The Atoms Insider’s Guide
Everything we know about Atoms in one document: what it costs, its grades, getting a refund, getting help and what else to look at. Read it here, or keep a copy.
Atoms
The Insider’s Guide
Official Atomic Habits app for building identity-based habits

Every plan, grade, refund rule and rival among habit trackers, read from Atoms’s own pages.
Made by Atomic Development Inc. · checked Oct 5, 2026 · toolgpa.com

Contents
- 01WelcomeWhat it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first
- 02What it costsEvery plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved
- 03What it doesIts main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it
- 04Where it standsIts grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own
- 05The alternativesThe tools it is most often weighed against, side by side
- 06Quick answersThe questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two
- 07About ToolGPAWho made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it
ToolGPA put this guide together from Atoms’s own pages, its app-store listings and our grades. Every fact in it is on Atoms’s page too, where it is kept up to date. Checked Oct 5, 2026.
Part 01 · Overview
Welcome
What it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first
2.4
GPA, above 8 of the 43 other habit trackers we grade
Atoms is the official habit app for James Clear's book Atomic Habits, published by Atomic Development Inc. Each habit is written as a statement anchored in an identity and committed to a time and place, then logged by pressing and holding its atom. The app adds reminders, daily goals, habit stacks and a Focus Mode, and Pro adds daily lessons and other Mindset content from James Clear. It runs on iPhone, Apple Watch and Android.
To get you started, here are 9 things to know about Atoms, taken from its own pages and our grades.
The app suggests wording for every part of a habit, and logging is pressing and holding its atom until it fills.
- 1
Best for readers of Atomic Habits who want a few small habits
There's no web or desktop app, the trial length isn't stated, and anyone with a long habit list should look elsewhere.
- 2
Paid plans start at $3.33 a month when paid by the year
As its pricing page puts it: $4.99 per month, or $39.99 per year (US App Store in-app purchases).
- 3
There is a free plan
1 habit, with atomic suggestions and an accountability partner, per the Free versus Pro table in the web checkout. Mindset content and daily lessons are not included.
- 4
It runs on 2 platforms
iOS and Android.
- 5
Guided habit creation
Each habit is a statement anchored in an identity and committed to a time and place. Suggestions are offered for every segment and can be replaced with your own wording.
- 6
Press-and-hold logging
A habit is logged by pressing and holding its atom until it fills, or with a + button in Compact View. Earlier days can be logged or undone from the habit's history.
- 7
Daily goals
A habit can carry a daily target counted in times or another unit such as steps, and it is logged automatically once the target is met.
- 8
A 2.4 GPA, above 8 of 43
That is against the other habit trackers we grade, on value, the free plan, features, ease of use and platforms.
- 9
You could make this
A habit tracker at its plainest is a list of habits, a tick for each day and a count of the streak.
Atoms at a glance
- Pricing
- Free plan, from $4.99 per month, or $39.99 per year (US App Store in-app purchases)
- Free plan
- Yes
- Free trial
- Trial with no subscription commitment; when it ends the account moves to the free tier. Its length is not stated.
- Runs on
- iOS, Android
- Made by
- Atomic Development Inc.
- Category
- Habit Trackers
- Our grade
- 2.4 GPA, fair
- Store rating
- 4.8 on the App Store, 10,715 ratings
The report card
Best for readers of Atomic Habits who want a few small habits
Atoms is the official app for James Clear's Atomic Habits: you write each habit as who you want to be, pin it to a time and a place, and press and hold to log it. Free is 1 habit and Pro is 6, with no unlimited plan at any price, and the Mindset lessons are Pro only. There's no web or desktop app, the trial length isn't stated, and anyone with a long habit list should look elsewhere.
| Subject | Grade | Comment |
|---|---|---|
| Value for money | C | $4.99 a month, or $39.99 a year, which works out at the category's middle price of $3.33 a month. Ordinary money, then, except that the ceiling is 6 habits: no plan with unlimited habits is listed at any price. |
| Free plan and trial | C | The free plan is one habit. You'll hit that cap on day one. There's a trial of Pro with no commitment that drops you back to free when it ends, but nobody states how long it runs. |
| Features | C | Guided habit statements, daily goals, stacks, a Spotify-powered Focus Mode, reminders, widgets and a Watch app. The hole is the one the vendor's own comparison table shows: 6 habits is the maximum, Pro included. |
| Ease of use | A | 4.8 from about 10,700 App Store ratings, above the 4.7 from 1,000 that an A needs. The app suggests wording for every part of a habit, and logging is pressing and holding its atom until it fills. |
| Platforms and integrations | C | Phones and a watch, nothing else. iPhone, Apple Watch and Android, with Spotify wired in for Focus Mode. The website sells and manages subscriptions but isn't a web app. |
An A is worth 4 points, a B 3, a C 2, a D 1 and an F nothing. The GPA is the average of the five.
