The Plooto Insider’s Guide
Everything we know about Plooto in one document: what it costs, its grades, getting a refund, getting help and what else to look at. Read it here, or keep a copy.
Plooto
The Insider’s Guide
Bill pay and receivables for businesses in Canada and the US
Every plan, grade, refund rule and rival among spend and bill pay tools, read from Plooto’s own pages.
Made by Plooto · checked Oct 18, 2026 · toolgpa.com
Contents
- 01WelcomeWhat it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first
- 02What it costsEvery plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved
- 03What it doesIts main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it
- 04Where it standsIts grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own
- 05The alternativesThe tools it is most often weighed against, side by side
- 06Quick answersThe questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two
- 07About ToolGPAWho made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it
ToolGPA put this guide together from Plooto’s own pages, its app-store listings and our grades. Every fact in it is on Plooto’s page too, where it is kept up to date. Checked Oct 18, 2026.
Part 01 · Overview
Welcome
What it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first
2.2
GPA, above 1 of the 13 other spend and bill pay tools we grade
Plooto, based in Toronto, automates paying and collecting business payments for small and midsize companies in Canada and the United States and the accounting firms that work for them. It reads supplier invoices, routes them through approvals and pays by EFT, ACH, check, card or international transfer, collects from customers by pre-authorized debit or card, and syncs both sides with QuickBooks, Xero or NetSuite.
To get you started, here are 9 things to know about Plooto, taken from its own pages and our grades.
But there's no free plan, and its own summary file doesn't say whether its prices are US or Canadian dollars.
- 1
Best for bill pay across the Canada and US border
It suits Canadian and US firms and the bookkeepers who pay bills for them.
- 2
Paid plans start at $9 a month
As its pricing page puts it: $9 per month, billing term and currency not stated.
- 3
You can try it first
30-day free trial with 10 free domestic transactions, no credit card required
- 4
It runs on Web
Web.
- 5
Accounts payable
Plooto Capture reads invoices by OCR, and bills go through multi-level approvals, scheduling and batch payment with a full audit trail.
- 6
Receivables
Send invoices and collect by pre-authorized debit or by Visa, Mastercard or Amex with two-business-day settlement, plus recurring payments and reminders.
- 7
International payments
Pay suppliers in 40+ countries and 25+ currencies over Global ACH, with a flat cross-border fee and no separate FX transfer fee.
- 8
A 2.2 GPA, above 1 of 13
That is against the other spend and bill pay tools we grade, on value, the free plan, features, ease of use and platforms.
- 9
Keep it
To replace Plooto you would be making money moved between bank accounts, which takes a licensed payments partner. That is not a weekend's work, with an AI app builder or without one.
Plooto at a glance
- Pricing
- Free trial, from $9 per month, billing term and currency not stated
- Free plan
- No
- Free trial
- 30-day free trial with 10 free domestic transactions, no credit card required
- Runs on
- Web
- Made by
- Plooto, since 2015
- Category
- Spend & Bill Pay
- Our grade
- 2.2 GPA, fair
The report card
Best for bill pay across the Canada and US border
Plooto, from Toronto, pays supplier bills by EFT, ACH, check, card or international transfer and collects from customers by pre-authorized debit or card, syncing both sides with QuickBooks, Xero or NetSuite. It suits Canadian and US firms and the bookkeepers who pay bills for them. But there's no free plan, and its own summary file doesn't say whether its prices are US or Canadian dollars.
| Subject | Grade | Comment |
|---|---|---|
| Value for money | C | Graded against its bill pay alternatives. A ten-person company paying 20 supplier bills a month pays $29 on Go, $9 plus $1.00 a payment, in dollars its summary file doesn't name as US or Canadian. That's well under BILL but above Melio's free plan, and Nickel and Ramp send ACH free. |
| Free plan and trial | C | No free plan, but a 30-day trial with 10 free domestic payments and no credit card needed. After that the cheapest plan is Go at $9 a month plus $1.00 a payment. |
| Features | C | Payables and receivables are covered: invoices read by OCR, multi-level approvals, batch payments, pre-authorized debits and CRA remittances. It's a smaller job than the category's, though, with no company cards or expense reports listed. |
| Ease of use | C | No store rating on record. You connect QuickBooks or Xero and set approval rules before the first payment goes out, which takes a bit of setting up. |
| Platforms and integrations | B | Web only, with QuickBooks Online, QuickBooks Desktop and Xero syncing on every plan and NetSuite as an add-on to Pro at $499 a month. No phone apps are listed. |
An A is worth 4 points, a B 3, a C 2, a D 1 and an F nothing. The GPA is the average of the five.
