Skip to content

Atoms

Official Atomic Habits app for building identity-based habits

Free plan · from $4.99/moHabit TrackersChecked Oct 5, 20264.8 on the App Store
Atoms, as pictured on atoms.jamesclear.com
How Atoms presents itself. Image from atoms.jamesclear.com.

What is Atoms?

Atoms is the official habit app for James Clear's book Atomic Habits, published by Atomic Development Inc. Each habit is written as a statement anchored in an identity and committed to a time and place, then logged by pressing and holding its atom. The app adds reminders, daily goals, habit stacks and a Focus Mode, and Pro adds daily lessons and other Mindset content from James Clear. It runs on iPhone, Apple Watch and Android.

Atoms has a free plan. Paid plans start at $4.99 per month, or $39.99 per year (US App Store in-app purchases). See every plan

Good for

  • Readers of Atomic Habits who want the book's four laws built into an app
  • People who prefer to start with a few small habits rather than a long list
  • iPhone users who want to log habits from an Apple Watch

Worth knowing

  • The web checkout's comparison table gives Free 1 habit and Pro 6 habits; no tier with unlimited habits is listed.
  • Mindset content and the daily lessons from James Clear are marked Pro-only in that table.
  • Apps are listed for iPhone, Apple Watch and Android only; the web site sells and manages subscriptions but is not a web app.
  • The length of the trial is not stated on the homepage, the support page or the store listings.

Key features

Guided habit creation
Each habit is a statement anchored in an identity and committed to a time and place. Suggestions are offered for every segment and can be replaced with your own wording.
Press-and-hold logging
A habit is logged by pressing and holding its atom until it fills, or with a + button in Compact View. Earlier days can be logged or undone from the habit's history.
Daily goals
A habit can carry a daily target counted in times or another unit such as steps, and it is logged automatically once the target is met.
Habit stacking and Focus Mode
Release notes describe habit stacks built from existing habits, and a Focus Mode that plays audio from a Spotify account or from the app's own music library.
Daily lessons and Mindset content
The Mindset tab holds articles and a daily lesson from James Clear; a new lesson appears only after the previous one is read. The web checkout lists both under Pro.
Reminders, widgets and Apple Watch
Reminders can fire at a habit's exact time or several times a day. The iOS app has interactive widgets, and an Apple Watch app logs habits away from the phone.

Atoms pricing

Starts at
$4.99 per month, or $39.99 per year (US App Store in-app purchases)
Free plan
1 habit, with atomic suggestions and an accountability partner, per the Free versus Pro table in the web checkout. Mindset content and daily lessons are not included.
Free trial
Trial with no subscription commitment; when it ends the account moves to the free tier. Its length is not stated.
Free$01 habit, with atomic suggestions and an accountability partner. No Mindset content or daily lessons.
Atoms Pro$4.99per month, or $39.99 per year6 habits, plus Mindset content and daily lessons from James Clear. Listed in the App Store as Atoms Pro Monthly and Atoms Pro Annual.

Read from apps.apple.com on Oct 5, 2026. Prices change, so confirm with Atoms before you buy.

Pricing in detail

Ways to pay less

  • Annual discountAnnual plan costs about 33% less than monthly

    The US App Store lists Atoms Pro Monthly at $4.99 and Atoms Pro Annual at $39.99, about 33% less than 12 monthly payments ($59.88).

    Stated on apps.apple.com
  • Other savings20% off Pro through the web checkout

    A banner on the Atoms homepage advertises 20% off a Pro subscription and links to the web checkout. It gives no end date, and the checkout shows prices only after sign-in.

    Stated on atoms.jamesclear.com

How people rate the Atoms app

4.8

out of 5 for the iPhone and iPad app

  1. 5 stars91%
  2. 4 stars5%
  3. 3 stars2%
  4. 2 stars<1%
  5. 1 star1%

10,715 ratings on the App Store in the United States, read Oct 5, 2026. It rates the app, not everything the product does. See the listing

Atoms reviews, and where to read more

Works with

Atoms alternatives

Common questions

Is Atoms free?

Atoms has a free plan. 1 habit, with atomic suggestions and an accountability partner, per the Free versus Pro table in the web checkout. Mindset content and daily lessons are not included. Paid plans start at $4.99 per month, or $39.99 per year (US App Store in-app purchases).

How much does Atoms cost?

Atoms lists 2 plans. Free: $0. Atoms Pro: $4.99 per month, or $39.99 per year. Prices were read from apps.apple.com on Oct 5, 2026.

What platforms does Atoms work on?

Atoms is available on iOS and Android.

Does Atoms offer any discounts?

Atoms publicly lists the following: Annual plan costs about 33% less than monthly; 20% off Pro through the web checkout.

How is Atoms rated?

Atoms's iPhone and iPad app averages 4.8 out of 5 from 10,715 ratings on the App Store in the United States, as read on Oct 5, 2026. That is the store's rating of the app, not a score from us.

Does Atoms have a Windows app?

No Windows app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 5, 2026. Atoms is listed for iOS and Android.

Does Atoms have a macOS app?

No macOS app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 5, 2026. Atoms is listed for iOS and Android.

Is Atoms open source?

Atoms is not described as open source on its own site, as read on Oct 5, 2026.

What does Atoms integrate with?

Atoms's listing names Spotify. A listing names up to eight integrations, so it may connect to more.

Does Atoms have a free trial?

Yes. Trial with no subscription commitment; when it ends the account moves to the free tier. Its length is not stated.

Who makes Atoms?

Atoms is made by Atomic Development Inc.

What are the alternatives to Atoms?

The closest alternatives to Atoms in our directory are Streaks, Fabulous, Productive - Habit Tracker, Habitify and HabitKit. Each one has a side-by-side comparison with Atoms.

Sources for this page

The prices, plans, platforms and features above were read from these pages on Oct 5, 2026. What people say is linked where it appears.