The Mindsera Insider’s Guide
Everything we know about Mindsera in one document: what it costs, its grades, getting a refund, getting help and what else to look at. Read it here, or keep a copy.
Mindsera
The Insider’s Guide
AI journal that analyzes entries for emotions and patterns

Every plan, grade, refund rule and rival among journaling apps, read from Mindsera’s own pages.
Made by Mindsera OÜ · checked Oct 6, 2026 · toolgpa.com

Contents
- 01WelcomeWhat it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first
- 02What it costsEvery plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved
- 03What it doesIts main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it
- 04Where it standsIts grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own
- 05The alternativesThe tools it is most often weighed against, side by side
- 06Quick answersThe questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two
- 07About ToolGPAWho made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it
ToolGPA put this guide together from Mindsera’s own pages, its app-store listings and our grades. Every fact in it is on Mindsera’s page too, where it is kept up to date. Checked Oct 6, 2026.
Part 01 · Overview
Welcome
What it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first
2.4
GPA, above 7 of the 35 other journaling apps we grade
Mindsera is an AI journal for the web, iPhone and Android. You write on a blank page, speak, or photograph a paper journal, and the AI asks follow-up questions, leaves comments through personas called Minds and breaks each entry down into themes and emotions. Over time it tracks emotional patterns and recurring topics and lets you question your whole journal. The free Curious plan is a plain journal with framework templates; every AI feature needs the paid Genius plan.
To get you started, here are 9 things to know about Mindsera, taken from its own pages and our grades.
No rating on record, but there's nothing to set up: it opens on a blank page and the AI comes to you with the questions.
- 1
Best for AI feedback on what you write
The free plan is a plain page, entries aren't end-to-end encrypted, and the AI is tuned for English.
- 2
Paid plans start at $10.75 a month
As its pricing page puts it: $10.75 per month, billed annually ($129 per year).
- 3
There is a free plan
Curious plan: minimal journal, journaling streak tracker, passcode, tags, smart highlights, Markdown or PDF export and 52+ framework templates. No AI features.
- 4
It runs on 3 platforms
Web, iOS and Android.
- 5
Write, speak or scan
Type on a blank page, dictate with Voice Mode, hold a spoken back-and-forth in Call Mode, or photograph a handwritten journal page to turn it into text. The voice and scan modes need Genius.
- 6
Go Deeper prompts
A conversational mode connects what you are writing to earlier entries and asks follow-up questions, with presets such as Psychologist, CBT Coach and Stoic.
- 7
Minds comments
AI personas called Minds highlight parts of an entry and comment on them. Built-in Minds include Alternative Perspectives, Thinking Traps and Stoic Principles, and you can create your own.
- 8
A 2.4 GPA, above 7 of 35
That is against the other journaling apps we grade, on value, the free plan, features, ease of use and platforms.
- 9
Keep it
To replace Mindsera you would be making dictation that types into any app on your computer. That is not a weekend's work, with an AI app builder or without one.
Mindsera at a glance
- Pricing
- Free plan, from $10.75 per month, billed annually ($129 per year)
- Free plan
- Yes
- Free trial
- Free trial of Genius offered at sign-up; the length is not stated on the pages read.
- Runs on
- Web, iOS, Android
- Made by
- Mindsera OÜ, since 2023
- Category
- Journaling Apps
- Our grade
- 2.4 GPA, fair
The report card
Best for AI feedback on what you write
Mindsera is a journal that reads what you wrote and pushes back, with follow-up questions, comments on your thinking traps and charts of how you've felt over months. But every AI feature sits on the Genius plan, $10.75 a month paid yearly or $14.99 monthly. The free plan is a plain page, entries aren't end-to-end encrypted, and the AI is tuned for English.
