Skip to content

OpusClip vs Riverside

We give OpusClip and Riverside the same GPA: 3.2 out of 4.0. They get the same grade on all five counts.

Price, platforms and features side by side. The table says where each price was read and when.

OpusClip

AI tool that cuts long videos into captioned short clips

Free plan · from $14.50/mo

Riverside

Remote recording studio for podcasts and video interviews

Free plan · from $9.99/mo

How we grade them

3.2GPAOpusClipVery good3.2GPARiversideVery good
Value for money
BStarter is $15 a month, monthly only, with 150 credits. Pro is $14.50 a month billed annually ($174) or $29 monthly, with 300 credits and 2 seats. About typical for this category. A credit is one minute of source video, so do your sums first.
BPro is $24 a month on yearly billing or $29 month to month, for 4K recording, editing, transcripts and podcast hosting in one place. Fair for all that. But separate-track downloads stop at 15 hours a month, and going live needs Grow at $34.
Free plan and trial
BFree forever, with 60 credits a month, clips at up to 1080p, auto reframe and AI captions. But clips carry a watermark, there's no editing, and after 3 days you can't export them. There's a card-free trial of core Pro features as well, length not stated.
BRecording and editing on a single track is unlimited and needs no card. But it's 720p with a watermark, and you get just 2 hours of the multi-track recording that's the whole point. Paid plans have a 14-day trial.
Features
AIt does one job and does it fully: AI picks moments from long videos, adds animated captions in more than 20 languages, reframes with object tracking, and posts or schedules to social platforms. There's an editor with filler and silence removal too. Free and Starter output 9:16 only.
AEach person is recorded on their own track in up to 4K, and you edit by deleting words in the transcript. Magic Clips, show notes, live streaming, webinars and podcast hosting are all in the same app.
Ease of use
BNo rating is on record to go by, so a B. You hand it an upload or a link and it picks the clips for you. One snag: the help center recommends Chrome for the editor and warns of crashes in Safari 18.2 and later.
BGuests join from a link with no account and nothing to install, which is the part that matters. 4.7 from about 20,100 App Store ratings. Reviewers do mention slow uploads and sync glitches, and one gave up on the phone app for the web version.
Platforms and integrations
BA web app and an iOS app, posting to YouTube, TikTok, Instagram and LinkedIn, with a video editing API, an MCP connector, Zapier, and XML export to Premiere Pro and DaVinci Resolve. But the mobile app is iOS only, so there's nothing for Android, and that keeps it off an A.
BRuns in the browser, with a Mac app and apps for iPhone, iPad and Android. No Windows app, so that's browser only. Publishes to YouTube, Spotify and Apple Podcasts. API access is on the Business plan only.
Best forturning long videos into short clipsrecording remote podcasts and interviews

The GPA is the average of the five grades: an A is 4 points, an F is none. The full reasons are on each tool's page: OpusClip and Riverside. How we grade

Where they differ

  • OpusClip starts at $14.50 per month for Pro, billed annually ($174); Starter is $15 monthly. Riverside starts at $9.99 per month for Mobile Plus; web plans from $24 per month, billed annually.
  • Only Riverside lists macOS and Android apps.
  • Riverside also covers screen recording.
In commonFree planWebiOSAI featuresTranscriptionVideo editing

At a glance

OpusClipRiverside
PricingFree planFree plan
Starts at$14.50 per month for Pro, billed annually ($174); Starter is $15 monthly$9.99 per month for Mobile Plus; web plans from $24 per month, billed annually
Free planFree forever plan: 60 credits a month, clips rendered at up to 1080p with a watermark, auto reframe and AI captions. No editing, and clips cannot be exported after 3 days.2 hours of multi-track recording, unlimited single-track recording and editing, up to 720p video, 44.1 kHz audio and a Riverside watermark.
Free trialFree trial of core Pro features, no credit card required; length not stated and exports are watermarked14-day free trial on the Pro, Grow and Webinar plans
Web
macOS
iOS
Android
Made byOpusclip Inc.RiversideFM, Inc.
Price read fromopus.proriverside.com
CheckedOct 6, 2026Oct 9, 2026

Who each one suits

OpusClip

  • Podcasters and streamers cutting long recordings into short clips
  • Creators who post the same clips to several social platforms
  • Teams automating clipping through an API, MCP or Zapier

Riverside

  • Podcasters and interviewers recording remote guests in high quality
  • Marketing teams turning long recordings into social clips
  • Hosts who want recording, editing, hosting and live streaming in one tool

Worth knowing

OpusClip

  • Free plan clips carry a watermark, cannot be edited and stop being exportable after 3 days.
  • Only Pro can be billed annually; Starter is monthly only and has no social scheduler, team workspace or extra aspect ratios.
  • Processing uses 1 credit per minute of source video, and a Pro team workspace tops out at 4 seats, reached with 2 packs.
  • The mobile app is iOS only, and the help center recommends Chrome for the editor and warns of crashes in Safari 18.2 and later.

