Grit vs Strides
Price, platforms and features side by side. The table says where each price was read and when.
Grit
Habit tracker for Apple devices with iCloud sync and statistics
Strides
Goal and habit tracker with four flexible tracker types
Where they differ
- Grit starts at $1.99 to $9.99 per month (US App Store in-app purchase list). Strides starts at $4.99 (lowest Strides Plus in-app purchase; billing basis not shown).
- Only Strides lists an Android app.
- Grit can be bought with a one-time purchase.
- Strides also covers templates.
At a glance
| Grit | Strides | |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | Free plan | Free plan |
| Starts at | $1.99 to $9.99 per month (US App Store in-app purchase list) | $4.99 (lowest Strides Plus in-app purchase; billing basis not shown) |
| Free plan | Free for an unlimited time with up to 3 habits. The Statistics screen is not included, and statistics and customization options are limited. | Free with no time limit for your top three goals and habits, with reminders and charts and without ads. |
| Free trial | The help center refers to a free trial of Premium; its length is not stated | Free trial of Strides Plus, offered on the App Store listing; its length is not shown |
| macOS | ||
| iOS | ||
| Android | ||
| Made by | GrittyApps | Goals LLC |
| Price read from | apps.apple.com | apps.apple.com |
| Checked | Oct 6, 2026 | Oct 9, 2026 |
Who each one suits
Grit
- Apple users who want habits kept on their devices and in their own iCloud
- Tracking bad habits against a limit alongside good ones
- Buyers who prefer a lifetime purchase that works with Family Sharing
Strides
- People who track numeric goals as well as yes-or-no habits
- Apple users who want trackers on iPhone, iPad, Mac and Apple Watch
- Anyone with only two or three goals, which fit the free plan
Worth knowing
Grit
- The free version stops at 3 habits and leaves out the Statistics screen.
- Apple devices only, and the App Store listing requires iOS, iPadOS, watchOS or macOS 26; the Mac app needs an Apple M1 chip or later.
- The vendor's site publishes no prices, and the US App Store lists several amounts for each plan length, so the price shown in the app may differ.
- Refunds are handled by Apple; the terms say sales are otherwise final.
Strides
- The free plan tracks three goals or habits; unlimited trackers, sync, backups, tags, export and the privacy lock need Strides Plus.
- The App Store lists Strides Plus purchases from $4.99 to $149.99 without saying which is monthly, annual or lifetime.
- Sharing progress with accountability partners requires iCloud and works on Apple devices only.
- The Android app is recent, showing 100+ downloads on Google Play, and no web or Windows version is listed.
Key features
Grit
- Good, bad and to-do habits
- Habits are measured against a goal per day, week or month. A bad habit counts as completed when the logged value stays below its goal at the end of the period.
- Habit groups
- Groups organize habits into sections that can be collapsed or expanded. A habit has a main group and can also be added to secondary groups so it appears in more than one.
- Skips and vacations
- A skipped habit keeps its streak and success rate, unlike a missed one. Vacations pause all habits or a chosen set between two dates and skip them automatically.
- Statistics and achievements
- The Statistics screen, part of Premium, shows calendar, weekly and yearly overviews of each habit. Achievements unlock as streaks build.
- Apple Health and built-in timer
- Habits can take their progress from Apple Health data such as steps and sleep, and a built-in timer handles time-based habits.
- iCloud sync, widgets and reminders
- Data syncs through your own iCloud across iPhone, iPad, Mac and Apple Watch. Home Screen widgets, Siri Shortcuts and automatic or custom-time reminders are included.
Strides
- Four tracker types
- Habit trackers log repeating actions, Target trackers aim for a number by a date, Average trackers follow a repeating number, and Project trackers break work into milestones.
- Templates and SMART goal setup
- Start from more than 150 tracker templates or set a SMART goal through a 3-step process, then adjust the defaults.
- Daily Goals view
- Filters all trackers down to the ones that need logging now, based on their repeat settings. Getting every tracker done earns a perfect day.
- Charts and progress reports
- Each tracker has progress bars with an on-track pace line, streaks, success rates, calendars and line charts. Reports summarize all trackers by week, month, year or all time.
- Reminders and bad-habit tracking
- Trackers can have as many reminders as you like on the days they are due, and a Bad Habit setting counts down against a limit instead of up to a goal.
- Accountability partners
- Invite other people to see progress on chosen goals or habits, or work on a goal together. This needs iCloud and works on Apple devices only.
Plans
Grit
Free$0
Up to 3 habits for as long as you like, without the Statistics screen and with limited customization options.
Grit Premium (Monthly)$1.99 to $9.99
per month
Unlimited habits, the Statistics screen and personalized reminders. The US App Store lists $1.99, $2.99 and $9.99.
Grit Premium (Yearly)$12.99 to $29.99
per year
The same Premium features on a yearly subscription. The US App Store lists $12.99 and $29.99, each twice.
Grit Premium (Lifetime)$19.99 to $44.99
one-time purchase
The same Premium features for a single payment. The US App Store lists $19.99, $24.99 and $44.99.
Strides
Free$0
Tracks up to three goals and habits with reminders and charts, with no time limit and no ads.
Strides Plus$4.99 to $149.99
monthly, annual or lifetime; the listing does not label them
Unlimited goals and habits, sync across devices, data backups, progress reports, tags and filters, archiving, data export, goal notes and a privacy lock.
Ways to pay less
Grit
- Lifetime license
Lifetime access as a one-time purchase
The help center says lifetime access is a one-time purchase, not a subscription, and supports Family Sharing. The US App Store lists it at $19.99, $24.99 and $44.99.
Strides
- Lifetime license
Lifetime plan as a one-time payment
The help center says Strides Plus can be bought with a one-time payment called the Lifetime plan instead of a monthly or annual subscription. It does not state the price.

