Skip to content

Atoms vs HabitKit

We give Atoms a 3.0 GPA and HabitKit a 3.2, out of 4.0. HabitKit grades higher on value for money. They get the same grade on the free plan, features, ease of use and platforms.

Price, platforms and features side by side. The table says where each price was read and when.

Atoms

Official Atomic Habits app for building identity-based habits

Free plan · from $4.99/mo

HabitKit

Habit tracker that shows each habit as a grid of daily tiles

Free plan · from $0.99/mo

How we grade them

3.0GPAAtomsVery good3.2GPAHabitKitVery good
Value for money
BPro is $4.99 a month or $39.99 a year, about 33% less, which is ordinary money for a habit app. It buys 6 habits plus James Clear's daily lessons and Mindset content. Six is the ceiling, mind: no plan with unlimited habits is listed.
APro comes by the month, by the year or once for life. The US App Store lists Lifetime at $14.99 and $29.99, and a year from $5.99 to $24.99. Every one of those is cheap for a habit app. The app shows which price applies to you.
Free plan and trial
BFree gets you 1 habit, with suggestions and an accountability partner. Just the one! There's a trial of Pro with no commitment that drops you back to free when it ends, though nobody says how long it runs.
BUp to four active habits with no time limit, with all three tracking types, notes, categories, quit habits and automatic daily backups. But it's one reminder per habit, and widgets, charts and export all need Pro. Four fills up fast.
Features
BGuided habit statements tied to an identity, a time and a place, daily goals counted in times or units like steps, habit stacks, a Focus Mode that plays from Spotify, reminders, widgets and an Apple Watch app. The gap is the cap: 6 habits at most, even on Pro.
BA year-long tile grid for every habit, tracked as a tick, a count or a measured amount, with streaks against daily, weekly or monthly goals. Seven iOS Shortcuts actions too. But there's no skip day or streak freeze, and nothing syncs between devices.
Ease of use
A4.8 from about 10,700 App Store ratings. The app suggests wording for every part of a habit, and logging is just pressing and holding its atom until it fills.
A4.8 from about 2,400 App Store ratings. There's no account to create and it works offline, so there's nothing standing between installing it and logging your first habit.
Platforms and integrations
CiPhone, Apple Watch and Android, with Spotify for Focus Mode. That's phones and a watch only. The website sells and manages subscriptions, but it isn't a web app.
CiPhone and Android only, with Siri and iOS Shortcuts on the iPhone side. The help center says there's no Apple Watch app, and no web or desktop version is listed. Your data stays on the one phone.
Best forreaders of Atomic Habits who want a few small habitsseeing a year of each habit as a grid of tiles

The GPA is the average of the five grades: an A is 4 points, an F is none. The full reasons are on each tool's page: Atoms and HabitKit. How we grade

Where they differ

  • Atoms starts at $4.99 per month, or $39.99 per year (US App Store in-app purchases). HabitKit starts at $0.99 to $4.99 per month (US App Store in-app purchase list).
  • HabitKit can be bought with a one-time purchase.
In commonFree planiOSAndroidHabit trackingGoals

At a glance

AtomsHabitKit
PricingFree planFree plan
Starts at$4.99 per month, or $39.99 per year (US App Store in-app purchases)$0.99 to $4.99 per month (US App Store in-app purchase list)
Free plan1 habit, with atomic suggestions and an accountability partner, per the Free versus Pro table in the web checkout. Mindset content and daily lessons are not included.Up to four active habits with no time limit: all three tracking types, one reminder per habit, a daily check-in, notes, categories, quit habits and automatic daily backups.
Free trialTrial with no subscription commitment; when it ends the account moves to the free tier. Its length is not stated.None listed
iOS
Android
Made byAtomic Development Inc.Sebastian Röhl
Price read fromapps.apple.comapps.apple.com
CheckedOct 5, 2026Oct 5, 2026

Who each one suits

Atoms

  • Readers of Atomic Habits who want the book's four laws built into an app
  • People who prefer to start with a few small habits rather than a long list
  • iPhone users who want to log habits from an Apple Watch

HabitKit

  • People who want to see a year of each habit at a glance
  • Users who want no account and their habit data kept on the phone
  • Buyers who would rather pay once than subscribe
  • Tracking up to four habits for free with no time limit

Worth knowing

Atoms

  • The web checkout's comparison table gives Free 1 habit and Pro 6 habits; no tier with unlimited habits is listed.
  • Mindset content and the daily lessons from James Clear are marked Pro-only in that table.
  • Apps are listed for iPhone, Apple Watch and Android only; the web site sells and manages subscriptions but is not a web app.
  • The length of the trial is not stated on the homepage, the support page or the store listings.

