The OpusClip Insider’s Guide
Everything we know about OpusClip in one document: what it costs, its grades, getting a refund, getting help and what else to look at. Read it here, or keep a copy.
OpusClip
The Insider’s Guide
AI tool that cuts long videos into captioned short clips

Every plan, grade, refund rule and rival among screen recording and video tools, read from OpusClip’s own pages.
Made by Opusclip Inc. · checked Oct 6, 2026 · toolgpa.com

Contents
- 01WelcomeWhat it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first
- 02What it costsEvery plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved
- 03What it doesIts main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it
- 04Where it standsIts grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own
- 05The alternativesThe tools it is most often weighed against, side by side
- 06Quick answersThe questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two
- 07About ToolGPAWho made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it
ToolGPA put this guide together from OpusClip’s own pages, its app-store listings and our grades. Every fact in it is on OpusClip’s page too, where it is kept up to date. Checked Oct 6, 2026.
Part 01 · Overview
Welcome
What it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first
2.2
GPA, above 4 of the 52 other screen recording and video tools we grade
OpusClip takes a long video, from an upload or a link, and uses AI to pick out moments and turn them into short clips with captions and a reframed aspect ratio. Clips can be adjusted in a text and timeline editor, then downloaded or posted to social platforms from a built-in scheduler. Usage is metered in credits, at one credit per minute of source video.
To get you started, here are 9 things to know about OpusClip, taken from its own pages and our grades.
- 1
Best for turning long videos into short clips
OpusClip cuts long videos into short clips: its AI picks the moments, adds captions, reframes them for vertical and can post them for you.
- 2
Paid plans start at $14.50 a month
As its pricing page puts it: $14.50 per month for Pro, billed annually ($174); Starter is $15 monthly.
- 3
There is a free plan
Free forever plan: 60 credits a month, clips rendered at up to 1080p with a watermark, auto reframe and AI captions. No editing, and clips cannot be exported after 3 days.
- 4
It runs on 2 platforms
Web and iOS.
- 5
ClipAnything
An AI clipping model that finds moments in long videos of any genre, from podcasts to vlogs, gaming and sports. Paid plans give each clip a Virality Score.
- 6
Animated captions
Adds AI captions in more than 20 languages with emoji and keyword highlights. Custom fonts and speaker-based caption colors are not on the Free or Starter plans.
- 7
AI Reframe
Resizes a video for each platform and keeps moving subjects centered with object tracking. Free and Starter output 9:16 only; Pro adds 1:1 and 16:9.
- 8
A 2.2 GPA, above 4 of 52
That is against the other screen recording and video tools we grade, on value, the free plan, features, ease of use and platforms.
- 9
Keep it
To replace OpusClip you would be making a video editor. That is not a weekend's work, with an AI app builder or without one.
OpusClip at a glance
- Pricing
- Free plan, from $14.50 per month for Pro, billed annually ($174); Starter is $15 monthly
- Free plan
- Yes
- Free trial
- Free trial of core Pro features, no credit card required; length not stated and exports are watermarked
- Runs on
- Web, iOS
- Made by
- Opusclip Inc.
- Category
- Screen Recording & Video
- Our grade
- 2.2 GPA, fair
The report card
Best for turning long videos into short clips
OpusClip cuts long videos into short clips: its AI picks the moments, adds captions, reframes them for vertical and can post them for you. Everything is metered in credits, one per minute of source video, and the free plan watermarks clips, won't let you edit them and stops exports after 3 days. The scheduler needs Pro, there's no Android or desktop app, and Safari 18.2 can crash the editor.
| Subject | Grade | Comment |
|---|---|---|
| Value for money | C | Starter is $15 a month, monthly only. Pro is $14.50 on the year or $29 by the month. Both sit in the upper half of this category's normal range, where the middle is $10, and a credit is a minute of source video, so 300 credits isn't much. |
| Free plan and trial | C | Free forever with 60 credits a month, auto reframe and AI captions, but clips are watermarked, you can't edit them, and after 3 days you can't export them either. The card-free trial of Pro features doesn't say how long it lasts. |
| Features | C | It does the clipping job fully: AI picks the moments, captions them in 20+ languages, reframes with object tracking and schedules the posts. But it's a narrow slice of video work, and Free and Starter are stuck at 9:16 with no scheduler below Pro. |
| Ease of use | C | No store rating on record. Handing it a link is easy enough, but you connect social accounts, learn a text-and-timeline editor, and the help centre tells you to use Chrome and warns of crashes in Safari 18.2 and later. |
| Platforms and integrations | B | Web plus an iOS app, posting to YouTube, TikTok, Instagram and LinkedIn, with an editing API, an MCP connector, Zapier and XML export to Premiere Pro and DaVinci Resolve. No Android and no desktop app. |
An A is worth 4 points, a B 3, a C 2, a D 1 and an F nothing. The GPA is the average of the five.
