The Grit Insider’s Guide
Everything we know about Grit in one document: what it costs, its grades, getting a refund, getting help and what else to look at. Read it here, or keep a copy.
Grit
The Insider’s Guide
Habit tracker for Apple devices with iCloud sync and statistics

Every plan, grade, refund rule and rival among habit trackers, read from Grit’s own pages.
Made by GrittyApps · checked Oct 6, 2026 · toolgpa.com

Contents
- 01WelcomeWhat it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first
- 02What it costsEvery plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved
- 03What it doesIts main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it
- 04Where it standsIts grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own
- 05The alternativesThe tools it is most often weighed against, side by side
- 06Quick answersThe questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two
- 07About ToolGPAWho made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it
ToolGPA put this guide together from Grit’s own pages, its app-store listings and our grades. Every fact in it is on Grit’s page too, where it is kept up to date. Checked Oct 6, 2026.
Part 01 · Overview
Welcome
What it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first
2.6
GPA, above 19 of the 43 other habit trackers we grade
Grit is a habit tracker from GrittyApps for iPhone, iPad, Mac, Apple Watch and Apple Vision. It tracks good habits, bad habits and to-dos against daily, weekly or monthly goals, with habit groups, skips, vacations and Apple Health data, and it syncs through the user's own iCloud. The free version covers up to 3 habits without the Statistics screen; Grit Premium is sold monthly, yearly or as a lifetime purchase.
To get you started, here are 9 things to know about Grit, taken from its own pages and our grades.
It syncs through your own iCloud, so there's no account to make and nothing to sign into on your other Apple devices.
- 1
Best for good and bad habits across your Apple devices
Grit is a habit tracker for Apple devices: good habits, bad habits and to-dos sync through your own iCloud to iPhone, iPad, Mac and Watch, and it rates 4.8 from about 16,000 ratings.
- 2
Paid plans start at $1.99 a month
As its pricing page puts it: $1.99 to $9.99 per month (US App Store in-app purchase list).
- 3
There is a free plan
Free for an unlimited time with up to 3 habits. The Statistics screen is not included, and statistics and customization options are limited.
- 4
It runs on 2 platforms
iOS and macOS.
- 5
Good, bad and to-do habits
Habits are measured against a goal per day, week or month. A bad habit counts as completed when the logged value stays below its goal at the end of the period.
- 6
Habit groups
Groups organize habits into sections that can be collapsed or expanded. A habit has a main group and can also be added to secondary groups so it appears in more than one.
- 7
Skips and vacations
A skipped habit keeps its streak and success rate, unlike a missed one. Vacations pause all habits or a chosen set between two dates and skip them automatically.
- 8
A 2.6 GPA, above 19 of 43
That is against the other habit trackers we grade, on value, the free plan, features, ease of use and platforms.
- 9
Your call
A habit tracker at its plainest is a list of habits, a tick for each day and a count of the streak.
Grit at a glance
- Pricing
- Free plan, from $1.99 to $9.99 per month (US App Store in-app purchase list)
- Free plan
- Yes
- Free trial
- The help center refers to a free trial of Premium; its length is not stated
- Runs on
- macOS, iOS
- Made by
- GrittyApps
- Category
- Habit Trackers
- Our grade
- 2.6 GPA, good
- Store rating
- 4.8 on the App Store, 15,976 ratings
The report card
Best for good and bad habits across your Apple devices
Grit is a habit tracker for Apple devices: good habits, bad habits and to-dos sync through your own iCloud to iPhone, iPad, Mac and Watch, and it rates 4.8 from about 16,000 ratings. But there's no Android or web version, it needs version 26 of Apple's systems and an M1 Mac, free stops at 3 habits with no Statistics screen, and the price is a guessing game.
| Subject | Grade | Comment |
|---|---|---|
| Value for money | C | The site publishes no prices at all, and the App Store lists several for each length: $1.99 to $9.99 a month, $12.99 to $29.99 a year, $19.99 to $44.99 once. The low end is under this category's typical prices, the high end is ordinary, and you won't know which you're offered until the app asks. |
| Free plan and trial | C | Free for as long as you like, but 3 habits, no Statistics screen and limited customization. Three is the wall most people meet in the first week, and the statistics are the part you'd want by week three. |
| Features | B | It covers the job: goals per day, week or month, bad habits counted as kept when you stay under a limit, habit groups a habit can belong to twice over, skips and date-range vacations that protect a streak, Apple Health as the source, a built-in timer, widgets and Shortcuts. |
| Ease of use | A | 4.8 on the App Store from about 16,000 ratings, which is the top of our ladder. It syncs through your own iCloud, so there's no account to make and nothing to sign into on your other Apple devices. |
| Platforms and integrations | C | Apple and nothing else: iPhone, iPad, Mac, Apple Watch and Vision, with no Android or web version. And it's recent Apple only, needing version 26 of Apple's systems and an M1 chip or later for the Mac app. |
An A is worth 4 points, a B 3, a C 2, a D 1 and an F nothing. The GPA is the average of the five.