| Subject | Grade | Comment |
|---|---|---|
| Value for money | D | Genius is $129 a year, which is $10.75 a month, exactly where the dearest tenth of journaling apps here begins, and $14.99 if you pay monthly. Every AI feature, which is the whole reason to be here, sits on that plan. There's 40% off for students, over-65s and people with a disability if you email and ask. |
| Free plan and trial | B | The Curious plan is free for good and you could live on it as a plain journal: streak tracker, passcode, tags, themes, export and 52-plus framework templates, with no entry cap. What it hasn't got is any AI, which is the reason you'd pick Mindsera. |
| Features | C | Type, dictate, talk it through in Call Mode or photograph a paper page, then get AI personas that comment on an entry, themes and emotions broken out, Ask Your Journal and a weekly review email. The gap it states: not end-to-end encrypted, because the AI needs access to your entries on the server. |
| Ease of use | B | No rating on record, but there's nothing to set up: it opens on a blank page and the AI comes to you with the questions. One catch worth knowing, the AI is tuned for English and Mindsera won't vouch for it in other languages. |
| Platforms and integrations | B | Web plus both phones, with no Mac or Windows app, so a computer means the browser, and the web app is the only place entries can be imported. It works with Apple Health, and a connector lets Claude, ChatGPT and Gemini search and add entries. |
An A is worth 4 points, a B 3, a C 2, a D 1 and an F nothing. The GPA is the average of the five.
Who Mindsera is for
- Fits if you want your journal to ask you the next question
- Works for structured thinkers, with 50+ templates like First Principles, Ikigai and CBT journaling
Who it is not for
- Pricey if you pay monthly, at $14.99 against $10.75 on the yearly plan
- Tight if you're staying free, because every AI feature needs Genius
- Skip it if you want end-to-end encryption, as Mindsera says its AI needs access to your entries on the server
- Not for you if you write in another language, as the AI is tuned for English and not guaranteed elsewhere
- Watch out: there's no Mac or Windows app, imports work only on the web, and the trial length isn't stated
Good to know
Good for
- People who want AI feedback and follow-up questions on what they write
- Tracking emotional patterns and recurring themes across months of entries
- Structured reflection with mental-model and CBT templates
Worth knowing
- Every AI feature, including prompts, voice journaling and analysis, needs the paid Genius plan; the free plan is a plain journal.
- Not end-to-end encrypted: the vendor says AI needs backend access, so entries are encrypted at rest and in transit instead.
- AI features are optimized for English, and the vendor does not guarantee their quality in other languages.
- No Mac or Windows app is listed; desktop use is through the web app, which is also the only place entries can be imported.
Part 02 · Pricing
What it costs
Every plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved
$10.75
A month to start. There is a free plan too
Mindsera has a free plan. Paid plans start at $10.75 per month, billed annually ($129 per year).
Every AI feature, which is the whole reason to be here, sits on that plan.
Curious
$0
Minimal journal, streak tracker, passcode, themes, tags, smart highlights, export and 52+ framework templates, without the AI features.
Genius (monthly)
$14.99
per month, billed monthly
All AI features: conversational prompts, voice and call modes, journal scanning, Minds comments, entry analysis, Ask Your Journal and long-term emotion analysis.
Genius (annual)
$10.75
per month, billed annually ($129 per year)
The same Genius features on annual billing, which the pricing section labels as a 28% saving.
The free plan
Curious plan: minimal journal, journaling streak tracker, passcode, tags, smart highlights, Markdown or PDF export and 52+ framework templates. No AI features.
Trying it first
Free trial of Genius offered at sign-up; the length is not stated on the pages read.
Read from mindsera.com on Oct 6, 2026.
Ways to pay less
Annual discount
Save 28% with annual billing
Mindsera's pricing section lists Genius at $14.99 a month billed monthly or $129 billed annually, which works out to $10.75 a month and is labelled as a 28% saving.
Stated on mindsera.comEducation
40% off for students
Students enrolled at an accredited high school, college, university or vocational school can request a 40% discount code by emailing support from a school address with proof of enrollment.
Stated on mindsera.comOther savings
40% off for seniors and people with disabilities
Adults aged 65 or older and people with a documented disability can request a 40% discount code by email. The code is redeemed on a web subscription, not through an app store.
Stated on mindsera.comOther savings
$15 referral credit
You and a friend each get $15 in credit when the friend becomes a paid subscriber through your referral link.