Who OpusClip is for
- Fits if you're a podcaster or streamer cutting long recordings into short clips
- Works for posting the same clips to several social platforms on a schedule, on Pro
Who it is not for
- Skip it if you want a general video editor, as it's built around cutting long videos into shorts
- Tight if you're staying free, because clips are watermarked, can't be edited and stop exporting after 3 days
- Pricey if you want Pro month to month, at $29 against $14.50 a month billed annually
- Watch out: Starter at $15 is monthly only, stuck at 9:16 with no scheduler, and Pro's 300 credits are 300 source minutes
- Not for you if you're on Android or want a desktop app, and the editor wants Chrome, not Safari 18.2 or later
Good to know
Good for
- Podcasters and streamers cutting long recordings into short clips
- Creators who post the same clips to several social platforms
- Teams automating clipping through an API, MCP or Zapier
Worth knowing
- Free plan clips carry a watermark, cannot be edited and stop being exportable after 3 days.
- Only Pro can be billed annually; Starter is monthly only and has no social scheduler, team workspace or extra aspect ratios.
- Processing uses 1 credit per minute of source video, and a Pro team workspace tops out at 4 seats, reached with 2 packs.
- The mobile app is iOS only, and the help center recommends Chrome for the editor and warns of crashes in Safari 18.2 and later.
Part 02 · Pricing
What it costs
Every plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved
$14.50
A month to start. There is a free plan too
OpusClip has a free plan. Paid plans start at $14.50 per month for Pro, billed annually ($174); Starter is $15 monthly.
The card-free trial of Pro features doesn't say how long it lasts.
Free
$0
60 credits a month, watermarked clips at up to 1080p, auto reframe and AI captions. No editing, and a 3-day export limit.
Starter
$15
per month, billed monthly (no annual option)
150 credits a month, AI clipping with Virality Score, animated captions, the editor, 1 brand template and watermark-free export.
Pro
$14.50
per month, billed annually ($174); $29 billed monthly
300 credits a month, a team workspace with 2 seats, AI B-roll, the social scheduler, three aspect ratios and export to Premiere Pro and DaVinci Resolve.
Business
Custom
Custom credits, seats and social connections, priority processing, full API and custom integrations, dedicated storage and an MSA.
The free plan
Free forever plan: 60 credits a month, clips rendered at up to 1080p with a watermark, auto reframe and AI captions. No editing, and clips cannot be exported after 3 days.
Trying it first
Free trial of core Pro features, no credit card required; length not stated and exports are watermarked
Read from opus.pro on Oct 6, 2026.
Ways to pay less
Annual discount
Save up to 50% with annual billing
The pricing page lists Pro at $14.50 a month when billed annually ($174) against $29 billed monthly. Starter is offered monthly only.
Stated on opus.pro
What the app costs elsewhere
Each country’s App Store price for “Pro Monthly 1 Pack”, against $29.00 in the United States, in dollars at the day’s rate. The four cheapest and the four dearest of 11.
| Country | Price there | In dollars | Against the US |
|---|---|---|---|
| India | ₹ 1,649 | $17.05 | 41% less |
| Mexico | $335.00 | $18.41 | 37% less |
| Brazil | R$ 100,90 | $20.16 | 30% less |
| Turkey | ₺999,99 | $20.34 | 30% less |
| South Africa | R499.99 | $30.24 | about the same |
| Germany | 29,00 € | $32.50 | 12% more |
| Australia | $46.99 | $32.80 | 13% more |
| United Kingdom | £24.99 | $33.04 | 14% more |
Part 03 · Features
What it does
Its main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it
2
Places it runs: Web and iOS
AI tool that cuts long videos into captioned short clips. Here is what it does, as its own site describes it, and what it covers: public API, AI features, transcription, video editing.
- ClipAnything
- An AI clipping model that finds moments in long videos of any genre, from podcasts to vlogs, gaming and sports. Paid plans give each clip a Virality Score.
- Animated captions
- Adds AI captions in more than 20 languages with emoji and keyword highlights. Custom fonts and speaker-based caption colors are not on the Free or Starter plans.
- AI Reframe
- Resizes a video for each platform and keeps moving subjects centered with object tracking. Free and Starter output 9:16 only; Pro adds 1:1 and 16:9.
- Editor
- Text and timeline-based editing with filler and silence removal, AI B-roll, voice-over and text overlays. The Free plan has no editing.
- Social posting and scheduler
- Starter posts to YouTube, TikTok and Instagram. Pro adds scheduling and X, Facebook, LinkedIn, Pinterest, Threads and Bluesky; each post to X costs 3 credits.
- API, MCP and XML export
- A video editing API, a scheduler API, an MCP connector and a Zapier integration, with limited API access on Pro. Pro also exports projects as XML for Premiere Pro and DaVinci Resolve.
