Skip to content

The Splashtop Insider’s Guide

Everything we know about Splashtop in one document: what it costs, its grades, getting a refund, getting help and what else to look at. Read it here, or keep a copy.

Download the PDF
Pass it onEmailLinkedInXWhatsApp
ToolGPAOctober 2026

Splashtop

The Insider’s Guide

Remote access to your own computers, plus separate IT support plans

Splashtop, as pictured on splashtop.com

Every plan, grade, refund rule and rival among remote desktop apps, read from Splashtop’s own pages.

Made by Splashtop Inc. · checked Oct 18, 2026 · toolgpa.com

2.8GPA

Contents

  1. 01WelcomeWhat it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first
  2. 02What it costsEvery plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved
  3. 03What it doesIts main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it
  4. 04Where it standsIts grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own
  5. 05The alternativesThe tools it is most often weighed against, side by side
  6. 06Quick answersThe questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two
  7. 07About ToolGPAWho made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it

ToolGPA put this guide together from Splashtop’s own pages, its app-store listings and our grades. Every fact in it is on Splashtop’s page too, where it is kept up to date. Checked Oct 18, 2026.

Part 01 · Overview

Welcome

What it is, who it suits, its grades and the ten things to know first

2.8

GPA, above 10 of the 15 other remote desktop apps we grade

Splashtop sells two main things: Remote Access, mainly for reaching your own home or work computers from any device, and Remote Support (SOS), for IT and help desk staff supporting other people's computers. Apps run on Windows, macOS, Linux, Chromebook, iOS and Android. A free Personal app covers up to two non-work computers on your home Wi-Fi, and a cheap personal pack extends it across the internet.

To get you started, here are 9 things to know about Splashtop, taken from its own pages and our grades.

The free Personal app only works on your home Wi-Fi, though, so reaching your PC from anywhere means paying from day one.
From our report card of Splashtop
  1. 1

    Best for remote access from home office to help desk

    It's also the best-rated app on record in this category.

  2. 2

    Paid plans start at $2 a month when paid by the year

    As its pricing page puts it: $23.99 per year for personal use; business plans from $6 / month, billed annually.

  3. 3

    There is a free plan

    Splashtop Personal is free for non-commercial use on your local home network, for up to 2 computers. Reaching them from outside the home network needs the Anywhere Access Pack.

  4. 4

    It runs on 5 platforms

    Windows, macOS, Linux, iOS and Android.

  5. 5

    Unattended access to your own computers

    Install the Streamer on a computer and reach it later from a phone, tablet or another computer, with file transfer and remote print.

  6. 6

    On-demand support by session code

    Remote Support SOS lets a technician connect to any computer or mobile device the user opens a session code on, with or without someone present on managed machines.

  7. 7

    High-performance streaming

    The Performance plan adds 4:4:4 color, up to 240 frames per second, high-fidelity audio, Wacom stylus support and USB passthrough for creative work.

  8. 8

    A 2.8 GPA, above 10 of 15

    That is against the other remote desktop apps we grade, on value, the free plan, features, ease of use and platforms.

  9. 9

    Keep it

    To replace Splashtop you would be making a fast, secure link to another computer through any network. That is not a weekend's work, with an AI app builder or without one.

Splashtop at a glance

Pricing
Free plan, from $23.99 per year for personal use; business plans from $6 / month, billed annually
Free plan
Yes
Free trial
Free trial of business plans, no credit card required; length not stated
Runs on
macOS, Windows, Linux, iOS, Android
Made by
Splashtop Inc.
Category
Remote Desktop
Our grade
2.8 GPA, good
Store rating
4.8 on the App Store, 4,713 ratings

The report card

Best for remote access from home office to help desk

Splashtop covers the lot: cheap access to your own computers, a Performance plan with accurate colour for creative work, and SOS for help desks. It's also the best-rated app on record in this category. The free Personal app only works on your home Wi-Fi, though, so reaching your PC from anywhere means paying from day one.

ToolGPA report cardSplashtopGraded Oct 18, 2026
SubjectGradeComment
Value for moneyCRemote Support SOS is $22 per concurrent technician a month billed annually: $259 a year with 10 managed computers, or $399 with 300. For the same job that's mid-pack, above Zoho Assist and below TeamViewer's Business. For your own computers, the Anywhere Access Pack is only $23.99 a year.
Free plan and trialCSplashtop Personal is free, but only on your home network, for up to 2 computers and never for work. Working from home counts as work. Business plans have a free trial with no card, though its length isn't stated.
FeaturesBUnattended access, support by session code, file transfer, remote print, and a Performance plan with 4:4:4 colour, 240 frames per second, Wacom pens and USB passthrough. Nothing in the listing is missing from the job; single sign-on and the APIs wait for Enterprise.
Ease of useA4.81 from 4,713 App Store ratings for its Business app, the best on record in this category. Install the Streamer on a computer and reach it from anything.
Platforms and integrationsBWindows, Mac, Linux, Chromebook, iPhone and Android, with Intune, Jira, Freshservice, Jamf, Atera and Datto RMM. There's no web app on record, which keeps it at B, and the APIs are Enterprise only.
Grade point averageGood, out of 4.02.8

An A is worth 4 points, a B 3, a C 2, a D 1 and an F nothing. The GPA is the average of the five.