Who Atoms is for
- Fits if you've read Atomic Habits and want its four laws built into an app
- Works for iPhone owners keeping a few small habits who want to log them from an Apple Watch
Who it is not for
- Skip it if you track more than 6 habits, because even Pro stops there
- Tight if you stay free, as the free plan is a single habit with no Mindset content or daily lessons
- Not for you if you want to check in from a laptop, since there's no web or desktop app
- Watch out: the trial's length isn't stated on the homepage, the support page or the store listings
Good to know
Good for
- Readers of Atomic Habits who want the book's four laws built into an app
- People who prefer to start with a few small habits rather than a long list
- iPhone users who want to log habits from an Apple Watch
Worth knowing
- The web checkout's comparison table gives Free 1 habit and Pro 6 habits; no tier with unlimited habits is listed.
- Mindset content and the daily lessons from James Clear are marked Pro-only in that table.
- Apps are listed for iPhone, Apple Watch and Android only; the web site sells and manages subscriptions but is not a web app.
- The length of the trial is not stated on the homepage, the support page or the store listings.
Part 02 · Pricing
What it costs
Every plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved
$3.33
A month to start, paid by the year. There is a free plan too
Atoms has a free plan. Paid plans start at $4.99 per month, or $39.99 per year (US App Store in-app purchases).
There's a trial of Pro with no commitment that drops you back to free when it ends, but nobody states how long it runs.
Free
$0
1 habit, with atomic suggestions and an accountability partner. No Mindset content or daily lessons.
Atoms Pro
$4.99
per month, or $39.99 per year
6 habits, plus Mindset content and daily lessons from James Clear. Listed in the App Store as Atoms Pro Monthly and Atoms Pro Annual.
The free plan
1 habit, with atomic suggestions and an accountability partner, per the Free versus Pro table in the web checkout. Mindset content and daily lessons are not included.
Trying it first
Trial with no subscription commitment; when it ends the account moves to the free tier. Its length is not stated.
Read from apps.apple.com on Oct 5, 2026.
Ways to pay less
Annual discount
Annual plan costs about 33% less than monthly
The US App Store lists Atoms Pro Monthly at $4.99 and Atoms Pro Annual at $39.99, about 33% less than 12 monthly payments ($59.88).
Stated on apps.apple.comOther savings
20% off Pro through the web checkout
A banner on the Atoms homepage advertises 20% off a Pro subscription and links to the web checkout. It gives no end date, and the checkout shows prices only after sign-in.
Stated on atoms.jamesclear.com
What the app costs elsewhere
Each country’s App Store price for “Atoms Pro Monthly”, against $4.99 in the United States, in dollars at the day’s rate. The four cheapest and the four dearest of 11.
| Country | Price there | In dollars | Against the US |
|---|---|---|---|
| India | ₹ 199 | $2.06 | 59% less |
| Philippines | ₱ 249.00 | $3.96 | 21% less |
| Turkey | ₺199,99 | $4.07 | 18% less |
| Canada | $6.99 | $4.91 | about the same |
| Australia | $7.99 | $5.58 | 12% more |
| South Africa | R99.99 | $6.05 | 21% more |
| United Kingdom | £4.99 | $6.60 | 32% more |
| Germany | 5,99 € | $6.71 | 35% more |
Part 03 · Features
What it does
Its main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it
2
Places it runs: iOS and Android
Official Atomic Habits app for building identity-based habits. Here is what it does, as its own site describes it, and what it covers: habit tracking, goals.
Guided habit statements, daily goals, stacks, a Spotify-powered Focus Mode, reminders, widgets and a Watch app.
- Guided habit creation
- Each habit is a statement anchored in an identity and committed to a time and place. Suggestions are offered for every segment and can be replaced with your own wording.
- Press-and-hold logging
- A habit is logged by pressing and holding its atom until it fills, or with a + button in Compact View. Earlier days can be logged or undone from the habit's history.
- Daily goals
- A habit can carry a daily target counted in times or another unit such as steps, and it is logged automatically once the target is met.
- Habit stacking and Focus Mode
- Release notes describe habit stacks built from existing habits, and a Focus Mode that plays audio from a Spotify account or from the app's own music library.