Who Plooto is for
- Great if you pay suppliers on both sides of the Canada and US border
- Handy when you remit payroll deductions or GST/HST to the CRA online, at $3.00 a payment
- Good for bookkeeping firms paying bills for lots of clients from one dashboard
Who it is not for
- Skip it if you want a free plan, as there's only a 30-day trial
- Pricey if you send lots of payments on Go, at $1.00 each
- Not for you if you want company cards or expense reports for staff
Good to know
Good for
- Canadian and US businesses that pay suppliers across the border
- Bookkeeping firms paying bills for many clients
- Canadian businesses remitting payroll and GST/HST to the CRA online
Worth knowing
- Fees per payment: domestic $1.00 on Go or $0.50 on Grow, checks $1.99, CRA payments $3.00, card acceptance about 2.9% + $0.30. The file also lists cross-border at $9.99.
- Plooto's pricing page answered with a bot check; plan prices come from Plooto's own summary file of April 2026, which does not say whether they are US or Canadian dollars.
- Plooto serves businesses in Canada and the US and says it is a licensed money transmission business in Canada.
- QuickBooks Online, QuickBooks Desktop and Xero sync on every plan; NetSuite is a Pro add-on.
Part 02 · Pricing
What it costs
Every plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved
$9
A month to start
Plooto is a paid product with a free trial, starting at $9 per month, billing term and currency not stated.
Graded against its bill pay alternatives.
Go
$9
per month, billing term and currency not stated
1 approver. Domestic payments $1.00 each, cross-border payments a $19 flat fee.
Grow
$32
per month, billing term and currency not stated
Unlimited approvers. Domestic payments $0.50 each, cross-border payments a $10 flat fee.
Grow Unlimited
$59
per month, billing term and currency not stated
Grow with unlimited free domestic payments.
Pro
$499
per month, billing term and currency not stated
Everything in Grow plus single sign-on, priority support and a NetSuite integration add-on.
Trying it first
30-day free trial with 10 free domestic transactions, no credit card required
Read from plooto.com on Oct 18, 2026.
Ways to pay less
Other savings
Free firm subscription for accountants
Accounting firms with 3 or more active clients on Grow or Pro get their own firm subscription free.
Stated on plooto.com
Part 03 · Features
What it does
Its main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it
1
Place it runs: Web
Bill pay and receivables for businesses in Canada and the US. Here is what it does, as its own site describes it, and what it covers: invoicing, bill pay.
It's a smaller job than the category's, though, with no company cards or expense reports listed.
- Accounts payable
- Plooto Capture reads invoices by OCR, and bills go through multi-level approvals, scheduling and batch payment with a full audit trail.
- Receivables
- Send invoices and collect by pre-authorized debit or by Visa, Mastercard or Amex with two-business-day settlement, plus recurring payments and reminders.
- International payments
- Pay suppliers in 40+ countries and 25+ currencies over Global ACH, with a flat cross-border fee and no separate FX transfer fee.
- Pay by card
- Pay a supplier with a commercial credit card while the supplier receives EFT, ACH or a check, for a 2.9% fee.
- Plooto Instant
- A pre-funded wallet in US or Canadian dollars that speeds payments up to one or two business days at no extra transaction cost.
- Dashboard for accounting firms
- Firms run payables for every client from one dashboard, with per-client approval rules and dual controls.
Where it runs
- Web
What it works with
- QuickBooks Online
- QuickBooks Desktop
- Xero
- Oracle NetSuite
Plooto is made by Plooto, and has been around since 2015.
Part 04 · Standing
Where it stands
Its grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own
1/13
Other spend and bill pay tools it is graded above
Plooto's GPA of 2.2 is higher than 1 of the 13 other spend and bill pay tools we grade, and level with 1.