Who Splashtop is for

  • Great if you want your home PC from anywhere for a small yearly fee
  • A treat if you edit video or draw on a remote workstation and need true colour and a stylus
  • Good for help desks that want support by session code at a mid-range price

Who it is not for

  • Skip it if you hoped the free app would reach your PC from outside the house
  • Not for you if you work from home and want it free, as that counts as commercial use
  • Pricey if you need single sign-on or the APIs, which sit on an Enterprise plan quoted by sales

Good to know

Good for

  • Reaching a home computer from the couch at no cost, or from anywhere for a small yearly fee
  • People working from home who need their office computer from another device
  • Designers and video editors who need accurate color and a stylus over a remote link
  • IT teams and MSPs supporting staff or customers by concurrent technician

Worth knowing

  • Splashtop Personal is free only on your home network and only for non-commercial use; working from home needs a business plan.
  • Business plan prices are shown only as annual billing on the pricing page.
  • Remote Support SOS is priced per concurrent technician, with the number of managed computers capped by the option you buy (10 or 300 per licence, up to 1,200).
  • Enterprise, with single sign-on, APIs and the on-premises option, has no public price and is quoted by sales.

Part 02 · Pricing

What it costs

Every plan, the free plan, ways to pay less and how prices have moved

$2

A month to start, paid by the year. There is a free plan too

Splashtop has a free plan. Paid plans start at $23.99 per year for personal use; business plans from $6 / month, billed annually.

For the same job that's mid-pack, above Zoho Assist and below TeamViewer's Business.
From our grade for value for money
  • Personal

    $0

    Non-commercial use only, on your home Wi-Fi network, for up to 2 Windows or Mac computers. Working from home counts as commercial use.

  • Anywhere Access Pack

    $23.99

    per year ($5.99 a month billed monthly)

    Add-on to Personal for reaching up to 2 home computers from anywhere over the internet. Personal use only.

  • Solo

    $6

    per month, billed annually ($72 a year)

    One user with unattended access from any device, file transfer with drag and drop, and remote print.

  • Pro

    $8.25

    per user / month, billed annually ($99 a year)

    Adds multi-monitor support, user roles and access management, chat, session recording and up to 3 users into one computer.

  • Performance

    $13

    per user / month, billed annually ($149 a year)

    Adds 4:4:4 color accuracy, up to 240 frames per second, high-fidelity audio, remote stylus with Wacom Bridge and USB passthrough.

  • Remote Support SOS

    $22

    per concurrent technician / month, billed annually

    $259 a year with 10 managed computers, or $399 a year with 300; on-demand sessions by code to unlimited computers and mobile devices.

The free plan

Splashtop Personal is free for non-commercial use on your local home network, for up to 2 computers. Reaching them from outside the home network needs the Anywhere Access Pack.

Trying it first

Free trial of business plans, no credit card required; length not stated

Read from splashtop.com on Oct 18, 2026.

Ways to pay less

  • Annual discount

    Anywhere Access Pack is cheaper paid yearly

    The pack costs $23.99 a year against $5.99 a month, which is $71.88 over twelve months: about two-thirds less.

    Stated on splashtop.com
  • Other savings

    Volume discounts on Pro and Performance

    The pricing page marks volume discounts on the Pro and Performance plans for teams buying several user licences.

    Stated on splashtop.com

Part 03 · Features

What it does

Its main features, where it runs, what it works with and who makes it

5

Places it runs: macOS, Windows, Linux, iOS and Android

Remote access to your own computers, plus separate IT support plans. Here is what it does, as its own site describes it, and what it covers: self-hostable, public API, remote desktop.

Nothing in the listing is missing from the job; single sign-on and the APIs wait for Enterprise.
From our grade for features
Unattended access to your own computers
Install the Streamer on a computer and reach it later from a phone, tablet or another computer, with file transfer and remote print.
On-demand support by session code
Remote Support SOS lets a technician connect to any computer or mobile device the user opens a session code on, with or without someone present on managed machines.
High-performance streaming
The Performance plan adds 4:4:4 color, up to 240 frames per second, high-fidelity audio, Wacom stylus support and USB passthrough for creative work.
Endpoint management add-on
Autonomous Endpoint Management adds real-time patching, monitoring and remediation, and is sold on its own or added to SOS and Enterprise.
Enterprise and on-premises
Enterprise adds single sign-on, granular and scheduled access, SIEM logging, cloud recording, APIs and unattended Android access, with an on-premises option.
Help desk and RMM integrations
Launch sessions from tools such as Freshservice, Jira, Jamf, Atera and Datto RMM, and manage Bitdefender antivirus from the Splashtop console.

