Grit vs Productive - Habit Tracker
We give Grit a 3.4 GPA and Productive - Habit Tracker a 3.2, out of 4.0. Grit grades higher on value for money. They get the same grade on the free plan, features, ease of use and platforms.
Price, platforms and features side by side. The table says where each price was read and when.
Grit
Habit tracker for Apple devices with iCloud sync and statistics
Productive - Habit Tracker
Habit tracker with smart reminders, programs and challenges
How we grade them
| 3.4GPAGritVery good | 3.2GPAProductive - Habit TrackerVery good | |
|---|---|---|
| Value for money | APremium comes monthly, yearly or as a one-time Lifetime purchase, listed on the US App Store at $19.99, $24.99 and $44.99. Even the dearest is less than a year of a typical habit app. The store shows several prices for each plan, so check which one the app offers you. | BPremium is $34.99 a year on Productive's website, which is $2.92 a month, or $6.99 monthly. That's the cheap end. But the US App Store lists other amounts: $10.99 for 1 month and from $19.99 to $79.99 for 1 year. So what you pay depends on where you buy. |
| Free plan and trial | BFree for as long as you like, with up to 3 habits. But the Statistics screen isn't included and customization is limited, so you're tracking without the charts. Three habits is tight. | BThere's a free version with reminders and streaks, but it limits your habits and shows ads, and the vendor's pages don't state the limit. The 7-day Premium trial on the website asks for a payment method at sign-up. |
| Features | AGood habits, bad habits kept under a limit, and to-dos, each against a daily, weekly or monthly goal. Add habit groups, skips and vacations that protect a streak, Apple Health data like steps and sleep, a built-in timer, widgets and achievements. | AHabits you can pause, stop and add notes to, a library of templates, reminders by time or location, and chains of completed habits and perfect days. Programs add daily tips and check-ins around a goal. Per-habit statistics and location reminders are Premium. |
| Ease of use | A4.8 from about 16,000 App Store ratings. Sync runs through your own iCloud, so your habits follow you from iPhone to Mac without anything extra to set up. | A4.6 from about 91,000 App Store ratings. A library of habit templates gives you starting points, so you can pick a first habit from a list. |
| Platforms and integrations | CiPhone, iPad, Mac, Apple Watch and Apple Vision, with Apple Health and Siri Shortcuts. All Apple, though. The App Store listing asks for iOS, iPadOS, watchOS or macOS 26, and the Mac app needs an M1 chip or later. | CiPhone, iPad, Apple Watch and Android. No desktop app is listed, and there are no integrations on record. |
| Best for | good and bad habits across your Apple devices | habits by time of day, with reminders |
The GPA is the average of the five grades: an A is 4 points, an F is none. The full reasons are on each tool's page: Grit and Productive - Habit Tracker. How we grade
Where they differ
- Grit starts at $1.99 to $9.99 per month (US App Store in-app purchase list). Productive - Habit Tracker starts at $34.99 per year ($2.92 per month), or $6.99 per month (website prices).
- Only Grit lists a macOS app.
- Only Productive - Habit Tracker lists an Android app.
- Grit can be bought with a one-time purchase.
At a glance
| Grit | Productive - Habit Tracker | |
|---|---|---|
| Pricing | Free plan | Free plan |
| Starts at | $1.99 to $9.99 per month (US App Store in-app purchase list) | $34.99 per year ($2.92 per month), or $6.99 per month (website prices) |
| Free plan | Free for an unlimited time with up to 3 habits. The Statistics screen is not included, and statistics and customization options are limited. | Free version with a limited number of habits and with ads. The vendor's pages do not state the habit limit. |
| Free trial | The help center refers to a free trial of Premium; its length is not stated | 7-day free trial of Productive Premium on the website; a payment method is entered at sign-up |
| macOS | ||
| iOS | ||
| Android | ||
| Made by | GrittyApps | Bending Spoons Operations S.p.A. |
| Price read from | apps.apple.com | productiveapp.io |
| Checked | Oct 6, 2026 | Oct 5, 2026 |
Who each one suits
Grit
- Apple users who want habits kept on their devices and in their own iCloud
- Tracking bad habits against a limit alongside good ones
- Buyers who prefer a lifetime purchase that works with Family Sharing
Productive - Habit Tracker
- People who want habits grouped by time of day with reminders
- Guided programs and challenges alongside a personal habit list
- iPhone users who also want their habits on an Apple Watch
Worth knowing
Grit
- The free version stops at 3 habits and leaves out the Statistics screen.