HabitKit

  • The free version stops at four active habits; widgets, charts, extra reminders, and export and import need Pro.
  • Nothing syncs between devices: moving to a new phone means exporting a file and importing it, and export and import are Pro features.
  • The US App Store lists several amounts for each Pro period, such as $0.99, $1.99 and $4.99 for one month; the app shows the price that applies.
  • Listed for iPhone and Android only. The help center says there is no Apple Watch app, and no web or desktop version is listed.

Key features

Atoms

Guided habit creation
Each habit is a statement anchored in an identity and committed to a time and place. Suggestions are offered for every segment and can be replaced with your own wording.
Press-and-hold logging
A habit is logged by pressing and holding its atom until it fills, or with a + button in Compact View. Earlier days can be logged or undone from the habit's history.
Daily goals
A habit can carry a daily target counted in times or another unit such as steps, and it is logged automatically once the target is met.
Habit stacking and Focus Mode
Release notes describe habit stacks built from existing habits, and a Focus Mode that plays audio from a Spotify account or from the app's own music library.
Daily lessons and Mindset content
The Mindset tab holds articles and a daily lesson from James Clear; a new lesson appears only after the previous one is read. The web checkout lists both under Pro.
Reminders, widgets and Apple Watch
Reminders can fire at a habit's exact time or several times a day. The iOS app has interactive widgets, and an Apple Watch app logs habits away from the phone.

HabitKit

Tile grid for every habit
Each habit gets a year-long grid with one tile per day and one column per week, and the dashboard offers three views for seeing all habits together.
Yes/No, Count and Measure tracking
A habit can be a daily tick, a whole-number count or a measured amount with a unit and up to three decimal places. Counts and amounts use a daily goal or, for quit habits, a stay-below limit.
Streaks and flexible goals
Streaks follow a daily, weekly or monthly goal, such as 3 times a week or 20 times a month, so planned days off are not misses. There is no streak freeze or skip day.
Home screen widgets
Widgets on iPhone and Android show habit grids and let you log a habit without opening the app. They are part of Pro; without it a widget shows a padlock.
Siri and iOS Shortcuts
Seven iOS Shortcuts actions log amounts and notes, edit past days, read progress or open a habit, and can be run with Siri or from automations.
On-device data and backups
Habit data stays on the phone with no account. The app keeps seven daily backups that are free to restore, and Pro adds export and import of one JSON file.

Plans

Atoms

  • Free$0

    1 habit, with atomic suggestions and an accountability partner. No Mindset content or daily lessons.

  • Atoms Pro$4.99

    per month, or $39.99 per year

    6 habits, plus Mindset content and daily lessons from James Clear. Listed in the App Store as Atoms Pro Monthly and Atoms Pro Annual.

HabitKit

  • Free$0

    Up to four active habits with no time limit, one reminder per habit, a daily check-in, notes, categories, quit habits and automatic daily backups.

  • HabitKit Pro (1 Month)$0.99 to $4.99

    per month

    Unlimited habits, widgets, charts, up to three reminders per habit, and export and import. The US App Store lists $0.99, $1.99 and $4.99.

  • HabitKit Pro (1 Year)$5.99 to $24.99

    per year

    The same Pro features on an annual subscription. The US App Store lists $5.99, $11.99 and $24.99.

  • HabitKit Pro (Lifetime)$14.99 to $29.99

    one-time purchase

    The same Pro features for a single payment. The US App Store lists $14.99 and $29.99, plus an unlabelled HabitKit Pro item at $59.99.

Ways to pay less

Atoms

  • Annual discount

    Annual plan costs about 33% less than monthly

    The US App Store lists Atoms Pro Monthly at $4.99 and Atoms Pro Annual at $39.99, about 33% less than 12 monthly payments ($59.88).

  • Other savings

    20% off Pro through the web checkout

    A banner on the Atoms homepage advertises 20% off a Pro subscription and links to the web checkout. It gives no end date, and the checkout shows prices only after sign-in.

HabitKit

  • Lifetime license

    Lifetime purchase instead of a subscription

    HabitKit Pro can be bought once as a Lifetime purchase with the same features as the subscriptions. The US App Store lists Lifetime at $14.99 and $29.99.

More comparisons