- Daily lessons and Mindset content
- The Mindset tab holds articles and a daily lesson from James Clear; a new lesson appears only after the previous one is read. The web checkout lists both under Pro.
- Reminders, widgets and Apple Watch
- Reminders can fire at a habit's exact time or several times a day. The iOS app has interactive widgets, and an Apple Watch app logs habits away from the phone.
Where it runs
- iOS
- Android
What it works with
- Spotify
Atoms is made by Atomic Development Inc.
Part 04 · Standing
Where it stands
Its grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own
8/43
Other habit trackers it is graded above
Atoms's GPA of 2.4 is higher than 8 of the 43 other habit trackers we grade, and level with 10.
It stands best on ease of use (A, above 28 of 43) and worst on features (C, above 0).
Its paid plans start at $3.33 a month when paid by the year, against a middle price of $2.50 for the category: 17 of the 28 others that charge start lower.
On features, ease of use and platforms it scores 2.7 out of 4. 4 tools score higher and cost less.
Each grade against the category
Every bar is all 44 habit trackers we grade, cut by the letter each got. Atoms’s own letter is outlined.
- CValue for moneyAbove 4 of 43
- CFree plan and trialAbove 3 of 43
- CFeaturesAbove 0 of 43
- AEase of useAbove 28 of 43
- CPlatforms and integrationsAbove 4 of 43
Price against what you get
Each dot is one of 32 habit trackers. Further left costs less; higher up scores better on features, ease of use and platforms. Atoms is the marked dot.
What paid plans start at, a month (each step along is roughly double) →
Keep it, or make your own?
Whether this is something you could build for yourself with an AI app builder, and what you would give up.
You could make this
A habit tracker at its plainest is a list of habits, a tick for each day and a count of the streak.
What Atoms does at its core is habit tracking and goals, and that is the kind of thing an AI app builder makes well. You would give up 2 things, listed below, and little else. It costs $39.99 a year. An AI app builder starts at about $19 a month on our listings, and you only need it while you build.
What you could make
- Habit tracking and goals: an app builder makes these well.
What you could not
- A real app for iOS and Android. Something home-made would be a web page.
- Hooks into the device itself: an Apple Watch app and widgets.
What this rests on. Atoms’s listing: what it does, where it runs, what it plugs into and what it costs. It is a judgement about the kind of software this is. We have not built a replacement for it, and making your own means looking after it too. How we decide, and every tool’s verdict.
Part 05 · Alternatives
The alternatives
The tools it is most often weighed against, side by side
Streaks, Fabulous, Productive - Habit Tracker, Habitify and HabitKit
The 5 tools Atoms is most often weighed against, with where each one differs from it.
- 2.4GPA
Streaks
From $5.99 one-time
Habit tracker for Apple devices built around daily streaks.
- Atoms has a free plan. Streaks does not.
- Only Atoms lists an Android app.
- Only Streaks lists a macOS app.
- 2.4GPA
Fabulous
Free plan · from $16.99
Habit and routine coaching app built on guided Journeys.
- Fabulous also covers daily notes.
- 2.4GPA
Productive - Habit Tracker
Free plan · from $34.99/yr
Habit tracker with smart reminders, programs and challenges.
- 2.8GPA
Habitify
Free plan · from $29.99/yr
Cross-platform habit tracker with health-data sync and an API.
- Only Habitify lists a web app.
- Only Habitify lists a macOS app.
- Atoms also covers goals.
- 2.8GPA
HabitKit
Free plan · from $0.99/mo
Habit tracker that shows each habit as a grid of daily tiles.
- HabitKit can be bought with a one-time purchase.
Part 06 · Questions
Quick answers
The questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two
15
Questions, each answered in a line or two
The short version of everything above, for when you only need the answer. Each one is told in full in its part of the guide.
Is Atoms free?
Atoms has a free plan. 1 habit, with atomic suggestions and an accountability partner, per the Free versus Pro table in the web checkout.
How much does Atoms cost?
Atoms lists 2 plans. Free: $0.
What platforms does Atoms work on?
Atoms is available on iOS and Android.
Does Atoms offer any discounts?
Atoms publicly lists the following: Annual plan costs about 33% less than monthly; 20% off Pro through the web checkout.
How is Atoms rated?
Atoms's iPhone and iPad app averages 4.8 out of 5 from 10,715 ratings on the App Store in the United States, as read on Oct 5, 2026.
Does Atoms have a Windows app?
No Windows app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 5, 2026. Atoms is listed for iOS and Android.
Does Atoms have a macOS app?