Who Grit is for
- Fits if you're all Apple and want your habits on iPhone, iPad, Mac and Watch
- Works for cutting down on something, since bad habits are tracked against a limit
Who it is not for
- Skip it if you use Android, Windows or the web, because it's Apple devices only
- Tight if you stay free, with 3 habits, no Statistics screen and limited customization
- Not for you if your devices are older, as it needs version 26 of Apple's systems and an M1 Mac
- Watch out: the site shows no prices and the App Store lists several per plan, so the price in the app may differ
- Watch out: refunds go through Apple, the terms say sales are otherwise final, and the trial's length isn't stated
Good to know
Good for
- Apple users who want habits kept on their devices and in their own iCloud
- Tracking bad habits against a limit alongside good ones
- Buyers who prefer a lifetime purchase that works with Family Sharing
Worth knowing
- The free version stops at 3 habits and leaves out the Statistics screen.
- Apple devices only, and the App Store listing requires iOS, iPadOS, watchOS or macOS 26; the Mac app needs an Apple M1 chip or later.
- The vendor's site publishes no prices, and the US App Store lists several amounts for each plan length, so the price shown in the app may differ.
- Refunds are handled by Apple; the terms say sales are otherwise final.
Part 02 · Pricing
What it costs
Every plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved
$1.99
A month to start. There is a free plan too
Grit has a free plan. Paid plans start at $1.99 to $9.99 per month (US App Store in-app purchase list).
The low end is under this category's typical prices, the high end is ordinary, and you won't know which you're offered until the app asks.
Free
$0
Up to 3 habits for as long as you like, without the Statistics screen and with limited customization options.
Grit Premium (Monthly)
$1.99 to $9.99
per month
Unlimited habits, the Statistics screen and personalized reminders. The US App Store lists $1.99, $2.99 and $9.99.
Grit Premium (Yearly)
$12.99 to $29.99
per year
The same Premium features on a yearly subscription. The US App Store lists $12.99 and $29.99, each twice.
Grit Premium (Lifetime)
$19.99 to $44.99
one-time purchase
The same Premium features for a single payment. The US App Store lists $19.99, $24.99 and $44.99.
The free plan
Free for an unlimited time with up to 3 habits. The Statistics screen is not included, and statistics and customization options are limited.
Trying it first
The help center refers to a free trial of Premium; its length is not stated
Read from apps.apple.com on Oct 6, 2026.
Ways to pay less
Lifetime license
Lifetime access as a one-time purchase
The help center says lifetime access is a one-time purchase, not a subscription, and supports Family Sharing. The US App Store lists it at $19.99, $24.99 and $44.99.
Stated on gritapp.net
What the app costs elsewhere
Each country’s App Store price for “Grit Premium (Yearly)”, against $29.99 in the United States, in dollars at the day’s rate. The four cheapest and the four dearest of 11.
| Country | Price there | In dollars | Against the US |
|---|---|---|---|
| Philippines | ₱ 699.00 | $11.13 | 63% less |
| Turkey | ₺599,99 | $12.20 | 59% less |
| Canada | $17.99 | $12.65 | 58% less |
| Indonesia | Rp 229ribu | $12.81 | 57% less |
| South Africa | R249.99 | $15.12 | 50% less |
| Mexico | $299.00 | $16.43 | 45% less |
| Germany | 14,99 € | $16.80 | 44% less |
| United Kingdom | £12.99 | $17.17 | 43% less |
Part 03 · Features
What it does
Its main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it
2
Places it runs: macOS and iOS
Habit tracker for Apple devices with iCloud sync and statistics. Here is what it does, as its own site describes it, and what it covers: local-first, one-time purchase, habit tracking, goals.
Apple and nothing else: iPhone, iPad, Mac, Apple Watch and Vision, with no Android or web version.
- Good, bad and to-do habits
- Habits are measured against a goal per day, week or month. A bad habit counts as completed when the logged value stays below its goal at the end of the period.
- Habit groups
- Groups organize habits into sections that can be collapsed or expanded. A habit has a main group and can also be added to secondary groups so it appears in more than one.
- Skips and vacations
- A skipped habit keeps its streak and success rate, unlike a missed one. Vacations pause all habits or a chosen set between two dates and skip them automatically.
