's GuideEvery one of the 16 remote desktop apps we grade, compared
- Chrome Remote Desktop Insider's GuideGoogle's free remote access to your own computers from a browser3.2 GPA
- Jump Desktop Insider's GuideRemote desktop with one-time app licences and a per-user team plan3.2 GPA
- RustDesk Insider's GuideOpen-source remote desktop you can run on your own server3.0 GPA
Choosing software? Every tool graded, every price dated.
Compare tools at toolgpa.com ›Everything in this guide is ToolGPA’s own summary of what CrankWheel’s pages, its app-store listings and public reviews said on the dates shown. Grades are our judgement under the rules at toolgpa.com/grades. ToolGPA uses affiliate links and may earn a commission from them, and it works with sponsors; anything paid for is labelled, and no one can pay for a grade. CrankWheel is a trademark of its owner, and this guide is not made, paid for or approved by CrankWheel ehf. Prices and plans change: check crankwheel.com before you buy.