- Apple devices only, and the App Store listing requires iOS, iPadOS, watchOS or macOS 26; the Mac app needs an Apple M1 chip or later.
- The vendor's site publishes no prices, and the US App Store lists several amounts for each plan length, so the price shown in the app may differ.
- Refunds are handled by Apple; the terms say sales are otherwise final.
Productive - Habit Tracker
- App Store prices differ from the website: the US listing shows Premium at $10.99 for 1 month and from $19.99 to $79.99 for 1 year.
- The free version limits the number of habits and shows ads; the vendor's pages do not state the limit.
- Location-based reminders, per-habit statistics and full-text articles are Premium features.
- Apps are listed for iPhone, iPad, Apple Watch and Android only; no desktop app is listed.
Key features
Grit
- Good, bad and to-do habits
- Habits are measured against a goal per day, week or month. A bad habit counts as completed when the logged value stays below its goal at the end of the period.
- Habit groups
- Groups organize habits into sections that can be collapsed or expanded. A habit has a main group and can also be added to secondary groups so it appears in more than one.
- Skips and vacations
- A skipped habit keeps its streak and success rate, unlike a missed one. Vacations pause all habits or a chosen set between two dates and skip them automatically.
- Statistics and achievements
- The Statistics screen, part of Premium, shows calendar, weekly and yearly overviews of each habit. Achievements unlock as streaks build.
- Apple Health and built-in timer
- Habits can take their progress from Apple Health data such as steps and sleep, and a built-in timer handles time-based habits.
- iCloud sync, widgets and reminders
- Data syncs through your own iCloud across iPhone, iPad, Mac and Apple Watch. Home Screen widgets, Siri Shortcuts and automatic or custom-time reminders are included.
Productive - Habit Tracker
- Habit management
- Create, complete, pause or stop habits, add notes to them, and give each one its own name, icon and color. A library of habit templates offers starting points.
- Smart reminders
- Reminders can be tied to a time of day or to a location. Location-based reminders and improved reminders for individual habits are Premium features.
- Statistics and streaks
- Chains of completed habits and perfect days show consistency. Per-habit statistics and week-by-week trends are Premium features.
- Programs
- Choose a goal and receive daily habit tips, reflection check-ins and motivation prompts built around it.
- Challenges
- Guided challenges are completed alongside other users around the world. The website lists real-time challenges as part of Premium.
- Apple Watch app
- The App Store listing covers iPhone, iPad and Apple Watch, so habits can be checked off from the wrist.
Plans
Grit
Free$0
Up to 3 habits for as long as you like, without the Statistics screen and with limited customization options.
Grit Premium (Monthly)$1.99 to $9.99
per month
Unlimited habits, the Statistics screen and personalized reminders. The US App Store lists $1.99, $2.99 and $9.99.
Grit Premium (Yearly)$12.99 to $29.99
per year
The same Premium features on a yearly subscription. The US App Store lists $12.99 and $29.99, each twice.
Grit Premium (Lifetime)$19.99 to $44.99
one-time purchase
The same Premium features for a single payment. The US App Store lists $19.99, $24.99 and $44.99.
Productive - Habit Tracker
Free$0
Habit tracking with reminders and streaks for a limited number of habits, with ads. The limit is not stated.
Premium$34.99
per year ($2.92 per month), or $6.99 per month
Unlimited habits, real-time challenges, motivating statistics and no ads. These are website prices; the App Store lists different amounts.
Ways to pay less
Grit
- Lifetime license
Lifetime access as a one-time purchase
The help center says lifetime access is a one-time purchase, not a subscription, and supports Family Sharing. The US App Store lists it at $19.99, $24.99 and $44.99.
Productive - Habit Tracker
- Annual discount
Annual Plan costs about 58% less than monthly
The website lists the Monthly plan at $6.99 and the Annual Plan at $34.99 ($2.92 per month), about 58% less than 12 monthly payments ($83.88).