- Statistics and achievements
- The Statistics screen, part of Premium, shows calendar, weekly and yearly overviews of each habit. Achievements unlock as streaks build.
- Apple Health and built-in timer
- Habits can take their progress from Apple Health data such as steps and sleep, and a built-in timer handles time-based habits.
- iCloud sync, widgets and reminders
- Data syncs through your own iCloud across iPhone, iPad, Mac and Apple Watch. Home Screen widgets, Siri Shortcuts and automatic or custom-time reminders are included.
Where it runs
- macOS
- iOS
What it works with
- Apple Health
- Siri Shortcuts
- iCloud
Grit is made by GrittyApps.
Part 04 · Standing
Where it stands
Its grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own
19/43
Other habit trackers it is graded above
Grit's GPA of 2.6 is higher than 19 of the 43 other habit trackers we grade, and level with 5.
It stands best on ease of use (A, above 28 of 43) and worst on free plan and trial (C, above 3).
Its paid plans start at $1.99 a month, against a middle price of $2.50 for the category: 10 of the 28 others that charge start lower.
On features, ease of use and platforms it scores 3.0 out of 4. Nothing scores higher for less, though at least one tool matches that score at a lower price.
Each grade against the category
Every bar is all 44 habit trackers we grade, cut by the letter each got. Grit’s own letter is outlined.
- CValue for moneyAbove 4 of 43
- CFree plan and trialAbove 3 of 43
- BFeaturesAbove 23 of 43
- AEase of useAbove 28 of 43
- CPlatforms and integrationsAbove 4 of 43
Price against what you get
Each dot is one of 32 habit trackers. Further left costs less; higher up scores better on features, ease of use and platforms. Grit is the marked dot.
What paid plans start at, a month (each step along is roughly double) →
Keep it, or make your own?
Whether this is something you could build for yourself with an AI app builder, and what you would give up.
Your call
A habit tracker at its plainest is a list of habits, a tick for each day and a count of the streak.
You could make the core of Grit for yourself: habit tracking and goals. What you would give up is listed below. Whether that is worth the price is your call. At $23.88 a year it costs less than the weekend it would take to replace, which is the argument for keeping it.
What you could make
- Habit tracking and goals: an app builder makes these well.
What you could not
- Apps for macOS and iOS that stay in step with each other.
- Hooks into the device itself: an Apple Watch app, widgets, Siri and Shortcuts.
- The depth: we grade its features B, which means it covers the whole job.
What this rests on. Grit’s listing: what it does, where it runs, what it plugs into and what it costs. It is a judgement about the kind of software this is. We have not built a replacement for it, and making your own means looking after it too. How we decide, and every tool’s verdict.
Part 05 · Alternatives
The alternatives
The tools it is most often weighed against, side by side
Streaks, HabitKit, Habitify, Strides and Productive - Habit Tracker
The 5 tools Grit is most often weighed against, with where each one differs from it.
- 2.4GPA
Streaks
From $5.99 one-time
Habit tracker for Apple devices built around daily streaks.
- Grit has a free plan. Streaks does not.
- Grit also covers goals.
- Streaks also covers tasks.
- 2.8GPA
HabitKit
Free plan · from $0.99/mo
Habit tracker that shows each habit as a grid of daily tiles.
- Only Grit lists a macOS app.
- Only HabitKit lists an Android app.
- 2.8GPA
Habitify
Free plan · from $29.99/yr
Cross-platform habit tracker with health-data sync and an API.
- Only Habitify lists a web app.
- Only Habitify lists an Android app.
- Grit can be bought with a one-time purchase.
- 2.6GPA
Strides
Free plan · from $4.99
Goal and habit tracker with four flexible tracker types.
- Only Strides lists an Android app.
- Grit can be bought with a one-time purchase.
- Strides also covers templates.
- 2.4GPA
Productive - Habit Tracker
Free plan · from $34.99/yr
Habit tracker with smart reminders, programs and challenges.
- Only Grit lists a macOS app.
- Only Productive - Habit Tracker lists an Android app.
- Grit can be bought with a one-time purchase.
Part 06 · Questions
Quick answers
The questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two
15
Questions, each answered in a line or two
The short version of everything above, for when you only need the answer. Each one is told in full in its part of the guide.
Is Grit free?
Grit has a free plan. Free for an unlimited time with up to 3 habits.
How much does Grit cost?
Grit lists 4 plans. Free: $0.
What platforms does Grit work on?
Grit is available on iOS and macOS.
Does Grit offer any discounts?
Grit publicly lists the following: Lifetime access as a one-time purchase.
How is Grit rated?