Where it runs

  • macOS
  • Windows
  • Linux
  • iOS
  • Android

What it works with

  • Microsoft Intune
  • Jira
  • Freshservice
  • Freshdesk
  • Jamf
  • Atera
  • Datto RMM
  • Bitdefender

Splashtop is made by Splashtop Inc.

Part 04 · Standing

Where it stands

Its grades against its category, and whether to keep it or make your own

10/15

Other remote desktop apps it is graded above

Splashtop's GPA of 2.8 is higher than 10 of the 15 other remote desktop apps we grade, and level with 1.

It stands best on ease of use (A, above 15 of 15) and worst on free plan and trial (C, above 0).

Its paid plans start at $2 a month when paid by the year, against a middle price of $10 for the category: 1 of the 10 others that charge start lower.

On features, ease of use and platforms it scores 3.3 out of 4, and no tool on the category's chart scores higher without costing more.

Each grade against the category

Every bar is all 16 remote desktop apps we grade, cut by the letter each got. Splashtop’s own letter is outlined.

  • CValue for moneyAbove 2 of 15
  • CFree plan and trialAbove 0 of 15
  • BFeaturesAbove 12 of 15
  • AEase of useAbove 15 of 15
  • BPlatforms and integrationsAbove 0 of 15

Price against what you get

Each dot is one of 12 remote desktop apps. Further left costs less; higher up scores better on features, ease of use and platforms. Splashtop is the marked dot.

C2.0B3.0A4.0Free$1$2$5$10$20$50$100More for lessCosts more, scores moreCosts less, scores lessCosts more, scores lessSplashtopRemotePCChrome Remote DesktopZoho AssistRustDesk

What paid plans start at, a month (each step along is roughly double) →

Keep it, or make your own?

Whether this is something you could build for yourself with an AI app builder, and what you would give up.

Keep it

To replace Splashtop you would be making a fast, secure link to another computer through any network. That is not a weekend's work, with an AI app builder or without one.

It is one of the better ones too: its GPA of 2.8 is higher than 10 of the 15 other remote desktop apps we grade. It costs $23.99 a year.

What you could not

  • A fast, secure link to another computer through any network.
  • Apps for macOS, Windows, Linux, iOS and Android that stay in step with each other.
  • It plugs into other products, Microsoft Intune, Jira and Freshservice among them, and has an API.
  • What a company asks for before it lets staff use something: single sign-on.
  • The depth: we grade its features B, which means it covers the whole job.

What this rests on. Splashtop’s listing: what it does, where it runs, what it plugs into and what it costs. It is a judgement about the kind of software this is. We have not built a replacement for it, and making your own means looking after it too. How we decide, and every tool’s verdict.

Part 05 · Alternatives

The alternatives

The tools it is most often weighed against, side by side

TeamViewer, AnyDesk, RemotePC, Parsec and Zoho Assist

The 5 tools Splashtop is most often weighed against, with where each one differs from it.

  • 2.6GPA

    TeamViewer

    Free plan · from $619.99/yr

    Remote access and IT support, free for personal use only.

    • Only TeamViewer lists a web app.
    • Splashtop is self-hostable, according to its own site.
    • TeamViewer is end-to-end encrypted, according to its own site.
    Splashtop and TeamViewer compared in full
  • 2.4GPA

    AnyDesk

    Free plan

    Remote desktop app, free for personal use, licensed for business.

      Splashtop and AnyDesk compared in full
    • 2.6GPA

      RemotePC

      Free trial · from $2.46/mo

      Low-cost remote access to your own computers, from IDrive.

      • Splashtop has a free plan. RemotePC does not, though it has a free trial.
      • Only RemotePC lists a web app.
      • Splashtop is self-hostable, according to its own site.
      Splashtop and RemotePC compared in full
    • 2.6GPA

      Parsec

      Free plan · from $8.33/mo

      Low-latency remote desktop for games and creative work.

      • Only Splashtop lists an iOS app.
      • Only Parsec lists a web app.
      • Splashtop is self-hostable, according to its own site.
      Splashtop and Parsec compared in full
    • 3.0GPA

      Zoho Assist

      Free plan · from $10/mo

      Remote support and unattended access for help desks and IT teams.