No macOS app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 5, 2026. Atoms is listed for iOS and Android.
Is Atoms open source?
Atoms is not described as open source on its own site, as read on Oct 5, 2026.
What does Atoms integrate with?
Atoms's listing names Spotify. A listing names up to eight integrations, so it may connect to more.
Does Atoms have a free trial?
Yes. Trial with no subscription commitment; when it ends the account moves to the free tier.
Who makes Atoms?
Atoms is made by Atomic Development Inc.
What are the alternatives to Atoms?
The closest alternatives to Atoms in our directory are Streaks, Fabulous, Productive - Habit Tracker, Habitify and HabitKit.
How does Atoms compare with other habit trackers?
Atoms's GPA of 2.4 is higher than 8 of the 43 other habit trackers we grade, and level with 10.
Is Atoms good value for money?
ToolGPA grades Atoms C for value for money. Its paid plans start at $3.33 a month when paid by the year, against a middle price of $2.50 for the category: 17 of the 28 others that charge start lower.
Could I make my own version of Atoms?
A habit tracker at its plainest is a list of habits, a tick for each day and a count of the streak.
Where this guide comes from
The prices, plans, platforms and features were read from Atoms’s own pages on Oct 5, 2026, and the grades were given on Oct 10, 2026. Graded from this listing, whose facts were read from Atoms' own pages on 5 October 2026, and its App Store rating. Also tested with a demo account on 2026-07-06.
Every tool we list gets five grades, A to F, each with its reason, and a GPA that averages them. How each is decided is at toolgpa.com/grades. This guide is ToolGPA’s own work; it is not made, paid for or approved by Atomic Development Inc. Prices change, so check atoms.jamesclear.com before you buy.
Part 07 · About
About ToolGPA
Who made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it
3,189
Tools graded, in 94 categories
ToolGPA grades software the way a school report grades a pupil: five subjects, a letter for each with the reason written beside it, and a GPA that averages them. Prices, plans and platforms are read from each maker’s own pages and dated, so you always know how fresh a figure is.
Every grade, review and ranking on ToolGPA is our own judgement. No company can pay for a grade or change one. Every tool on the site has a guide like this one, free to download and pass on. It all lives at toolgpa.com.
3,189
tools graded
94
categories
426
price changes on record
579
apps priced in 12 countries
What else is on toolgpa.com
- Atoms, kept up to dateEverything in this guide, with prices and grades as they are todaytoolgpa.com/tools/atoms
- How grades are givenThe rules behind every letter and every GPAtoolgpa.com/grades
- Value chartsWhat each tool costs against what it scores, for every categorytoolgpa.com/charts
- CompareAny two tools side by side, plan by plantoolgpa.com/compare
- Price changesEvery price rise and cut on record, each with its sourcetoolgpa.com/price-changes
- Prices by countryWhat apps cost on the App Store in 12 countriestoolgpa.com/prices-by-country
- Pay lessEvery public discount: yearly billing, students, nonprofitstoolgpa.com/save
- Keep or makeWhich tools are worth paying for, and which you could build yourselftoolgpa.com/keep-or-make
Scan for the live page
Prices and grades as they are today
Quoting this guide?
Please name ToolGPA and link to the live page, so readers can check the figures for themselves:
ToolGPA, "Atoms: The Insider's Guide", checked Oct 5, 2026. https://toolgpa.com/tools/atoms
Know someone choosing between habit trackers?
Send them this guide: toolgpa.com/tools/atoms/guide
ToolGPA elsewhere: youtube.com/@toolgpa
See our other guides
The best-graded habit trackers after Atoms, each with an Insider's Guide of its own.
- Habit Trackers Insider's GuideEvery one of the 44 habit trackers we grade, compared
- Finch Insider's GuideSelf-care app that ties daily goals to a virtual pet bird3.4 GPA
- Habitica Insider's GuideHabit and task tracker that works like a role-playing game3.4 GPA
- Disciplined Insider's GuideMinimal habit tracker built around daily streaks3.0 GPA
Choosing software? Every tool graded, every price dated.
Compare tools at toolgpa.com ›Everything in this guide is ToolGPA’s own summary of what Atoms’s pages, its app-store listings and public reviews said on the dates shown. Grades are our judgement under the rules at toolgpa.com/grades. Every grade, review and ranking on ToolGPA is our own judgement. No company can pay for a grade or change one. Atoms is a trademark of its owner, and this guide is not made, paid for or approved by Atomic Development Inc. Prices and plans change: check atoms.jamesclear.com before you buy.