Stated on mindsera.com
What the app costs elsewhere
Each country’s App Store price for “Genius Monthly”, against $14.99 in the United States, in dollars at the day’s rate. The four cheapest and the four dearest of 11.
| Country | Price there | In dollars | Against the US |
|---|---|---|---|
| Philippines | ₱ 510.00 | $8.12 | 46% less |
| India | ₹ 789 | $8.16 | 46% less |
| Indonesia | Rp 146ribu | $8.17 | 46% less |
| Brazil | R$ 48,99 | $9.79 | 35% less |
| United Kingdom | £10.99 | $14.53 | about the same |
| Germany | 12,99 € | $14.56 | about the same |
| Australia | $22.99 | $16.05 | 7% more |
| South Africa | R279.99 | $16.94 | 13% more |
Part 03 · Features
What it does
Its main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it
3
Places it runs: Web, iOS and Android
AI journal that analyzes entries for emotions and patterns. Here is what it does, as its own site describes it, and what it covers: AI features, dictation, chat assistant, daily notes, templates, mood tracking.
The gap it states: not end-to-end encrypted, because the AI needs access to your entries on the server.
- Write, speak or scan
- Type on a blank page, dictate with Voice Mode, hold a spoken back-and-forth in Call Mode, or photograph a handwritten journal page to turn it into text. The voice and scan modes need Genius.
- Go Deeper prompts
- A conversational mode connects what you are writing to earlier entries and asks follow-up questions, with presets such as Psychologist, CBT Coach and Stoic.
- Minds comments
- AI personas called Minds highlight parts of an entry and comment on them. Built-in Minds include Alternative Perspectives, Thinking Traps and Stoic Principles, and you can create your own.
- Entry and long-term analysis
- Each entry gets a breakdown of themes, emotions and takeaways. Over time the app charts emotions, detects recurring topics, builds a Big Five personality profile and emails a weekly review.
- Ask Your Journal and MCP
- Chat with your full journal history to surface patterns. On the paid plan an MCP connector lets assistants such as Claude, ChatGPT and Gemini search entries and add new ones.
- Framework templates
- More than 50 writing templates based on mental models, such as First Principles, Ikigai and CBT journaling, plus custom frameworks. These are included in the free plan.
Where it runs
- Web
- iOS
- Android
What it works with
- Apple Health
- Claude
- ChatGPT
- Gemini
Mindsera is made by Mindsera OÜ, and has been around since 2023.
Part 04 · Standing
Where it stands
Its grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own
7/35
Other journaling apps it is graded above
Mindsera's GPA of 2.4 is higher than 7 of the 35 other journaling apps we grade, and level with 7.
It stands best on platforms and integrations (B, above 22 of 35) and worst on value for money (D, above 0).
Its paid plans start at $10.75 a month, against a middle price of $3.66 for the category: 20 of the 21 others that charge start lower.
On features, ease of use and platforms it scores 2.7 out of 4. 7 tools score higher and cost less.
Each grade against the category
Every bar is all 36 journaling apps we grade, cut by the letter each got. Mindsera’s own letter is outlined.
- DValue for moneyAbove 0 of 35
- BFree plan and trialAbove 21 of 35
- CFeaturesAbove 0 of 35
- BEase of useAbove 3 of 35
- BPlatforms and integrationsAbove 22 of 35
Price against what you get
Each dot is one of 29 journaling apps. Further left costs less; higher up scores better on features, ease of use and platforms. Mindsera is the marked dot.
What paid plans start at, a month (each step along is roughly double) →
Keep it, or make your own?
Whether this is something you could build for yourself with an AI app builder, and what you would give up.
Keep it
To replace Mindsera you would be making dictation that types into any app on your computer. That is not a weekend's work, with an AI app builder or without one.
That makes this kind of software worth paying for, not this one in particular: 21 of the 35 other journaling apps grade higher. It costs $129 a year.
What you could make
- Daily notes, mood tracking and templates: an app builder makes these well.