Riverside

  • The Free plan allows 2 hours of multi-track recording, tops out at 720p and puts a Riverside watermark on exports.
  • Separate-track downloads are capped each month: 15 hours on Pro, 20 on Grow and 25 on Webinar.
  • Live streaming starts on Grow, and registration, Q&A and polls for webinars need the Webinar plan.
  • Collaborative editing, custom roles, SSO and API access are limited to Business; the desktop app is listed for Mac only.

Key features

OpusClip

ClipAnything
An AI clipping model that finds moments in long videos of any genre, from podcasts to vlogs, gaming and sports. Paid plans give each clip a Virality Score.
Animated captions
Adds AI captions in more than 20 languages with emoji and keyword highlights. Custom fonts and speaker-based caption colors are not on the Free or Starter plans.
AI Reframe
Resizes a video for each platform and keeps moving subjects centered with object tracking. Free and Starter output 9:16 only; Pro adds 1:1 and 16:9.
Editor
Text and timeline-based editing with filler and silence removal, AI B-roll, voice-over and text overlays. The Free plan has no editing.
Social posting and scheduler
Starter posts to YouTube, TikTok and Instagram. Pro adds scheduling and X, Facebook, LinkedIn, Pinterest, Threads and Bluesky; each post to X costs 3 credits.
API, MCP and XML export
A video editing API, a scheduler API, an MCP connector and a Zapier integration, with limited API access on Pro. Pro also exports projects as XML for Premiere Pro and DaVinci Resolve.

Riverside

Local multi-track recording
Audio and video are recorded on each participant's own device and uploaded in the background, giving a separate track per person in up to 4K.
Text-based editor
Edit a recording through its transcript, with AI tools that remove silences and filler words. Paid web plans include unlimited transcriptions.
Magic Clips and AI show notes
AI selects short clips for social media and drafts show notes. Magic Clips is also listed on the Free plan.
Live streaming and webinars
Grow adds Full HD live streaming to multiple destinations. The Webinar plan adds registration, Q&A, polls, email reminders and analytics.
Podcast hosting and publishing
Each studio has its own podcast hosting, analytics and website, and can publish to YouTube, Spotify, Apple Podcasts, Instagram and LinkedIn.
Mac and mobile apps
The Mac app records a shared screen locally as its own track. The iOS and Android apps can record, invite guests and serve as a second webcam.

Plans

OpusClip

  • Free$0

    60 credits a month, watermarked clips at up to 1080p, auto reframe and AI captions. No editing, and a 3-day export limit.

  • Starter$15

    per month, billed monthly (no annual option)

    150 credits a month, AI clipping with Virality Score, animated captions, the editor, 1 brand template and watermark-free export.

  • Pro$14.50

    per month, billed annually ($174); $29 billed monthly

    300 credits a month, a team workspace with 2 seats, AI B-roll, the social scheduler, three aspect ratios and export to Premiere Pro and DaVinci Resolve.

  • BusinessCustom

    Custom credits, seats and social connections, priority processing, full API and custom integrations, dedicated storage and an MSA.

Riverside

  • Free$0

    2 hours of multi-track recording, unlimited single-track recording, 720p video and a Riverside watermark.

  • Mobile Plus$9.99

    per month

    For the mobile apps only: removes watermarks and exports up to 4K video and WAV audio.

  • Pro$24

    per month, billed annually at $288 ($29 monthly)

    Up to 4K video and 48 kHz audio, no watermark, 15 hours of separate-track downloads a month and 1 studio.

  • Grow$34

    per month, billed annually at $408 ($39 monthly)

    20 hours of separate-track downloads a month, 2 studios, and Full HD live streaming with multistreaming.

  • Webinar$79

    per month, billed annually ($99 monthly)

    25 hours of separate-track downloads, 3 studios, and webinars with up to 100 registrants, Q&A, polls and analytics.

  • BusinessCustom

    Unlimited studios and separate-track downloads, up to 10,000 webinar registrants, API access, SSO and a dedicated CSM.

Ways to pay less

OpusClip

  • Annual discount

    Save up to 50% with annual billing

    The pricing page lists Pro at $14.50 a month when billed annually ($174) against $29 billed monthly. Starter is offered monthly only.

Riverside

  • Annual discount

    Save up to 20% with yearly billing

    Annual billing drops Pro from $29 to $24 per month, Grow from $39 to $34 and Webinar from $99 to $79, which Riverside describes as saving up to 20%.

More comparisons