Midjourney alternatives · AI Images & Video
Free alternatives to Midjourney
Midjourney has no free plan. 13 of the 21 other AI image and video generators in this directory are free or have a free plan.
Midjourney is a paid product, starting at $8 per month, billed annually ($10 billed monthly). All of them pair the free plan with paid ones.
13 tools · Listings checked up to Oct 17, 2026 · Where the facts come from
The 12 closest to Midjourney
- Free plan · from $15/mo
Ideogram
Image generator for designs with text, plus editing and video apps
What is free: 30 credits a week for accounts that sign in with Google, Apple or Microsoft. Everything made on the free plan is public, and the Video app needs a paid plan or bought credits.
- Ideogram starts at $15 per month for 2,400 credits, billed annually ($20 billed monthly). Midjourney starts at $8 per month, billed annually ($10 billed monthly).
- Ideogram has a free plan. Midjourney does not.
- Only Ideogram lists an iOS app.
- Free plan · from $12/mo
Leonardo.Ai
Image, video and 3D generator with its own and partner models
What is free: 150 tokens a day that do not carry over, with fewer video models. Images made on the free plan are public, though they may still be used commercially.
- Leonardo.Ai starts at $12 per month for 8,500 tokens, billed monthly. Midjourney starts at $8 per month, billed annually ($10 billed monthly).
- Leonardo.Ai has a free plan. Midjourney does not.
- Only Leonardo.Ai lists iOS and Android apps.
- Free plan · from $9.99/mo
Adobe Firefly
Adobe's image, video and audio generator, with partner models
What is free: Free daily generations across image, video and audio without a plan, including models such as Nano Banana and Luma Ray3.14. Limits refresh every day.
- Adobe Firefly starts at $9.99 per month for 2,000 credits, billed monthly. Midjourney starts at $8 per month, billed annually ($10 billed monthly).
- Adobe Firefly has a free plan. Midjourney does not.
- Only Adobe Firefly lists iOS and Android apps.
- Adobe Firefly also covers video editing.
- Free plan
FLUX by Black Forest Labs
FLUX image and video models, paid per use via API and playground
What is free: The FLUX.2 [klein] 4B weights are free to download and run yourself under Apache 2.0, commercial use included. The hosted playground and API need bought credits.
- FLUX by Black Forest Labs has a free plan. Midjourney does not.
- FLUX by Black Forest Labs is self-hostable, according to its own site.
- Free plan · from $5.25/mo
Krea
Image, video and 3D generation with real-time canvas and plugins
What is free: 100 compute units a day, refilled daily, with real-time generation, the image and 3D models, LoRA training on up to 50 images and upscaling to 2K.
- Krea starts at $5.25 per month for 5,000 units, billed annually ($9 billed monthly). Midjourney starts at $8 per month, billed annually ($10 billed monthly).
- Krea has a free plan. Midjourney does not.
- Only Krea lists an iOS app.
- Free plan · from $7.49/mo
NightCafe
Community AI art generator with many models and daily free credits
What is free: 5 credits a day to claim, plus credits from streaks, badges and the Daily Challenge. Earned credits run in Relax mode, one queued image at a time.
- NightCafe starts at $7.49 per month for 100 credits, billed monthly. Midjourney starts at $8 per month, billed annually ($10 billed monthly).
- NightCafe has a free plan. Midjourney does not.
- NightCafe also covers templates.
- Free plan · from $10/mo
Recraft
Image and vector generator built for designers and brand work
What is free: Limited daily credits, 3 image uploads a day and up to 2 images per prompt, Recraft models only. Free images are public, owned by Recraft and not licensed for commercial use.
- Recraft starts at $10 per month for 1,000 credits, billed annually ($12 billed monthly). Midjourney starts at $8 per month, billed annually ($10 billed monthly).
- Recraft has a free plan. Midjourney does not.
- Only Recraft lists iOS and Android apps.
- Only Recraft lists a browser extension.
- Free plan
Stability AI
Stable Diffusion image models to self-host or call through an API
What is free: Community License: free self-hosted use of the core models, commercial use included, for people and organizations under $1M in yearly revenue.
- Stability AI has a free plan. Midjourney does not.
- Stability AI is self-hostable, according to its own site.
- Free plan · from $14.50/mo
Magnific
Formerly Freepik: AI image, video and audio tools plus stock library
What is free: A free account can download 10 stock files a day, with attribution, and is for personal use only. The pricing page does not state a free AI credit allowance.
- Magnific starts at $14.50 per month for 20,000 credits, billed annually ($20 billed monthly). Midjourney starts at $8 per month, billed annually ($10 billed monthly).
- Magnific has a free plan. Midjourney does not.
- Only Magnific lists iOS and Android apps.
- Magnific also covers templates and video editing.
- Free plan
Higgsfield
AI video and image suite with its own studios and many models
What is free: Generate with a small set of models, with no credits included. There is no free trial of the paid plans.
- Higgsfield has a free plan. Midjourney does not.
- Higgsfield also covers AI agents.
- Free plan
PixVerse
AI video app built on PixVerse V6, with templates and an agent
What is free: The apps are free to download with in-app purchases, and the Android app shows ads; the free credit allowance could not be read.
- PixVerse has a free plan. Midjourney does not.
- Only PixVerse lists iOS and Android apps.
- PixVerse also covers templates, video editing and AI agents.
- Free plan · from $10/mo
invideo
Agent-driven video editor with built-in AI video and image models
What is free: Free plan with no card required: a small credit allowance that resets every Monday, for trying AI models such as Nano Banana image generation. The amount is not stated.
- invideo starts at $10 per seat / month for 400 credits, billed annually ($20 monthly). Midjourney starts at $8 per month, billed annually ($10 billed monthly).
- invideo has a free plan. Midjourney does not.
- Only invideo lists iOS and Android apps.
- invideo also covers video editing and AI agents.
Common questions
Is there a free alternative to Midjourney?
Yes. Ideogram, Leonardo.Ai, Adobe Firefly, FLUX by Black Forest Labs, Krea, NightCafe, Recraft, Stability AI and 5 more are free or have a free plan.
Does Midjourney have a free plan?
Midjourney has no free plan. Midjourney is a paid product, starting at $8 per month, billed annually ($10 billed monthly).
When was this checked?
Every listing on this page was checked on Oct 17, 2026, against the pages it cites. Vendors change prices and plans without notice, so confirm on their site before you buy.
This page is built from the listings. A tool is here because its listing says so, and the order is how close each is to Midjourney: the alternatives its listing names first, then the tools that share the most features with it.