What you could not
- Dictation that types into any app on your computer.
- An AI model, which you can rent by the request but not make.
- A real app for iOS and Android. Something home-made would be a web page.
- People on the other end: coaches. No app builder makes those.
What this rests on. Mindsera’s listing: what it does, where it runs, what it plugs into and what it costs. It is a judgement about the kind of software this is. We have not built a replacement for it, and making your own means looking after it too. How we decide, and every tool’s verdict.
Part 05 · Alternatives
The alternatives
The tools it is most often weighed against, side by side
Rosebud, Reflection, Life Note, Stoic and Day One
The 5 tools Mindsera is most often weighed against, with where each one differs from it.
- 2.2GPA
Rosebud
Free trial · from $8.99/mo
AI journal that replies with reflections and follow-up questions.
- Mindsera has a free plan. Rosebud does not, though it has a free trial.
- Mindsera also covers chat assistant and templates.
- Rosebud also covers goals.
- 2.8GPA
Reflection
Free plan · from $5.75/mo
AI-coached journal with guided programs and voice entries.
- Only Reflection lists a macOS app.
- Mindsera also covers mood tracking.
- 2.2GPA
Life Note
Free plan · from $10.99/mo
AI journal whose mentors reply in the voice of historical thinkers.
- Mindsera also covers templates.
- Life Note also covers goals.
- 2.6GPA
Stoic
Free plan · from $6.99
Guided journal with morning and evening reflections and mood tracking.
- Only Stoic lists a macOS app.
- Mindsera also covers dictation and chat assistant.
- Stoic also covers habit tracking.
- 3.2GPA
Day One
Free plan · from $49.99/yr
Encrypted journal for text, photos, audio and video across devices.
- Only Day One lists macOS and Windows apps.
- Only Day One lists a browser extension.
- Day One is end-to-end encrypted, according to its own site.
Part 06 · Questions
Quick answers
The questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two
15
Questions, each answered in a line or two
The short version of everything above, for when you only need the answer. Each one is told in full in its part of the guide.
Is Mindsera free?
Mindsera has a free plan. Curious plan: minimal journal, journaling streak tracker, passcode, tags, smart highlights, Markdown or PDF export and 52+ framework templates.
How much does Mindsera cost?
Mindsera lists 3 plans. Curious: $0.
What platforms does Mindsera work on?
Mindsera is available on Web, iOS and Android.
Does Mindsera offer any discounts?
Mindsera publicly lists the following: Save 28% with annual billing; 40% off for students; 40% off for seniors and people with disabilities; $15 referral credit.
Does Mindsera have a Windows app?
No Windows app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 6, 2026. Mindsera is listed for Web, iOS and Android.
Does Mindsera have a macOS app?
No macOS app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 6, 2026. Mindsera is listed for Web, iOS and Android.
Is Mindsera open source?
Mindsera is not described as open source on its own site, as read on Oct 6, 2026.
What does Mindsera integrate with?
Mindsera's listing names Apple Health, Claude, ChatGPT and Gemini. A listing names up to eight integrations, so it may connect to more.
Does Mindsera have a student discount?
40% off for students. Students enrolled at an accredited high school, college, university or vocational school can request a 40% discount code by emailing support from a school address with proof of enrollment.
Does Mindsera have a free trial?
Yes. Free trial of Genius offered at sign-up; the length is not stated on the pages read.
Who makes Mindsera?
Mindsera is made by Mindsera OÜ. It dates from 2023.
What are the alternatives to Mindsera?
The closest alternatives to Mindsera in our directory are Rosebud, Reflection, Life Note, Stoic and Day One.
How does Mindsera compare with other journaling apps?
Mindsera's GPA of 2.4 is higher than 7 of the 35 other journaling apps we grade, and level with 7.
Is Mindsera good value for money?
ToolGPA grades Mindsera D for value for money. Its paid plans start at $10.75 a month, against a middle price of $3.66 for the category: 20 of the 21 others that charge start lower.
Could I make my own version of Mindsera?
To replace Mindsera you would be making dictation that types into any app on your computer.