Grit's iPhone and iPad app averages 4.8 out of 5 from 15,976 ratings on the App Store in the United States, as read on Oct 6, 2026.
Does Grit have an Android app?
No Android app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 6, 2026. Grit is listed for iOS and macOS.
Does Grit have a Windows app?
No Windows app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 6, 2026. Grit is listed for iOS and macOS.
Is Grit open source?
Grit is not described as open source on its own site, as read on Oct 6, 2026.
What does Grit integrate with?
Grit's listing names Apple Health, Siri Shortcuts and iCloud. A listing names up to eight integrations, so it may connect to more.
Does Grit have a free trial?
Yes. The help center refers to a free trial of Premium; its length is not stated.
Who makes Grit?
Grit is made by GrittyApps.
What are the alternatives to Grit?
The closest alternatives to Grit in our directory are Streaks, HabitKit, Habitify, Strides and Productive - Habit Tracker.
How does Grit compare with other habit trackers?
Grit's GPA of 2.6 is higher than 19 of the 43 other habit trackers we grade, and level with 5.
Is Grit good value for money?
ToolGPA grades Grit C for value for money. Its paid plans start at $1.99 a month, against a middle price of $2.50 for the category: 10 of the 28 others that charge start lower.
Could I make my own version of Grit?
A habit tracker at its plainest is a list of habits, a tick for each day and a count of the streak.
Where this guide comes from
The prices, plans, platforms and features were read from Grit’s own pages on Oct 6, 2026, and the grades were given on Oct 10, 2026. Graded from this listing, whose facts were read from Grit's own pages on 6 October 2026, and its App Store rating. Also tested with a demo account on 2026-06-18.
Every tool we list gets five grades, A to F, each with its reason, and a GPA that averages them. How each is decided is at toolgpa.com/grades. This guide is ToolGPA’s own work; it is not made, paid for or approved by GrittyApps. Prices change, so check gritapp.net before you buy.
Part 07 · About
About ToolGPA
Who made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it
3,189
Tools graded, in 94 categories
ToolGPA grades software the way a school report grades a pupil: five subjects, a letter for each with the reason written beside it, and a GPA that averages them. Prices, plans and platforms are read from each maker’s own pages and dated, so you always know how fresh a figure is.
Every grade, review and ranking on ToolGPA is our own judgement. No company can pay for a grade or change one. Every tool on the site has a guide like this one, free to download and pass on. It all lives at toolgpa.com.
3,189
tools graded
94
categories
426
price changes on record
579
apps priced in 12 countries
What else is on toolgpa.com
- Grit, kept up to dateEverything in this guide, with prices and grades as they are todaytoolgpa.com/tools/grit
- How grades are givenThe rules behind every letter and every GPAtoolgpa.com/grades
- Value chartsWhat each tool costs against what it scores, for every categorytoolgpa.com/charts
- CompareAny two tools side by side, plan by plantoolgpa.com/compare
- Price changesEvery price rise and cut on record, each with its sourcetoolgpa.com/price-changes
- Prices by countryWhat apps cost on the App Store in 12 countriestoolgpa.com/prices-by-country
- Pay lessEvery public discount: yearly billing, students, nonprofitstoolgpa.com/save
- Keep or makeWhich tools are worth paying for, and which you could build yourselftoolgpa.com/keep-or-make
Scan for the live page
Prices and grades as they are today
Quoting this guide?
Please name ToolGPA and link to the live page, so readers can check the figures for themselves:
ToolGPA, "Grit: The Insider's Guide", checked Oct 6, 2026. https://toolgpa.com/tools/grit
Know someone choosing between habit trackers?
Send them this guide: toolgpa.com/tools/grit/guide
ToolGPA elsewhere: youtube.com/@toolgpa
See our other guides
The best-graded habit trackers after Grit, each with an Insider's Guide of its own.
- Habit Trackers Insider's GuideEvery one of the 44 habit trackers we grade, compared
- Finch Insider's GuideSelf-care app that ties daily goals to a virtual pet bird3.4 GPA
- Habitica Insider's GuideHabit and task tracker that works like a role-playing game3.4 GPA
- Disciplined Insider's GuideMinimal habit tracker built around daily streaks3.0 GPA
Choosing software? Every tool graded, every price dated.
Compare tools at toolgpa.com ›Everything in this guide is ToolGPA’s own summary of what Grit’s pages, its app-store listings and public reviews said on the dates shown. Grades are our judgement under the rules at toolgpa.com/grades. Every grade, review and ranking on ToolGPA is our own judgement. No company can pay for a grade or change one. Grit is a trademark of its owner, and this guide is not made, paid for or approved by GrittyApps. Prices and plans change: check gritapp.net before you buy.