Where it runs
- Web
- iOS
What it works with
- YouTube
- TikTok
- Adobe Premiere Pro
- DaVinci Resolve
- Zapier
- Google Drive
OpusClip is made by Opusclip Inc.
Part 04 · Standing
Where it stands
Its grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own
4/52
Other screen recording and video tools it is graded above
OpusClip's GPA of 2.2 is higher than 4 of the 52 other screen recording and video tools we grade, and level with 6.
It stands best on platforms and integrations (B, above 15 of 52) and worst on features (C, above 0).
Its paid plans start at $14.50 a month, against a middle price of $10 for the category: 28 of the 41 others that charge start lower.
On features, ease of use and platforms it scores 2.3 out of 4. 20 tools score higher and cost less.
Each grade against the category
Every bar is all 53 screen recording and video tools we grade, cut by the letter each got. OpusClip’s own letter is outlined.
- CValue for moneyAbove 10 of 52
- CFree plan and trialAbove 4 of 52
- CFeaturesAbove 0 of 52
- CEase of useAbove 0 of 52
- BPlatforms and integrationsAbove 15 of 52
Price against what you get
Each dot is one of 46 screen recording and video tools. Further left costs less; higher up scores better on features, ease of use and platforms. OpusClip is the marked dot.
What paid plans start at, a month (each step along is roughly double) →
Keep it, or make your own?
Whether this is something you could build for yourself with an AI app builder, and what you would give up.
Keep it
To replace OpusClip you would be making a video editor. That is not a weekend's work, with an AI app builder or without one.
That makes this kind of software worth paying for, not this one in particular: 42 of the 52 other screen recording and video tools grade higher. It costs $174 a year.
What you could not
- A video editor.
- Speech turned into text you can trust.
- A real app for iOS. Something home-made would be a web page.
- It plugs into other products, YouTube, TikTok and Instagram among them, and has an API.
- AI features, unless you pay a model provider for each request yourself.
What this rests on. OpusClip’s listing: what it does, where it runs, what it plugs into and what it costs. It is a judgement about the kind of software this is. We have not built a replacement for it, and making your own means looking after it too. How we decide, and every tool’s verdict.
Part 05 · Alternatives
The alternatives
The tools it is most often weighed against, side by side
Captions, Descript, VEED, Kapwing and Riverside
The 5 tools OpusClip is most often weighed against, with where each one differs from it.
- 2.4GPA
Captions
Free plan · from $4.99/mo
AI video editor and generator for short talking-head videos.
- Only Captions lists an Android app.
- Captions also covers noise cancellation.
- 2.4GPA
Descript
Free plan · from $16/mo
Audio and video editor that works by editing the transcript.
- Only OpusClip lists an iOS app.
- Only Descript lists macOS and Windows apps.
- Descript also covers noise cancellation and screen recording.
- 2.4GPA
VEED
Free plan · from $25/mo
Browser-based AI video generator and editor for social video.
- Only VEED lists an Android app.
- VEED also covers noise cancellation, templates and screen recording.
- 2.4GPA
Kapwing
Free plan · from $16/mo
Online video editor with AI subtitles, dubbing and team workspaces.
- Only OpusClip lists an iOS app.
- Kapwing also covers noise cancellation, templates and screen recording.
- 2.6GPA
Riverside
Free plan · from $9.99/mo
Remote recording studio for podcasts and video interviews.
- Only Riverside lists macOS and Android apps.
- Riverside also covers screen recording.
Part 06 · Questions
Quick answers
The questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two
15
Questions, each answered in a line or two
The short version of everything above, for when you only need the answer. Each one is told in full in its part of the guide.
Is OpusClip free?
OpusClip has a free plan. Free forever plan: 60 credits a month, clips rendered at up to 1080p with a watermark, auto reframe and AI captions.
How much does OpusClip cost?
OpusClip lists 4 plans. Free: $0.
What platforms does OpusClip work on?
OpusClip is available on Web and iOS.
Does OpusClip offer any discounts?
OpusClip publicly lists the following: Save up to 50% with annual billing.
Does OpusClip have an Android app?
No Android app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 6, 2026. OpusClip is listed for Web and iOS.
Does OpusClip have a Windows app?
No Windows app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 6, 2026. OpusClip is listed for Web and iOS.
Is OpusClip open source?
OpusClip is not described as open source on its own site, as read on Oct 6, 2026.
Does OpusClip have an API?
Yes. OpusClip offers a public API, according to its own site.
What does OpusClip integrate with?
OpusClip's listing names YouTube, TikTok, Instagram, LinkedIn, Adobe Premiere Pro, DaVinci Resolve, Zapier and Google Drive.
Does OpusClip have a free trial?