Where this guide comes from
The prices, plans, platforms and features were read from Mindsera’s own pages on Oct 6, 2026, and the grades were given on Oct 10, 2026. Graded from this listing, whose facts were read from Mindsera's own pages on 6 October 2026. Also tested with a demo account on 2026-03-26.
Every tool we list gets five grades, A to F, each with its reason, and a GPA that averages them. How each is decided is at toolgpa.com/grades. This guide is ToolGPA’s own work; it is not made, paid for or approved by Mindsera OÜ. Prices change, so check mindsera.com before you buy.
- mindsera.com
- mindsera.com/help
- mindsera.com/help/comparison/free-plan-vs-paid-plan
- mindsera.com/help/account/subscription
- mindsera.com/help/account/student-senior-citizen-and-disability-discounts
- mindsera.com/help/account/referrals
- mindsera.com/help/getting-started/mobile-app
- mindsera.com/help/general/privacy
- mindsera.com/help/account/integrations-apple-health
- mindsera.com/help/account/connect-ai-assistants-mcp
- mindsera.com/help/account/import-entries
- apps.apple.com/us/app/mindsera-ai-journal-diary/id6742319153
Part 07 · About
About ToolGPA
Who made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it
3,189
Tools graded, in 94 categories
ToolGPA grades software the way a school report grades a pupil: five subjects, a letter for each with the reason written beside it, and a GPA that averages them. Prices, plans and platforms are read from each maker’s own pages and dated, so you always know how fresh a figure is.
Every grade, review and ranking on ToolGPA is our own judgement. No company can pay for a grade or change one. Every tool on the site has a guide like this one, free to download and pass on. It all lives at toolgpa.com.
3,189
tools graded
94
categories
426
price changes on record
579
apps priced in 12 countries
What else is on toolgpa.com
- Mindsera, kept up to dateEverything in this guide, with prices and grades as they are todaytoolgpa.com/tools/mindsera
- How grades are givenThe rules behind every letter and every GPAtoolgpa.com/grades
- Value chartsWhat each tool costs against what it scores, for every categorytoolgpa.com/charts
- CompareAny two tools side by side, plan by plantoolgpa.com/compare
- Price changesEvery price rise and cut on record, each with its sourcetoolgpa.com/price-changes
- Prices by countryWhat apps cost on the App Store in 12 countriestoolgpa.com/prices-by-country
- Pay lessEvery public discount: yearly billing, students, nonprofitstoolgpa.com/save
- Keep or makeWhich tools are worth paying for, and which you could build yourselftoolgpa.com/keep-or-make
Scan for the live page
Prices and grades as they are today
Quoting this guide?
Please name ToolGPA and link to the live page, so readers can check the figures for themselves:
ToolGPA, "Mindsera: The Insider's Guide", checked Oct 6, 2026. https://toolgpa.com/tools/mindsera
Know someone choosing between journaling apps?
Send them this guide: toolgpa.com/tools/mindsera/guide
ToolGPA elsewhere: youtube.com/@toolgpa
See our other guides
The best-graded journaling apps after Mindsera, each with an Insider's Guide of its own.
- Journaling Apps Insider's GuideEvery one of the 36 journaling apps we grade, compared
- Apple Journal Insider's GuideApple's free journaling app for iPhone, iPad and Mac3.2 GPA
- Day One Insider's GuideEncrypted journal for text, photos, audio and video across devices3.2 GPA
- Diarium Insider's GuidePrivate journal with a one-time Pro purchase and your own cloud sync3.2 GPA
Choosing software? Every tool graded, every price dated.
Compare tools at toolgpa.com ›Everything in this guide is ToolGPA’s own summary of what Mindsera’s pages, its app-store listings and public reviews said on the dates shown. Grades are our judgement under the rules at toolgpa.com/grades. Every grade, review and ranking on ToolGPA is our own judgement. No company can pay for a grade or change one. Mindsera is a trademark of its owner, and this guide is not made, paid for or approved by Mindsera OÜ. Prices and plans change: check mindsera.com before you buy.