It stands best on platforms and integrations (B, above 0 of 13) and worst on features (C, above 0).
Its paid plans start at $9 a month, against a middle price of $12 for the category: 2 of the 11 others that charge start lower.
On features, ease of use and platforms it scores 2.3 out of 4. 2 tools score higher and cost less.
Each grade against the category
Every bar is all 14 spend and bill pay tools we grade, cut by the letter each got. Plooto’s own letter is outlined.
- CValue for moneyAbove 1 of 13
- CFree plan and trialAbove 2 of 13
- CFeaturesAbove 0 of 13
- CEase of useAbove 0 of 13
- BPlatforms and integrationsAbove 0 of 13
Price against what you get
Each dot is one of 13 spend and bill pay tools. Further left costs less; higher up scores better on features, ease of use and platforms. Plooto is the marked dot.
What paid plans start at, a month (each step along is roughly double) →
Keep it, or make your own?
Whether this is something you could build for yourself with an AI app builder, and what you would give up.
Keep it
To replace Plooto you would be making money moved between bank accounts, which takes a licensed payments partner. That is not a weekend's work, with an AI app builder or without one.
That makes this kind of software worth paying for, not this one in particular: 11 of the 13 other spend and bill pay tools grade higher. It costs $108 a year.
What you could make
- Invoicing: an app builder makes this well.
What you could not
- Money moved between bank accounts, which takes a licensed payments partner.
What this rests on. Plooto’s listing: what it does, where it runs, what it plugs into and what it costs. It is a judgement about the kind of software this is. We have not built a replacement for it, and making your own means looking after it too. How we decide, and every tool’s verdict.
Part 05 · Alternatives
The alternatives
The tools it is most often weighed against, side by side
BILL, Melio, Nickel and Ramp
The 4 tools Plooto is most often weighed against, with where each one differs from it.
- 2.6GPA
BILL
Free plan · from $49/mo
Bill pay, invoicing and free company cards for small businesses.
- BILL has a free plan. Plooto does not, though it has a free trial.
- Only BILL lists iOS and Android apps.
- BILL also covers expense tracking and company cards.
- 2.8GPA
Melio
Free plan · from $20/mo
Bill pay and invoicing for small US businesses, with a free plan.
- Melio has a free plan. Plooto does not, though it has a free trial.
- Only Melio lists iOS and Android apps.
- Melio also covers expense tracking.
- 2.8GPA
Nickel
Free plan · from $35/mo
Free ACH invoicing and bill pay for US businesses.
- Nickel has a free plan. Plooto does not, though it has a free trial.
- 3.6GPA
Ramp
Free plan · from $15/mo
Corporate cards, expenses, travel and bill pay, with a free plan.
- Ramp has a free plan. Plooto does not, though it has a free trial.
- Only Ramp lists iOS and Android apps.
- Ramp also covers reports, expense tracking and company cards.
Part 06 · Questions
Quick answers
The questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two
13
Questions, each answered in a line or two
The short version of everything above, for when you only need the answer. Each one is told in full in its part of the guide.
Is Plooto free?
No, Plooto is a paid product, but you can try it first. 30-day free trial with 10 free domestic transactions, no credit card required.
How much does Plooto cost?
Plooto lists 4 plans. Go: $9 per month, billing term and currency not stated.
What platforms does Plooto work on?
Plooto is available on Web.
Does Plooto offer any discounts?
Plooto publicly lists the following: Free firm subscription for accountants.
Does Plooto have an Android app?
No Android app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 18, 2026. Plooto is listed for Web.
Does Plooto have an iPhone app?
No iPhone app was listed when its pages were read on Oct 18, 2026. Plooto is listed for Web.
Is Plooto open source?
Plooto is not described as open source on its own site, as read on Oct 18, 2026.
What does Plooto integrate with?
Plooto's listing names QuickBooks Online, QuickBooks Desktop, Xero and Oracle NetSuite.
Who makes Plooto?
Plooto is made by Plooto. It dates from 2015.
What are the alternatives to Plooto?