Yes. Free trial of core Pro features, no credit card required; length not stated and exports are watermarked.
Who makes OpusClip?
OpusClip is made by Opusclip Inc.
What are the alternatives to OpusClip?
The closest alternatives to OpusClip in our directory are Captions, Descript, VEED, Kapwing and Riverside.
How does OpusClip compare with other screen recording and video tools?
OpusClip's GPA of 2.2 is higher than 4 of the 52 other screen recording and video tools we grade, and level with 6.
Is OpusClip good value for money?
ToolGPA grades OpusClip C for value for money. Its paid plans start at $14.50 a month, against a middle price of $10 for the category: 28 of the 41 others that charge start lower.
Could I make my own version of OpusClip?
To replace OpusClip you would be making a video editor. That is not a weekend's work, with an AI app builder or without one.
Where this guide comes from
The prices, plans, platforms and features were read from OpusClip’s own pages on Oct 6, 2026, and the grades were given on Oct 10, 2026. Graded from this listing, whose facts were read from OpusClip's own pages on 6 October 2026. Also tested with a demo account on 2026-04-29.
Every tool we list gets five grades, A to F, each with its reason, and a GPA that averages them. How each is decided is at toolgpa.com/grades. This guide is ToolGPA’s own work; it is not made, paid for or approved by Opusclip Inc. Prices change, so check opus.pro before you buy.
- opus.pro
- opus.pro/pricing
- opus.pro/api
- opus.pro/about
- help.opus.pro/docs/article/plans-and-credits.md
- help.opus.pro/docs/article/how-are-credits-consumed.md
- help.opus.pro/docs/article/features-not-included-free-trial.md
- help.opus.pro/docs/article/payments-and-billing-info.md
- help.opus.pro/docs/article/does-opusclip-have-a-mobile-app.md
- help.opus.pro/docs/article/editor-browser-use-faq.md
- help.opus.pro/docs/article/video-sources-supported.md
Part 07 · About
About ToolGPA
Who made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it
3,189
Tools graded, in 94 categories
ToolGPA grades software the way a school report grades a pupil: five subjects, a letter for each with the reason written beside it, and a GPA that averages them. Prices, plans and platforms are read from each maker’s own pages and dated, so you always know how fresh a figure is.
Every grade, review and ranking on ToolGPA is our own judgement. No company can pay for a grade or change one. Every tool on the site has a guide like this one, free to download and pass on. It all lives at toolgpa.com.
3,189
tools graded
94
categories
426
price changes on record
579
apps priced in 12 countries
What else is on toolgpa.com
- OpusClip, kept up to dateEverything in this guide, with prices and grades as they are todaytoolgpa.com/tools/opusclip
- How grades are givenThe rules behind every letter and every GPAtoolgpa.com/grades
- Value chartsWhat each tool costs against what it scores, for every categorytoolgpa.com/charts
- CompareAny two tools side by side, plan by plantoolgpa.com/compare
- Price changesEvery price rise and cut on record, each with its sourcetoolgpa.com/price-changes
- Prices by countryWhat apps cost on the App Store in 12 countriestoolgpa.com/prices-by-country
- Pay lessEvery public discount: yearly billing, students, nonprofitstoolgpa.com/save
- Keep or makeWhich tools are worth paying for, and which you could build yourselftoolgpa.com/keep-or-make
Scan for the live page
Prices and grades as they are today
Quoting this guide?
Please name ToolGPA and link to the live page, so readers can check the figures for themselves:
ToolGPA, "OpusClip: The Insider's Guide", checked Oct 6, 2026. https://toolgpa.com/tools/opusclip
Know someone choosing between screen recording and video tools?
Send them this guide: toolgpa.com/tools/opusclip/guide
ToolGPA elsewhere: youtube.com/@toolgpa
See our other guides
The best-graded screen recording and video tools after OpusClip, each with an Insider's Guide of its own.
- Screen Recording & Video Insider's GuideEvery one of the 53 screen recording and video tools we grade, compared
- DaVinci Resolve Insider's GuideVideo editing, color, effects and audio post-production in one app3.4 GPA
- Zencastr Insider's GuideFree podcast recording, chat-based editing and hosting in one app3.4 GPA
- Cap Insider's GuideOpen-source screen recorder with instant share links and an editor3.2 GPA
Choosing software? Every tool graded, every price dated.
Compare tools at toolgpa.com ›Everything in this guide is ToolGPA’s own summary of what OpusClip’s pages, its app-store listings and public reviews said on the dates shown. Grades are our judgement under the rules at toolgpa.com/grades. Every grade, review and ranking on ToolGPA is our own judgement. No company can pay for a grade or change one. OpusClip is a trademark of its owner, and this guide is not made, paid for or approved by Opusclip Inc. Prices and plans change: check opus.pro before you buy.