      • Only Zoho Assist lists a web app.
      • Splashtop is self-hostable, according to its own site.
      Splashtop and Zoho Assist compared in full

    Part 06 · Questions

    Quick answers

    The questions people ask about it, each answered in a line or two

    15

    Questions, each answered in a line or two

    The short version of everything above, for when you only need the answer. Each one is told in full in its part of the guide.

    Is Splashtop free?

    Splashtop has a free plan. Splashtop Personal is free for non-commercial use on your local home network, for up to 2 computers.

    How much does Splashtop cost?

    Splashtop lists 6 plans. Personal: $0.

    What platforms does Splashtop work on?

    Splashtop is available on Windows, macOS, Linux, iOS and Android.

    Does Splashtop offer any discounts?

    Splashtop publicly lists the following: Anywhere Access Pack is cheaper paid yearly; Volume discounts on Pro and Performance.

    How is Splashtop rated?

    Splashtop's iPhone and iPad app averages 4.8 out of 5 from 4,713 ratings on the App Store in the United States, as read on Oct 18, 2026.

    Is Splashtop open source?

    Splashtop is not described as open source on its own site, as read on Oct 18, 2026.

    Can Splashtop be self-hosted?

    Yes. Splashtop's own site says it can be run on a server of your own.

    Does Splashtop have an API?

    Yes. Splashtop offers a public API, according to its own site.

    What does Splashtop integrate with?

    Splashtop's listing names Microsoft Intune, Jira, Freshservice, Freshdesk, Jamf, Atera, Datto RMM and Bitdefender.

    Does Splashtop have a free trial?

    Yes. Free trial of business plans, no credit card required; length not stated.

    Who makes Splashtop?

    Splashtop is made by Splashtop Inc.

    What are the alternatives to Splashtop?

    The closest alternatives to Splashtop in our directory are TeamViewer, AnyDesk, RemotePC, Parsec and Zoho Assist.

    How does Splashtop compare with other remote desktop apps?

    Splashtop's GPA of 2.8 is higher than 10 of the 15 other remote desktop apps we grade, and level with 1.

    Is Splashtop good value for money?

    ToolGPA grades Splashtop C for value for money. Its paid plans start at $2 a month when paid by the year, against a middle price of $10 for the category: 1 of the 10 others that charge start lower.

    Could I make my own version of Splashtop?

    To replace Splashtop you would be making a fast, secure link to another computer through any network.

    Where this guide comes from

    The prices, plans, platforms and features were read from Splashtop’s own pages on Oct 18, 2026, and the grades were given on Oct 18, 2026. Graded from this listing, whose facts were read from Splashtop's own pages on 18 October 2026, and its App Store rating. Not based on using the product, and shorter than our full reviews.

    Every tool we list gets five grades, A to F, each with its reason, and a GPA that averages them. How each is decided is at toolgpa.com/grades. This guide is ToolGPA’s own work; it is not made, paid for or approved by Splashtop Inc. Prices change, so check splashtop.com before you buy.

    Part 07 · About

    About ToolGPA

    Who made this guide, what else is on the site, and how to cite it

    2,281

    Tools graded, in 73 categories

    ToolGPA grades software the way a school report grades a pupil: five subjects, a letter for each with the reason written beside it, and a GPA that averages them. Prices, plans and platforms are read from each maker’s own pages and dated, so you always know how fresh a figure is.

    ToolGPA is free to read. It may earn a commission from affiliate links and it works with sponsors, but anything paid for is labelled and no one can pay for a grade. Every tool on the site has a guide like this one, free to download and pass on. It all lives at toolgpa.com.

    • 2,281

      tools graded

    • 73

      categories

    • 426

      price changes on record

    • 579

      apps priced in 12 countries

    What else is on toolgpa.com

    Scan for the live page

    Prices and grades as they are today

    Quoting this guide?

    Please name ToolGPA and link to the live page, so readers can check the figures for themselves:

    ToolGPA, "Splashtop: The Insider's Guide", checked Oct 18, 2026. https://toolgpa.com/tools/splashtop

    Know someone choosing between remote desktop apps?

    Send them this guide: toolgpa.com/tools/splashtop/guide

    ToolGPA elsewhere: youtube.com/@toolgpa

    See our other guides

    The best-graded remote desktop apps after Splashtop, each with an Insider's Guide of its own.

    ToolGPA

    Choosing software? Every tool graded, every price dated.

    Compare tools at toolgpa.com ›

    Everything in this guide is ToolGPA’s own summary of what Splashtop’s pages, its app-store listings and public reviews said on the dates shown. Grades are our judgement under the rules at toolgpa.com/grades. ToolGPA uses affiliate links and may earn a commission from them, and it works with sponsors; anything paid for is labelled, and no one can pay for a grade. Splashtop is a trademark of its owner, and this guide is not made, paid for or approved by Splashtop Inc. Prices and plans change: check splashtop.com before you buy.