The closest alternatives to Plooto in our directory are BILL, Melio, Nickel and Ramp.
How does Plooto compare with other spend and bill pay tools?
Plooto's GPA of 2.2 is higher than 1 of the 13 other spend and bill pay tools we grade, and level with 1.
Is Plooto good value for money?
ToolGPA grades Plooto C for value for money. Its paid plans start at $9 a month, against a middle price of $12 for the category: 2 of the 11 others that charge start lower.
Could I make my own version of Plooto?
To replace Plooto you would be making money moved between bank accounts, which takes a licensed payments partner.
Where this guide comes from
The prices, plans, platforms and features were read from Plooto’s own pages on Oct 18, 2026, and the grades were given on Oct 18, 2026. Graded from this listing, whose facts were read from Plooto's own pages on 18 October 2026, with its prices taken from Plooto's own summary file of April 2026, which doesn't say whether they are US or Canadian dollars. Not based on using the product, and shorter than our full reviews.
Every tool we list gets five grades, A to F, each with its reason, and a GPA that averages them. How each is decided is at toolgpa.com/grades. This guide is ToolGPA’s own work; it is not made, paid for or approved by Plooto. Prices change, so check plooto.com before you buy.
Part 07 · About
About ToolGPA
Who made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it
2,068
Tools graded, in 57 categories
ToolGPA grades software the way a school report grades a pupil: five subjects, a letter for each with the reason written beside it, and a GPA that averages them. Prices, plans and platforms are read from each maker’s own pages and dated, so you always know how fresh a figure is.
ToolGPA is free to read. It may earn a commission from affiliate links and it works with sponsors, but anything paid for is labelled and no one can pay for a grade. Every tool on the site has a guide like this one, free to download and pass on. It all lives at toolgpa.com.
2,068
tools graded
57
categories
426
price changes on record
579
apps priced in 12 countries
What else is on toolgpa.com
- Plooto, kept up to dateEverything in this guide, with prices and grades as they are todaytoolgpa.com/tools/plooto
- How grades are givenThe rules behind every letter and every GPAtoolgpa.com/grades
- Value chartsWhat each tool costs against what it scores, for every categorytoolgpa.com/charts
- CompareAny two tools side by side, plan by plantoolgpa.com/compare
- Price changesEvery price rise and cut on record, each with its sourcetoolgpa.com/price-changes
- Prices by countryWhat apps cost on the App Store in 12 countriestoolgpa.com/prices-by-country
- Pay lessEvery public discount: yearly billing, students, nonprofitstoolgpa.com/save
- Keep or makeWhich tools are worth paying for, and which you could build yourselftoolgpa.com/keep-or-make
Scan for the live page
Prices and grades as they are today
Quoting this guide?
Please name ToolGPA and link to the live page, so readers can check the figures for themselves:
ToolGPA, "Plooto: The Insider's Guide", checked Oct 18, 2026. https://toolgpa.com/tools/plooto
Know someone choosing between spend and bill pay tools?
Send them this guide: toolgpa.com/tools/plooto/guide
ToolGPA elsewhere: youtube.com/@toolgpa
See our other guides
The best-graded spend and bill pay tools after Plooto, each with an Insider's Guide of its own.
- Spend & Bill Pay Insider's GuideEvery one of the 14 spend and bill pay tools we grade, compared
- Brex Insider's GuideCorporate cards, expenses, bill pay and travel for growing companies3.6 GPA
- Ramp Insider's GuideCorporate cards, expenses, travel and bill pay, with a free plan3.6 GPA
- Airwallex Insider's GuideMulti-currency business accounts, cards, bill pay and expenses3.2 GPA
Choosing software? Every tool graded, every price dated.
Compare tools at toolgpa.com ›Everything in this guide is ToolGPA’s own summary of what Plooto’s pages, its app-store listings and public reviews said on the dates shown. Grades are our judgement under the rules at toolgpa.com/grades. ToolGPA uses affiliate links and may earn a commission from them, and it works with sponsors; anything paid for is labelled, and no one can pay for a grade. Plooto is a trademark of its owner, and this guide is not made, paid for or approved by Plooto. Prices and plans change: check plooto.com before you buy.






